Flooring.net Logo

Consumer Reviews of Shaw carpets

Popularity:
#8  of 11 brands of carpets

29% of customers recommend
2 of 5 stars 116 reviews
  • Very Satisfied
    26
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    8
  • Neutral
    5
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    4
  • Very Unsatisfied
    73

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to Flooring.net. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of Flooring.net.

Read more about Shaw carpets

Read reviews of other Carpet brands
Write a review

<< Previous123456789101112Next >>

Date created: 2014-07-23 Name: marcia rossman
Location: comstock park mi.

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Showing wear"
It started showing wear within a few months. It is dirty and packed down and looks like a worn carpet.


Date created: 2014-07-17 Name: A. M.
Location: Vancouver, Canada

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Terribly Unhappy"
Had Shaw carpet installed in December of 2013. It began to ripple and soon we had waves so large I could not vacuum over it. A Shaw "rep" came out and was mystified. He said an inspector would be contacting us. We're still waiting. If Shaw has any plan to lay the blame on us I will be contacting my lawyer and suing them in small claims. Everyone should do this - you will win. Take photos, keep meticulous records, and sue. It's time for people to stand up to this sort of blatant irresponsibility.


Date created: 2014-05-20 Name: Jamie
Location: SLC, UT

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Still a dark spot on the carpet"
We paid alot of money ($42 psy) for our carpet. We had Stainmaster in our last home and loved how durable it was with our family and pets. We told the sales person that we wanted something equivalent or better. She suggested this carpet. It is beautiful, it is soft, it looks plush, just like we wanted. The bug but... We have a little dog who sometimes is naughty. Within one week, sure enough, he was naughty on the new white carpet. We cleaned it according to the manufacturers direction, clear dish soap and warm water, and a dark stain developed. We steam cleaned, still a dark spot on the carpet. I am working with my retail location on a solution and can't post a final. We are still within our 60 day customer satisfaction timeframe.


Date created: 2014-04-09 Name: Michelle
Location: Holley, NY

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Carpet Warranty - A Joke"
Within a year our carpet has spots that are "lightening" up .. not stains. They appear and we have no explanation. Shaw sends an "independent rep" who claims pet urine (which means my dog must 'tinkle' all over the house in a 1/2 inch spot) and lack of owner cleaning! They said they "tested" the carpet and it was stain resistent so no factory fault. Now, a stain and a lightening/bleaching look are completely different. Shaw is useless and just puts the blame on the consumer. I'm following advice of others on this site and claiming through nys offices.


Date created: 2014-03-26 Name: Greg M.
Location: Colfax, Wix

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Carpet warranty with Shaw carpets--what a joke."
In less than a year we had light spots showing up in different places in our new carpet. I contacted the retailer and they contacted Shaw. They hired a so-called independent inspector to examine and do a report. The report came back in Shaw's favor. The report stated that the loss of dye in the fibers was due to cleaning chemicals, but did not specifically identify a chemical. I found this to be an easy way to lay the blame on me, rather than consider a defect in the carpet. It is obvious after my conversation with Shaw, that they have no intent of considering any warranty. If I want to appeal the denial, I have to pay for another inspection. I have decided to file a complaint thru our state's consumer protection office. This only takes time, not your money.



Date created: 2014-03-20 Name: Barbara Lambert
Location: Lone Oak, Texas

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Cloverdale"
We got a shag from Lowe's It was very nice..but about months after installed we began to see a fine white dust on all our furniture and we were breathing it also. We want to Lowe's and they sent a sample in...came back the backing was defective..said it had been corrected so we bought more #2200.00, We are now having the same problem only worse. We are going to have it analyzed..Shaw said nothing is wrong but it is. It is worse this time.I Pulled a piece up and the backing it disintegrating. They said it is okay. Beware of shaws carpet.


Date created: 2014-02-23 Name: Jen
Location: Saint Joseph MO

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Horrible Carpet"
After purchasing Shaw carpet for our entire home in less than 3 years it is matted and roped. It looks far worse than the 15 year old carpet we had prior to the purchase. It is only my husband and I in the home so there is not high traffic. We contacted the seller and were told since we missed the first cleaning by 6 months the warranty was no good. The salesmen in the store were beyond rude and talked down to us as though we were brainless. I would never again purchase Shaw carpet or buy from Eckards Home Improvement store. Also, I would advise others to do the same.


Date created: 2014-01-11 Name: Janice Sadowski
Location: Wisconsin

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Poor quality"
The quality is not there. In the condo that I sold the Shaw carpet was 25 years old and it looked brand new. The new one I have in a new condo is disgusting. It leaves foot prints and leaves a path where you walk. Even after someone looked at it nothing was done. After all there inspectors are on their side. I will never buy one again. This company is extremely unfaithful. The path started right after it was installed.


Date created: 2014-01-02 Name: Mfish
Location: Edgewater Florida

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Wish I'd Seen This Sooner!"
I have just gotten off the phone with the store where I'd bought this poorly made carpet because I hadn't heard the results of the inspection ordered by Shaw in November. My complaint is this: after installation of about 1100 square feet of carpet covering three bedrooms and a living room/dining room in June of 2012, I am thoroughly disappointed with the lack of quality and the wear it is showing. I could be reading my own complaint when I saw on this site that it is worn, matted, flattened, dirty looking after this length of time! I had it professionally steam cleaned in October of 2012 after only four months of use, and again in early November of this year, thinking we must be awfully hard on it. There are only two people in this house, and two small dogs. To help keep dirt to a minimum, there are mats outside the front door, inside the front door, at every area where the carpet meets the tile at the entry to the kitchen and the exit to the screen porch. There are mats in front of the couch where we sit. There are mats at the back door entrance from the yard to the porch and from the porch to the house. There is an area rug beneath the dining table. If I had any more mats, there'd be no need for carpet at all--the whole place seems to be covered in them! I bought a new vacuum cleaner --Shark Rotator-- shortly after buying the carpet and it seemed to be picking up tons of what I thought was dirt. It wasn't just dirt...it was pieces of carpet fiber...I Wasn't just vacuuming the carpet, I was vacuuming up the actual carpet! Still after twice weekly vacuuming (more carpet)and two professional cleanings, it still looked bad. The second cleaner asked how old the carpet was and I said less than two years and he was astonished. He said it looked six or seven years old. He suggested that if it had a warranty, it is usually five or ten years and that I should think about checking that out because it looked pretty bad. So I started by calling the retailer and he came out to look at it. I had to laugh (or I'd cry) when he told me several things: it was a closeout (so?), it was not expensive (so?) and it just looked like it needed cleaning (it was) and raking (really?). I told him that the very things he used to sell me the carpet...closeout, great deal, great price...are the things he was now saying were wrong with it, and implying that it was my stupidity in buying it in the first place. So I asked him to get in touch with Shaw to have them come and inspect it. So they sent The Floor Detective out a week or so later, and he spent quite a bit of time looking, testing, taking pictures, etc. and listening to my complaints. I wanted to say, "you have eyes...you can see what's wrong" but I just explained that the only places where the carpet is not worn down flat is where it is not walked on at all--under the coffee table, under the buffet, around the edges. I explained that it still appears just filthy after cleaning. I told him that the carpet is so flat at the entrances to the rooms that the nails from the edges are sticking through it. (Even with my mats over them!) I told him pieces of the carpet are getting stuck in the vacuum. (Also, which has more to do with the installation, the carpet underlay is coming apart in one bedroom where we hardly ever go. It started as just one small area and has spread out so that many feet of it is resting right on the concrete floor.) He nodded quite a bit, and I'd hoped I was making my case for replacement under the ten year warranty. I even asked him if he minded my watching him work and he said no, he was pretty used to it as he'd testified quite a bit in court cases. So, it came as no surprise that when the results of his tests were in, he sided with the folks who'd sent him. He said, as I've read here, that it was improperly cleaned, that the wear and tear was normal for its age, and that when he used distilled water to extract dirt he got a lot of dirt out. So it's everyone else's fault that the carpet is disgusting junk; not Shaw's. I sent a complaint to the BBB in the area where Shaw is manufactured and I see that there were over 75 complaints lodged against them this year regarding their products or warranties. I will not be able to replace this garbage carpet for a long while and it is really an embarrassment to have people come in...it looks dirty and discolored and looks like a herd of elephants have been traipsing through. So, unless they decide to do the right thing, I will be shouting it from the housetop and calling and writing every consumer agency I can to keep this from happening to others. I just wish I'd read this sooner myself and I never would have spent my hard earned money on such shoddy merchandise. Caveat emptor is great advice in this case.


Date created: 2013-12-18 Name: Judith Pike
Location: Sharonville Oh

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Awful Carpeting, NO satisfaction"
Should have read reviews before buying carpet. Like many of the other reviewers we are two old people with a middle-aged cat as only pet. I feel less foolish about not complaining earlier about our now three year old carpet, as there seem to be many who complained within months (as we should have). It was not cheap carpeting and has been cleaned by a very reputable (translate not bargain) cleaning company as recommended. Company says must not have gotten soap out, no manufacturing defect. It seems to seek stains and the traffic patterns are totally squashed down. Can only imagine what a family with kids and dogs could have done to it. Carpet and guarantee is a piece of...

<< Previous123456789101112Next >>

Find Flooring Installers

My zip code is: