Flooring.net Logo

Consumer Reviews of Pergo wood floors

Popularity:
#6  of 25 brands of wood floors

38% of customers recommend
2.5 of 5 stars 68 reviews
  • Very Satisfied
    22
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    4
  • Neutral
    0
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    2
  • Very Unsatisfied
    40

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to Flooring.net. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of Flooring.net.

Read more about Pergo wood floors

Read reviews of other Wood Floor brands
Write a review

1234567Next >>

Date created: 2016-06-28 Name: Barbara Kirkwood
Location: Evansville

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Disappointed"
Floor loosed in one area of great room, buckled up in another. This was in the fires 6 months. This was corrected by installer. Purchased at Lowes. 2 years later boards ore curling or bowing, we are not sure what is going to happen. Was told it is due to moisture. There are other areas at front and back door that I would consider moisture areas that are perfectly fine. Thousands of dollars down the drain. Pergo Flooring


Date created: 2016-05-22 Name: WANDA M.
Location: Raleigh. NC

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Pergo is the worst flooring ever"
Bought this floor 5 years ago. Saved for years, wanted to get my home fixed before I retired. Due to health reasons just retired at 67. now I see the scratches and marks on my Pergo floor. I always cleaned the floor as instructed. I am going after Pergo with all left in me. Never buy Pergo, it is crap and a waste of hard earned money.


Date created: 2016-05-10 Name: T Finn
Location: Arlington, TX

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Pergo Premium worst engineering ever"
Never spent a day designing flooring, took me 30 sec to see that expecting a cheaply manufactured 7in paper side hinge to stay in place while you lift the side of entire row you already laid, and expect to keep tight lock is crazy. I have do a row, tape all side joints then join it existing row hoping none come undone. Never been more frustrated with product. If you like to cuss, then is product would be perfect, if you want to stay sane, stay away.



Date created: 2016-05-08 Name: Chris Cavanaugh
Location: West Sacramento

Satisfaction Rating:
5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Bubbling and peeling issues..."
I have read several reviews as it relates to this product. This product is a laminate floor which the Perstorp Corporation has the most experience in. Their product is an exceptional product and oftentimes it is mis-represented by salespeople in the field. There are only 3 things that any of the laminate floors in the market are warranted against...those are: Fading, staining, and wearing through. The only actual warranty differences are the longevity of those warranties. They can vary from 5 years and all the way to lifetime warranty periods. Positively none of the laminate products in the field are warranted against moisture of any kind. Of course there are varying ways of trying to demonstrate how resistant these floors are to moisture. I have seen them all. Again, in no way shape or form do any of the warranties include moisture. In fact, there is a moisture barrier that must be installed underneath these floors if installing over concrete. In addition, in kitchens, bathrooms and exterior walls, silicone caulk must be used in the expansion areas. In any event, a moisture test must be conducted prior to these floors being installed. I did not see any reviews talking about moisture test results or vapor barriers being used. All of these things are clearly stated in the instructions...I Can say this, that if these floors are installed properly, exactly the way the manufacturer says, and there is a manufacturing defect causing the product to fail, they will replace and pay for labor without question or hassle. Moisture is an issue for any laminate or wood product and can cause any of the aforementioned problems. If your seam edges are "peaking" it is a moisture issue and will reconfigure back to its original configuration....but this could take a very long time....like over a year. Any moisture trapped underneath the floor must have time to evaporate, hence the lengthy reconfiguration. As for cleaning products, yes they are moisture...but only to be used SPARINGLY....and never poured onto these floors...just gently misted. For example a 12 x 15 dining room should require a shot of mist from the spray bottle only about once for every 6 square feet...meaning 6-8 misting shots. As for my experience, I am credentialed with The Home Depot as a Master Trainer in Flooring and have been with them for 22 years (as of 5/2016.) I have been in the industry for 30 years altogether. As a trainer for The Home Depot, the manufacturers were confident enough to send their new sales representatives to my classes to learn the best practices and product knowledge...with Pergo being included in these classes. These were the same classes I gave our sales associates and management. I was a Trainer for 11 years with The Home Depot until we went to web-based training for our associates and now serve as a Specialty Supervisor for The Home Depot. Please feel free to contact me at our West Sacramento if you have further questions.


Date created: 2016-04-07 Name: Lisa
Location: Baltimore, MD

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Caveat Emptor"
I am just reading everyone posts of disappointment, unfortunately after having my floor installed. I like many others here have had my floor a short time (4 mo), had it installed by Lowes, used the Pergo Gold underlayment and am having a problem with bubbling. My problem is from a few dog accidents, unfortunately. I was able to catch most of them early, some sat over night, as my dog has kidney failure. When shopping for a new floor, I was getting rid of carpet, as it was hard to clean those infrequent accidents. I saw the Pergo with the picture of the Great Dane, did a little reading and ask the sales rep at Lowes. It is the best dog floor we have- is what I was told... Well, I was not told that dog urine voids the warranty and now I have a floor that is bubbled in 6 places. I have filed a claim, which I am sure will be denied, but I truly feel as this is a false advertising scheme at its best. I am very willing to file a class action suite on principal alone, if things do not go well for me. If anyone else is interested, feel free to contact me. Enough is enough!


Date created: 2016-03-22 Name: Samuel Hackett
Location: 17004

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Bubbling floor"
Purchased Pergo flooring at Lowes had it less than a year floor bubbled at seams. Called Lowes and Pergo assessed pictures and said it was a moisture problem. We used spray cleaner recommended by Lowes and Pergo. I would not recommend this flooring to anybody. Totally disgusted with this product. Pergo does not stand by the warranty. Uses excuse of moisture problem.


Date created: 2016-01-03 Name: Raymond Barlow
Location: San Diego. Ca

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Pergo is inferior product"
We had Pergo wood floor for about 8 years in our living room. It peeling, cracking, delaminating, chipping and has become unsafe to walk on bare foot. We bought the flooring because the Home Depot recommended it. We found later that it was discontinued and we now know why. It is an inferior product. We placed a cheaper brand in our college son’s room and it looks great compared to the Pergo brand. We have 2 inspectors recommended by Pergo check the floor. The first said it was because of our dog. This is not true; the dog is small and well trained and could not cause the damage. The second inspect said that the floor was installed incorrectly, that the floor needed to be in house for some time before installing it. The inspectors are both lying and making thing up to hid the fact that Pergo is a cheap product. I do not recommend buying their product.


Date created: 2015-11-10 Name: Greg Dotson
Location: Latta, SC

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Don't use it even if someone gives it to you"
I bought the higher priced 2.50 Sq ft pergo with the "lifetime warranty ". Looked good for about a week. Don't waste your money like I did. When I get the money it's going in the garbage. I wouldn't put it in a closet or even a utility room. It's the cheapest worst flooring I have seen in over 20 years of construction.



Date created: 2015-10-22 Name: LB
Location: Ohio

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Disgruntled Pergo Purchaser"
I purchased Pergo Laminate wood Flooring from Home Depot. Contractor's selected by Home Depot installed this product throughout my downstairs (except kitchen) and in my master bedroom. Within one year I began to notice areas buckling/raised and or bubbling in the seams of the flooring in random places both upstairs and downstairs. Home Depot came out, took pictures and afterwards stated if Pergo didn't fix the damaged flooring Home Depot would take care of it. Next Pergo sends out an "Independent inspector" who determined high level's of moisture caused the damage to my floor which voided their responsibility to repair it. The Home Depot Flooring Supervisor who came to my house has now reneged on their promise to take care of this issue. Go figure. Small Claims Court.... Here I come! Horrible Product and the Company doesn't stand by their product!


Date created: 2015-09-10 Name: A J
Location: Chicago
Model: PergoMax

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Pergo is the worst"
PergoMax peels. I wouldn't recommend this floor at all. They will send out warranty service and say peeling is a result of "wear and tear" within 6 months. And if you contact them on Facebook in a pm to say you are disappointed, they will block you. Clearly they believe in their product. Go with another laminate, or better yet, go with wood and refinish it in a few years.

1234567Next >>

Find Flooring Installers

My zip code is: