Consumer Reviews of Mohawk carpets

Mohawk flooring logo
Popularity:
#8   of 16 brands of carpets

22% of customers recommend
2 of 5 stars 127 reviews
  • Very Satisfied
    24
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    5
  • Neutral
    5
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    6
  • Very Unsatisfied
    87

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to Flooring.net. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of Flooring.net.

Read more about Mohawk carpets
12345678910111213Next >>

Date created: 2017-03-18
Name: A.T. Hun
Location: Seattle
Model: Supreme

Satisfaction Rating:
2 of 5 stars Somewhat Unsatisfied

Review:
""Pet Stain" protection is worthless"
Nice carpet. The salesworm was big on the Pet protection... first time we try to use it the excuses roll. We read the fine print and despite his fine words is was left pretty vague and up to the installer who had no interest in it or repeat business apparently.


Date created: 2017-03-17
Name: Amanda Ferrell
Location: Oxford, MS
Model: Silk

Satisfaction Rating:
5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"We love our Silk carpet! Highly recommend!"
I was shocked to read the other reviews! We love our carpet and it cleans so well! I would highly recommend! I had a nylon in my previous house and it did not clean up near as well as this product.


Date created: 2017-02-27
Name: Ryan Slaback
Location: Colfax WI
Model: Smartstrand Silk

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Smartstrand Silk has terrible cornrowing looks decades old after months"
A little over a year ago my wife and I used our savings to replace the carpet in most of our home. We purchased Smartstrand Silk carpet as it was incredibly soft even though it was definitely on the higher end of the available price point. Within 5 weeks of the carpet being installed we started noticing weird pattern lines in the carpeted walkway behind our sofa that looked like a decade old matted down carpet. We are a shoes off, socks on family so dirt and oil should not have been an issue at all. We called our flooring dealer who had a carpet inspector come in and take a look at it. It turns out this is called cornrowing and the manufacturers do not see it as a defect. We've tried vacuuming at all directions, raking it and having it cleaned and there doesn't seem to be any way to correct the issue and apparently there isn't anything Mohawk will do about it. Over the past few months pretty much all the trafficked areas have noticeable cornrowing. The hallways, doorways etc. all look like the carpet was installed ages ago and never vacuumed. The carpet looks great when new and feels wonderful but I wouldn't recommend it if you plan to actually walk on it.



Date created: 2017-02-06
Name: lee fintel
Location: San Clemente,CA
Model: SmartStrand

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"SmartStrand worst carpet ever!"
Most expensive carpet I ever bought and it came with a 25 year warranty. The carpet took on an immediate dark hue {it is cream colored] weeks after installation. Tried to clean it 4 times--twice using professional cleaners. Mohawk denied my claim for defective carpet twice. They do not stand by the warranty. I have read dozens of complaints on the net over this style of carpet--SmartStrand. Many people expressed interest in a class action lawsuit.


Date created: 2016-09-21
Name: Kelly
Location: New zesland

Satisfaction Rating:
2 of 5 stars Somewhat Unsatisfied

Review:
"SmartBand don't go there"
Carpet down just 3 weeks and a glass of beer was spilled. Inspire numerous attempts to remove stain, it won't budge. Bought billowing cloud, very light carpet and assured it would resist stain. Not true, contact supplier, carpet court and told to get professional cleaner in. Very dissatisfied and unhappy. Don't fall for the bowl of guck they demonstrate easy stain removal it just isn't. Worst carpet we've ever had and paid $14000.00 for it


Date created: 2016-09-07
Name: Judy Jaeger
Location: Wautoma, WI.
Model: SmartStrand

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Mohawk Warranty - Right."
We had Mohawk SmartStrand carpet installed just over a year ago. I would highly not recommend this carpet. From the very beginning I had to purchase three vacuum cleaners to finally find one that would work on the carpet. Second about six months after it was installed you could see wear patterns in the carpet. The old carpet we had was 20 years old and looked better than the Mohawk carpet after six months. I called the store where we purchased the carpet and the owner and a Mohawk representative came to inspect the carpet. Both agreed the carpet was "corn rowing". A claim was put into Mohawk who sent a third party inspector (on their payroll) who sampled the carpet next to the wall where no traffic had occurred. He was more worried about going golfing then inspecting the carpet. What a joke. Mohawk denied the warranty claim. Fortunately for us we purchased our carpet from a very good family owned carpet store who replaced the carpet at no cost to us. Unfortunately it was at their cost not Mohawk! Not only is the carpet poor quality but the warranty is none existent!!!!!! We paid extra money for what we thought was a quality product only to find out that there was poor quality and the company would not back their product. Just to clarify two adults live in our house and we have always had a no shoe policy!


Date created: 2016-09-07
Name: Diane Rush
Location: Georgia

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"No Warranty!"
This carpeting was supposed to have a warranty against any rippling waving, etc. for 10 years. It is very dangerous, considering we have large ripples...3 And 4 ft long and some 3 and 4 inches high.. We have already had it stretched once, and the problem has returned a million times worse than before. I know my house is not shrinking..lol After contacting Mohawk, and filling out claim forms, no one ever came out to look. They lost our claim number, so we had to get a new one. The latest correspondence told us the warranty did not apply to this particular color! Really?


Date created: 2016-08-21
Name: Dottie S.
Location: Townsend, DE
Model: Smart Strand Silk

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Not happy!"
We bought this carpet 4 years ago. Our original carpet lasted 25 years. We raised 3 dogs and 2 boys on it without any problems. My kids even rode bikes on it. Now, we bought the Smart strand silk carpet. First thing we noticed it that we are constantly picking out loose fibers. The carpet "sheds". And I am not talking at a seam. Any given time you will find these loose fibers sticking up in the middle of the floor. We have had to have it re-stretched twice in just 4 years. We were told it was because of our vacuum cleaner...really! Same Electrolux Vacuum cleaner I used on the other carpet for 25 years. And don't get me started on how hard it is to vacuum. I have tried 3 different vacuums and no luck. My Electrolux representative took my vacuum and did some modifications to get it to work better. But, it is not good at all. I even asked the store where the carpet was purchased if there were any problem with vacuuming, they told me "no, absolutely not". Now as far as stains, this didn't even come close to the advertising. Yes my dog had an episode in two spots...well the stain did NOT come out. Believe me, I got to the stain quickly, not like it sat for hours before being cleaned. It was recommended to me to not use the beater bar on my vacuum cleaner... how well is the carpet being cleaned if I don't use the beater bar? All around very disappointed in this purchase, do NOT recommend it and am waiting to be able to rip it up and get something else! Back to the vacuuming issue, a friend bought this carpet, against my advice... she has trouble with vacuuming it also... her vacuum is on the approved list!



Date created: 2016-08-03
Name: Jeannette Bromfield
Location: Sydney, NSW Australia

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Horrible"
I hate this carpet. I live alone and work in Sydney, which means I am not in my apartment more than 1 day per week. It looks filthy and stains appear even if a drop of water is accidentally spilled. I wish I could have seen these reviews before buying the carpet. The salesman gave this carpet the best review so I did not hesitate to buy it. Very foolish as I know I am going to replace it. Waste of money.


Date created: 2016-06-01
Name: Ian Jones
Location: WY
Model: Slate

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Worst Experience Ever!"
Mohawk is absolutely horrible. Delayed my carpet shipment by over a month. Had the retailer call and no one knew why and they requested expedited shipping and they refused and said they we had to wait even longer. I called and they refused to help me at all. Will never buy from them again.

12345678910111213Next >>

Find Flooring Installers
My zip code is:
How to Buy
Flooring Reviews
Flooring Materials
Flooring Brands