Flooring.net Logo

Consumer Reviews of Schon wood floors

Popularity:
#5  of 25 brands of wood floors

36% of customers recommend
2.5 of 5 stars 30 reviews
  • Very Satisfied
    8
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    3
  • Neutral
    2
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    1
  • Very Unsatisfied
    16

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to Flooring.net. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of Flooring.net.

Read more about Schon wood floors

Read reviews of other Wood Floor brands
Write a review

123Next >>

Date created: 2016-03-07 Name: Clayton Lee
Location: Los Angeles, Ca
Model: Engineered Hardwood

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"You get what you pay for"
We bought nearly 2000 square feet of this at around $4/square foot (now they are about $2/square foot) and followed all guidelines on how to install in terms of nail/glue down and using the correct underlayment to protect from moisture. We also got this wood because it was resistant to humidity, which we wanted, and turns out that the flooring is not staying and is getting warped over time. Also, a drop of a fork, literally, will dent the floor. They look great from afar but I recommend people stay away. Easy to ding/scratch and warp.


Date created: 2015-11-08 Name: Synde
Location: Westminister, CA

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Almost made the same mistake"
Thank you - to all of you who took time to write honest reviews about Schon and LL. I almost bought it. I asked many questions at the store and found out they contract out the installers, and any issues with installation have to be dealt with by the installation company not LL. I asked about product warranties, the guy said they would send someone out and assess cause of problem. He then stated three reasons it might fail - all the customers fault (wrong chemicals, spills and dropping something). If it were truly a manf. defect they would replace or repair. It was obvious to me that their position is to blame the customer. In fact the sales person acted offended that I was asking detailed questions. However, even after all that, the price for the 5" hickory was still persuasive and I thought I would install it myself. That was until I read all these reviews! NO Way! Thanks again to all you who posted reviews. I am sure there are many more similar cases.


Date created: 2015-10-18 Name: Gretchen Lang
Location: MI
Model: Engineered Walnut

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Terrible quality"
6,000$ Wasted. I will not sell or even give this wood as a donation with a huge warning of the terrible quality. As others have said LL will not stand behind the product. My very handy husband laid the flooring. As he was putting the flooring down the kids, chairs, shoes, you name it scratched the flooring so terribly that within 6 months he tore the entire 600sq ft out. Lucky for us (haha) we still have 700 sq feet in boxes. He stopped laying it because of the quality. While I dealt with LL to see if they would stand behind it. No! And then our time of return had passed and they wouldn't take back the unused boxes either. So embarrassing when guests would come over and see the "new" floor. They old floor we were replacing (engineered Walnut by Shaw -no longer made) Looked so much better after 8 years of 3 boys and 2 dogs! No problems with that flooring (not purchased through LL). We were replacing carpeting with the new flooring and needed to put down all new since we thought we had found a cost effective way to floor the whole first level. HaHa! Dealing with LL was a nightmare! Professional flooring guy came out and said -terrible quality! Going to write us a note if we decided to take them to court.



Date created: 2015-09-29 Name: sue
Location: north carolina

Satisfaction Rating:
3 of 5 stars Neutral

Review:
"Installation Question"
I have just purchased Schon floors for my entire house. Has anyone put a coat of polyurethane on it?


Date created: 2015-01-31 Name: rob
Location: michigan

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Worst product in the world"
This is the worst product I have ever worked with! It scratches, dents, and streaks. I have never seen anything like this. Good luck to anybody who uses this product.


Date created: 2014-09-21 Name: Joseph M Coelho
Location: SAN Antonio Texas
Model: Engineered Wood

Satisfaction Rating:
5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"First Time Completely Satisfied"
Very nice product to work with. First time installing engineered wood. After I figured out how to cut the planks to reduce waste it was great to install. The finish is wonderful. Great product. The staff at Lumber Liquidators were very knowledgeable and supportive through out the installation.


Date created: 2014-05-19 Name: P Lengyel
Location: Dover, Ohio

Satisfaction Rating:
4 of 5 stars Somewhat Satisfied

Review:
"Surprised by negative reviews"
I had Schon flooring (floating floor) installed in my basement. (~1,000 sq. Ft.) We installed the light maple flooring. It has been about 18 months since install, and I have not had any problems with wearing or installation. I have traditional hard wood floors in my house, so I can compare. This is not a product for high traffic areas like entrance ways. People need to use some common sense when selecting the room and finish type with this product. Does it scratch. Yes, but all hard wood floors scratch even traditional 3/4 stock. Also the darker the finish the more it will show scratches. The product is great, hold up well, and is easy to clean.


Date created: 2014-02-14 Name: Ropinfast
Location: North Dakota

Satisfaction Rating:
2 of 5 stars Somewhat Unsatisfied

Review:
"Hickory scratches and marks easy"
I replaced 2,100sf of flooring in my home with Schon engineered hickory. It was very easy to install and looked awesome until we actually started using it. Within the first 2 weeks we noticed several scratches and gouges. Whatever you do, don't drop anything like a pot or pan because it will leave a mark. I've had to place felt pads under every piece of furniture so they don't gouge it. The wood is very soft and the finish is terrible. I do not recommend this flooring at all!



Date created: 2014-01-02 Name: Jeff Cox
Location: Pensacola, FL

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"The Worst Product Money Can Buy"
It's amazing how all the negative reviews here (which truly are the only accurate one's) are refuted almost word for word by "glowing recommendations" for this companies products on this site. Obviously these positive reviews are "plants", because Schon engineered flooring is positively, without a doubt, the worst product made for flooring purposes. This product represents a choice which, if you make it, you will gravely regret doing so. After purchasing 1500 sq. Ft. Of Schon engineered Koa flooring at Lumber Liquidators, relying on their verbal assurances that this product could withstand the punishment possible from two small children and a dog, I was left with a floor that had multiple gouges, scratches and dents just within the first week (and has continued to rack up damage at that same rate since it's installation). LL's installers were also kind enough to help my floors appearance by leaving glue spots over the majority of the floors surface area and ll refused to offer any assistance after the sale! Lesson learned after a much > $13,000.00 mistake? Do not trust Lumber Liquidators and never, never use a Schon Wood Floor Product.


Date created: 2013-10-19 Name: E.Dillard
Location: Houston, Tx.
Model: Engineered Brazilian Cherry

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Unsatisfied customer"
I bought Schon's engineered Brazilian Cherry flooring from Lumber Liquidators and an installer installed it about 2 years ago. Around the first year I noticed the floor buckling up in places, indentations (u) shaped and the top layer color popping off in my formal dining room. I called the installer who had promised I would not have problems with this particular floor. He said he would use an adhesive that was 2 in 1 or3 in 1 whatever - it was suppose to be the best and I wouldn't have the problem again. We had to buy another box of wood plus this expensive adhesive which Lumber Liquidators said that this particular wood was now discontinued. They found us a box that was in El Paso, TX. That we had shipped. Now it is almost Thanksgiving a year later and the Formal Living and Dining room have planks coming up all over. There are humps and curves all over. I have tried hiding them with a rug but now they are all over. In some areas the top part has separated from the wood backing. I don't know what to do now. Buy another brand, go with laminate or install carpet. We have at the installer suggestion had 2 plumbers come out and check for leaks and none found. I definitely would not recommend this particular brand to nobody.

123Next >>

Find Flooring Installers

My zip code is: