Flooring.net Logo

Consumer Reviews of Shaw carpets

Shaw flooring logo
Popularity:
#10  of 14 brands of carpets

23% of customers recommend
2 of 5 stars 162 reviews
  • Very Satisfied
    30
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    8
  • Neutral
    5
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    6
  • Very Unsatisfied
    113

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to Flooring.net. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of Flooring.net.

Read more about Shaw carpets

Read reviews of other Carpet brands
Write a review

1234567891011121314151617Next >>

Date created: 2016-06-22 Name: Steven Earney
Location: Union City, CA
Model: Enduring Comfort Pattern

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Shaw Carpet defect, poor company customer service"
We purchased our Shaw Enduring Comfort Pattern Carpet (Grey Flannel), about 2 years ago. In the last 6 to 8 months the color of the carpet has been changing next to our master bathroom door, and it's still getting worse day by day. The grey colored carpet there has been turning brown, to the point that it is ugly now. We called our installer in March to come out and take a look. They did and took some pictures and forwarded them to Shaw with a customer complaint. Shaw didn't contact us until I sent them an email. They sent us a letter denying the claim stating that a bleach product had come into contact with the carpet. We contacted them back stating that no cleaning product of any kind came into contact with the carpet, and I wondered why they could make an assumption based on looking at a picture. Not professional at all. Shaw did call me back an offered to send out someone who would check the area. We informed that individual that no cleaning compound or water had touched the area. We vacuum often and it had never been shampooed. He said he couldn't give us his opinion, but would let Shaw know of his findings. He also said there was no blue in the area, and it wasn't bleach because bleach wouldn't turn it that color. We waited and never got an answer from Shaw, so I talked to someone there who gave me a claim number. They told me that the inspector basically said a cleaning product had come into contact with the area. Isn't that strange he would say the same thing. The area is still spreading outward to this day, and Shaw will not back up their warranty with anything but excuses claiming they are not at fault. Too bad consumer, you are not right. They did tell me though that we could get our own inspector and send them the results, at our cost. It's really sad when a company will not back up their products. I read alot of bad reviews and experiences with this company so it appears I am not alone. We have had a few carpets before this one, and none of them have changed color in this fashion. We knew up front that this carpet shows footprints, and we were ok with that. I would not recommend this company to anyone thinking of purchasing a new carpet. We are not giving up on this matter and will pursue a resolution.


Date created: 2016-06-17 Name: Grygus
Location: Port Coquitlam
Model: Enduring Comfort III

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Unsatisfied"
This carpet of Soft Touch Enduring Comfort III 60oz is so bad I would like everyone to know not to buy this product. It is so bad in packing and matting and you will so disappointed as we have been in only our second year and we are seniors living with care of our new purchase. Shaw has not lived up to the warranty or expectation of this product. Save your heart ache find another product!


Date created: 2016-06-13 Name: Shawna M.
Location: De Soto, KS

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Carpet Sprouting Within a Couple of Days"
I spent a lot of money on the Shaw carpet and had it professionally installed. Within a couple of days Sprouting happened (little loops of carpet letting go). I filed a complaint and there was an individual that came out to inspect it. The person said that the protruding tufts or sprouts are consistent with damage by sharp objects being drawn across the carpet to catch a single tuff. Nothing of the sort happened. So only buy this carpet if you donít plan to walk on it, vacuum, or touch it in any way. The solution given to me was when a loose tuff happens, simply cut if off... which leaves a whole in your carpet. Super awesome customer service.



Date created: 2016-06-12 Name: Gordon Joslin
Location: Michigan

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Worse for the Wear continued"
Well I am posting again, a conclusion to my complaint. I had the carpet professionally cleaned, at my own expense, it did not solve the problem area. The area raised up some of the crushing, but the flaw is still noticeable. So Same conclusion - defective carpet, that Shaw will not own up to.


Date created: 2016-05-03 Name: Thelma Farmer
Location: Logan, OH

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Unhappy"
We have had carpet in our homes for all our married lives of 50 years. This year we bought a new Shaws Carpet and after it was installed it looked like 50 people had walked on it showing every footprint. We were told it had a 60 day guarantee so we had the carpet place replace it with a carpet that had been in their shop for 10 years that was similar to our old carpet. Needless to say we are not pleased (but we are made that decision) and they tried to make us pay for the carpet they took up plus we had to pay double the labor. The new carpets are so soft that they show every footprint so my suggestion is to do what the younger generation are doing - choosing wood or tile. We sure wish we had!


Date created: 2016-04-22 Name: K Larsen
Location: Phoenix, AZ

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Do not buy!"
Purchased "top-quality nylon" and within a few weeks it was showing wear... same as others here, in only a 2 person home. Spent more thinking we'd be getting better quality and this is horrible. I've owned several homes over many decades and the cheapest builder installed carpet I had w kids and dogs lasted more than 10 years. This is barely 6 months old and looks 10 yrs old. Shame on Shaw for selling this high priced garbage and then denying the claims.


Date created: 2016-04-16 Name: B rdon Joslin
Location: Shepherd MI

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Worse for the Wear continued"
An update from my previous complaint, the Better Business Bureau let me post a comment on their website, which was basically the complaint as listed. The BBB sent me a reply later "Your review of Shaw Industries, Inc. Has been evaluated by Better Business Bureau staff. We were unable to accept it for the following reason: The customer submitted a complaint. If you have any questions or if you feel that this is an error, please feel free to contact us. Thank you. Better Business Bureau, Inc PO Box 4532 Chattanooga, TN 37405 " Apparently the truth hurts, and the BBB will only post complaints that are not bothersome to their clients. So I close my case, with the satisfaction that I had planned on replacing the carpet with hard flooring in the near future anyway - but it won't be Shaw ;)


Date created: 2016-03-31 Name: Victor Ilnicki
Location: Glenshaw, Pa. 15116

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Poor quality, and warranty?"
Carpet looks terrible. Complained to Shaw. They sent an adjuster. He said it was ok. Shaw wouldn't do anything. We are buying new carpet, but never Shaw.



Date created: 2016-03-18 Name: Gordon Joslin
Location: Shepherd MI

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Worse for the Wear"
We built a new house, have all Shaw carpeting throughout. The carpet gets vacuumed once a week, there is only 2 of us living here. Within 6 months it started showing some signs of wear. After a year we called and complained. Shaw sent an inspector out to look at it, took pictures, pulled threads out of the worn areas and out of other areas, wiped the carpet with a wet white cloth, raked the worn areas, reviewed our vacuum cleaner, and several other tests. The report we got back indicated there was nothing wrong with the carpet, it was a User Maintenance Issue. So I wrote to Shaw, asking to explain what that meant and what I should do or should have done. The answer was buy a new vacuum cleaner. Now the report on the vacuum cleaner only indicated that the a scuff pad had some scratches in it. I borrowed a Dyson Vacuum, that made no difference, I bought a Carpet Rake, that helped a little, but you can still see the worn areas. Shaw didn't change their stance. So I wrote to the Better Business Bureau. Shaw gave their point of view, which I contested. So then they offered a free cleaning. Now why would I want a cleaning in place of replacing the worn carpet, especially since it isn't dirty. I declined, and will not buy any Shaw flooring again.


Date created: 2016-02-28 Name: Terry
Location: Ohio

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Worst carpet we ever owned"
This P E T carpet we purchased was supposed to be their best. That was lie! In less than a year it wore out, with just two old people living in home. Called Shaw and they said matting and wear is not covered for any warranty. They even wanted know how many people in home how much you weigh and if you have a dog and how much it weighs, how often vacuumed and shampooed and do you rotate your furniture! Do not buy this brand if you want a good carpet. Owned a few brands of carpet over 40 years this has to be the worst ever bought.

1234567891011121314151617Next >>

Find Flooring Installers

My zip code is: