Flooring.net Logo

Consumer Reviews of StainMaster carpets

Popularity:
#10  of 14 brands of carpets

25% of customers recommend
2 of 5 stars 74 reviews
  • Very Satisfied
    16
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    3
  • Neutral
    1
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    2
  • Very Unsatisfied
    52

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to Flooring.net. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of Flooring.net.

Read reviews of other Carpet brands
Write a review

<< Previous12345678Next >>

Date created: 2015-07-12 Name: D. Close
Location: Harrisonville, MO

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Worst Carpet & Even Worse Warranty"
We carpeted our 2-story home with the most expensive Stainmaster carpet & 8-lb. Pad from Lowe's. After 3 months, the carpet began to untwist and fray. An independent inspector was sent by Lowe's to give an unbiased opinion. His findings indicated the carpet was inferior due to the extreme amount of untwisting, fraying and lift. Lowe's fought with Stainmaster to replace the carpet, and 4 months later we were allowed to replace the 1st floor carpet without cost. They would not replace the 2nd floor carpet without me paying for it because as empty nesters and my disability no one walks on the 2nd floor carpet. In less than a few months time, fraying and untwisting began again along with bubbling or rippling on both floors (again-no one visits the 2nd floor.) Lowe's sent there "pro" installer to repair the carpet. They stretched it, told me it would take awhile to lie flat and left. After a long while, it did not lie flat and now I have 2 to 6 inch wide ripples running the length of most rooms and the hallways. These ripples are both unsightly and a tripping hazard. Lowe's would not send the installer to repair a second time. I cannot afford to replace the carpet a third time. Any suggestions on how to get Lowe's and Stainmaster to fix this problem? I do not allow anyone to walk on our carpet without removing their footwear. Please help.


Date created: 2015-07-09 Name: phyllis Petersen
Location: Glenview il

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Awful"
Bought the Pet Protect May 2014 and noticed stains right away. Called and complained and after 6 months of jumping through hoops they replaced this to is defective. I've had Stainmaster before and could have sold it this carpet I have now was very expensive. I don't even like to go into my living room it upsets me so I will never buy stain master again.


Date created: 2015-06-03 Name: rick p
Location: virginia

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"StainMaster warranty trap"
StainMaster buyers beware. Your lifetime warranty is completely void if you cannot produce a receipt showing you have had professional carpet cleaning at least every 24 months! StainMaster will deny any liability if you cannot produce.



Date created: 2015-05-04 Name: Nellie Mundhenk
Location: Michigan

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Don't buy this carpet!"
I purchased this carpet because they said it was Petproof. I have 2 dogs, one of which has accidents from time to time. The carpet got a stain in about the first week that wouldn't come off. More stains followed quickly after. Everything stains this carpet, dirt on a paw or even a dog chewing its bone. The loops have also come up everywhere. I called 5 months into having this carpet installed and 7 months later I am still dealing with them. Lowes takes no responsibility so it is all on us to take photos and constantly call to make sure someone is taking care of our claim. Dixie had someone come check the loops- but they claim our dogs nails pulled up the loops. So much for petsafe. I have a problem with every facet of the carpet: the loops, the stainmaster coating and the installation. After just a few short months the carpet looks 20 years old. Stainmaster will replace a portion of the carpet- but we carpeted a 2000 sqft house in all the same carpet- who wants different carpet when they just put the same carpet in on purpose? Very disappointed in the entire process.


Date created: 2015-04-17 Name: S. Sipula
Location: Sebring, Florida

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Matting after only 8 weeks"
We put Shaw Stain Master carpeting in our vacation home in Aug. 2014. Since then the carpeting has seen only 8 weeks of use. We noticed that the carpeting is matting down badly in front of the chairs and also next to the bed and of all places the walk in closet where our feet pivot. There are only two people and one small dog using this home on a very limited basis. What is this carpeting going to look like after one year? The store where we bought the carpeting is looking into our problem but we don't anticipate any resolution based on reviews we have read. Buyer beware.


Date created: 2015-02-11 Name: Karen Clampett
Location: Morgan Hill, Ca

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Don't purchase Stain Master carpet from Lowe's"
Purchased this carpet because of the claim of Stain Master, and the warranty. I have dogs, and have some urine stains. I had tried everything to get rid of these stains. Finally filed a claim, and I had to jump thru hoops to get this solved. I even had to send an unused piece of my carpet to make sure the stain master was applied! So now they are agreeing to replace the hallway & playroom. But refusing to replace the three bedrooms! So even though the carpet is substandard, they won't replace. Don't buy this brand from Lowe's!


Date created: 2015-01-02 Name: G. Scott
Location: Arden, NC

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"All my carpet was defective."
Lowes installers came today to install the carpet I've been waiting over a month to get. They removed the old carpet, installed the padding and then discovered all 6 rolls had a major flaw and were unusable. How can a major manufacturer allow an entire run of carpet to be produced and shipped without checking? The Lowes guys were great - I'm picking new carpet tomorrow and it's not going to be Stainmaster. This situation has really put me in a bind as I've had to cancel other deliveries and now live in a tiny room in the basement of my home as the upstairs is fully padded. Stainmaster has no quality control so I wonder what else would have gone wrong down the road?


Date created: 2014-10-06 Name: T Malotte
Location: Ventura, CA

Satisfaction Rating:
4 of 5 stars Somewhat Satisfied

Review:
"Warranty"
I was able to work with the company and felt that they were able to take care of our concerns. I still am disappointed with the carpet, but am satisfied with the service. So, if there are any issues, start a warranty claim early. So, I'm adding to my last comment and changing my rating.



Date created: 2014-10-02 Name: T. Malotte
Location: Ventura, CA

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Not what we expected!"
We supposedly purchased the Ultralife 20 year carpet. It has a squared pattern to it, which we liked. After about 1 year, it started to mat down, looking like apartment quality and not something that supposedly takes on tough toddlers in tricycles as shown on their brochure. The squared pattern started to disappear in areas. Even after being cleaned, it looked dull in higher traffic places not being the stain lifting carpet as expected. Also had stains not clean easily. I am incredibly disappointed and will never use this brand again. We did a warranty claim and am disappointed in their decision. Buyer beware.


Date created: 2014-10-02 Name: B.Abbott
Location: Cincinnati, OH

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Frayed edges, staining, loops pull out, vacuum issues"
Purchased a patterned type carpet that the wife wanted. We have three dogs and figured with a name like pet protect it would more than do the job. The staining is horrible and we already have several shadows from trying to remove them. It would have been nice if they said if your dogs have toenails don't buy this pattern. Their nails pull up at least 10 loops a day that we have to cut out and one day one of our dogs collars got stuck on it and she tore out about a 3 foot strand. The installers from Lowes did a crappy job as well and all the edges that meet with our wood floors are fraying and coming up. And if that weren't enough we have two Dyson vacuums that are pretty much useless now because they have too much suction for this carpet (tried the Shark and it does too). Contacted StainMaster and they said they do not make recommendations for vacuum cleaners. Thanks. For the love of God please don't buy this garbage.

<< Previous12345678Next >>

Find Flooring Installers

My zip code is: