Flooring.net Logo

Consumer Reviews of Shaw carpets

Popularity:
#8  of 11 brands of carpets

27% of customers recommend
2 of 5 stars 127 reviews
  • Very Satisfied
    27
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    8
  • Neutral
    5
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    5
  • Very Unsatisfied
    82

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to Flooring.net. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of Flooring.net.

Read more about Shaw carpets

Read reviews of other Carpet brands
Write a review

12345678910111213Next >>

Date created: 2015-03-04 Name: Anna

Satisfaction Rating:
5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Do your research!"
People, do your research before purchasing! Know what the fiber content is, the care instructions, and exactly what the warranties include! There are many types of fibers used in carpeting. If you purchased a polyester, then you can expect it to fail (long term), because it is not something that will last. A nylon 6, or Nylon 6/6 are the best types of nylon fiber. Stainmaster which is used by Shaw, and other carpet manufactures is probably the top Nylon fiber, because it is a Nylon 6/6 and Stainmaster puts their carpet(s) through rigorous testing. Unfortunately there are too many sales people who are more interested in selling the product than educating the consumer first so that they can make the final decision. I am not one of those sales people. I can honestly say that I've never had one customer come back to me saying their Shaw carpet failed in the way the people here are describing. Very sad that you had that type of sales person. Gives Shaw such a bad name.


Date created: 2015-02-20 Name: Alan
Location: Des Moines, IA

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Do not buy a house with Shaw Carpet XV368"
I have been in my new home 6 months and the Shaw carpeting is already matting. I have a rep coming over from the distributor Monday, but I don't hold out much hope for any resolution. I don't know how a distributor can sell this crap. My distributor is Gilcrest/Jewett Lumber Co, Des Moines, IA. I'll keep you posted.


Date created: 2015-02-02 Name: Dale Roberts
Location: Leesburg, VA

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Entire Subdivision Got the Shaw Shank"
We live in a three year old Stanley Martin Homes subdivision of appx 200 homes. One person mentioned on the community website that their carpet was worn out already and the flood gates opened. Virtually everyone is experiencing the same stretched, worn out, crappy looking carpet. Three years looks like ten. Many of us even upgraded to a "better" Shaw carpet. And here's a shock, nobody is jumping up to address the problem. If you are looking at new houses ask them if they have used Shaw carpet. If it is Shaw... Don't by the house (or at least get a credit to have it replaced in a couple of years)


Date created: 2015-01-07 Name: D Ferris
Location: Superior, WI

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Do not buy this carpet!"
We purchased the Shaw Fortuna carpet for our living/dining area, as well as a large landing and two stairways. It was installed in February of 2013. In the higher traffic areas it now looks spindly like thin spaghetti and very matted. After 23 months? Really? Evidently this is not covered under any of Shaw's useless warranties. We will never again purchase any Shaw flooring products!


Date created: 2015-01-02 Name: Lisa Schmitt
Location: Metro Detroit, Michigan

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Horrible Carpet, Don't Even Consider Buying"
We purchased this carpet one year ago to replace our worn out builder's grade carpet. We have had this carpet for little under one year and it almost looks as bad as the carpet we replaced. We purchased the Shaw - Our Delight carpet based on it's good rating for high traffic areas. Well those areas look so matted down now that raking with a rug rake & almost daily vacuuming are no longer helping at all. We have contacted the retailer we purchased the carpet from and Shaw directly. They did send a field inspector out but all he reported was that there was crushing/shading and the warranty doesn't cover that. We are extremely upset as we spent a lot of money to carpet our entire house and it now looks a bad as our 9 year old carpet did. Shaw's traffic rating needs to be more accurate so you can make an educated purchase. I will never purchase a Shaw product again.



Date created: 2014-11-11 Name: cindy robbins
Location: virginia beach virginia

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"25 years my ..."
I searched last year even did my homework for best carpet 25 warranty. Bought the best they had and upgraded padding the best... Best at less than a year. Had it cleaned. Per warranty rules. Its so matted down I put claim in they said not under warranty. Only the twist. Who wants to sue?


Date created: 2014-11-11 Name: C. Martin
Location: Houston, Texas

Satisfaction Rating:
2 of 5 stars Somewhat Unsatisfied

Review:
"Beware Shaw Caress Carpet"
Beware! Shaw's newest Devon Caress carpet looks and feels nice. But, beware - you can only use certain vacuum cleaners because it is "too delicate" I had to get rid of my Dyson and buy an expensive new vacuum that did not have as much suction. I am very unhappy because I don't feel the carpet is getting clean. I tried to speak to Shaw and they said "you should have read about this on-line before purchasing!" Really! Hope someone else reads my review!


Date created: 2014-11-09 Name: Sheryl Zane
Location: Birmingham, Al

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Shaw carpets do not wear well"
Six months out from installation, the Dunes carpet looks matted down. You can see the wear. If you clean up a spill or pet stain, the spot shows. I know better than to expect Shaw to stand behind their warranty because the three year old Shaw color wall frieze it replaced looked awful. Shaw independent inspector asked if I vacuumed every day. Really,who has time for that. Wish I had the money for hardwoods because that is the way to go. After much research, it seems as if no reasonably priced carpet is made well these days.


Date created: 2014-10-30 Name: J. Cloakey
Location: Lake Stevens, WA

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Fuzzed-up carpet"
Our home received new carpet for which we were excited. After the carpet layers had left we began to move our furniture back into the rooms. To our dismay we discovered that certain areas in the carpet had fuzzy spots in them. We called the... long story short... inspector stated that is was due to vacuuming! We hadn't even vacuumed yet! The carpet layers had yet to hear from Shaw! Wish us luck!


Date created: 2014-10-24 Name: Paula Schlumbrecht
Location: United States

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Holes all over carpet fiber pulls out"
A rep from Shaw came to my house to look at the holes in my carpet. After taking a q-tip swab, they determined there was not a manufacturing problem. First hole appeared after vacuuming 3 months after purchase. Builders patched it up only for it to happen again in a different area and now fibers are pulling out like crazy. Brand new home, and new carpet and now I'm going to have to dish out money for new flooring. I live alone, so there's not much traffic in the house. It also crushes badly. Do not buy anything from Shaw. Wish I asked the builders what kind of carpet they were installing before I bought the house.

12345678910111213Next >>

Find Flooring Installers

My zip code is: