Flooring.net Logo

Consumer Reviews of Mohawk carpets

Popularity:
#8  of 11 brands of carpets

25% of customers recommend
2 of 5 stars 104 reviews
  • Very Satisfied
    22
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    5
  • Neutral
    5
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    4
  • Very Unsatisfied
    68

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to Flooring.net. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of Flooring.net.

Read more about Mohawk carpets

Read reviews of other Carpet brands
Write a review

<< Previous1234567891011Next >>

Date created: 2013-02-10 Name: Bill Geist
Location: medford, NJ

Satisfaction Rating:
5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"SmartStrand vac"
My wife and I were elated upon stepping bare foot onto our new mohawk smart strand carpeting, you've just never walked on anything as soft-silky- plush before! It didn't take long, however, for our opinion to turn to bewilderment and irritation as I pulled our new dyson vac out and tried to vacuum it, omg! Brutal! Tried all the mohawk suggested vac's, no way! Searched multiple websites, including youtube,( where I found a video showing a man vacuuming his smart strand with a canister vac, quite easily. Problem was that when I looked up the brand vac he was using. It cost more than $600.00. I found other vac's guaranteeing to work just as good, their cost was between $800.00-$1,000.00! Insane! Seriously exchanging the smart strand for something else, but I'm very happy to say that we decided that we just loved it too much. Our feet screamed, no, please don't! Well, I can say that everything turned out just fine...in the form of two relatively inexpensive brand vac'S. We had a portable, rechargeable, hand held shark cordless 18 volt, model sv780 n1 14, with a power brush head. It turned out to be great for vacuuming small areas. The real answer was to be my trying my 4.5hp wet/dry shop vac, for vacuuming the entire carpets, very easily. The long wand and light head worked very well. I think I paid $89.00 for it. Problem completely and happily solved and I'm back to loving my smart strand again! I'm planning on going one better by buying a newer 6.5hp shop vac. The increased suction should be perfect!


Date created: 2013-01-19 Name: Robert ,Susan Messick
Location: Nortwest NJ

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"@Home and Mohawk Carpet"
I bought my Carpet 1 year ago it fell apart in less then 60 days ..It took a year with Carpet company and Mohawk to Replace it....I Had to pay an additional $3377.00 to get the carpet I bought in the first Place.... I would never Buy Mohawk Again... Thank you Robert messick Ron As you know we purchased Mohawk Carpet from you on 11/11/2011. The carpet we purchased was in your words pet friendly high traffic carpet.. The Day after the install, I called and told you of the excess shedding in all carpets at the home. I was told this is normal and would go away,It has not stopped.. Ever day in every room even where the dogs do not go-- Office and Bed room --- we have complete loops of carpet come out of the rug..I have saved ever one of them and now I am working on my 2nd sandwich size bag of carpet... I spoke to you several time and to the Mohawk carpet people...My last conversation was with a Misty Young who promised to call me back in 2 days I have no waited 2 and one half weeks with no returned call here is her direct number 706 422 2043.. As you know I am waiting for this to be resolved before releasing any more work to your company I have 4 more apartment to do in Sandy Hook NJ and need to resolve this before and more work will be given out.. Thank you for looking into this Robert Mohawk Carpet is a very disreputably company ..... DO NOT BUT THERE PRODUCTS AT HOME CARPET NJ WAS OUR INSTALLER.....


Date created: 2012-12-05 Name: K. Oliver
Location: Louisville, KY

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"SmartStrand Silk a BIG disappointment"
This carpet looks pretty and feels soft, but there is no cushion feel when you walk on it (installed with Mohawk recommended pad). Our old Sharp vacuum and a new vacuum (I.E. Hoover Wind Tunnel T-Series)on the Mohawk recommended list don't work - too difficult to push. Very expensive carpet and doesn't look as good or clean as well as our 23- year old living room carpet. Carpet loops keep coming out of carpet just walking on it (just two of us and no pets). Mohawk did not post the polite review I submitted to their website.


