Flooring.net Logo

Consumer Reviews of Mirage wood floors

Popularity:
#7  of 25 brands of wood floors

31% of customers recommend
2.5 of 5 stars 16 reviews
  • Very Satisfied
    5
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    0
  • Neutral
    1
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    1
  • Very Unsatisfied
    9

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to Flooring.net. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of Flooring.net.

Read reviews of other Wood Floor brands
Write a review

12Next >>

Date created: 2016-08-15 Name: A. Nelson
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
Model: Sweet Memories

Satisfaction Rating:
5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Select the texture that suits your household"
People seem to forget that if you select a wood that has gloss and does not have texture you will see everything no matter what wood you select - I have read the reviews and can't seem to wonder - what were they thinking. Sweet Memories is one of their lines that have texture and low lustre - very easy to repair yourself and the fact that it is Canadian made is a plus. Very easy to clean and my grand kids play on it with no problem. If I would of purchase a smooth product with a sheen I would of been disappointed no matter which brand. Maybe next time they should purchase hardwood from a store that can give them all the proper information and which floor to purchase depending on their lifestyle. All in all I would not hesitate to buy Sweet Memories from Mirage again.


Date created: 2016-05-13 Name: Irena
Location: Ridgeland, MS
Model: Nevada

Satisfaction Rating:
2 of 5 stars Somewhat Unsatisfied

Review:
"Red oak wears like softwood"
I had my entire house (except for bathrooms of course) redone with red oak Nevada finish Mirage flooring seven years ago. Traffic areas look terrible-the boards look gouged in the area where the grain of the wood shows. Yes, I have a large dog but my cheap wood floor that came with the house never nicked, scratched or gouged in the 12 years that I first lived in the house. (I had the floor redone downstairs due to rain leaking in and buckling an area of the floor and did the upstairs when I thought how nice the floor looked). I called Mirage and spoke to a rep. Told him the floor cost so much but wore terribly. He constantly argued that the term "wear" was "relative" and what did I expect? I said if I paid for a bmw, I wouldn't expect it to wear like a Yugo which was what my floor was doing. If I wanted soft wood instead of oak, I would have had it installed and put up with dents. Had the installer come in to take a look and seem unconcerned. Said I could spot areas with polyurethane to fix chips and nicks but would void warranty. I would look long and hard before buying this brand again. It is so soft that dropping a plastic ketchup bottle dented it. Is this because they use some "special method" to cut the wood on the bias?


Date created: 2016-04-17 Name: Carl Phinney
Location: North Scituate RI
Model: Maple Windsor

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Poor Quality. Poor Customer Service. Stay Away from Mirage Floors!"
"Do not buy from mirage! Ever! Read before investing...." My wife and I bought about 500 sq feet of Mirage maple flooring from a local flooring company. This stuff was supposed to be the best! We have a small puppy..who we keep well groomed... A few days of installing the flooring, my wife and I noticed scratch marks all over our new flooring... We realized that our dog was causing the scratches on the floor... I Mean deep scratches... as well as surface scratches... We couldn't believe it!! Horrible! I mean a small puppy with short nails causing scratches in the flooring. We contacted our local guy... who got us in touch with a Mirage rep... What a waste of time... They came and looked at the floor well barely... and took a sample... Months later after weeks of chasing the rep and phone calls to Mirage cs... And our local distributor... we get a letter from Mirage which stated they don't cover scratches... Say what? So now what do we do... SOL... No warranty... Nothing! ...Don't buy from this company! :(



Date created: 2016-02-19 Name: Patricia Delattre
Location: State College, PA USA
Model: Engineered floating floor

Satisfaction Rating:
3 of 5 stars Neutral

Review:
"Short boards plus dents"
We just installed Mirage flooring in our kitchen. So far the bothersome thing is that the pieces were mostly short 14" pieces! We were quite unhappy that the pieces were not at least 36" long. We called and they said it was to allow for waste, but when you open a package and there is one piece 48" long, 3 pieces at 36 and the rest all 14 and 18", it starts to look like a parquet floor! I will let you know how it wears. I already have 2 dents from dropping a can just like my former pine floors in my last kitchen. Not a good sign considering this is oak!


Date created: 2016-02-03 Name: Darcy Billinkoff
Location: Vancouver

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Beware of Mirage flooring"
Our rep talked us out of solid hardwood saying that the engineered flooring would hold up really well. Within a year the edges were chipping and the sheen was discolouring. When their reps tested the flooring they said there is nothing wrong with it, yet it splinters and shatters if the smallest object is dropped on it. The floor looks old, worn and very cheap and yet it cost us $30,000 to have it installed throughout our small house. Mirage has been of no help whatsoever. Do not buy their flooring if you are looking for a company that stands behind their product.


Date created: 2015-12-14 Name: Robin Burris
Location: Roswell ga
Model: African mahogony

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Read before investing...."
After a fire in our home we consulted with flooring distributor of Mirage engineered wood floors vs traditional on site finishing of hardwood. She didn't hesitate to assure us of how durable and wear resistant the engineered floors would be. I asked more than once whether they were prone to scratching. Within one week, the floor was covered with unsightly scratches! Two years later, this so called durable finish looks awful and you would guess the floor had been down for 50 years. Do not get engineered semi gloss mirage hardwood! The rep came out and told us to buy area rugs after we made this huge investment in expensive hardwood floors! Then he suggested that I live with the scratches until we sell the house and have the floor refinished for the new owners! How can a company get away with selling these floors under any normal circumstances? What do we do now?


Date created: 2015-11-16 Name: J. Johnson
Location: Long Island, New York

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Matching stain for stairs"
I am very happy with the pre-finished hardwood flooring. However, do not purchase the matching stain for stairs. It does not even come close to matching the pre-finished floor color. It is also very expensive compared to other stains. Mirage customer service was of no help. Told me I should have used a professional, which I did. Told me it is not for small areas, but on their website they specifically state that the matching stains are suitable for stair treads.


Date created: 2015-09-07 Name: Lawrence Hebda
Location: Darien, Il

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Poorest Quality"
We purchased Mirage flooring for our kitchen about a year ago. We explained to the distributor that it was for a kitchen and that we also had a large dog and were concerned about potential scratching. We were told that the being engineered hardwood it's service was more durable than regular hardwood. That statement was totally wrong. Within a week after we uncovered the floor we had scratches all over from the dog. We had the dogs nails trimmed and filed and it did not help. The manufacturer rep came out and took a sample of what was put down and they said there was nothing wrong with the surface. They sent a letter basically telling us that if you walked on the surface with anything but soft soled shoes or socks it voided the warranty and it took them 3 months to respond. We have other real hardwood floors in our house that have had three large dogs over the years and show almost no scratch. I wouldn't buy another product from this company. I spent $7k putting down floor in a remodeled kitchen that now looks like it has been there 50 years. I would never buy a product from this company.



Date created: 2015-06-21 Name: Ken
Location: Hamilton, NJ
Model: 3 1/4" x 3/4"

Satisfaction Rating:
5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Floor holding up"
We purchased and had our Mirage flooring installed about months ago. Maybe a little early to review, but it's holding up well. We've got chairs with casters rolling around on it with no problem. They're not the type with the metal band running thru it. We dropped something heavy on the floor and it made a small dent, as expected. Otherwise, we're not hard on it so maybe tough to tell. We're very pleased with this floor so far.


Date created: 2015-05-09 Name: Brandon Stahl
Location: East Lyme, CT
Model: Dark Maple

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Boards separated, looks horrible"
We installed dark maple hard wood flooring from Mirage in our home when it was constructing around 2009. Over the next few years it made some interesting popping noises that we were assured were normal. As of 2014 the boards have completely separated. We had it reviewed by the installer and the company. A third party reviewer concurred the boards were installed fine, but they just separated from humidity, etc. Mirage has been of absolutely no help to us. We have to have the entire first floor and much of the second floor redone now, at our cost. For a big company that supposedly prides itself in quality, this has been an unmitigated disaster. I'd look for your flooring supplies from another company - any other company. Avoid Mirage!

12Next >>

Find Flooring Installers

My zip code is: