Flooring.net Logo

Consumer Reviews of StainMaster carpets

StainMaster flooring logo
Popularity:
#11  of 14 brands of carpets

24% of customers recommend
2 of 5 stars 82 reviews
  • Very Satisfied
    17
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    3
  • Neutral
    1
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    2
  • Very Unsatisfied
    59

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to Flooring.net. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of Flooring.net.

Read reviews of other Carpet brands
Write a review

<< Previous123456789Next >>

Date created: 2015-10-31 Name: Laura
Location: Pennsylvania

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Fuzzy"
I bought Lowes stain master and after a few months the carpet had fuzzy areas. Lowes replaced it 2 months ago and I noticed fuzzy areas. I will contact Lowes and higher up if they don't replace with a brand of my choice. Shame on them for selling bad carpet.


Date created: 2015-10-22 Name: A. Edwards
Location: Mississippi
Model: Trusoft

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Stains won't come out"
We spent 2k on Stainmaster Trusoft carpet from Lowes for our family room. It has not even been two years and has more stains than I can count that will not come out. No one wears shoes or drinks in the room, but there are spots, dark stains, color stains, etc. We have really cheap carpet in the rest of our house that never stains, and if it does, it comes right out. Luckily we are selling our house but I feel bad for the people buying it. We've had Mohawk carpet before and that's what I will buy again, and never from Lowes.


Date created: 2015-08-16 Name: Deborah Miles
Location: Louisville Ky

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Excessive wear"
I had Stainmaster Carpet purchased and installed by Lowes in October 2013. The carpet has not lived up to the claims that the warranty (useless) and description before the purchase implied. It is showing excessive signs of wear in all traffic areas and has been professionally cleaned 3 times already. There are 2 elderly adults living in the home and it rarely has anymore than house shoes being worn in the home. I feel really sorry for anyone that purchased this that has children It would have already had to be replaced. It even shows signs of bulking up and stretching. It has been vacuumed regularly, at least every other day... so its not degraded because of dirt... just cheaply manufactured, but not priced cheaply. Never again. Don't anyone purchase this carpet...



Date created: 2015-07-30 Name: Paula Dean Anesworth
Location: Yuba City, CA

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Master of Stains"
Parents purchased $4k worth of a higher end carpet. There are only two people in the home (elderly). After a year, they had the carpets professional cleaned and shortly after (within 2 weeks) large dark stains appeared. I have cleaned their carpet twice now and each time, the stains have become larger as the carpet dries. It usually takes about 2 weeks for the stains to return. They are always larger before cleaning. The stains will not come out. We can not figure where the stains are coming from. Two of the 3 bedrooms have large circles of black stains. Those bedrooms are rarely used. Notified Lowe's and Stainmaster, no one has stepped up for my parents. Avoid like the plague. My parents were sick of how the carpet looked and was embarrassed. Went to see them today, they had the carpet removed. They are out $4k and carpet! Lucky part is, there is nice tile underneath. You suck stainmaster reps/mfg and so does your carpet! Shame on you!


Date created: 2015-07-23 Name: Barb
Location: Orr's Island, Maine
Model: PetProtect

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"PetProtect does Not!"
Purchased StainMaster PetProtect carpet for my stairs and hallway and have been disappointed ever since. I have 2 dogs and 1 cat. Spots and stains do not come out! After my complaints to Lowe's they paid to have it professionally cleaned after only a month of wear. 3 months later those stains have reappeared and new ones do not come out. I follow the cleaning guidelines but the stains remain. I know that StainMaster used to make good carpeting but this is a terrible product! So disappointed.


Date created: 2015-07-13 Name: Disgusted
Model: Pet Carpet

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Warranty isn't what it appears to be"
Bought this carpet because of pet warranty. My dog developed urinary tract infection while I was on vacation. House sitter didn't catch it in time. After 9 shampoos 1 by my professional which is required by stain master, one by their professional, I still have stains. Here's the catch. The rep told me if it looks like stain came out while carpet is still wet it's considered removed. They only warranty the tiny carpet fiber not the carpet back. Too bad if it comes back no longer covered. The carpet guy they sent out from restoration company scrubbed my carpet with a stiff brush. This resulted in "wicking". I was told that's not covered because it's not normal wear and tear, even though their guy caused it. My carpet is only 6 months old. Don't waste your time or money the warranty isn't what it appears to be.


Date created: 2015-07-12 Name: D. Close
Location: Harrisonville, MO
Model: Invista

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Worst Carpet & Even Worse Warranty"
We carpeted our 2-story home with the most expensive Stainmaster carpet & 8-lb. Pad from Lowe's. After 3 months, the carpet began to untwist and fray. An independent inspector was sent by Lowe's to give an unbiased opinion. His findings indicated the carpet was inferior due to the extreme amount of untwisting, fraying and lift. Lowe's fought with Stainmaster to replace the carpet, and 4 months later we were allowed to replace the 1st floor carpet without cost. They would not replace the 2nd floor carpet without me paying for it because as empty nesters and my disability no one walks on the 2nd floor carpet. In less than a few months time, fraying and untwisting began again along with bubbling or rippling on both floors (again-no one visits the 2nd floor.) Lowe's sent there "pro" installer to repair the carpet. They stretched it, told me it would take awhile to lie flat and left. After a long while, it did not lie flat and now I have 2 to 6 inch wide ripples running the length of most rooms and the hallways. These ripples are both unsightly and a tripping hazard. Lowe's would not send the installer to repair a second time. I cannot afford to replace the carpet a third time. Any suggestions on how to get Lowe's and Stainmaster to fix this problem? I do not allow anyone to walk on our carpet without removing their footwear. Please help.


Date created: 2015-07-09 Name: phyllis Petersen
Location: Glenview il
Model: Pet Protect

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Awful"
Bought the Pet Protect May 2014 and noticed stains right away. Called and complained and after 6 months of jumping through hoops they replaced this to is defective. I've had Stainmaster before and could have sold it this carpet I have now was very expensive. I don't even like to go into my living room it upsets me so I will never buy stain master again.



Date created: 2015-06-03 Name: rick p
Location: virginia
Model: Masland

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"StainMaster warranty trap"
StainMaster buyers beware. Your lifetime warranty is completely void if you cannot produce a receipt showing you have had professional carpet cleaning at least every 24 months! StainMaster will deny any liability if you cannot produce.


Date created: 2015-05-04 Name: Nellie Mundhenk
Location: Michigan

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Don't buy this carpet!"
I purchased this carpet because they said it was Petproof. I have 2 dogs, one of which has accidents from time to time. The carpet got a stain in about the first week that wouldn't come off. More stains followed quickly after. Everything stains this carpet, dirt on a paw or even a dog chewing its bone. The loops have also come up everywhere. I called 5 months into having this carpet installed and 7 months later I am still dealing with them. Lowes takes no responsibility so it is all on us to take photos and constantly call to make sure someone is taking care of our claim. Dixie had someone come check the loops- but they claim our dogs nails pulled up the loops. So much for petsafe. I have a problem with every facet of the carpet: the loops, the stainmaster coating and the installation. After just a few short months the carpet looks 20 years old. Stainmaster will replace a portion of the carpet- but we carpeted a 2000 sqft house in all the same carpet- who wants different carpet when they just put the same carpet in on purpose? Very disappointed in the entire process.

<< Previous123456789Next >>

Find Flooring Installers

My zip code is: