Flooring.net Logo

Consumer Reviews of Mohawk carpets

Popularity:
#8  of 11 brands of carpets

25% of customers recommend
2 of 5 stars 104 reviews
  • Very Satisfied
    22
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    5
  • Neutral
    5
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    4
  • Very Unsatisfied
    68

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to Flooring.net. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of Flooring.net.

Read more about Mohawk carpets

Read reviews of other Carpet brands
Write a review

1234567891011Next >>

Date created: 2015-06-26 Name: Sharon adams
Location: Portland, or

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Fuzzy pilled looking smartstrand"
I purchased Smartstrand Silk from local carpet vendor in Portland, OR who sold me on the supposed wear-ability in family rooms and the fact that he had it in his house. I have had it cleaned biyearly for two years due to the fact that this particular carpet always looks dirty and matted even though I thoroughly vacuum it at least twice a week. It is Berber and one would think because it is looped it would wear better than cut pile carpeting. It has areas of fuzziness were we walk. Fortunately for us the dealer did get a reimbursement from Mohawk. The unfortunate part is I have to buy a Mohawk product again.


Date created: 2015-05-01 Name: annie hunt
Location: WV

Satisfaction Rating:
5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Do your homework update..."
Only this morning I wrote a review about the Mohawk SmartStrand Silk. (Read my earlier statement) I am very pleased to report that the dealer we purchased this from called me and said that they had reported my complaints to Mohawk and that "to my surprise" they admitted to having a problem with the soft fibers being very difficult to sweep and bad about tracking. They have agreed to replace my carpet, but only with another Mohawk brand. Now I do not like the fact that I have to settle with another Mohawk product, but at least they are replacing it. And, I will not go with any other SmartStrands, I am going to go with what I know works: Nylon! It may not hold up to stains as well, but I can rest assure that it will last and not mat down or show tracks, because our old carpets were nylon and they ranged in age from 10, 15 & 20yrs old and looked brand new compared to the new SmartStrand! I am ever so grateful to our dealer. Without him I'm sure we would have been stuck with what we had. Once again I want to stress to do your homework and hopefully avoid what so many other people have had to experience. Since I am being stuck with yet another Mohawk brand, I will have to come back and update on how that goes. But at this point, as long as I can run my Dyson without breaking my back and dislocating my shoulder, and not see mats and footprints, I'm sure I will be a happy camper! Good luck..


Date created: 2015-05-01 Name: Annie Hunt
Location: WV

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Please do your homework"
I completely put my faith in a reputable carpet dealer for helping me choose a carpet best suited for my home. My husband and I live with 3 dogs and just about every inch of space is walked upon, besides where the furniture sets, so needless to say I needed a very durable carpet to withstand traffic and dirt. So I was guided to buy SmartStrand Silk. Biggest mistake we have ever made! Now not only do I have carpet that I cannot run my sweeper on, but it looks like it has been down for a lifetime! It shows every footprint & track, it mats down everywhere its stepped upon and it is already shedding and unraveling. Please do your homework before buying this carpet and let my experience keep you from loosing you hard earned money! Mohawk should pull this off the market and replace or refund back money, or at least anyone looking to purchase this type of carpet should be warned that it tracks, mats and that you should be prepared to go on a sweeper safari in search of a brand that may or may not work, and even if you get lucky and find the "right sweeper" be prepared to vacuum it 30x a day just to keep it even remotely clean and looking halfway desirable to the eyes! My heart goes out to anyone who has had to go thru this disaster. My condolences!


Date created: 2015-04-25 Name: deborah agles
Location: Kapolei Hawaii

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Falling apart, less than 2 years old"
I bought Lucky Ticket Mohawk carpet at Home Depot in Hawaii; installed 06/13/13. By May of 2014 a seam had opened up so it had to be pieced, resulting in a stripe in the hallway. In March 2015 a much larger seam in the living room opened up; the carpet is delaminating, the fibers are completely separating from the backing, and it is un-repairable. This is a product liability issue, but both Home Depot and Mohawk refuse to warranty their product (which Home Depot installed), as the home was rented for part of the time (I am not claiming for stains or wear, the stuff is falling apart), and the carpet was professionally cleaned at 21 months, not 18 months as they recommend. This stuff is junk, please don't buy it, the same thing could happen to you, now I am out $3,500 and they say my only option is to re-carpet! I would never buy this product again, what a bad experience!


Date created: 2015-04-01 Name: Lawrence Verry
Location: San Diego ca.

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Worst carpet ever, total junk"
Plan and simple junk. Mats terribly and fast. Looks aged after only 6 months. Don't even have pets or children. Bottom line don't even consider it.



Date created: 2015-03-05 Name: Shannon Patterson
Location: Venice Florida

Satisfaction Rating:
5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Love new carpet"
The Mohawk Smartstrand Silk carpet from Dupont is absolutely wonderful. My husband and I are 100% satisfied with its performance. Stains from our three children clean out with just water. We are going to put it in the other two rooms this summer. This is so much better than the horrible carpet experience we had with a Beauleu carpet from Home Depot. It performed poorly and the installers came late, were rude and smelled of beer. Worst experience ever! The local family owned Mohawk Floorscapes dealer was great, so glad I took my neighbors advice.


Date created: 2015-01-08 Name: Diane Linaberry
Location: United States

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Do not buy it."
We bought our carpet on sale, the Frieze style. Warranty for crushing and stains. It has been vacuumed in the direction the installers recommended. The seller discontinued Mohawk about a month after installing ours. This was 6 yrs. ago. It has the 20 yr. Warranty. It is now showing dirt and crushing where you walk in. We shampooed those areas in October and now in Jan it looks worse than before. Also there are 2 areas where it is buckling up and the store only guarantees their installation for a year. So now we have crushed, soiled carpet with buckling. We have to move all the furniture to get the buckles taken out and hire someone to fix it. I love the look of it in the clean areas and it is soft to walk on, but our old carpeting lasted 25 years and never looked this bad. Is it the new plastic backing they use that is causing buckling? Good luck. I think we will put in hardwood next time and use area rugs.


Date created: 2014-12-03 Name: Ronda Jensen
Location: Grass Valley, CA

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Delay in production"
We ordered almost 1,000 yds. Of Mohawk carpet on Oct. 22, 2014. It was to be installed on Nov. 4Th. As the installers rolled it out they noted a flaw running the entire length. It could not be installed. It is now Dec. 3Rd 2014 and we are being told by our local dealer that it will not be installed until Dec. 19Th due to a several production delays. I don't even know what to say about a company that is run so inefficiently. I will never order a product from Mohawk again.


Date created: 2014-11-19 Name: J. Giacontiere
Location: River Ridge, LA

Satisfaction Rating:
5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Great carpet!"
I cannot understand all the negative complaints because I am extremely satisfied and couldn't be happier with our purchase of Mohawk Smartstrand. The feel is great, vacuums beautifully and is everything they advertise it to be. This is a great product. I almost backed out of my order after reading the reviews on here, but went to another site and read many positive reviews, so went ahead with the order and I am glad I did. I have zero regrets - it is a beautiful, soft, plush carpet and so easy to clean and super easy to vacuum.


Date created: 2014-07-11 Name: Blaine White
Location: Howell, MI

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Delaminating in a year - it's crap"
Run from Mohawk. We weren't smart enough to check the web before we bought 87 yards of smart-strand to replace a 15-yr-old Philadelphia carpet that wore like iron. Now seams are delaminating within just over a year, and left-over uninstalled pieces we stored are also delaminating. House is constant temp-humidity geothermal, and we have one small dog who only pees by lifting his leg on my car tires. Mohawk sent "independent inspector" who alleged pet pee at delaminating seams. Denied warranty. Google search immediately returned over 72-thousand hits for Mohawk carpet delamination. I think these guys are just Crooks and Liars. Blaine White - Howell, Michigan.

1234567891011Next >>

Find Flooring Installers

My zip code is: