Consumer Reviews of StainMaster carpets

StainMaster flooring logo
Popularity:
#11   of 15 brands of carpets

22% of customers recommend
2 of 5 stars 90 reviews
  • Very Satisfied
    17
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    3
  • Neutral
    1
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    2
  • Very Unsatisfied
    67

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to Flooring.net. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of Flooring.net.

123456789Next >>

Date created: 2016-08-18
Name: Eddir Fulcher
Location: New Bern, NC
Model: Grants Pass

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Worst carpet ever"
We had Grants Pass carpet by StainMaster installed in our house to replace old carpet. About a year later carpet look worn and was buckled up like it had stretched. We contacted Lowes and after a long telephone battle and no response they finally agreed to have their new installer come out and look at it. Installer came out and said that it should not have done that and they would contact Lowes and recommend that it be repaired. One year later the buckled up places are back and much worse than before. Contacted Lowes and told them and they said that the warranty had expired and it was our problem and that they would not do anything to repair it. We are completely dissatisfied with the StainMaster carpet and Lowes installation. I would never purchase flooring again from Lowes and anything I need if I can find it at another store I will purchase it there. These people do not stand behind their product or installation. Praying that home depot will locate here at some time.


Date created: 2016-08-08
Name: Rebecca Holmberg
Location: Lehighton Pa
Model: Pet Protect

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"This Carpet is Horrible and the service is Worse"
I had my carpet from probably 15-20 yrs ago changed this past May 2016 when I decided to have my carpet changed. I have 2 dogs, and so decided to get their Pet Protect carpet. I have an old berber carpet (at least 15 yrs of age) in my family room which has never pulled so I was comfortable going with the berber type carpet (the only option at our local Lowes for Pet Protect). Pulls started within the first few weeks and I filed a complaint when it was only 2 months old and already had a hole. (Now I have 2 holes in my carpet). Lowes sent a stain master rep to my home in July and they informed me that my carpet is totally fine and the issue is mine to deal with. Insane! Now I not only have 2 holes but also 2-3 stains which will not come up with shampooing. I have complained again to my Lowes and nothing! I will never deal with my Lowes for any large purchases, nor will I ever buy a StainMaster carpet ever again. I actually am planning on going to my local newspaper as well as tv station. Maybe if we get the news out, we can prevent anyone else from suffering from the same poor service.


Date created: 2016-08-02
Name: H. Orto
Location: Michigan
Model: Active Family Solstice

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Less than 9 months old and looking bad!"
Less than a year old and our StainMaster Active Family carpet is looking pretty bad. The high traffic areas are starting to look worn. This is a Berber style carpet (loops) and there are single loops that have become unraveled in random places and stick up from the carpet weave. Not sure why this happens, we have two dogs but they don't bother the carpet, hey don't even notice it. At first I just snipped these large loops off so that it would blend in with the carpet, but it keeps happening, I keep finding them and now im leaving them be so that I can show them to the Lowe's/StainMaster rep as I inquire about my warranty. Since the carpet is under a year old, the "professional cleaning" clause doesn't seem to apply. Meanwhile, in a couple of areas that I did clean with my Hoover steam cleaner, the carpet looks even worse! A lot of fibers have come loose, it looks very pilly and natty, kind of like a worn out wool sweater. Ridiculous! With these issues at under a year old, I can't imagine how this carpet will look in 5 or 10 years. I regret getting it. I will post an update with information on if and/or how StainMaster decides to honor their warranty.



Date created: 2016-08-01
Name: Lisa Bean
Location: Missouri
Model: Indulgence

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Horrible Product. Don't Buy!"
We purchased Stainmaster Masla Indulgence carpet for our home and had it installed in Spring 2014. We spent over $10,000 on this purchase as we were told it was stain resistant and good quality carpet. We noticed immediately that the carpet stained very easily, probably the worst carpet I've ever had. Really wish I had read the reviews here before buying this. It seems most people feel Stainmaster is an inferior product. I called the company regarding my concerns and was told the warranty is void if the carpet is not professionally cleaned every 18 months which we did not know. I'm annoyed with the store, Nebraska Furniture Mart for not telling us this, but also feel StainMaster should be working closely with stores selling their products and ensure they are giving warranty information to customers. I suppose it's better for StainMaster to neglect this as they never have to make good on their warranty. The moral of this story is, buyer beware, especially of StainMaster!


Date created: 2016-07-26
Name: J. Johnson
Location: West Allis, WI

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"You'll be disappointed"
The traffic areas of their top of the line "Premium Carpet" that is 1 1/2 years old, looks as old as the 25 year old carpet I replaced. We don't even wear shoes in the house. The warranty states that you have to have your carpets cleaned every 18 months, but they are going back to the purchase date, not the date my carpet was installed which is a big difference. Reading what other's have to say, I think the company is obviously looking for ways to get out of honoring their warranty. I'd never buy Stainmaster again.


Date created: 2016-06-30
Name: Julie C
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Model: Darley

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Don't Buy Stainmaster"
Unfortunately, I have Stainmaster Darley carpet on my steps and in my upstairs hallway. It looked good for about the first 1 1/2-2 years, but for what I paid for the carpet and for the warranty that was supposed to be in place, I expected much more. I started a claim with Stainmaster approximately 6 months ago and the first assessor they sent out evaluated the carpet for texture. He immediately said that the carpet looked terrible and "grungy". After receiving his report, Stainmaster denied my claim because my texture is supposedly a 3.0 and they expect it to be 3.0 or above. I was also told verbally that the issues I am having are due to the fact that the carpet is vacuumed in the same direction too much. It"s a hallway!!! How many different directions can I vacuum??? So I started another claim for the dirt on the carpet. It took even longer to get an assessor out this time and he looked at my carpet, cleaned my carpet, and the dirt remains. He submitted his report and told me that he agreed that the carpet just won't clean up and he also commented on the poor texture and "cornrowing". This time, Stainmaster denied the claim saying that the dirt that remains is normal and that the assessor said the problem was really the cornrowing, which they don't cover under the warranty. When I asked to have a copy of the assessor's report, I was told that that was for "internal use only". I am wondering if Stainmaster alters the reports because both assessors agreed that my carpet looks nasty, grungy, and old; but I am not allowed to see a copy of the report. Do yourself a favor and do not buy this product. I have carpet in my basement that I purchased at Home Depot 13 years ago that has held up so much better than this Stainmaster garbage I purchased at a flooring store. They do not stand by their product and the warranty is a ruse. Do not be fooled like I was into thinking you need to pay more to get a better product and a good warranty.


Date created: 2016-06-23
Name: Nancy A Gregg
Location: Chandler az

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Stain Master active family carpet 100% nylon pet pad"
First time buyer of carpeting bought @ Lowes. Installed Nov 2015. Had a chalky talc cover everything in house furniture walls doors floors and left haze in air of rooms. Lowes came out claim never seen b4 sd to have steam cleaned so jun 2016 had steamed cleaned they never saw this before either. waiting to see if clears up otherwise will remove also wear spots showing up on 7 month old carpet. Buyer beware wouldn't not ever buy again.


Date created: 2016-06-15
Name: James R Rutter
Location: San Clemente, CA

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"I should have read these reviews before I bought this!"
The carpet still has traffic stains in the living room, family room, master bedroom and two guest bedrooms. We take our shoes off when we enter the house. There are only two of us and we have no pets. I'd cc your inspection guy, Zaim Islam, but he seems to have disappeared after coming by and doing a check on this carpet. He dabbed some water on the carpet, rubbed it so it looked lighter and then took his pictures. After he left and it dried, it still is stained. Did I mention, this has been going on since February? You all have put us off with one excuse or another. I did get some reaction when I mentioned yelp, but since then all of you have lost interest. Now I get this response... Dear Jim Rutter: Thank you for allowing an independent assessor into your home to evaluate your STAINMASTER® carpet and assist us as we investigate your warranty claim. Based on the independent assessor’s findings, the areas of concern confirm normal performance characteristics for carpet soil resistance as defined in the STAINMASTER® carpet Limited Warranties. In summary, the situation you are experiencing with your carpet falls outside the scope of the STAINMASTER® carpet limited warranty coverage, and we must decline your claim. Sincerely, Megan Kneeland STAINMASTER® Consumer Care 1-800-438-7668 It appears the only satisfaction I will get from you if I don't sue, is to take this opportunity to vent.



Date created: 2016-05-16
Name: K. Towle
Location: New York

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Lies!"
We had Stainmaster installed less then 3 years ago. The ad (at Lowe's) said use for high traffic areas. Well our hallway carpeting (high traffic) is matted and won't bounce back. Stainmaster stated that is not covered by warranty. Then why is it advertised! Both Lowe's and Stainmaster lied!


Date created: 2016-05-03
Name: Dissatisfied
Location: Henderson Nv.

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Completely unsatisfied"
I put Stainmaster carpet in my high end rental property approximately three years ago. Carpet has pet urine stains. Stainmaster will not cover it under their lifetime warranty, even although it was professional cleaned every year, because it is a had high end rental property. I don't know how the carpet knows its a high end rental property? You would think it either protects against pet urine stains or it doesn't. I did not. I purchased Stainmaster for my primary house. It had color variation spots appearing in the carpet in a room that was never used strait after it was laid. In my opinion, I think it is very poor quality carpet at a high price. I would not recommend Stainmaster to anyone.

123456789Next >>

Find Flooring Installers
My zip code is:
How to Buy
Flooring Reviews
Flooring Materials
Flooring Brands