Consumer Reviews of StainMaster carpets

StainMaster flooring logo
Popularity:
#12   of 17 brands of carpets

19% of customers recommend
2 of 5 stars 145 reviews with a 2 average rating
  • Very Satisfied
    24
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    4
  • Neutral
    1
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    2
  • Very Unsatisfied
    114

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to Flooring.net. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of Flooring.net.

123456789101112131415Next >>

Date created:
Name:
Location: Bartlesville ok
Model: Pet friendly

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied, 1 out of 5

Review:
"Odor kept me out of room"
I purchased your carpet two years ago and received no directions for cleaning pet accidents. When my pup wet on the carpet I cleaned with the same product I had used for years, a pet urine and odor remover. The beige carpet turned dark brown and emitted a horrible chemical odor which lasted 3 months. We did not use that bath during that time.


Date created:
Name:
Location: UT
Model: Z6879

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied, 1 out of 5

Review:
"Worst Carpet ever and Terrible Warranty"
Terrible carpet and terrible warranty! Does not clean well and then they tell you it has to be professionally cleaned within 30 days for it to be covered. Baby spit up left terrible stain and is not covered under their warranty. Carpet shows extreme wear in front of our love seat. They sent an assessor to evaluate and since he said there is "matting and crushing" but no untwisting of tufts, it is not covered. This carpet has the best rating on their scale for warranty/durability rating. Really! I would not purchase any Stainmaster brand anything as they do not stand behind their products!


Date created:
Name:

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied, 1 out of 5

Review:
"Worst company ever! They Lie about the lifetime warranty!"
I purchased brand new stainmaster carpeting for my living room. It was over five dollars a square yard. I spent quite a bit of money on this new carpet. One of the things that attracted me to it was the lifetime guarantee. Let me tell you, that was a big mistake. This company does not stand behind their guarantee and they have many stipulations that they don't explain at the time of purchase. It clearly stated, on the back of the sample carpet, that pet urine stains were covered under the lifetime guarantee. Come to find out, you are not able to open a claim unless the pet urine is visible. My cat, Who is diagnosed with cancer shortly after the carpet was installed, ended up peeing on a section of the new carpet. I spent three months and hundreds of dollars trying to get rid of the smell. I even hired a professional carpet cleaning service to use hot water solution in order to get the smell out. As we all know, cat urine is one of the hardest things to get rid off. I don't care how much you clean the carpet. I tried to use the warranty, and was denied. The reason was, that because the stain is not visible, they will not make good on the lifetime guarantee. I try to explain that you can clearly see you're in markings under a black light. But that was insufficient for them. Hey then wanted me to hire the carpet cleaning company again and told me that was remove the smell. Are they that stupid? Does this company not understand how pet urine works? Cat you're right it is not like dog urine. Any website will clearly tell you that cat urine almost never comes out of the carpet. Again, I don't care how well you clean it. It's not coming out. So because the stain is invisible, they refused to make good on the warrantee that they claim to offer for lifetime. This is false advertisement. And I'm actually shocked that this company has not had a major lawsuit against them yet. But, I will definitely be filing with the Better Business Bureau because you are ripping customers off. How can you offer a lifetime guarantee and then not make good on it? False advertising. I hope your company gets sued and I hope you go out of business.



Date created:
Name:
Location: Spring HIll, Fl.
Model: Tuftex z6909

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied, 1 out of 5

Review:
"Complaint"
2nd replacement. Settled 1st complaint and added additional monies and got another Stainmaster carpet. What I am writing was originally sent to this site June 5, 2017. May 2017 my replacement carpet was put down. Two weeks later it started to buckle If that is the correct term it looks flat and disgusting), just like previous carpet. The anxiety from looking at this buckled carpet every day and today is Oct 8, 2018. Anyone interested in starting a class action lawsuit? There are so many complaints. I didn't complain again until today. I was just going to have it picked up and thrown out. All I want is my money back. I asked for that the 1st time but was told by Barbara Womack at Stainmaster that I couldn't get my money back. I have bought 3 different vacuums. I try to vacuum in different directions. Nothing works. The carpet looks old. I am beyond disgusted. I had to jump through hoops to get it replaced last time. I'm turned off to carpet now because of this problem.


Date created:
Name:
Location: Ogden UT
Model: Shaw Tuftex

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied, 1 out of 5

Review:
"Worst carpet I've ever owned"
We have had this carpet for 16 months. Our grand baby spit up on it after we had it down only one month. I cleaned according to the instructions from the store we bought it. Spots do not come out even after 4 cleanings. Eventually they fade, but everything that spills is a nightmare! Also the carpet is showing wear in front of the loveseat. We donít wear shoes in the house, so it's not dirty, just wearing down. Fibers are showing extreme wear already. There are only two of us in the home. I spoke with the StainMaster people and baby spit up is not covered under the warranty. Of course! Very disappointed in this carpet!


Date created:
Name:
Location: TX
Model: Pet Protect

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied, 1 out of 5

Review:
"Watch the warranty"
We purchased stainmaster pet protect 3 years ago. The claim is "'we've got you covered for life". After 3 years we are looking at replacing our carpet again. It looks dirty again a couple of days after it is cleaned using a steamer. The cat throw up does not even clean well (so much for "Pet protect claims) and leaves a colored spot. The walking paths have been worn down as well. I called the company and because I did not have the carpet "professionally cleaned" the warranty is not valid. I am totally disillusioned with Stain-master now, and will never recommend their product or purchase it again.


Date created:
Name:
Location: fairmont WV
Model: Active family

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied, 1 out of 5

Review:
"Worried customer"
Installed 4-4-2017 Exuberance active family with the best pad Lowes had Im using the sweeper that has been recommended and 16 month later I am still getting a 1/2 of canister full of fuzz and even more worrisome is the powdery substance that is also coming up. The manufacture is Dixie and they did send out an inspector. He said he has never seen this powdery substance before. Hopefully something will be done. Not looking forward to the hassle of replacing 1,157 ft of new carpet. After reading the reviews I don't know what to replace it with.


Date created:
Name:
Location: WHITEHALL
Model: S9068 Soul Mate Pet Protect

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied, 1 out of 5

Review:
"Horrendous Carpet Deceptive Warranty"
Purchased 140 yards of this carpet at Lowes. It was implied that this carpet was superior, very durable, and carried a great warranty. My husband, myself and an 8 year old mellow golden retriever live in our home, yet the carpet looks horrendous, showing heavy wear, pile breakdown, corn rows and obvious fiber deterioration. Though the carpet allegedly holds a 20 warranty for texture retention and wear, neither the company or store will back the product or warranty.



Date created:
Name:
Location: Drexel Hill
Model: S9042-9-1200-AB

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied, 1 out of 5

Review:
"Carpet Is Okay, But the Warranty Is horrendous"
We purchased our STAINMASTER PetProtect carpet along with the PetProtect padding in August 2016. Due to other projects going on in our home, it wasn't installed until July 27, 2017. After our cat a few accidents on the carpet at the bottom of the steps, we had it professionally cleaned at our expense ($150) as the warranty requires. When the stain and odor did not come out, I called to start the warranty process. I was told that to keep the warranty from being voided, the carpet must be professionally cleaned once every 18 months. Then I was told that the 18-month clock begins at the time of purchase, not install. That means the 18-month window closed in February of 2018. Since our carpet (which had only been in our house from 7/27/17) was not cleaned by the end of February, our lifetime warranty was now void. There was nothing Stainmaster could do for us. Surely you have to take each warranty claim case-by-case. It's insanity to assume I would have a carpet professionally cleaned after having it in my house for only 11 months. We will never purchase a Stainmaster product again.


Date created:
Name:
Location: Central (Clemson) SC

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied, 1 out of 5

Review:
"Poor excuse for a carpet"
We selected this product because of the PetProof advertisements: we have dogs and cats. What a disaster. Carpet pulled into loops and loose ends in multiple places 7 days after installation and more and more pulls develop every few days. Carpet began losing bulk (flattening) after just one month. Simple stains will not come out despite using Stainmaster cleaner and their recommended procedure, as well as my "SpotBot" area steam cleaner. Problem was reported to Lowes who said they filed a claim. Two full months have passed without any movement on the part of Stainmaster to address the problem. Small Claims Court next step. Hopefully lots of people will read this review.

123456789101112131415Next >>

Find Flooring Installers
My zip code is:
How to Buy
Flooring Reviews
Flooring Materials
Flooring Brands