Flooring.net Logo

Consumer Reviews of StainMaster carpets

Popularity:
#8  of 13 brands of carpets

29% of customers recommend
2 of 5 stars 65 reviews
  • Very Satisfied
    16
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    3
  • Neutral
    1
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    2
  • Very Unsatisfied
    43

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to Flooring.net. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of Flooring.net.

Read reviews of other Carpet brands
Write a review

1234567Next >>

Date created: 2015-08-16 Name: Deborah Miles
Location: Louisville Ky

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Excessive wear"
I had Stainmaster Carpet purchased and installed by Lowes in October 2013. The carpet has not lived up to the claims that the warranty (useless) and description before the purchase implied. It is showing excessive signs of wear in all traffic areas and has been professionally cleaned 3 times already. There are 2 elderly adults living in the home and it rarely has anymore than house shoes being worn in the home. I feel really sorry for anyone that purchased this that has children It would have already had to be replaced. It even shows signs of bulking up and stretching. It has been vacuumed regularly, at least every other day... so its not degraded because of dirt... just cheaply manufactured, but not priced cheaply. Never again. Don't anyone purchase this carpet...


Date created: 2015-07-30 Name: Paula Dean Anesworth
Location: Yuba City, CA

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Master of Stains"
Parents purchased $4k worth of a higher end carpet. There are only two people in the home (elderly). After a year, they had the carpets professional cleaned and shortly after (within 2 weeks) large dark stains appeared. I have cleaned their carpet twice now and each time, the stains have become larger as the carpet dries. It usually takes about 2 weeks for the stains to return. They are always larger before cleaning. The stains will not come out. We can not figure where the stains are coming from. Two of the 3 bedrooms have large circles of black stains. Those bedrooms are rarely used. Notified Lowe's and Stainmaster, no one has stepped up for my parents. Avoid like the plague. My parents were sick of how the carpet looked and was embarrassed. Went to see them today, they had the carpet removed. They are out $4k and carpet! Lucky part is, there is nice tile underneath. You suck stainmaster reps/mfg and so does your carpet! Shame on you!


Date created: 2015-07-23 Name: Barb
Location: Orr's Island, Maine

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"PetProtect does Not!"
Purchased StainMaster PetProtect carpet for my stairs and hallway and have been disappointed ever since. I have 2 dogs and 1 cat. Spots and stains do not come out! After my complaints to Lowe's they paid to have it professionally cleaned after only a month of wear. 3 months later those stains have reappeared and new ones do not come out. I follow the cleaning guidelines but the stains remain. I know that StainMaster used to make good carpeting but this is a terrible product! So disappointed.


Date created: 2015-07-13 Name: Disgusted

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Warranty isn't what it appears to be"
Bought this carpet because of pet warranty. My dog developed urinary tract infection while I was on vacation. House sitter didn't catch it in time. After 9 shampoos 1 by my professional which is required by stain master, one by their professional, I still have stains. Here's the catch. The rep told me if it looks like stain came out while carpet is still wet it's considered removed. They only warranty the tiny carpet fiber not the carpet back. Too bad if it comes back no longer covered. The carpet guy they sent out from restoration company scrubbed my carpet with a stiff brush. This resulted in "wicking". I was told that's not covered because it's not normal wear and tear, even though their guy caused it. My carpet is only 6 months old. Don't waste your time or money the warranty isn't what it appears to be.


Date created: 2015-07-09 Name: phyllis Petersen
Location: Glenview il

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Awful"
Bought the Pet Protect May 2014 and noticed stains right away. Called and complained and after 6 months of jumping through hoops they replaced this to is defective. I've had Stainmaster before and could have sold it this carpet I have now was very expensive. I don't even like to go into my living room it upsets me so I will never buy stain master again.



Date created: 2015-04-17 Name: S. Sipula
Location: Sebring, Florida

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Matting after only 8 weeks"
We put Shaw Stain Master carpeting in our vacation home in Aug. 2014. Since then the carpeting has seen only 8 weeks of use. We noticed that the carpeting is matting down badly in front of the chairs and also next to the bed and of all places the walk in closet where our feet pivot. There are only two people and one small dog using this home on a very limited basis. What is this carpeting going to look like after one year? The store where we bought the carpeting is looking into our problem but we don't anticipate any resolution based on reviews we have read. Buyer beware.


Date created: 2015-02-11 Name: Karen Clampett
Location: Morgan Hill, Ca

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Don't purchase Stain Master carpet from Lowe's"
Purchased this carpet because of the claim of Stain Master, and the warranty. I have dogs, and have some urine stains. I had tried everything to get rid of these stains. Finally filed a claim, and I had to jump thru hoops to get this solved. I even had to send an unused piece of my carpet to make sure the stain master was applied! So now they are agreeing to replace the hallway & playroom. But refusing to replace the three bedrooms! So even though the carpet is substandard, they won't replace. Don't buy this brand from Lowe's!


Date created: 2015-01-02 Name: G. Scott
Location: Arden, NC

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"All my carpet was defective."
Lowes installers came today to install the carpet I've been waiting over a month to get. They removed the old carpet, installed the padding and then discovered all 6 rolls had a major flaw and were unusable. How can a major manufacturer allow an entire run of carpet to be produced and shipped without checking? The Lowes guys were great - I'm picking new carpet tomorrow and it's not going to be Stainmaster. This situation has really put me in a bind as I've had to cancel other deliveries and now live in a tiny room in the basement of my home as the upstairs is fully padded. Stainmaster has no quality control so I wonder what else would have gone wrong down the road?


Date created: 2014-10-06 Name: T Malotte
Location: Ventura, CA

Satisfaction Rating:
4 of 5 stars Somewhat Satisfied

Review:
"Warranty"
I was able to work with the company and felt that they were able to take care of our concerns. I still am disappointed with the carpet, but am satisfied with the service. So, if there are any issues, start a warranty claim early. So, I'm adding to my last comment and changing my rating.


Date created: 2014-10-02 Name: T. Malotte
Location: Ventura, CA

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Not what we expected!"
We supposedly purchased the Ultralife 20 year carpet. It has a squared pattern to it, which we liked. After about 1 year, it started to mat down, looking like apartment quality and not something that supposedly takes on tough toddlers in tricycles as shown on their brochure. The squared pattern started to disappear in areas. Even after being cleaned, it looked dull in higher traffic places not being the stain lifting carpet as expected. Also had stains not clean easily. I am incredibly disappointed and will never use this brand again. We did a warranty claim and am disappointed in their decision. Buyer beware.

1234567Next >>

Find Flooring Installers

My zip code is: