Consumer Reviews of Mohawk carpets

Mohawk flooring logo
Popularity:
#10   of 15 brands of carpets

22% of customers recommend
2 of 5 stars 123 reviews
  • Very Satisfied
    23
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    5
  • Neutral
    5
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    5
  • Very Unsatisfied
    85

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to Flooring.net. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of Flooring.net.

Read more about Mohawk carpets

Read reviews of other Carpet brands
Write a review

12345678910111213Next >>

Date created: 2016-09-21 Name: Kelly
Location: New zesland

Satisfaction Rating:
2 of 5 stars Somewhat Unsatisfied

Review:
"SmartBand don't go there"
Carpet down just 3 weeks and a glass of beer was spilled. Inspire numerous attempts to remove stain, it won't budge. Bought billowing cloud, very light carpet and assured it would resist stain. Not true, contact supplier, carpet court and told to get professional cleaner in. Very dissatisfied and unhappy. Don't fall for the bowl of guck they demonstrate easy stain removal it just isn't. Worst carpet we've ever had and paid $14000.00 for it


Date created: 2016-09-07 Name: Judy Jaeger
Location: Wautoma, WI.
Model: SmartStrand

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Mohawk Warranty - Right."
We had Mohawk SmartStrand carpet installed just over a year ago. I would highly not recommend this carpet. From the very beginning I had to purchase three vacuum cleaners to finally find one that would work on the carpet. Second about six months after it was installed you could see wear patterns in the carpet. The old carpet we had was 20 years old and looked better than the Mohawk carpet after six months. I called the store where we purchased the carpet and the owner and a Mohawk representative came to inspect the carpet. Both agreed the carpet was "corn rowing". A claim was put into Mohawk who sent a third party inspector (on their payroll) who sampled the carpet next to the wall where no traffic had occurred. He was more worried about going golfing then inspecting the carpet. What a joke. Mohawk denied the warranty claim. Fortunately for us we purchased our carpet from a very good family owned carpet store who replaced the carpet at no cost to us. Unfortunately it was at their cost not Mohawk! Not only is the carpet poor quality but the warranty is none existent!!!!!! We paid extra money for what we thought was a quality product only to find out that there was poor quality and the company would not back their product. Just to clarify two adults live in our house and we have always had a no shoe policy!


Date created: 2016-09-07 Name: Diane Rush
Location: Georgia

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"No Warranty!"
This carpeting was supposed to have a warranty against any rippling waving, etc. for 10 years. It is very dangerous, considering we have large ripples...3 And 4 ft long and some 3 and 4 inches high.. We have already had it stretched once, and the problem has returned a million times worse than before. I know my house is not shrinking..lol After contacting Mohawk, and filling out claim forms, no one ever came out to look. They lost our claim number, so we had to get a new one. The latest correspondence told us the warranty did not apply to this particular color! Really?



Date created: 2016-08-21 Name: Dottie S.
Location: Townsend, DE
Model: Smart Strand Silk

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Not happy!"
We bought this carpet 4 years ago. Our original carpet lasted 25 years. We raised 3 dogs and 2 boys on it without any problems. My kids even rode bikes on it. Now, we bought the Smart strand silk carpet. First thing we noticed it that we are constantly picking out loose fibers. The carpet "sheds". And I am not talking at a seam. Any given time you will find these loose fibers sticking up in the middle of the floor. We have had to have it re-stretched twice in just 4 years. We were told it was because of our vacuum cleaner...really! Same Electrolux Vacuum cleaner I used on the other carpet for 25 years. And don't get me started on how hard it is to vacuum. I have tried 3 different vacuums and no luck. My Electrolux representative took my vacuum and did some modifications to get it to work better. But, it is not good at all. I even asked the store where the carpet was purchased if there were any problem with vacuuming, they told me "no, absolutely not". Now as far as stains, this didn't even come close to the advertising. Yes my dog had an episode in two spots...well the stain did NOT come out. Believe me, I got to the stain quickly, not like it sat for hours before being cleaned. It was recommended to me to not use the beater bar on my vacuum cleaner... how well is the carpet being cleaned if I don't use the beater bar? All around very disappointed in this purchase, do NOT recommend it and am waiting to be able to rip it up and get something else! Back to the vacuuming issue, a friend bought this carpet, against my advice... she has trouble with vacuuming it also... her vacuum is on the approved list!


Date created: 2016-08-03 Name: Jeannette Bromfield
Location: Sydney, NSW Australia

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Horrible"
I hate this carpet. I live alone and work in Sydney, which means I am not in my apartment more than 1 day per week. It looks filthy and stains appear even if a drop of water is accidentally spilled. I wish I could have seen these reviews before buying the carpet. The salesman gave this carpet the best review so I did not hesitate to buy it. Very foolish as I know I am going to replace it. Waste of money.


Date created: 2016-06-01 Name: Ian Jones
Location: WY
Model: Slate

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Worst Experience Ever!"
Mohawk is absolutely horrible. Delayed my carpet shipment by over a month. Had the retailer call and no one knew why and they requested expedited shipping and they refused and said they we had to wait even longer. I called and they refused to help me at all. Will never buy from them again.


Date created: 2016-04-29 Name: Mary Theresa
Location: Atlanta, GA

Satisfaction Rating:
5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Smartstrand - Love it"
5 years ago I put Mohawk Smart Strand carpet and Stain-master carpet in 2 rooms in my house. I am getting ready to replace the Stain-master because it is so ugly and stained. The Mohawk still looks great. I just replaced the Stain-master with a new Smartstrand forever clean. It looks great. Love it!


Date created: 2016-04-12 Name: Sharon Pyes
Location: Fort Myers, Florida

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Mohawk Smartstrand & Mohawk is Awful. Stay Away"
Smartstrand purchased for seasonal residence occupied by 2 adults, master bedroom. The carpet looks, wooly, dirty, seams are coming up. The carpet looks worse then the 10yr old plus caret it replaced. Mohawk has been impossible to deal with. Wayne Wiles, in Fort Myers and Naples, Florida has been just as bad. You would think would stand behind a product it has sold. We did have it cleaned by the company the dealer recommended, now it looks even worse.



Date created: 2016-02-20 Name: E.Muel
Location: Pierce County, WA
Model: Smartstrand

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Looked terrible two months after installation"
"So strong it stands up to an elephant" big fat hooey! I have 1 large dog and 3 people living with my Mohawk carpet it has looked terrible from the 2nd month it was put in. "It will never show wear patterns"... I wish these reviews were available 5 yrs ago when we bought this carpet. I have had it professionally clean every 18 months as the manufacture recommends in very small print, attempted claim have no call back, reading from here probably just as well as most likely will be denied. Pissed I will have to look for different carpet. Btw the "cheap" carpet we had put in the kids room is over 15 yrs old and looks great.


Date created: 2015-12-09 Name: L Thomas
Location: Iowa
Model: Trifexis

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Dont Buy"
Please read these reviews about Mohawk. I wish we had checked here first. Our carpet has been down a little over a year and looks like its a decade old. Just 2 people, both of us work full time plus and a 5 lb chihuahua. The carpet is matted and tracked so badly we re-arranged our living room to cover the worst areas as we were having our kids for Thanksgiving and were embarrassed. We have had the carpet professionally cleaned with the preferred hot water extraction method. Looks good for a few days then..well you get it. Submitted a claim which is a total waste of time. An "independent" adjuster showed up,said carpet looked pretty bad, did his thing then submitted the report to Mohawk denying the claim. Dont buy Mohawk

12345678910111213Next >>

Find Flooring Installers
My zip code is:
How to Buy
Flooring Reviews
Flooring Materials
Flooring Brands