Consumer Reviews of StainMaster carpets

StainMaster flooring logo
Popularity:
#10   of 16 brands of carpets

23% of customers recommend
2 of 5 stars 97 reviews
  • Very Satisfied
    20
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    3
  • Neutral
    1
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    2
  • Very Unsatisfied
    71

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to Flooring.net. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of Flooring.net.

12345678910Next >>

Date created: 2017-03-14
Name: John L Schlum
Location: St Charles, MO
Model: Tonal

Satisfaction Rating:
5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Great experience"
Got a great deal on carpet and installation at lowes. 1600 sq.ft. The only issue was the measure and documentation. Poor installer was told only 3 rooms and one large piece of furniture. Actually 7 rooms and a house full of furniture. Took 3 days for the install. Did a great install job. Would suggest using Lowe's due to price, quality of product and installation. Suggest making sure order matches expected installation for materials and labor.


Date created: 2017-02-24
Name: Gloria Overcash
Location: Mount Holly, NC

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Unsatisfactory"
We also found that Stainmaster does not honor it's "pet stain" claim. After 10 years, the carpet looks horrible. Getting ready to replace it but not with Stainmaster.


Date created: 2017-02-05
Name: B Van Hout
Location: Denver CO

Satisfaction Rating:
5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Stainmaster Pet Protect"
I am extremely surprised by many of these reviews on Stainmaster carpet. I have been selling Stainmaster carpet for over 21 years and can count on 1 hand the number of claims against it. Stainmaster has honored each and every one. As for the warranty....EVERY Manufacturer requires that the carpet be cleaned every 18 months to pull soils and stains out of the fiber. We sell every fiber made and the most claim free, long lasting fiber is Stainmaster Superia (pet Protect) fiber. By it's construction alone, it is the best protection for staining and soiling.I Have a Superia dyed carpet in my own home that is now 6 years old. We have 2 English bulldogs who are tough on carpet. We live in a rural area so we bring a ton of dirt into our home. This carpet cleans beautifully with my Bissell steam cleaner.As a professional....I Would never put any other fiber into my home. Nylon is always the best choice for a long wearing carpet fiber. There are different kinds of Nylon 6.0 and 6.6. Polyester which includes triexta is a poor choice for long wear though it does have some good stain resistance qualities. Triexta and pet polyester absorb oils from your feat and pets causing them to mat and wear very quickly. Nylon does not share those properties. If you are choosing a fiber for long term wear and stain ad soil resistance, I would suggest at the minimum, an Anso fiber and at the top end, a Stainmaster fiber. Stainmaster does have several levels of warranty depending on the type of Stainmaster fiber you purchase. Any 32oz or above Superia Nylon will carry a lifetime warranty which specifically includes your pets. Sorry for the long post but I recently has a customer who came here to read the reviews and now believes that the product she was shown is inferior. The reality is that any fiber she chooses now will be inferior to what she was shown and she has a very active family who needs the best money can buy. I have thousands of happy homeowners who are so glad that purchased the best fiber for their home. Many of those folks still have their original Stainmaster carpet and if they decided they wanted a change....they purchased Stainmaster again.



Date created: 2016-11-25
Name: Tom Hoffmann
Location: Southport, NC
Model: Baxter IV Pet Protect

Satisfaction Rating:
5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Kudos to Lowes for a wonderful carpet experience"
I purchased new carpeting for my master bedroom and closet and a second bedroom from Lowe's Southport, NC. Every aspect of this experience from dealing with the sales associates to the installation by Legacy Flooring was very professional and went extremely smoothly with no issues whatsoever. The sales associate made excellent recommendations for carpet and padding based on my particular needs and taste. The installation company scheduled the installation and showed up precisely as scheduled. The crew was very professional and exhibited expertise in their trade. They were neat and precise. My wife and I were extremely satisfied.


Date created: 2016-10-26
Name: M Blakeman
Location: EDH, Ca

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Worthless warranty"
Invista does not stand by its "lifetime" warranty. Pet stains do not come out despite professional cleaning. Company does everything it can to make sure they have no accountability. As empty nesters with rarely used bedrooms the "lifetime" warranty was voided when carpet was professionally cleaned once in 4 years. Even though many individuals complain about adverse effects of carpet cleaning and Invista acknowledged carpet cleaning does nothing to make carpet stain resistant. This is just a loophole they put in their warranty to avoid standing behind their product.


Date created: 2016-10-21
Name: D Harley
Location: Fort Myers, FL
Model: Soft Whisper

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Stainmaster hides behind "cleaning clause" not honoring their warranty"
We purchased Shaw "Soft Whisper" loop carpet with Stainmaster from Hessler Floor Covering in Fort Myers in November 2014. The carpet was worn and matted in many areas within 6 months. Shaw recommends a "professional cleaning" at 24 months but the Stainmaster warranty requires cleaning at 18 months. When we reported the defect to Hessler Carpeting at 21 months Stainmaster simply invoked the fact we never cleaned it at 18 months therefore voiding our warranty. We never wear shoes in our home, no pets, kids, etc. Bottomline, never purchase anything with Stainmaster properties as their limited warranty overrides the carpet manufacturer warranty. We will never purchase anything connected with Stainmaster again!


Date created: 2016-10-20
Name: J PANSARE
Location: BLOOMINGTON, IN

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Health Hazard with Stainmaster Georgetown"
We bought stain-master Georgetown custom design 402 from Lowe's home center. After installation on oct. 13 in our bedrooms and hallway, I started getting burning sensation in feet and dry eyes besides the strong smell of carpet. The same started to happen to my wife and it she was getting nausiated. I suspect they are putting some kind of chemicals(formaldhyde ??). I dont know if this stuff is carcenogenic or not but I am planning to complain to the consumer protection agency. Be careful when buying this product.


Date created: 2016-08-18
Name: Eddir Fulcher
Location: New Bern, NC
Model: Grants Pass

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Worst carpet ever"
We had Grants Pass carpet by StainMaster installed in our house to replace old carpet. About a year later carpet look worn and was buckled up like it had stretched. We contacted Lowes and after a long telephone battle and no response they finally agreed to have their new installer come out and look at it. Installer came out and said that it should not have done that and they would contact Lowes and recommend that it be repaired. One year later the buckled up places are back and much worse than before. Contacted Lowes and told them and they said that the warranty had expired and it was our problem and that they would not do anything to repair it. We are completely dissatisfied with the StainMaster carpet and Lowes installation. I would never purchase flooring again from Lowes and anything I need if I can find it at another store I will purchase it there. These people do not stand behind their product or installation. Praying that home depot will locate here at some time.



Date created: 2016-08-08
Name: Rebecca Holmberg
Location: Lehighton Pa
Model: Pet Protect

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"This Carpet is Horrible and the service is Worse"
I had my carpet from probably 15-20 yrs ago changed this past May 2016 when I decided to have my carpet changed. I have 2 dogs, and so decided to get their Pet Protect carpet. I have an old berber carpet (at least 15 yrs of age) in my family room which has never pulled so I was comfortable going with the berber type carpet (the only option at our local Lowes for Pet Protect). Pulls started within the first few weeks and I filed a complaint when it was only 2 months old and already had a hole. (Now I have 2 holes in my carpet). Lowes sent a stain master rep to my home in July and they informed me that my carpet is totally fine and the issue is mine to deal with. Insane! Now I not only have 2 holes but also 2-3 stains which will not come up with shampooing. I have complained again to my Lowes and nothing! I will never deal with my Lowes for any large purchases, nor will I ever buy a StainMaster carpet ever again. I actually am planning on going to my local newspaper as well as tv station. Maybe if we get the news out, we can prevent anyone else from suffering from the same poor service.


Date created: 2016-08-02
Name: H. Orto
Location: Michigan
Model: Active Family Solstice

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Less than 9 months old and looking bad!"
Less than a year old and our StainMaster Active Family carpet is looking pretty bad. The high traffic areas are starting to look worn. This is a Berber style carpet (loops) and there are single loops that have become unraveled in random places and stick up from the carpet weave. Not sure why this happens, we have two dogs but they don't bother the carpet, hey don't even notice it. At first I just snipped these large loops off so that it would blend in with the carpet, but it keeps happening, I keep finding them and now im leaving them be so that I can show them to the Lowe's/StainMaster rep as I inquire about my warranty. Since the carpet is under a year old, the "professional cleaning" clause doesn't seem to apply. Meanwhile, in a couple of areas that I did clean with my Hoover steam cleaner, the carpet looks even worse! A lot of fibers have come loose, it looks very pilly and natty, kind of like a worn out wool sweater. Ridiculous! With these issues at under a year old, I can't imagine how this carpet will look in 5 or 10 years. I regret getting it. I will post an update with information on if and/or how StainMaster decides to honor their warranty.

12345678910Next >>

Find Flooring Installers
My zip code is:
How to Buy
Flooring Reviews
Flooring Materials
Flooring Brands