Date created: 2012-12-03 Name: PCMurphy
Location: Richmond, VA

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Major Mohawk Carpet Issues"
Mohawk keeps telling their consumers that they need to buy a new vacuum to care for their carpeting. It looks like to me they never did any actual consumer testing of the product to see how the average homeowner would care for and use their product. When you call the "Customer Service" number they say we can email you a list of recommended vacuum cleaners. Well I don't see any way to discern by that list of vacuums which one or ones may or may not work correctly on their carpet. I have never in my life experienced a carpet that is so very tempermental that you had to buy a specific new type of vacuum and treat it in such a special manner in order to care for it. That alone is a huge problem and I don't feel as a consumer I should have to treat a piece of carpeting with kid gloves so to speak in order to have it in my home but that is exactly what Mohawk is telling me. It is already mashing down and getting worn in just a matter of days. I think they never even tested any of these newer SmartStrands at all and want the consumer to foot the bill! I have never seen a carpet that couldn't be vacuumed much less used!


Date created: 2012-11-29 Name: K. Mawhinney
Location: Pennsylvania

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Do not buy Mohawk carpet"
We purchased EverStrand carpeting for our entire house. All but the family room were a very light cream color, The fr was a few shades darker on the tan side. From poor installation to carpet quality, the process has been a nightmare...not once, not twice, but three times! The first carpets began to show several zigzag marks, like dirty tire tread, each four inches wide, about four feet apart, in each room and on the steps in traffic areas. There are only two of us and we do not wear shoes in the house, only slippers and socks. I began to notice the markings about three months after installation. We noticed it getting worse, but we had no time to deal with the issue for almost 20 months from installation due to serious illness. First, Mohawk stated that they wouldn't do anything until we had them cleaned. We told them that we felt there was a major defect in the carpets and they were not dirty. They agreed to send someone to look at them. An independent inspector concluded that there was a defect caused at the mill. Mohawk agreed to replace them. Reluctantly, we had the same carpet installed with assurance by the store manager that they thoroughly inspect the carpets, especially rugs reinstalled on a claim. Time off from work again and the inconvenience of upsetting the house once again, was indeed an ordeal in itself. The new carpets arrived and I immediately saw lines running along the entire length, each about two inches wide, about two inches apart. I asked the installer about it and he said it was caused by the rugs being rolled up in the warehouse and they will settle. To make matters even worse, as the installers were packing up to leave, we saw what appeared to be a grease stain the size of a quarter in the middle of the hallway. The guy who was working that area all day acted as if he didn't know it was there. There is no way he didn't see it. They also did very much damage to my walls and moulding, an unreasonable amount of damage. We called the owner, they had someone come out to steam clean the spot. After several tries and lots of chemicals, the stain was nearly gone, but we could still see it and knew it was still there in our brand new carpets. We also complained about how dissatisfied we were with the appearance of the carpets. He told us that they did not notice the lines when they had them spread out for cutting in his warehouse the day before. I fail to see where they did not see it. It was so obvious that we noticed it immediately, in every light and area of the house. The owner contacted Mohawk. They agreed to another inspection. The same inspector couldn't determine the cause and sent a sample of the carpet to Mohawk with his report resulting in an offer of $1,100.00. An insult. The owner of the store agreed to settle with us and replaced the carpets, but they had to be Mohawk. We selected a Nylon fiber rather than polyester and we have been satisfied since installation six months ago. The exchange took three months and the previous carpets did not settle in that amount of time and I do not think that they ever would have. The stripes were still very visible, in both traffic and non- traffic areas. In research I found that it is a known defect and it has been called corn rowing. Time will tell how the most recent carpets will wear. Hopefully, well. Carpet installation of an entire house three times in two and a half years is just ridiculous, not to mention time off from work. We will never purchase another Mohawk product again. Neither will my family and friends.



Date created: 2012-11-19 Name: Sylvia Kraemer
Location: Clearwater Beach Fl

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"mohawk carpeting"
Had Mohawk carpeting installed in my condo five years ago. Just my husband and myself, both age 74. We have no pets. Just the two of us who wear slippers all the time to protect our carpet. Our carpet is lousy junk. So sorry we paid so much money for such an inferior made carpet. It is crushed in all the traffic ares and looks like it is very old carpet. I vacuum twice a week and get loads of fiber in my tank. Rep from store called the crushed areas of carpet pooling. I keep my carpet clean but it looks dirty in all of traffic areas and yes I do have it steamed cleaned. Mohawk does not honor it's warranty at all. I'll never ever buy any of their products again. All I will say to anyone thinking of buying this product is "don't buy Mohawk, you will get scalped".


Date created: 2012-11-07 Name: Marie Phelps
Location: Chesterton, In

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Don't Buy This Carpet"
Good luck trying to find a vacuum that works! I spent $3,700 for two bedrooms, hall and stairs thinking I was buying a good quality, stain resistant carpet. After installation, I tried to vacuum with my Dyson and it couldn't move thru the carpet. The installer had the same problem. Then I read in my booklet from Mohawk that a Hoover Wind Tunnel would work, so I ordered one from Amazon. The nice Hoover that I purchased would not roll over the carpet! I called the store furious. They found out from Mohawk that there were about 8 vacuums I could use - most of them rather inexpensive. So I had to buy a $100 Hoover which is cheap compared to the $179 that I can't use. Not to mention I can't use the Dyson that I already owned ! Now I have to vacuum my carpet with a vacuum that is not good quality and doesn't pick up as well. The warranty warns about fraying the carpet with the vac, and I'm afraid that might happen with the one they recommended because there are still brush marks on the carpet. There are no warnings when you purchase this product, that you won't be able to use your vacuum. I am so disgusted with Mohawk! I also had a black soil mark which didn't clean up as well as expected. Don't buy this carpet unless you want to make a career in selecting vacuums. Also good luck trying to purchase and return the ones that don't work.


Date created: 2012-11-04 Name: S. von Theiss
Location: La Verne, CA

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Had to stop them from installing in living room"
The loops on the carpet pull up so you have one long loop. My two dogs had their nails clipped about 2 weeks before carpet was installed but the loops are still coming up. The loops pull up when I move furniture over the carpet as well. I stopped installation in my living room after I discovered the problem in the 2 bedrooms and hall and had another brand of carpet installed in the living room. I will not buy Mohawk again.


Date created: 2012-08-31 Name: L & R P.
Location: Port Orange, FL

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"VERY POOR QUALITY! DO NOT BUY THIS CARPETING!"
Just had Mohawk Smart Strand carpeting installed a few hours ago & we hate it as it really, really looks cheap! It shows every footprint & like the other reviewers said the carpet does smash & has absolutely & I repeat absolutely no resilience. Our other carpeting in our home looks brand new (our home is 9 years old) compared to this & it is the original carpeting....builders standard. We tried to replace this room with same as what is in the rest of our house since we really love the original carpeting but we were told original carpeting was discontinued. We read the Mohawk reviews & went in to buy anything but Mohawk. But the Mohawk Rep was at the store & we showed him the reviews we read & he said the people aren't using the right vacuum cleaner...you need a "good" vacuum with adjustable height control he told us. Since we have a "good" vacuum w/adjustable height control & after talking to the rep we ended up buying it & are so sorry we purchased it. We will not make this mistake again. Stay away from Mohawk Smart Strand. Believe the reviews!


Date created: 2012-08-24 Name: m. j. smythe
Location: cincinnati, oh

Satisfaction Rating:
3 of 5 stars Neutral

Review:
"Stainmaster is NOT polyester"
I've been reading reviews about Mohawk carpeting. Since I have sold floor covering for several years there are a few things your reviewers need to understand. First of all, Stainmaster is nylon. Not polyester. Cheap polyesters shed as reviewed. The shedding products are staple fiber instead of continuous filament. The staple fiber will always shead. It gives the buyer a sense of quality and bulk. Most of the Big Box stores push polyesters because they know their clientele are buying price alone, not quality. And, of course most Big Box sales people sell lumber one day and paint the next...in other words they don't know what they are talking about.

<< Previous1234567891011Next >>

Find Flooring Installers

My zip code is: