Consumer Reviews of StainMaster carpets

StainMaster flooring logo
Popularity:
#11   of 16 brands of carpets

22% of customers recommend
2 of 5 stars 94 reviews
  • Very Satisfied
    18
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    3
  • Neutral
    1
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    2
  • Very Unsatisfied
    70

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to Flooring.net. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of Flooring.net.

12345678910Next >>

Date created: 2016-11-25
Name: Tom Hoffmann
Location: Southport, NC
Model: Baxter IV Pet Protect

Satisfaction Rating:
5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Kudos to Lowes for a wonderful carpet experience"
I purchased new carpeting for my master bedroom and closet and a second bedroom from Lowe's Southport, NC. Every aspect of this experience from dealing with the sales associates to the installation by Legacy Flooring was very professional and went extremely smoothly with no issues whatsoever. The sales associate made excellent recommendations for carpet and padding based on my particular needs and taste. The installation company scheduled the installation and showed up precisely as scheduled. The crew was very professional and exhibited expertise in their trade. They were neat and precise. My wife and I were extremely satisfied.


Date created: 2016-10-26
Name: M Blakeman
Location: EDH, Ca

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Worthless warranty"
Invista does not stand by its "lifetime" warranty. Pet stains do not come out despite professional cleaning. Company does everything it can to make sure they have no accountability. As empty nesters with rarely used bedrooms the "lifetime" warranty was voided when carpet was professionally cleaned once in 4 years. Even though many individuals complain about adverse effects of carpet cleaning and Invista acknowledged carpet cleaning does nothing to make carpet stain resistant. This is just a loophole they put in their warranty to avoid standing behind their product.


Date created: 2016-10-21
Name: D Harley
Location: Fort Myers, FL
Model: Soft Whisper

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Stainmaster hides behind "cleaning clause" not honoring their warranty"
We purchased Shaw "Soft Whisper" loop carpet with Stainmaster from Hessler Floor Covering in Fort Myers in November 2014. The carpet was worn and matted in many areas within 6 months. Shaw recommends a "professional cleaning" at 24 months but the Stainmaster warranty requires cleaning at 18 months. When we reported the defect to Hessler Carpeting at 21 months Stainmaster simply invoked the fact we never cleaned it at 18 months therefore voiding our warranty. We never wear shoes in our home, no pets, kids, etc. Bottomline, never purchase anything with Stainmaster properties as their limited warranty overrides the carpet manufacturer warranty. We will never purchase anything connected with Stainmaster again!



Date created: 2016-10-20
Name: J PANSARE
Location: BLOOMINGTON, IN

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Health Hazard with Stainmaster Georgetown"
We bought stain-master Georgetown custom design 402 from Lowe's home center. After installation on oct. 13 in our bedrooms and hallway, I started getting burning sensation in feet and dry eyes besides the strong smell of carpet. The same started to happen to my wife and it she was getting nausiated. I suspect they are putting some kind of chemicals(formaldhyde ??). I dont know if this stuff is carcenogenic or not but I am planning to complain to the consumer protection agency. Be careful when buying this product.


Date created: 2016-08-18
Name: Eddir Fulcher
Location: New Bern, NC
Model: Grants Pass

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Worst carpet ever"
We had Grants Pass carpet by StainMaster installed in our house to replace old carpet. About a year later carpet look worn and was buckled up like it had stretched. We contacted Lowes and after a long telephone battle and no response they finally agreed to have their new installer come out and look at it. Installer came out and said that it should not have done that and they would contact Lowes and recommend that it be repaired. One year later the buckled up places are back and much worse than before. Contacted Lowes and told them and they said that the warranty had expired and it was our problem and that they would not do anything to repair it. We are completely dissatisfied with the StainMaster carpet and Lowes installation. I would never purchase flooring again from Lowes and anything I need if I can find it at another store I will purchase it there. These people do not stand behind their product or installation. Praying that home depot will locate here at some time.


Date created: 2016-08-08
Name: Rebecca Holmberg
Location: Lehighton Pa
Model: Pet Protect

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"This Carpet is Horrible and the service is Worse"
I had my carpet from probably 15-20 yrs ago changed this past May 2016 when I decided to have my carpet changed. I have 2 dogs, and so decided to get their Pet Protect carpet. I have an old berber carpet (at least 15 yrs of age) in my family room which has never pulled so I was comfortable going with the berber type carpet (the only option at our local Lowes for Pet Protect). Pulls started within the first few weeks and I filed a complaint when it was only 2 months old and already had a hole. (Now I have 2 holes in my carpet). Lowes sent a stain master rep to my home in July and they informed me that my carpet is totally fine and the issue is mine to deal with. Insane! Now I not only have 2 holes but also 2-3 stains which will not come up with shampooing. I have complained again to my Lowes and nothing! I will never deal with my Lowes for any large purchases, nor will I ever buy a StainMaster carpet ever again. I actually am planning on going to my local newspaper as well as tv station. Maybe if we get the news out, we can prevent anyone else from suffering from the same poor service.


Date created: 2016-08-02
Name: H. Orto
Location: Michigan
Model: Active Family Solstice

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Less than 9 months old and looking bad!"
Less than a year old and our StainMaster Active Family carpet is looking pretty bad. The high traffic areas are starting to look worn. This is a Berber style carpet (loops) and there are single loops that have become unraveled in random places and stick up from the carpet weave. Not sure why this happens, we have two dogs but they don't bother the carpet, hey don't even notice it. At first I just snipped these large loops off so that it would blend in with the carpet, but it keeps happening, I keep finding them and now im leaving them be so that I can show them to the Lowe's/StainMaster rep as I inquire about my warranty. Since the carpet is under a year old, the "professional cleaning" clause doesn't seem to apply. Meanwhile, in a couple of areas that I did clean with my Hoover steam cleaner, the carpet looks even worse! A lot of fibers have come loose, it looks very pilly and natty, kind of like a worn out wool sweater. Ridiculous! With these issues at under a year old, I can't imagine how this carpet will look in 5 or 10 years. I regret getting it. I will post an update with information on if and/or how StainMaster decides to honor their warranty.


Date created: 2016-08-01
Name: Lisa Bean
Location: Missouri
Model: Indulgence

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Horrible Product. Don't Buy!"
We purchased Stainmaster Masla Indulgence carpet for our home and had it installed in Spring 2014. We spent over $10,000 on this purchase as we were told it was stain resistant and good quality carpet. We noticed immediately that the carpet stained very easily, probably the worst carpet I've ever had. Really wish I had read the reviews here before buying this. It seems most people feel Stainmaster is an inferior product. I called the company regarding my concerns and was told the warranty is void if the carpet is not professionally cleaned every 18 months which we did not know. I'm annoyed with the store, Nebraska Furniture Mart for not telling us this, but also feel StainMaster should be working closely with stores selling their products and ensure they are giving warranty information to customers. I suppose it's better for StainMaster to neglect this as they never have to make good on their warranty. The moral of this story is, buyer beware, especially of StainMaster!



Date created: 2016-07-26
Name: J. Johnson
Location: West Allis, WI

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"You'll be disappointed"
The traffic areas of their top of the line "Premium Carpet" that is 1 1/2 years old, looks as old as the 25 year old carpet I replaced. We don't even wear shoes in the house. The warranty states that you have to have your carpets cleaned every 18 months, but they are going back to the purchase date, not the date my carpet was installed which is a big difference. Reading what other's have to say, I think the company is obviously looking for ways to get out of honoring their warranty. I'd never buy Stainmaster again.


Date created: 2016-06-30
Name: Julie C
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Model: Darley

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Don't Buy Stainmaster"
Unfortunately, I have Stainmaster Darley carpet on my steps and in my upstairs hallway. It looked good for about the first 1 1/2-2 years, but for what I paid for the carpet and for the warranty that was supposed to be in place, I expected much more. I started a claim with Stainmaster approximately 6 months ago and the first assessor they sent out evaluated the carpet for texture. He immediately said that the carpet looked terrible and "grungy". After receiving his report, Stainmaster denied my claim because my texture is supposedly a 3.0 and they expect it to be 3.0 or above. I was also told verbally that the issues I am having are due to the fact that the carpet is vacuumed in the same direction too much. It"s a hallway!!! How many different directions can I vacuum??? So I started another claim for the dirt on the carpet. It took even longer to get an assessor out this time and he looked at my carpet, cleaned my carpet, and the dirt remains. He submitted his report and told me that he agreed that the carpet just won't clean up and he also commented on the poor texture and "cornrowing". This time, Stainmaster denied the claim saying that the dirt that remains is normal and that the assessor said the problem was really the cornrowing, which they don't cover under the warranty. When I asked to have a copy of the assessor's report, I was told that that was for "internal use only". I am wondering if Stainmaster alters the reports because both assessors agreed that my carpet looks nasty, grungy, and old; but I am not allowed to see a copy of the report. Do yourself a favor and do not buy this product. I have carpet in my basement that I purchased at Home Depot 13 years ago that has held up so much better than this Stainmaster garbage I purchased at a flooring store. They do not stand by their product and the warranty is a ruse. Do not be fooled like I was into thinking you need to pay more to get a better product and a good warranty.

12345678910Next >>

Find Flooring Installers
My zip code is:
How to Buy
Flooring Reviews
Flooring Materials
Flooring Brands