Flooring.net Logo

Consumer Reviews of Shaw carpets

Shaw flooring logo
Popularity:
#9  of 14 brands of carpets

23% of customers recommend
2 of 5 stars 167 reviews
  • Very Satisfied
    32
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    8
  • Neutral
    5
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    6
  • Very Unsatisfied
    116

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to Flooring.net. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of Flooring.net.

Read more about Shaw carpets

Read reviews of other Carpet brands
Write a review

<< Previous1234567891011121314151617Next >>

Date created: 2016-04-22 Name: K Larsen
Location: Phoenix, AZ

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Do not buy!"
Purchased "top-quality nylon" and within a few weeks it was showing wear... same as others here, in only a 2 person home. Spent more thinking we'd be getting better quality and this is horrible. I've owned several homes over many decades and the cheapest builder installed carpet I had w kids and dogs lasted more than 10 years. This is barely 6 months old and looks 10 yrs old. Shame on Shaw for selling this high priced garbage and then denying the claims.


Date created: 2016-04-16 Name: B rdon Joslin
Location: Shepherd MI

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Worse for the Wear continued"
An update from my previous complaint, the Better Business Bureau let me post a comment on their website, which was basically the complaint as listed. The BBB sent me a reply later "Your review of Shaw Industries, Inc. Has been evaluated by Better Business Bureau staff. We were unable to accept it for the following reason: The customer submitted a complaint. If you have any questions or if you feel that this is an error, please feel free to contact us. Thank you. Better Business Bureau, Inc PO Box 4532 Chattanooga, TN 37405 " Apparently the truth hurts, and the BBB will only post complaints that are not bothersome to their clients. So I close my case, with the satisfaction that I had planned on replacing the carpet with hard flooring in the near future anyway - but it won't be Shaw ;)


Date created: 2016-03-31 Name: Victor Ilnicki
Location: Glenshaw, Pa. 15116

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Poor quality, and warranty?"
Carpet looks terrible. Complained to Shaw. They sent an adjuster. He said it was ok. Shaw wouldn't do anything. We are buying new carpet, but never Shaw.



Date created: 2016-03-18 Name: Gordon Joslin
Location: Shepherd MI

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Worse for the Wear"
We built a new house, have all Shaw carpeting throughout. The carpet gets vacuumed once a week, there is only 2 of us living here. Within 6 months it started showing some signs of wear. After a year we called and complained. Shaw sent an inspector out to look at it, took pictures, pulled threads out of the worn areas and out of other areas, wiped the carpet with a wet white cloth, raked the worn areas, reviewed our vacuum cleaner, and several other tests. The report we got back indicated there was nothing wrong with the carpet, it was a User Maintenance Issue. So I wrote to Shaw, asking to explain what that meant and what I should do or should have done. The answer was buy a new vacuum cleaner. Now the report on the vacuum cleaner only indicated that the a scuff pad had some scratches in it. I borrowed a Dyson Vacuum, that made no difference, I bought a Carpet Rake, that helped a little, but you can still see the worn areas. Shaw didn't change their stance. So I wrote to the Better Business Bureau. Shaw gave their point of view, which I contested. So then they offered a free cleaning. Now why would I want a cleaning in place of replacing the worn carpet, especially since it isn't dirty. I declined, and will not buy any Shaw flooring again.


Date created: 2016-02-28 Name: Terry
Location: Ohio

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Worst carpet we ever owned"
This P E T carpet we purchased was supposed to be their best. That was lie! In less than a year it wore out, with just two old people living in home. Called Shaw and they said matting and wear is not covered for any warranty. They even wanted know how many people in home how much you weigh and if you have a dog and how much it weighs, how often vacuumed and shampooed and do you rotate your furniture! Do not buy this brand if you want a good carpet. Owned a few brands of carpet over 40 years this has to be the worst ever bought.


Date created: 2016-02-21 Name: Karen Kennedy
Location: Independence. MO

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"So disappointed!"
We also bought Shaw Carpet through Costco. Costco normally provides an upgrade on all products. We thought this would be a good choice. It isn't. It started looking ratty in the traffic areas very soon after the install. There are only two of us and we are retirement age. We have no pets or grandchildren to be hard on this carpet. There is no excuse other than a very poor product. We are so disappointed in this carpet!


Date created: 2016-01-16 Name: Terry garten
Location: Ohio

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Shaw carpet absolute trash! Warranty trash"
Purchased less than a year ago was told it was the top of the line the best! It's wearing out from foot traffic from two 60 year old people! Tried their warranty and hears the crap they ask how old are you? How much you weigh? Do you have a dog? How much does dog weigh? Do you rotate your furniture? How may people in house? How often you vacuum? How many times have you shampooed it? Can you believe all the ways they try to get out of warranting it? Do not buy Shaw carpet it is trash.


Date created: 2016-01-15 Name: Unsatisfied in CO
Location: CO
Model: Shaw Berber Carpet

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Another Unsatisfied Customer"
Looking up Shaw Carpet and customer reviews I am shocked to see how many other unsatisfied customers are out there. I thought Shaw was one of the best. We purchased a high grade Shaw carpet 4 years ago only to have it break down within 1.5 years. The company we bought it from replaced with another 'high grade' Shaw berber carpet. It is 2 years later and the carpet has done nothing but ravel on the edges, wear in high traffic spots and basically look horrible. If a piece of the carpet ravels and you pull on it, it continues to run thru the entire carpet. This is not how it should be. We went back to the company we purchased it from and they tried to get a warranty from Shaw only to be denied. I can promise that whatever I end up replacing this with will not be a Shaw carpet. Nor would I ever recommend a Shaw carpet to anyone. We own a business and are in people's homes every day, asking for referrals and home improvement ideas. Shaw will be discussed as an option to never go with based upon our experience.



Date created: 2016-01-12 Name: R. Mann
Location: Redding, CA

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Broken backing"
Shaw carpeting, and top shelf padding, was installed throughout our home in Sept. 2005. In 2007 we noticed lines running thru the carpet due to what we thought was a poor install. Many calls to the supplier proved fruitless so we hired a carpet installer to repair. He found that the carpet backing was failing. Additional calls to the supplier and to shaw were not returned. Most people that we've talked to are surprised by our experience. I believe this is due to their Shaw's not handling problem issues. If ours was an isolated incident then Shaw would have at least attempted to back up their product.


Date created: 2016-01-02 Name: K. Gilligan
Location: Troy, Mt,

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Horrible carpet."
I am on my 2nd bad Shaw carpet. You would have thought I would have learned after the first event. The dealer in small town has been very good about the first bad carpet which occurred during the first 30 days. It began to fuzz up and the fibers untwisted along the sofa and also in front of my husbands recliner. We were asked a lot of questions but the maker did replace it at no charge saying it was a bad batch. The replaced carpet is doing the same thing after 3 weeks, The story seems a little different now and it sounds as tho we are at fault for either wearing slippers or socks or going barefoot. What baloney! It is the type of carpet as the first Shaw carpet we bought held up great, From then on it has been downhill. Would never buy a Shaw product again. We have had to move furniture in three rooms 2 times and here comes a third in 2 months.

<< Previous1234567891011121314151617Next >>

Find Flooring Installers

My zip code is: