Consumer Reviews of Schon wood floors

Schon flooring logo
#4   of 25 brands of wood floors

37% of customers recommend
2.5 of 5 stars 32 reviews
  • Very Satisfied
  • Somewhat Satisfied
  • Neutral
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
  • Very Unsatisfied

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to They do not necessarily represent the opinions of

Read more about Schon wood floors
1234Next >>

Date created: 2016-07-24
Name: John Williams
Model: Engineered Flooring

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

"Very poor slats election in cartons"
The wide variations in each box leaves a lot to be desired when the installers have no idea of decor. They pull a slat, they put down the glue, they slap on the slat. We should have waited three more weeks to purchase the flooring from a reputable manufacturer. Completely and utterly dissatisfied with flooring.

Date created: 2016-06-12
Name: Rachael Provost
Location: Austin Texas
Model: Engineered Carbonized Bamboo

Satisfaction Rating:
5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

"Love our Bamboo Floors"
So far we love our Schon Engineered Carbonized Bamboo flooring from Lumber Liquidators. They installed the floor and I have no complaints with the exception of one area that is a little bouncy. We had it installed floating on an above grade concrete pad. They leveled the floors in the areas needed, checked the moisture requirements and did a wonderful job. I love this flooring because it is wide plank, we were told it is much harder than oak, the color is gorgeous and it looks amazing. The only dislike I have is one small area by the bedroom which is a little bouncy (which I am told is not uncommon in floating floors). We have had it installed for several months and it is wearing well even with our two small dogs who love to race around the house. We use Bona or the Lumber Liquidators brand cleaner and I vacuum or dust mop as needed (more often because of the pets). If this floor continues to look as beautiful as it is and holds up as well as it has I would definitely purchase it again. This is a 7000.00 investment that we hopes will last a long time. Thank you Lumber Liquidators for all of your help and assistance!

Date created: 2016-03-07
Name: Clayton Lee
Location: Los Angeles, Ca
Model: Engineered Hardwood

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

"You get what you pay for"
We bought nearly 2000 square feet of this at around $4/square foot (now they are about $2/square foot) and followed all guidelines on how to install in terms of nail/glue down and using the correct underlayment to protect from moisture. We also got this wood because it was resistant to humidity, which we wanted, and turns out that the flooring is not staying and is getting warped over time. Also, a drop of a fork, literally, will dent the floor. They look great from afar but I recommend people stay away. Easy to ding/scratch and warp.

Date created: 2015-11-08
Name: Synde
Location: Westminister, CA

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

"Almost made the same mistake"
Thank you - to all of you who took time to write honest reviews about Schon and LL. I almost bought it. I asked many questions at the store and found out they contract out the installers, and any issues with installation have to be dealt with by the installation company not LL. I asked about product warranties, the guy said they would send someone out and assess cause of problem. He then stated three reasons it might fail - all the customers fault (wrong chemicals, spills and dropping something). If it were truly a manf. defect they would replace or repair. It was obvious to me that their position is to blame the customer. In fact the sales person acted offended that I was asking detailed questions. However, even after all that, the price for the 5" hickory was still persuasive and I thought I would install it myself. That was until I read all these reviews! NO Way! Thanks again to all you who posted reviews. I am sure there are many more similar cases.

Date created: 2015-10-18
Name: Gretchen Lang
Location: MI
Model: Engineered Walnut

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

"Terrible quality"
6,000$ Wasted. I will not sell or even give this wood as a donation with a huge warning of the terrible quality. As others have said LL will not stand behind the product. My very handy husband laid the flooring. As he was putting the flooring down the kids, chairs, shoes, you name it scratched the flooring so terribly that within 6 months he tore the entire 600sq ft out. Lucky for us (haha) we still have 700 sq feet in boxes. He stopped laying it because of the quality. While I dealt with LL to see if they would stand behind it. No! And then our time of return had passed and they wouldn't take back the unused boxes either. So embarrassing when guests would come over and see the "new" floor. They old floor we were replacing (engineered Walnut by Shaw -no longer made) Looked so much better after 8 years of 3 boys and 2 dogs! No problems with that flooring (not purchased through LL). We were replacing carpeting with the new flooring and needed to put down all new since we thought we had found a cost effective way to floor the whole first level. HaHa! Dealing with LL was a nightmare! Professional flooring guy came out and said -terrible quality! Going to write us a note if we decided to take them to court.

Date created: 2015-09-29
Name: sue
Location: north carolina

Satisfaction Rating:
3 of 5 stars Neutral

"Installation Question"
I have just purchased Schon floors for my entire house. Has anyone put a coat of polyurethane on it?

Date created: 2015-01-31
Name: rob
Location: michigan

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

"Worst product in the world"
This is the worst product I have ever worked with! It scratches, dents, and streaks. I have never seen anything like this. Good luck to anybody who uses this product.

Date created: 2014-09-21
Name: Joseph M Coelho
Location: SAN Antonio Texas
Model: Engineered Wood

Satisfaction Rating:
5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

"First Time Completely Satisfied"
Very nice product to work with. First time installing engineered wood. After I figured out how to cut the planks to reduce waste it was great to install. The finish is wonderful. Great product. The staff at Lumber Liquidators were very knowledgeable and supportive through out the installation.

Date created: 2014-05-19
Name: P Lengyel
Location: Dover, Ohio

Satisfaction Rating:
4 of 5 stars Somewhat Satisfied

"Surprised by negative reviews"
I had Schon flooring (floating floor) installed in my basement. (~1,000 sq. Ft.) We installed the light maple flooring. It has been about 18 months since install, and I have not had any problems with wearing or installation. I have traditional hard wood floors in my house, so I can compare. This is not a product for high traffic areas like entrance ways. People need to use some common sense when selecting the room and finish type with this product. Does it scratch. Yes, but all hard wood floors scratch even traditional 3/4 stock. Also the darker the finish the more it will show scratches. The product is great, hold up well, and is easy to clean.

Date created: 2014-02-14
Name: Ropinfast
Location: North Dakota

Satisfaction Rating:
2 of 5 stars Somewhat Unsatisfied

"Hickory scratches and marks easy"
I replaced 2,100sf of flooring in my home with Schon engineered hickory. It was very easy to install and looked awesome until we actually started using it. Within the first 2 weeks we noticed several scratches and gouges. Whatever you do, don't drop anything like a pot or pan because it will leave a mark. I've had to place felt pads under every piece of furniture so they don't gouge it. The wood is very soft and the finish is terrible. I do not recommend this flooring at all!

1234Next >>

Find Flooring Installers
My zip code is:
How to Buy
Flooring Reviews
Flooring Materials
Flooring Brands