Consumer Reviews of Mohawk carpets

Mohawk flooring logo
Popularity:
#10   of 15 brands of carpets

22% of customers recommend
2 of 5 stars 123 reviews
  • Very Satisfied
    23
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    5
  • Neutral
    5
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    5
  • Very Unsatisfied
    85

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to Flooring.net. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of Flooring.net.

Read more about Mohawk carpets

Read reviews of other Carpet brands
Write a review

<< Previous12345678910111213Next >>

Date created: 2015-10-25 Name: Jennifer
Location: Iowa

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Falling apart at the seams. Don't buy Mohawk carpet!"
We purchased and had Mohawk carpet installed in our basement in 2009. A couple of years after installation I noticed that the seam entering my sons bedroom was coming apart. I was very disheartening about this, but I didn't say anything about it because it is a doorway and sees a good amount of traffic. The seam its self wasn't completely separated, but the carpet was separated from the backing. And every time I would vacuum, carpet strands would come apart from the carpet and left a hole. It looks terrible but again I lived with it. Then, this year(2015) I decided to have the carpet professionally cleaned because we bought furniture for down there and since I was having the upstairs carpets cleaned I figured we would just have them do the basement to while they were here. I for got to mention that the carpet covers the entire basement, but is very rarely used. My sons room gets the most traffic and that is right at the bottom of the stairs. Any who, I had the carpet cleaners come and they saw that spot where the carpet was coming apart in the doorway and they avoided it because they didn't want to damage it further. So, moving on, they get out into the main living room area and start cleaning and the carpet along one seam in two areas not by each other start coming apart and carpet pulled out and left the seams with holes of missing carpet. Again, the carpet was pulled away from the backing of the carpet. I had the installer contact Mohawk about this issue because it was expensive carpet and it is only 6yrs old. Now it looks terrible down there. It should last us a lot longer then that. Our upstairs carpet is 9yrs old and still looks new! So, Mohawk has an inspector come look at it and he comes, does his inspection and Mohawk response was that it was from excessive water damage...what! We did have an area of the carpet that had some water get on it, from a leak in the tub above, but it wasn't enough water to cause the entire basement to have any kind of water damage. I was honest with the inspector and told him about the plumbing leak, but it was not even wet in the areas where the carpet is having issues. Also, the area that did get wet does not have any kind of a problem! I am very disappointed with Mohawk. Why have a warranty on your carpet if all you are going to do is find a way to blame the issue on something else. Clearly this is a shitty carpet issue. The carpet is pulling away from the backing. We will have to buy new carpet. Just bought furniture for the basement. It hasn't even been delivered. That's how much the basement is used. We don't even have furniture down there. Now we have furniture on the way and I don't even want to put it down there because the seams look so bad. And it's only going to get worse as time goes on. Don't buy carpet from Mohawk. They do not stand by their carpet if there is a problem!


Date created: 2015-10-15 Name: Tom D
Location: Murfreesboro, TN
Model: Immense II

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Mohawk bad choice"
We had 18 year old Berner carpet which was great just looked old. We bought 25 year warranty with lifetime stain warranty. We get black spots 3 times in our first year. Man who cleaned our carpet said stains are from sugary drinks or grand kids that visit 1 of 2 times a month. The old white carpet didn't have stain problems. I read nothing but bad reviews about Mohawk carpet. I have never read a review that says they warranty there problem. There are better manufactures that stand behind their product.


Date created: 2015-09-04 Name: Sheila Henke
Location: Santa Fe, NM
Model: Smartstrand

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Horrible experience"
Our carpet is one year old. One month after installation we were sure that this carpet was going to be a problem. We contacted the distributor, who in turn, contacted Mohawk and we were told to have the carpet cleaned. We did this and the carpet looked clean for about one day and then all the spots reappeared along traffic patterns. The carpet cleaners came back and were puzzled-they suggested the next step would be encapsulation. This carpet had this feature. No one at Mohawk will identify themselves by name. They sent a "forensic specialist" who I am sure always finds that there is "no manufacturing defect". Their warranties are meaningless and their ethics are shameful. I cannot believe businesses such as this are allowed to continue ripping consumers off. I would happily join a class action suit.



Date created: 2015-09-01 Name: F Reddock
Location: Clermont

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Terrible carpet"
Definitely don't buy! What everyone is saying is true. The carpet looks ten years old after six months. They denied my claim. You get no where with customer service. The independent inspector they sent was surprised with how bad the carpet looked and then wrote up a false report. I guess they pay him to do that so they don't need to pay out. The inspector told me I should "hover" over the carpet, in other words don't walk on it since it looks so bad even with not walking on it with shoes. He said it will be interesting to see what Mohawk has to say about their product. Mohawk didn't care one bit. Claim denied! I will go with a more reputable company. Stay away from them.


Date created: 2015-08-31 Name: Linda Gaiownik
Location: Surprise, AZ
Model: Smartstrand

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Smartstrand wears down very quickly"
There are only two adults walking on this carpeting and it looks like we have had it for decades when we have only had it for three years. The hallway is worn down to practically nothing! It is very stain resistant but the reason we spent so much money on this is so that it would last us a long time.


Date created: 2015-07-25 Name: M. Solomon
Location: Parkton, NC
Model: Kuhlman Crossing Carpet

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Wears quickly. Claim denied."
I bought a new home in Dec. 2014 with Mohawk Kuhlman Crossing installed. Within 2 months, this carpet looked like it was 10 years old. It wears very quickly and very noticeably. Service to figure this out was horrible and Mohawk denied out claim. Choose another brand!


Date created: 2015-07-06 Name: P. Nettleton
Location: Duluth, MN
Model: Smartstrand Truly Tasteful

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Difficult to vacuum"
After looking at carpeting for a year, I decided on Mohawk Smartstrand Truly Tasteful for its wearability, softness and durability. The carpet has been a disappointment since the day it was installed 3 years ago. Yes, the carpet is soft to walk on but I am struggling with vacuuming. My Electrolux, which I have used for years, definitely won’t work with the power tool. The only way I can use the Electrolux is with the carpet side of the double sided attachment pulling it toward me as the carpet is too thick to push the wand back and forth. My husband and I took a large sample of the carpet to 2 vacuum dealers and tried every vacuum available to see if we could find one that worked with the new carpet. The sales people were amazed that it was so difficult to vacuum. We ended up buying a new Oreck Magnesium as it seemed to work best at the time. To vacuum with the Oreck, it must be on the low setting pulling the vacuum toward me as the high setting is too hard to push and tugs at the carpet. I didn't need a new vacuum so this was an added expense I hadn't planned on. The other issue is the carpet shows track marks and footprints two seconds after vacuuming which makes the carpet look matted. It never looks fresh, new and plush. For these reasons, I would never recommend Mohawk Smartstrand.


Date created: 2015-06-26 Name: Sharon adams
Location: Portland, or
Model: Smartstrand Silk

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Fuzzy pilled looking smartstrand"
I purchased Smartstrand Silk from local carpet vendor in Portland, OR who sold me on the supposed wear-ability in family rooms and the fact that he had it in his house. I have had it cleaned biyearly for two years due to the fact that this particular carpet always looks dirty and matted even though I thoroughly vacuum it at least twice a week. It is Berber and one would think because it is looped it would wear better than cut pile carpeting. It has areas of fuzziness were we walk. Fortunately for us the dealer did get a reimbursement from Mohawk. The unfortunate part is I have to buy a Mohawk product again.



Date created: 2015-05-01 Name: annie hunt
Location: WV
Model: SmartStrand Silk

Satisfaction Rating:
5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Do your homework update..."
Only this morning I wrote a review about the Mohawk SmartStrand Silk. (Read my earlier statement) I am very pleased to report that the dealer we purchased this from called me and said that they had reported my complaints to Mohawk and that "to my surprise" they admitted to having a problem with the soft fibers being very difficult to sweep and bad about tracking. They have agreed to replace my carpet, but only with another Mohawk brand. Now I do not like the fact that I have to settle with another Mohawk product, but at least they are replacing it. And, I will not go with any other SmartStrands, I am going to go with what I know works: Nylon! It may not hold up to stains as well, but I can rest assure that it will last and not mat down or show tracks, because our old carpets were nylon and they ranged in age from 10, 15 & 20yrs old and looked brand new compared to the new SmartStrand! I am ever so grateful to our dealer. Without him I'm sure we would have been stuck with what we had. Once again I want to stress to do your homework and hopefully avoid what so many other people have had to experience. Since I am being stuck with yet another Mohawk brand, I will have to come back and update on how that goes. But at this point, as long as I can run my Dyson without breaking my back and dislocating my shoulder, and not see mats and footprints, I'm sure I will be a happy camper! Good luck..


Date created: 2015-05-01 Name: Annie Hunt
Location: WV
Model: SmartStrand Silk

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Please do your homework"
I completely put my faith in a reputable carpet dealer for helping me choose a carpet best suited for my home. My husband and I live with 3 dogs and just about every inch of space is walked upon, besides where the furniture sets, so needless to say I needed a very durable carpet to withstand traffic and dirt. So I was guided to buy SmartStrand Silk. Biggest mistake we have ever made! Now not only do I have carpet that I cannot run my sweeper on, but it looks like it has been down for a lifetime! It shows every footprint & track, it mats down everywhere its stepped upon and it is already shedding and unraveling. Please do your homework before buying this carpet and let my experience keep you from loosing you hard earned money! Mohawk should pull this off the market and replace or refund back money, or at least anyone looking to purchase this type of carpet should be warned that it tracks, mats and that you should be prepared to go on a sweeper safari in search of a brand that may or may not work, and even if you get lucky and find the "right sweeper" be prepared to vacuum it 30x a day just to keep it even remotely clean and looking halfway desirable to the eyes! My heart goes out to anyone who has had to go thru this disaster. My condolences!

<< Previous12345678910111213Next >>

Find Flooring Installers
My zip code is:
How to Buy
Flooring Reviews
Flooring Materials
Flooring Brands