Flooring.net Logo

Consumer Reviews of StainMaster carpets

StainMaster flooring logo
Popularity:
#11  of 14 brands of carpets

23% of customers recommend
2 of 5 stars 86 reviews
  • Very Satisfied
    17
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    3
  • Neutral
    1
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    2
  • Very Unsatisfied
    63

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to Flooring.net. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of Flooring.net.

Read reviews of other Carpet brands
Write a review

123456789Next >>

Date created: 2016-07-26 Name: J. Johnson
Location: West Allis, WI

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"You'll be disappointed"
The traffic areas of their top of the line "Premium Carpet" that is 1 1/2 years old, looks as old as the 25 year old carpet I replaced. We don't even wear shoes in the house. The warranty states that you have to have your carpets cleaned every 18 months, but they are going back to the purchase date, not the date my carpet was installed which is a big difference. Reading what other's have to say, I think the company is obviously looking for ways to get out of honoring their warranty. I'd never buy Stainmaster again.


Date created: 2016-06-30 Name: Julie C
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Model: Darley

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Don't Buy Stainmaster"
Unfortunately, I have Stainmaster Darley carpet on my steps and in my upstairs hallway. It looked good for about the first 1 1/2-2 years, but for what I paid for the carpet and for the warranty that was supposed to be in place, I expected much more. I started a claim with Stainmaster approximately 6 months ago and the first assessor they sent out evaluated the carpet for texture. He immediately said that the carpet looked terrible and "grungy". After receiving his report, Stainmaster denied my claim because my texture is supposedly a 3.0 and they expect it to be 3.0 or above. I was also told verbally that the issues I am having are due to the fact that the carpet is vacuumed in the same direction too much. It"s a hallway!!! How many different directions can I vacuum??? So I started another claim for the dirt on the carpet. It took even longer to get an assessor out this time and he looked at my carpet, cleaned my carpet, and the dirt remains. He submitted his report and told me that he agreed that the carpet just won't clean up and he also commented on the poor texture and "cornrowing". This time, Stainmaster denied the claim saying that the dirt that remains is normal and that the assessor said the problem was really the cornrowing, which they don't cover under the warranty. When I asked to have a copy of the assessor's report, I was told that that was for "internal use only". I am wondering if Stainmaster alters the reports because both assessors agreed that my carpet looks nasty, grungy, and old; but I am not allowed to see a copy of the report. Do yourself a favor and do not buy this product. I have carpet in my basement that I purchased at Home Depot 13 years ago that has held up so much better than this Stainmaster garbage I purchased at a flooring store. They do not stand by their product and the warranty is a ruse. Do not be fooled like I was into thinking you need to pay more to get a better product and a good warranty.


Date created: 2016-06-23 Name: Nancy A Gregg
Location: Chandler az

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Stain Master active family carpet 100% nylon pet pad"
First time buyer of carpeting bought @ Lowes. Installed Nov 2015. Had a chalky talc cover everything in house furniture walls doors floors and left haze in air of rooms. Lowes came out claim never seen b4 sd to have steam cleaned so jun 2016 had steamed cleaned they never saw this before either. waiting to see if clears up otherwise will remove also wear spots showing up on 7 month old carpet. Buyer beware wouldn't not ever buy again.



Date created: 2016-06-15 Name: James R Rutter
Location: San Clemente, CA

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"I should have read these reviews before I bought this!"
The carpet still has traffic stains in the living room, family room, master bedroom and two guest bedrooms. We take our shoes off when we enter the house. There are only two of us and we have no pets. I'd cc your inspection guy, Zaim Islam, but he seems to have disappeared after coming by and doing a check on this carpet. He dabbed some water on the carpet, rubbed it so it looked lighter and then took his pictures. After he left and it dried, it still is stained. Did I mention, this has been going on since February? You all have put us off with one excuse or another. I did get some reaction when I mentioned yelp, but since then all of you have lost interest. Now I get this response... Dear Jim Rutter: Thank you for allowing an independent assessor into your home to evaluate your STAINMASTER® carpet and assist us as we investigate your warranty claim. Based on the independent assessor’s findings, the areas of concern confirm normal performance characteristics for carpet soil resistance as defined in the STAINMASTER® carpet Limited Warranties. In summary, the situation you are experiencing with your carpet falls outside the scope of the STAINMASTER® carpet limited warranty coverage, and we must decline your claim. Sincerely, Megan Kneeland STAINMASTER® Consumer Care 1-800-438-7668 It appears the only satisfaction I will get from you if I don't sue, is to take this opportunity to vent.


Date created: 2016-05-16 Name: K. Towle
Location: New York

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Lies!"
We had Stainmaster installed less then 3 years ago. The ad (at Lowe's) said use for high traffic areas. Well our hallway carpeting (high traffic) is matted and won't bounce back. Stainmaster stated that is not covered by warranty. Then why is it advertised! Both Lowe's and Stainmaster lied!


Date created: 2016-05-03 Name: Dissatisfied
Location: Henderson Nv.

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Completely unsatisfied"
I put Stainmaster carpet in my high end rental property approximately three years ago. Carpet has pet urine stains. Stainmaster will not cover it under their lifetime warranty, even although it was professional cleaned every year, because it is a had high end rental property. I don't know how the carpet knows its a high end rental property? You would think it either protects against pet urine stains or it doesn't. I did not. I purchased Stainmaster for my primary house. It had color variation spots appearing in the carpet in a room that was never used strait after it was laid. In my opinion, I think it is very poor quality carpet at a high price. I would not recommend Stainmaster to anyone.


Date created: 2016-04-28 Name: J. Anderson
Location: Rockville, MD

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Stainmaster is a Rip-Off"
Stainmaster is a complete rip-off! Don't waist your money. They may have had a product that worked years ago. Today, even the simplest of stains - attended just after it happens - don't come out.


Date created: 2016-04-14 Name: Bonnie King
Location: Danville ca.
Model: Fabrica/Invista

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Fabrica stainmaster invista wear"
Does not clean or wear well. Never buy it



Date created: 2016-03-28 Name: P VanWart
Location: Nashville, Ga
Model: 35938STA01-12-L018

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Worse carpet ever"
We bought a retirement home and laid all new Stain Master carpet, with a 30 year warranty. The best Stain Master makes. Well let me tell you it is the worse carpet ever. Our previous home had a middle quality carpet, 3 kids and 3 dogs 20 years later carpet was still nice and no stains. Two retired people with a carpet full of stains is ridiculous. I have this carpet cleaned every year by Stanley Steamer and the protectant sprayed on it. We do not wear shoes in the house. And the carpet is only 4 years old. Do yourself a favor and do not by Stain Master Carpet.


Date created: 2016-02-06 Name: D. George
Location: Sacramento CA
Model: High Pile Plush

Satisfaction Rating:
5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Good Carpet, but pay the price"
Our Dupont Stainmaster high pile (1.06") carpet was installed in 1997. Today is Feb 5, 2016 and it's still like brand new. We've had high traffic and low traffic and the carpet has held up. We need to replace it and discovered the new price for same density, pile, twist is $15 per foot. We elected to buy a Stainmaster at $6.29 a foot with a Stainmaster pad. P.S. I've read a lot of complaints here. I thing flooring.net should require the price per foot for carpets, hardwood, etc. so that we all know which carpet you are writing about. A cheap carpet is just that. Cheap.

123456789Next >>

Find Flooring Installers

My zip code is: