Flooring.net Logo

Consumer Reviews of Mohawk carpets

Popularity:
#8  of 14 brands of carpets

24% of customers recommend
2 of 5 stars 116 reviews
  • Very Satisfied
    23
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    5
  • Neutral
    5
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    4
  • Very Unsatisfied
    79

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to Flooring.net. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of Flooring.net.

Read more about Mohawk carpets

Read reviews of other Carpet brands
Write a review

123456789101112Next >>

Date created: 2016-04-29 Name: Mary Theresa
Location: Atlanta, GA

Satisfaction Rating:
5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Smartstrand - Love it"
5 years ago I put Mohawk Smart Strand carpet and Stain-master carpet in 2 rooms in my house. I am getting ready to replace the Stain-master because it is so ugly and stained. The Mohawk still looks great. I just replaced the Stain-master with a new Smartstrand forever clean. It looks great. Love it!


Date created: 2016-04-12 Name: Sharon Pyes
Location: Fort Myers, Florida

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Mohawk Smartstrand & Mohawk is Awful. Stay Away"
Smartstrand purchased for seasonal residence occupied by 2 adults, master bedroom. The carpet looks, wooly, dirty, seams are coming up. The carpet looks worse then the 10yr old plus caret it replaced. Mohawk has been impossible to deal with. Wayne Wiles, in Fort Myers and Naples, Florida has been just as bad. You would think would stand behind a product it has sold. We did have it cleaned by the company the dealer recommended, now it looks even worse.


Date created: 2016-02-20 Name: E.Muel
Location: Pierce County, WA
Model: Smartstrand

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Looked terrible two months after installation"
"So strong it stands up to an elephant" big fat hooey! I have 1 large dog and 3 people living with my Mohawk carpet it has looked terrible from the 2nd month it was put in. "It will never show wear patterns"... I wish these reviews were available 5 yrs ago when we bought this carpet. I have had it professionally clean every 18 months as the manufacture recommends in very small print, attempted claim have no call back, reading from here probably just as well as most likely will be denied. Pissed I will have to look for different carpet. Btw the "cheap" carpet we had put in the kids room is over 15 yrs old and looks great.



Date created: 2015-12-09 Name: L Thomas
Location: Iowa
Model: Trifexis

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Dont Buy"
Please read these reviews about Mohawk. I wish we had checked here first. Our carpet has been down a little over a year and looks like its a decade old. Just 2 people, both of us work full time plus and a 5 lb chihuahua. The carpet is matted and tracked so badly we re-arranged our living room to cover the worst areas as we were having our kids for Thanksgiving and were embarrassed. We have had the carpet professionally cleaned with the preferred hot water extraction method. Looks good for a few days then..well you get it. Submitted a claim which is a total waste of time. An "independent" adjuster showed up,said carpet looked pretty bad, did his thing then submitted the report to Mohawk denying the claim. Dont buy Mohawk


Date created: 2015-10-25 Name: Jennifer
Location: Iowa

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Falling apart at the seams. Don't buy Mohawk carpet!"
We purchased and had Mohawk carpet installed in our basement in 2009. A couple of years after installation I noticed that the seam entering my sons bedroom was coming apart. I was very disheartening about this, but I didn't say anything about it because it is a doorway and sees a good amount of traffic. The seam its self wasn't completely separated, but the carpet was separated from the backing. And every time I would vacuum, carpet strands would come apart from the carpet and left a hole. It looks terrible but again I lived with it. Then, this year(2015) I decided to have the carpet professionally cleaned because we bought furniture for down there and since I was having the upstairs carpets cleaned I figured we would just have them do the basement to while they were here. I for got to mention that the carpet covers the entire basement, but is very rarely used. My sons room gets the most traffic and that is right at the bottom of the stairs. Any who, I had the carpet cleaners come and they saw that spot where the carpet was coming apart in the doorway and they avoided it because they didn't want to damage it further. So, moving on, they get out into the main living room area and start cleaning and the carpet along one seam in two areas not by each other start coming apart and carpet pulled out and left the seams with holes of missing carpet. Again, the carpet was pulled away from the backing of the carpet. I had the installer contact Mohawk about this issue because it was expensive carpet and it is only 6yrs old. Now it looks terrible down there. It should last us a lot longer then that. Our upstairs carpet is 9yrs old and still looks new! So, Mohawk has an inspector come look at it and he comes, does his inspection and Mohawk response was that it was from excessive water damage...what! We did have an area of the carpet that had some water get on it, from a leak in the tub above, but it wasn't enough water to cause the entire basement to have any kind of water damage. I was honest with the inspector and told him about the plumbing leak, but it was not even wet in the areas where the carpet is having issues. Also, the area that did get wet does not have any kind of a problem! I am very disappointed with Mohawk. Why have a warranty on your carpet if all you are going to do is find a way to blame the issue on something else. Clearly this is a shitty carpet issue. The carpet is pulling away from the backing. We will have to buy new carpet. Just bought furniture for the basement. It hasn't even been delivered. That's how much the basement is used. We don't even have furniture down there. Now we have furniture on the way and I don't even want to put it down there because the seams look so bad. And it's only going to get worse as time goes on. Don't buy carpet from Mohawk. They do not stand by their carpet if there is a problem!


Date created: 2015-10-15 Name: Tom D
Location: Murfreesboro, TN
Model: Immense II

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Mohawk bad choice"
We had 18 year old Berner carpet which was great just looked old. We bought 25 year warranty with lifetime stain warranty. We get black spots 3 times in our first year. Man who cleaned our carpet said stains are from sugary drinks or grand kids that visit 1 of 2 times a month. The old white carpet didn't have stain problems. I read nothing but bad reviews about Mohawk carpet. I have never read a review that says they warranty there problem. There are better manufactures that stand behind their product.


Date created: 2015-09-04 Name: Sheila Henke
Location: Santa Fe, NM
Model: Smartstrand

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Horrible experience"
Our carpet is one year old. One month after installation we were sure that this carpet was going to be a problem. We contacted the distributor, who in turn, contacted Mohawk and we were told to have the carpet cleaned. We did this and the carpet looked clean for about one day and then all the spots reappeared along traffic patterns. The carpet cleaners came back and were puzzled-they suggested the next step would be encapsulation. This carpet had this feature. No one at Mohawk will identify themselves by name. They sent a "forensic specialist" who I am sure always finds that there is "no manufacturing defect". Their warranties are meaningless and their ethics are shameful. I cannot believe businesses such as this are allowed to continue ripping consumers off. I would happily join a class action suit.


Date created: 2015-09-01 Name: F Reddock
Location: Clermont

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Terrible carpet"
Definitely don't buy! What everyone is saying is true. The carpet looks ten years old after six months. They denied my claim. You get no where with customer service. The independent inspector they sent was surprised with how bad the carpet looked and then wrote up a false report. I guess they pay him to do that so they don't need to pay out. The inspector told me I should "hover" over the carpet, in other words don't walk on it since it looks so bad even with not walking on it with shoes. He said it will be interesting to see what Mohawk has to say about their product. Mohawk didn't care one bit. Claim denied! I will go with a more reputable company. Stay away from them.



Date created: 2015-08-31 Name: Linda Gaiownik
Location: Surprise, AZ
Model: Smartstrand

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Smartstrand wears down very quickly"
There are only two adults walking on this carpeting and it looks like we have had it for decades when we have only had it for three years. The hallway is worn down to practically nothing! It is very stain resistant but the reason we spent so much money on this is so that it would last us a long time.


Date created: 2015-07-25 Name: M. Solomon
Location: Parkton, NC
Model: Kuhlman Crossing Carpet

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Wears quickly. Claim denied."
I bought a new home in Dec. 2014 with Mohawk Kuhlman Crossing installed. Within 2 months, this carpet looked like it was 10 years old. It wears very quickly and very noticeably. Service to figure this out was horrible and Mohawk denied out claim. Choose another brand!

123456789101112Next >>

Find Flooring Installers

My zip code is: