Flooring.net Logo

Consumer Reviews of Shaw wood floors

Popularity:
#41  of 44 brands of wood floors

20% of customers recommend
2 of 5 stars 20 reviews
  • Very Satisfied
    3
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    1
  • Neutral
    0
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    1
  • Very Unsatisfied
    15

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to Flooring.net. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of Flooring.net.

Read more about Shaw wood floors

Read reviews of other Wood Floor brands
Write a review

12Next >>

Date created: 2013-07-18 Name: JD Monk
Location: Sherman, TX

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Do NOT buy Shaw flooring!"
Purchased Shaw laminate flooring from Gold Star Carpet One in Denison, but had my own installer. After about 2 months the boards began peeling at joints. Called Gold Star - "Shaw inspector will come out." An "inspector" did - his findings? "Floor not level to within 1/8" every 6 feet" "spans 53 feet without a transition strip" (diagonal runs length of open area) "installation(over tapping)bad" "moisture reading at bad places high" - a full 9 pages of bs ... (note: a discontinued Pergo flooring with no problems after over 5 years was replaced because we were adding wood floors to bedrooms - should have gone "closest match" and used Pergo flooring)


Date created: 2013-07-15 Name: Rachelle
Location: Durham, NC

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Poorly Constructed"
This flooring was what was offered through our builder. It came with a one year warranty through them and seemed to be very nice in the model. Less than a month after instillation however the vainer started to warp and peel off of the backing. It cracks at the drop of a hat. It can't be refinished and has begun, after less than 4 months, to show years worth of wear. We've had the builder replace 4 boards already and will have to have another replaced this week. It's not worth the money!


Date created: 2013-03-30 Name: R. McCarthy
Location: Urbana, IL

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"What a waste of money!"
To begin with, we ended up not using the wood in our master because there were so many in the boxes that were flawed and not able to use. One year later, the floors look like they have been down for fifteen years. Unreal how easy they scratch and dent. Very soft! Four years later and they are yellowing. We are very sorry we were talked into buying this flooring and it was not cheap! I think it was flawed and the company should repay the money.


Date created: 2013-03-21 Name: Jimmie Dean
Location: Belleair, FL

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Unable to clean"
We bought our flooring from the Carpet store in St Petersburg, Fl. They call it a piano finish. It has to be cleaned every time it is walked on. Barefoot, shoes or socks. We cannot believe they would make a product you cannot walk on. We asked the sales lady if it showed traffic prior to buying it. We even stepped on a sample, but it was in poor lighting. Shaw sent an adjuster who said it was the cleaning products we use. We only use Bono as suggested by Shaw. It will now cost us three times the money to replace it. I would never buy a Shaw product again. They do not stand behind their product.


Date created: 2013-02-23 Name: C. Luvender

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Shaw Epic Windsor Walnut is TERRIBLE"
We had this hardwood engineered flooring installed less than 3 years ago and it looks like a 20 year old foor. It sratches through the top layer and leaves white scratches. It is advertised as pet and kid friendly which it is not....perhaps false advertising? We have a 25 lb dog and there are scratches everywhere. Our installer said it was the worst wear on a floor they had ever seen. Note we have had hard wood floors before and only had to recoat once in 15 years, so we are not new to the care required. Beautiful to look at initially, but a total waste of money.


Date created: 2012-12-19 Name: lesia mchugh
Location: holland, ohio

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Has anyone received satisfaction on the poor shaw laminate products or are you still trying ??"
Shaw laminate flooring has bubbled and the edges have cupped upward, the gaps between the boards are growing and the shaw inspector says "those are reasonable" multiple scratches everywhere on the floor. They said that is not there fault also. The warranty questionable about what is normal and floor board gaps? Is anyone getting satisfaction??


Date created: 2012-11-12 Name: Brian Bogges
Location: Santa Rosa, CA

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Shaw Flooring"
I have an engineered shaw floor. It dents easily and is delaminating, to top is peeling off. I had a Shaw rep come to my house and test the floor. He found 16-18 % of moisture in only (1) area of my house . The other readings were in the range from 8-9.6% range. But they deny any responsibility for their defective floor claiming excessive moisture.? How can this be it is peeling were no excessive moisture was found? Don't buy Shaw flooring!


Date created: 2012-07-27 Name: Sharon Sleut
Location: Seattle, WA

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Great wood floor!"
I have a Shaw Epic hardwood installed in my kitchen, family room area. The wood is Hickory in the natural color. I am very pleased with this floor. It is very tough and looks as good as new. I clean it with the Bona hardwood cleaner once a week and that is all I need to do. I have no major dents in the floor, even after my husband rolled the fridge across the wood a few times to fix the ice maker! I love it.


Date created: 2012-01-05 Name: Mrs. J Morgan
Location: Vincennes, IN

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Definently not a good product"
We remodeled and made a "great room". Taking a wall out between the front room and dinning room opened up the space and we love it. Both were open to the kitchen. We put Shaw "oak" floor down. We had added an addition 3 years prior and had Bruce installed in almost all of the addition. Within a month we noticed the Shaw was not holding up like the other one. Complained to the installer and Shaw sent a 3rd party to inspect. What a joke! Because we have dogs they blamed the damage on them! The dogs are in all of the house and the other doesn't look like this. He said the living area gets more wear. No the long hall that the dogs run down frequently gets more wear. And it doesn't look like the newer one. Like some of the other reviews he blamed what we had cleaned with also. I clean the Bruce with the same stuff. The Shaw floor has split, splintered, and most disturbing some of the boards are like they were filled in where grain lines were. It now looks like worms has ate it, it is rough and evident that what ever was used to fill in is not coming out! Any boards with much grain looks like this. The "third party" asked if we had boards to replace these. Why is it our responsibility? We haven't been contacted by Shaw so I guess they have written us off. Well I have written them off too and well tell everyone I can about their flooring!


Date created: 2011-12-31 Name: Karen
Location: Riverview, MI

Satisfaction Rating:

2 of 5 stars Somewhat Unsatisfied

Review:
"Not sure what to think"
Just had my Shaw hardwood floors installed a week ago. Have already dented a board by dropping a bottle on it.I Thought they were hardwood and would not dent...haha. Floor also dented a little when installer moved the stove. I do notice that the boards have some spaces between them, a few have splits in them, one was not finished properly on the corner and they are not as smooth laying as I would have liked. They were cheaply priced and maybe you do get what you pay for. Only time will tell if I warm up to these floors. Right now I am a little disappointed.

12Next >>

Find Flooring Installers

My zip code is: