Flooring.net Logo

Consumer Reviews of Mohawk carpets

Popularity:
#9  of 11 brands of carpets

26% of customers recommend
2 of 5 stars 96 reviews
  • Very Satisfied
    20
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    5
  • Neutral
    5
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    4
  • Very Unsatisfied
    62

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to Flooring.net. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of Flooring.net.

Read more about Mohawk carpets

Read reviews of other Carpet brands
Write a review

<< Previous12345678910Next >>

Date created: 2012-08-31 Name: L & R P.
Location: Port Orange, FL

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"VERY POOR QUALITY! DO NOT BUY THIS CARPETING!"
Just had Mohawk Smart Strand carpeting installed a few hours ago & we hate it as it really, really looks cheap! It shows every footprint & like the other reviewers said the carpet does smash & has absolutely & I repeat absolutely no resilience. Our other carpeting in our home looks brand new (our home is 9 years old) compared to this & it is the original carpeting....builders standard. We tried to replace this room with same as what is in the rest of our house since we really love the original carpeting but we were told original carpeting was discontinued. We read the Mohawk reviews & went in to buy anything but Mohawk. But the Mohawk Rep was at the store & we showed him the reviews we read & he said the people aren't using the right vacuum cleaner...you need a "good" vacuum with adjustable height control he told us. Since we have a "good" vacuum w/adjustable height control & after talking to the rep we ended up buying it & are so sorry we purchased it. We will not make this mistake again. Stay away from Mohawk Smart Strand. Believe the reviews!


Date created: 2012-08-24 Name: m. j. smythe
Location: cincinnati, oh

Satisfaction Rating:
3 of 5 stars Neutral

Review:
"Stainmaster is NOT polyester"
I've been reading reviews about Mohawk carpeting. Since I have sold floor covering for several years there are a few things your reviewers need to understand. First of all, Stainmaster is nylon. Not polyester. Cheap polyesters shed as reviewed. The shedding products are staple fiber instead of continuous filament. The staple fiber will always shead. It gives the buyer a sense of quality and bulk. Most of the Big Box stores push polyesters because they know their clientele are buying price alone, not quality. And, of course most Big Box sales people sell lumber one day and paint the next...in other words they don't know what they are talking about.


Date created: 2012-08-23 Name: J. Ramatowski
Location: Maryville IL

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Stainmaster polyester carpet"
I had Mowhawk carpeting installed in March 2012 in new constructed home. On March 18 I decided to vacuum before the furniture came. I used a tank type Electrolux. The beater head began shaking, and when I looked, it was plugged up with fuzz from the carpet, and I had to take it outside and put the hose on the exhaust end. The whole hose was plugged up. So then I got out my brand new in the wall sweeper, again the beater head started shaking. So rather than screw it up, I quit using it. The third vacuum I tried was my Oreck upright. It managed to pull up fuzz and make balls out of it. So, out of desperation, I got out my Sears shop vac. It pulled fuzz up ok but if I accidently put the hose down fully, it would suck the carpet up. I have been told this is normal. How can such a mess be normal. The man who came out and inspected it for Mohawk more or less suggested I buy yet another vacuum with an adjustable head. Just how many brands of sweepers should one old lady have to buy. I am 78 years old, and in my life I have never seen carpet do this. I have seen a lot of carpet in my life and this is not normal. My son-in-law who has numerous apartment buildings that he puts carpet in, also agrees this is not normal. I should have known better than to shop at a big-box store (Lowes) because manufacturers cheap down their products to keep prices down. I should have shopped locally. The least these companies could do is put a disclaimer out so people know better than to buy that product.


Date created: 2012-08-17 Name: Robert Messick
Location: North west NJ

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Very poor quality: don't buy this carpet"
Ron As you know we purchased Mohawk Carpet from you on 11/11/2011. The carpet we purchased was in your words pet friendly high traffic carpet.. The Day after the install, I called and told you of the excess shedding in all carpets at the home. I was told this is normal and would go away,It has not stopped.. Ever day in every room even where the dogs do not go-- Office and Bed room --- we have complete loops of carpet come out of the rug..I have saved ever one of them and now I am working on my 2nd sandwich size bag of carpet... I spoke to you several time and to the Mohawk carpet people...My last conversation was with a Misty Young who promised to call me back in 2 days I have no waited 2 and one half weeks with no returned call here is her direct number 706 422 2043.. As you know I am waiting for this to be resolved before releasing any more work to your company I have 4 more apartment to do in Sandy Hook NJ and need to resolve this before and more work will be given out.. Thank you for looking into this Robert Mohawk Carpet is a very disreputably company DO NOT BUT THERE PRODUCTS AT HOME CARPET NJ WAS OUR INSTALLER.....


Date created: 2012-08-01 Name: M. Saylor
Location: Minneapolis, MN

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Choose another manufacturer"
We are in a brand new DRHorton Development with an upgraded Mohawk carpet. After five weeks in the town home our carpet looks more worn and nappy than the carpet that was 15 years old in our old house. Some of our new neighbors carpet even looks worse than ours. When you vacuum the carpet and then walk on it, the carpet smashes and has no resilince. The carpet hss a weird hand as well, like it was mad with cornstarch and oil. Mohawk Rep came out and took pictures and we received the report that nothing is wrong with our carpet. Mohawk is pulling the wool over dr Horton's eyes.



Date created: 2012-08-01 Name: John Garofalo
Location: Thurmont maryland

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Can't vacuum new carpet!"
Bought $4000.00 worth of carpet for two rooms July 15th 2012. My vacuum wouldn't push pull on it. Went to a vacuum store and tried out 7 different brands, non would work, with or without the beater bar and at highest setting. Already getting the run around from the company and definitely getting the dumb act from Mohawk corp. Something is wrong with this new silky feel top of the line carpet. Struggling on. When you buy new carpet you expect to be able to vacuum it with the average vacuum cleaner. So far haven't found a carpet that the brush even in the wood floor mode doesn't interfere and make it near impossible to vacuum.


Date created: 2012-08-01 Name: Julie Silva
Location: Davis , CA

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Don't buy mohawk carpet"
We had Mohawk's smart strand carpet installed. It is a very soft carpet, so soft it is almost impossible to vacuum. Its like vacuuming memory foam! The vacuum is extremely difficult to propel in a forward direction. We tried every modification to the vacuum itself, even brought in 3 other vacs to try. Its not the vacuum! Its the product. The cust service was worse, the mohawks tech support said they had never heard of this while we had internet reviews of this problem back to 2010. don't buy mohawk!


Date created: 2012-06-29 Name: Teri Judson
Location: Arlington Heights, IL

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Carpet unravels- brand new"
This is the second time in one month we have tried to have my Mothers carpet installed and the Mohawk Berber carpet gets caught in the vacuum cleaner and unravels from day one. This time we were lucky enough to have the carpet crew still in the room when it happened so they could see first hand and report it to the company. We will see how they handle this claim now and if we will get any better carpet replacement. The installer and Carpet store we purchased from are trying to take care of the problems but I really think it is just poor quality and materials that are the issue here.


Date created: 2012-06-28 Name: Neil Davis
Location: Virginia

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"High Fiber loss - EVERY vacuuming"
We purchased a new home that has your Portico Sunset Key 758 Stucco over 6lb pad, in March 2011. From the very first vacuuming we have seen an excess of fibers in the vacuum. We thought that it would decrease, but it has not. Every-time we vacuum, we see excessive fiber loss. Now we are over a year in, and a single room (approx 14x14) will fill the canister with carpet product fibers. We have followed your recommendation to have the carpets professionally cleaned. It did not help. We are already seeing crushing and increased ware in areas that do not have a lot of foot traffic. The carpet has been tested by the installer, and your factory rep, and we have been told - "That's just how it is". I am very disappointed in the quality of your product and feel that you have done a disservice. I will be removing your product from the entire house as soon as I am able. I cannot recommend this product to anyone. And given how we have been treated, I can also inform people that you do not stand behind your product and you lack support for your customers. I hope that this note will express to you the lack of quality and service you are selling, and aid you to improve your company.


Date created: 2012-06-26 Name: L Ambrose
Location: San Diego, CA

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Mohawk Delamination"
We purchased their highest quality plush carpet with a 25-year warranty in January 2011 at Home Depot. I first called around June to report that we had numerous strands coming out, and something as simple as running a hand over the carpet resulted in more loose strands. I started getting strident with calls by November. We've been getting the runaround ever since. It's a major hassle, and clearly this company is not standing behind their carpet even though the second expert verified that it was never laminated correctly.

<< Previous12345678910Next >>

Find Flooring Installers

My zip code is: