Flooring.net Logo

Consumer Reviews of Pergo wood floors

Popularity:
#16  of 44 brands of wood floors

64% of customers recommend
3.5 of 5 stars 39 reviews
  • Very Satisfied
    21
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    4
  • Neutral
    0
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    2
  • Very Unsatisfied
    12

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to Flooring.net. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of Flooring.net.

Read more about Pergo wood floors

Read reviews of other Wood Floor brands
Write a review

1234Next >>

Date created: 2014-05-21 Name: S. Parrish
Location: Plano, TX

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Pergo Flooring--Never Again"
Flooring looked beautiful in the beginning. After some time, we noticed chipped areas in one office (bedroom) in our home. We have Pergo in three bedrooms and the entire hall. The hall is one year older than the office in question and has no damage. The office with damage has several small areas of delamination. Pergo sent an inspector who said we had too much moisture and were using metal/plastic casters on office chairs. Their own inspector wrote in his report that all chairs had rubber casters. Pergo chooses to ignore this. Pergo insists we have a moisture problem; therefore, they do not have to honor their warranty, which apparently is 6 months, if any months at all. Nevermind, we have their 30 year piece of worthless paper stating that's how long the warranty is. We will never use Lowe's again, and we will never purchase another Pergo floor.


Date created: 2013-09-11 Name: William C. Milo
Location: Anaheim, Calif

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"What a mess"
The only reason I did not put extremely unsatisfied was because there was no box to check. The refrigerator ice maker line leaked in the middle of the night and put water on my floor. The Pergo was a mess afterwards. Very disgusting. It stayed so swollen that I had to remove the Pergo and find something else. Do not get Pergo very wet.


Date created: 2013-08-27 Name: Laura
Location: Toms River NJ

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Big Mistake"
After all my floors were destroyed in Hurricane Sandy, I opted to replace the hardwood I had down previously with Pergo. My logic was that since it is a summer home and often has a lot of company and traffic, Pergo would be more durable and I would worry less about it holding up. What a joke. I bought what I thought was a decent quality line and it was professionally installed. There is more than adequate spacing, and there is no moisture in the floors as this was closely monitored before any sheetrock or floors went down as part of mold remediation. Additionally, all the 3/4" plywood under the pergo is brand new and certainly not wet. Within a week I got bubbles in one bedroom in a few spots. I thought it was just a few bad planks and we were going to replace them...not horrible since they were toward the end of the floor. We inspected the rest of what was put down thoroughly and did not find any more bubbles. That was until last week, when 3 or 4 more planks are bubbling now in the other bedroom. After 10 months of trying to put my house back together, I am now delayed again, as I will not finish the job until the pergo inspectors come out in case the floor has to come up. I can tell already they are making excuses (moisture, install) After reviewing all the same problems on multiple sites, it's obvious their product is inferior and I am sorry I every purchased it. I'm sorry, but a little spill (which I didn't even have) should not ruin an entire floor! Do not purchase.


Date created: 2012-10-10 Name: Robert Duggan
Location: bloomfield, NJ

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Pergo floors warped in summer heat"
I had pergo floor installed last April and by July the floors stared to come up and warp. I had professionally installed and floor had room to expand. The top layer peeling off and curing at edges. They does not tolerate any moisture/humidity. Pergo states should of run my air conditioner all the time and not leave windows open???


Date created: 2012-02-12 Name: Steve Walence
Location: Raleigh, NC

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Bamboo"
I bought pergo floor because the add said it was easy to install. Three months later and I have not had the patience to finish the project. It takes forever to get the boards to fit together. Solid wood floors are easy to put down: you just nail them in place. I would love to sell 20 boxes of bamboo at $10 per box. (I paid $40).


Date created: 2011-09-18 Name: Barbara Hoyt
Location: Amador County, CA

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Red Oak"
We had Pergo installed in our family room. We have a son in a power wheelchair. The chair weighs 300 lbs and our son 210. After a couple of weeks the floor began to creak and give. A representative came out for an inspection and said it was too much weight for the floor. Upon repair it was found to have broken under neath. Our son can no longer venture into the room. Pretty sad and we are very disappointed. Now after two years the flooring is beginning to squeak under normal wear. We will have to change it out soon.


Date created: 2011-09-17 Name: T. Smith
Location: Sonoma, Ca

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Not Happy"
We remodeled our house and had a beautiful Dark wood Pergo installed in the majority of the home. The floor was installed by the contractor. After 2 weeks we had bubbling in multiple places. 3 times the contractor came back to fix any tight spots. He noted that the floor seem to be stretching. We also have a lot of clicking and the seams pinch at times. The floor we installed has the foam backing already on the boards, don't know why. Pergo has come out to inspect but only took measurements. Very frustrating!


Date created: 2011-09-11 Name: E. White
Location: Palm Springs, CA

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Crap product, don't back up their warranty"
We purchased Pergo Flooring through Lowe's in September 2010 and it was installed, it looked beautiful for 5 months and then started bucking and "cupping". Of course where the edges have come up they are chipping off. Lowe's and Pergo have called out inspectors who say there was/is too much moisture (in the desert, Palm Springs California, WTF) and neither have chosen to remedy. Pergo warranty people were/are especially "party line" read the script. Lawsuit has been filed. But don't buy this product.


Date created: 2011-05-19 Name: B. O'Grady
Location: Los Angeles,

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Poor Pergo Quality"
I purchased 26 boxes of Pergo Spiced Walnut laminate flooring from the Home Depot. When I opened the boxes there were small scratches in the laminate. I returned 16 of these defective boxes. When I received the 16 replacement boxes I found that Pergo had sent me 16 boxes of their other customer rejects. The corners were bent, edges chipped, some had mold on them and some had the same small scratches on them. I pulled out enough good boards to make 3 boxes and returned 13 boxes. I had also received a separate order of 7 boxes of the same flooring. When I opened these boxes there were the same small scratches. I returned 4 of these boxes. Quality does not seem to be a big deal with Pergo. As for Customer Service I have tried to phone them and cannot talk to a person or leave a meassage - try it yourself (especially if you are thinking of buying Pergo). You may think "It can't happen to me". Better to be safe than sorry, check it out! What will you do with a floor that is half finished for several weeks while you wait on the replacement boxes to show up? And then have to wait several more weeks for more replacements. Think it through. Do you want to take that chance with Pergo? They may have been a good company at one time, but they have let that slip. You are better of buying another brand.


Date created: 2011-05-18 Location: Denver, CO

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Pergo Flooring: the Ultimate Alternative to Hard Wood"
I have owned my Pergo wood floor for 7 years, and I could not be more satisfied. I have the model that is glued down rather than stuck with attached adhesive padding. One of the most astonishing features of this flooring, is that when water is sitting on it for a lengthy period of time, it does not swell or discolor like traditional wood flooring. Additionally, I have never had to replace a single piece of flooring. It looks brand new. My only complaint, is that you have to use a very specific type of cleaner for it, which is inconvenient. This, however, is also the case with traditional hard wood flooring, so in my opinion, Pergo still is the clear winner. I would certainly purchase this brand again because of the wonderful experience I have had with it. I would also confidently and enthusiastically recommend it to friends, knowing they would love it as much as me.

1234Next >>

Find Flooring Installers

My zip code is: