Flooring.net Logo

Consumer Reviews of Schon wood floors

Popularity:
#6  of 25 brands of wood floors

37% of customers recommend
2.5 of 5 stars 29 reviews
  • Very Satisfied
    8
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    3
  • Neutral
    2
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    1
  • Very Unsatisfied
    15

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to Flooring.net. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of Flooring.net.

Read more about Schon wood floors

Read reviews of other Wood Floor brands
Write a review

123Next >>

Date created: 2015-11-08 Name: Synde
Location: Westminister, CA

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Almost made the same mistake"
Thank you - to all of you who took time to write honest reviews about Schon and LL. I almost bought it. I asked many questions at the store and found out they contract out the installers, and any issues with installation have to be dealt with by the installation company not LL. I asked about product warranties, the guy said they would send someone out and assess cause of problem. He then stated three reasons it might fail - all the customers fault (wrong chemicals, spills and dropping something). If it were truly a manf. defect they would replace or repair. It was obvious to me that their position is to blame the customer. In fact the sales person acted offended that I was asking detailed questions. However, even after all that, the price for the 5" hickory was still persuasive and I thought I would install it myself. That was until I read all these reviews! NO Way! Thanks again to all you who posted reviews. I am sure there are many more similar cases.


Date created: 2015-10-18 Name: Gretchen Lang
Location: MI

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Terrible quality"
6,000$ Wasted. I will not sell or even give this wood as a donation with a huge warning of the terrible quality. As others have said LL will not stand behind the product. My very handy husband laid the flooring. As he was putting the flooring down the kids, chairs, shoes, you name it scratched the flooring so terribly that within 6 months he tore the entire 600sq ft out. Lucky for us (haha) we still have 700 sq feet in boxes. He stopped laying it because of the quality. While I dealt with LL to see if they would stand behind it. No! And then our time of return had passed and they wouldn't take back the unused boxes either. So embarrassing when guests would come over and see the "new" floor. They old floor we were replacing (engineered Walnut by Shaw -no longer made) Looked so much better after 8 years of 3 boys and 2 dogs! No problems with that flooring (not purchased through LL). We were replacing carpeting with the new flooring and needed to put down all new since we thought we had found a cost effective way to floor the whole first level. HaHa! Dealing with LL was a nightmare! Professional flooring guy came out and said -terrible quality! Going to write us a note if we decided to take them to court.


Date created: 2015-09-29 Name: sue
Location: north carolina

Satisfaction Rating:
3 of 5 stars Neutral

Review:
"Installation Question"
I have just purchased Schon floors for my entire house. Has anyone put a coat of polyurethane on it?



Date created: 2015-01-31 Name: rob
Location: michigan

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Worst product in the world"
This is the worst product I have ever worked with! It scratches, dents, and streaks. I have never seen anything like this. Good luck to anybody who uses this product.


Date created: 2014-09-21 Name: Joseph M Coelho
Location: SAN Antonio Texas

Satisfaction Rating:
5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"First Time Completely Satisfied"
Very nice product to work with. First time installing engineered wood. After I figured out how to cut the planks to reduce waste it was great to install. The finish is wonderful. Great product. The staff at Lumber Liquidators were very knowledgeable and supportive through out the installation.


Date created: 2014-05-19 Name: P Lengyel
Location: Dover, Ohio

Satisfaction Rating:
4 of 5 stars Somewhat Satisfied

Review:
"Surprised by negative reviews"
I had Schon flooring (floating floor) installed in my basement. (~1,000 sq. Ft.) We installed the light maple flooring. It has been about 18 months since install, and I have not had any problems with wearing or installation. I have traditional hard wood floors in my house, so I can compare. This is not a product for high traffic areas like entrance ways. People need to use some common sense when selecting the room and finish type with this product. Does it scratch. Yes, but all hard wood floors scratch even traditional 3/4 stock. Also the darker the finish the more it will show scratches. The product is great, hold up well, and is easy to clean.


Date created: 2014-02-14 Name: Ropinfast
Location: North Dakota

Satisfaction Rating:
2 of 5 stars Somewhat Unsatisfied

Review:
"Hickory scratches and marks easy"
I replaced 2,100sf of flooring in my home with Schon engineered hickory. It was very easy to install and looked awesome until we actually started using it. Within the first 2 weeks we noticed several scratches and gouges. Whatever you do, don't drop anything like a pot or pan because it will leave a mark. I've had to place felt pads under every piece of furniture so they don't gouge it. The wood is very soft and the finish is terrible. I do not recommend this flooring at all!


Date created: 2014-01-02 Name: Jeff Cox
Location: Pensacola, FL

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"The Worst Product Money Can Buy"
It's amazing how all the negative reviews here (which truly are the only accurate one's) are refuted almost word for word by "glowing recommendations" for this companies products on this site. Obviously these positive reviews are "plants", because Schon engineered flooring is positively, without a doubt, the worst product made for flooring purposes. This product represents a choice which, if you make it, you will gravely regret doing so. After purchasing 1500 sq. Ft. Of Schon engineered Koa flooring at Lumber Liquidators, relying on their verbal assurances that this product could withstand the punishment possible from two small children and a dog, I was left with a floor that had multiple gouges, scratches and dents just within the first week (and has continued to rack up damage at that same rate since it's installation). LL's installers were also kind enough to help my floors appearance by leaving glue spots over the majority of the floors surface area and ll refused to offer any assistance after the sale! Lesson learned after a much > $13,000.00 mistake? Do not trust Lumber Liquidators and never, never use a Schon Wood Floor Product.



Date created: 2013-10-19 Name: E.Dillard
Location: Houston, Tx.

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Unsatisfied customer"
I bought Schon's engineered Brazilian Cherry flooring from Lumber Liquidators and an installer installed it about 2 years ago. Around the first year I noticed the floor buckling up in places, indentations (u) shaped and the top layer color popping off in my formal dining room. I called the installer who had promised I would not have problems with this particular floor. He said he would use an adhesive that was 2 in 1 or3 in 1 whatever - it was suppose to be the best and I wouldn't have the problem again. We had to buy another box of wood plus this expensive adhesive which Lumber Liquidators said that this particular wood was now discontinued. They found us a box that was in El Paso, TX. That we had shipped. Now it is almost Thanksgiving a year later and the Formal Living and Dining room have planks coming up all over. There are humps and curves all over. I have tried hiding them with a rug but now they are all over. In some areas the top part has separated from the wood backing. I don't know what to do now. Buy another brand, go with laminate or install carpet. We have at the installer suggestion had 2 plumbers come out and check for leaks and none found. I definitely would not recommend this particular brand to nobody.


Date created: 2013-06-23 Name: P. Moynihan
Location: Garland, TX

Satisfaction Rating:
4 of 5 stars Somewhat Satisfied

Review:
"Gunstock OAK Review"
A couple of years ago I put down Schon Gunstock Oak (3/8" x 3") and purchased the glue sold at Lumber Liquidators because they said being glue down was the only way this flooring can be installed..... Purchased a trowel from Lumber Liquidators to install the floor and that was all they said I needed. I had a good selection of tools at the house already. After putting down the floors, we noticed places where the glue didn't get completely wiped up and it was impossible to remove the glue residue once it had dried. We called lumber liquidator's and they said they had a Mineral Spirit product in the at the store that would remove the residue.. That information would have been nice when to know when I was originally in the store buying products for the installation. Got the Mineral Spirits from Lumber Liquidators but it still wouldn't take up the residue. Had to use it immediately after each board was installed if board glue got on the surface. After spending an additional week on our hands and knees trying to get the residue off we decided it was too late and gave up trying to take it off. When I decided to put the flooring down in another house I refused to use Lumber Liquidator's glue and ended up purchasing flooring glue from Lowe's made by Bruce that washed up with hot water. Definitely want to wash off any excess glue marks as you go. Seeing the floors looked good I decided to install and extend the flooring into the bedrooms. I purchased another 200 sq. foot of flooring for the first bedroom. I had some flooring left over from the main part of the house and planned on intermixing the leftover flooring with the newly purchased flooring seeing there are variations in each board anyway. Surprise ..... when they made this new flooring they put the tongue lip that fits into the ends of each board on the opposite end from the last purchase. This makes it impossible to use the two flooring together with each other.... What a mistake the manufacturer did. I easily had at least 1-2 boxes of leftover pieces and cut ends that I wanted to continue in the rest of the rooms. I wanted to write the manufacturer directly... but can't find any contact information for the company. I guess that's one way they can avoid receiving complaints about their product.

123Next >>

Find Flooring Installers

My zip code is: