Flooring.net Logo

Consumer Reviews of Shaw wood floors

Popularity:
#20  of 22 brands of wood floors

14% of customers recommend
1.5 of 5 stars 28 reviews
  • Very Satisfied
    3
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    1
  • Neutral
    0
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    1
  • Very Unsatisfied
    23

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to Flooring.net. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of Flooring.net.

Read more about Shaw wood floors

Read reviews of other Wood Floor brands
Write a review

123Next >>

Date created: 2015-02-06 Name: Nancy Knapp
Location: United States

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Beyond Disappointed"
Waited my whole life for a wood floor. Boards that were installed were either split or otherwise damaged by installer or should have been culled out (according to Nebraska Furniture Mart) either way lots of finger pointing and no one taking responsibility. In addition many of the boards have this "bubble" really distracts from what should be a beautiful wood floor. One would never dream of using a swifter to remove dust as the wood edges are so rough the swifter fibers get stuck. No I would not buy it again... the display model in the store is not what you get.


Date created: 2015-01-07 Name: linfa wicket
Location: florence ky

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Dont waste your money"
My oak flooring was installed less than 2 years before the finish started cracking and the boards started splitting, something they call checking. They are saying that because it is a natural product, this is going to happen. So my question is, exactly what will their "lifetime" warranty cover, because if you have to use an excuse like that, you know you've done something wrong.


Date created: 2014-12-31 Name: Dan
Location: Salem, NH

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Three boxes returned"
We bought 39 boxes of prefinished hardwood and had to return 3 boxes of very poor quality pieces. There were extremely dark pieces, others had insect damage, numerous knots, chunks of the tongue portion broken off, holes you could look right through, warped pieces and generally no evidence of any meaningful quality control. My installers both said they had never seen floor quality this low in 20 years! Lucky me. I bought a sale item. Buyer beware!


Date created: 2014-12-14 Name: RJ Yager
Location: United States

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Do not buy this product"
Buckles, peels and does not lie flat. A nightmare to install. Save your money. Have done other brands of flooring before with no problems. This company is shady and a waste of money.


Date created: 2014-11-29 Name: CJ Johnson
Location: Taos, New Mexico

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Shaw Epic Flooring - Lousy Product"
As other have reported, we've got cupping, peeling, warping, scratching, dents, and splitting less than 6 months after installation. Haven't contacted Shaw yet, but it's very discouraging to see everyone else's experience with Shaw when reporting identical problems. Until I found this and a few other sites reporting so much customer dissatisfaction and Shaw's refusal to acknowledge any level of accountability, I was blaming our contractor for installing it wrong. Now I see it wasn't his fault, so how do we get Shaw to accept responsibility for this very expensive failure?



Date created: 2014-10-09 Name: Karen
Location: Corvallis , Oregon

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Lifting and peeling"
We had our new Laminate Walnut floors put in in February 2014. They are lifting and peeling. We had laminate floors for 20 years with no problem. The Shaw floors look horrible after 6 months. We were told to use a certain product and we did use that product. Had to pay an independent inspector to come in an inspect our home. Shaw just covers themselves and does not stand behind their product. I may hire an attorney! Do not buy Shaw products!


Date created: 2014-08-26 Name: Shirley Lempertz
Location: Winston Salem N.C.

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Buckling"
Shaw Laminate flooring installed April 18th, 2014 in my Condo. No Pets, single retired, used only recommended cleaning product 1 time. Hard to get streaks up. This floor buckled before it was down 2 months. Was running a dehumidifier and a/c due to n/c climate. Old floor was Armstrong Laminate and was put down 4/2006, an excellent product. Removed due to flooding from another unit early in January 2014. The contractor and owner of company who sold and had it installed for me has not cooperated at all. He has been a total no show at 3 different scheduled visits. My next call will be to contact Shaw about my experience but assume I am out of luck there too. Will not buy Shaw Laminate again.


Date created: 2013-09-11 Name: Steve
Location: Alpharetta, GA

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Anderson Wood Flooring not as good since Shaw purchased the company."
We purchased Anderson flooring in 2001. In 2012 we had water damage and they needed to be replaced. The new Anderson product line after Shaw bought the company did have one very similar. Once it was installed, the fit from board to board is not as flush as the original product and the finish appears to be a plastic coating over the wood veneer. It does not feel as much like a wood floor. Difficult to clean with recommended cleaner and some areas no shine. Dull and fogging over.


Date created: 2013-07-18 Name: JD Monk
Location: Sherman, TX

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Do NOT buy Shaw flooring!"
Purchased Shaw laminate flooring from Gold Star Carpet One in Denison, but had my own installer. After about 2 months the boards began peeling at joints. Called Gold Star - "Shaw inspector will come out." An "inspector" did - his findings? "Floor not level to within 1/8" every 6 feet" "spans 53 feet without a transition strip" (diagonal runs length of open area) "installation(over tapping)bad" "moisture reading at bad places high" - a full 9 pages of bs ... (note: a discontinued Pergo flooring with no problems after over 5 years was replaced because we were adding wood floors to bedrooms - should have gone "closest match" and used Pergo flooring)


Date created: 2013-07-15 Name: Rachelle
Location: Durham, NC

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Poorly Constructed"
This flooring was what was offered through our builder. It came with a one year warranty through them and seemed to be very nice in the model. Less than a month after instillation however the vainer started to warp and peel off of the backing. It cracks at the drop of a hat. It can't be refinished and has begun, after less than 4 months, to show years worth of wear. We've had the builder replace 4 boards already and will have to have another replaced this week. It's not worth the money!

123Next >>

Find Flooring Installers

My zip code is: