Flooring.net Logo

Consumer Reviews of Schon wood floors

Popularity:
#30  of 44 brands of wood floors

43% of customers recommend
2.5 of 5 stars 23 reviews
  • Very Satisfied
    7
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    3
  • Neutral
    1
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    0
  • Very Unsatisfied
    12

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to Flooring.net. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of Flooring.net.

Read more about Schon wood floors

Read reviews of other Wood Floor brands
Write a review

123Next >>

Date created: 2014-05-19 Name: P Lengyel
Location: Dover, Ohio

Satisfaction Rating:

4 of 5 stars Somewhat Satisfied

Review:
"Surprised by negative reviews"
I had Schon flooring (floating floor) installed in my basement. (~1,000 sq. Ft.) We installed the light maple flooring. It has been about 18 months since install, and I have not had any problems with wearing or installation. I have traditional hard wood floors in my house, so I can compare. This is not a product for high traffic areas like entrance ways. People need to use some common sense when selecting the room and finish type with this product. Does it scratch. Yes, but all hard wood floors scratch even traditional 3/4 stock. Also the darker the finish the more it will show scratches. The product is great, hold up well, and is easy to clean.


Date created: 2014-01-02 Name: Jeff Cox
Location: Pensacola, FL

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"The Worst Product Money Can Buy"
It's amazing how all the negative reviews here (which truly are the only accurate one's) are refuted almost word for word by "glowing recommendations" for this companies products on this site. Obviously these positive reviews are "plants", because Schon engineered flooring is positively, without a doubt, the worst product made for flooring purposes. This product represents a choice which, if you make it, you will gravely regret doing so. After purchasing 1500 sq. Ft. Of Schon engineered Koa flooring at Lumber Liquidators, relying on their verbal assurances that this product could withstand the punishment possible from two small children and a dog, I was left with a floor that had multiple gouges, scratches and dents just within the first week (and has continued to rack up damage at that same rate since it's installation). LL's installers were also kind enough to help my floors appearance by leaving glue spots over the majority of the floors surface area and ll refused to offer any assistance after the sale! Lesson learned after a much > $13,000.00 mistake? Do not trust Lumber Liquidators and never, never use a Schon Wood Floor Product.


Date created: 2013-10-19 Name: E.Dillard
Location: Houston, Tx.

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Unsatisfied customer"
I bought Schon's engineered Brazilian Cherry flooring from Lumber Liquidators and an installer installed it about 2 years ago. Around the first year I noticed the floor buckling up in places, indentations (u) shaped and the top layer color popping off in my formal dining room. I called the installer who had promised I would not have problems with this particular floor. He said he would use an adhesive that was 2 in 1 or3 in 1 whatever - it was suppose to be the best and I wouldn't have the problem again. We had to buy another box of wood plus this expensive adhesive which Lumber Liquidators said that this particular wood was now discontinued. They found us a box that was in El Paso, TX. That we had shipped. Now it is almost Thanksgiving a year later and the Formal Living and Dining room have planks coming up all over. There are humps and curves all over. I have tried hiding them with a rug but now they are all over. In some areas the top part has separated from the wood backing. I don't know what to do now. Buy another brand, go with laminate or install carpet. We have at the installer suggestion had 2 plumbers come out and check for leaks and none found. I definitely would not recommend this particular brand to nobody.


Date created: 2013-06-23 Name: P. Moynihan
Location: Garland, TX

Satisfaction Rating:

4 of 5 stars Somewhat Satisfied

Review:
"Gunstock OAK Review"
A couple of years ago I put down Schon Gunstock Oak (3/8" x 3") and purchased the glue sold at Lumber Liquidators because they said being glue down was the only way this flooring can be installed..... Purchased a trowel from Lumber Liquidators to install the floor and that was all they said I needed. I had a good selection of tools at the house already. After putting down the floors, we noticed places where the glue didn't get completely wiped up and it was impossible to remove the glue residue once it had dried. We called lumber liquidator's and they said they had a Mineral Spirit product in the at the store that would remove the residue.. That information would have been nice when to know when I was originally in the store buying products for the installation. Got the Mineral Spirits from Lumber Liquidators but it still wouldn't take up the residue. Had to use it immediately after each board was installed if board glue got on the surface. After spending an additional week on our hands and knees trying to get the residue off we decided it was too late and gave up trying to take it off. When I decided to put the flooring down in another house I refused to use Lumber Liquidator's glue and ended up purchasing flooring glue from Lowe's made by Bruce that washed up with hot water. Definitely want to wash off any excess glue marks as you go. Seeing the floors looked good I decided to install and extend the flooring into the bedrooms. I purchased another 200 sq. foot of flooring for the first bedroom. I had some flooring left over from the main part of the house and planned on intermixing the leftover flooring with the newly purchased flooring seeing there are variations in each board anyway. Surprise ..... when they made this new flooring they put the tongue lip that fits into the ends of each board on the opposite end from the last purchase. This makes it impossible to use the two flooring together with each other.... What a mistake the manufacturer did. I easily had at least 1-2 boxes of leftover pieces and cut ends that I wanted to continue in the rest of the rooms. I wanted to write the manufacturer directly... but can't find any contact information for the company. I guess that's one way they can avoid receiving complaints about their product.


Date created: 2013-06-18 Name: B. Bailey
Location: Mooresville, IN

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Beautiful, but NOISY!"
Couldn't wait to take up our old carpet and put down the new floors. We followed the instructions exactly as written, (my brother is an installer and we had him for guidance). He warned us about Lumber Liquidators and their bad customer service, but we didn't listen. The floor is beautiful, but makes a terrible cracking/popping noise. LL sent an inspector out not once, but twice and his report verified that flooring was installed properly. LL is still denying their problem. BBB and Attorney General claims filed!



Date created: 2013-05-24 Name: Da

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Schon Acacia Click Lock Floor"
Only been down a few weeks but love it so far. Very easy to install, looks fantastic, and very few damaged boards. Will see how it holds up!


Date created: 2013-03-18 Name: T. Mecker
Location: Phoenix, AZ

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"American Tigerwood disaster"
I selected the American Tigerwood floor from Lumber Liquidators(LL) after they told me it would be similar to the Standed Bamboo I was looking at, and would be ok for the two dogs I have. Be careful. The installation crew from ll could not install it without marking, grooving, and indenting the floor. It is so soft that I believe it is not suitable for flooring use. They could not believe it was so soft. Ll has refused to replace it, and it looks like it may become a law suit. Do not buy from ll unless they give you something in writing that they will stand behind their products.


Date created: 2013-01-30 Name: T Rosenblatt
Location: Germantown, Tn

Satisfaction Rating:

3 of 5 stars Neutral

Review:
"Beautiful look but scratches easy."
As other reviewers who have purchased a Schon product have stated, I am an agreement that the floor is not durable. The installation (clic/lock) and the look of the floor are great, but the floor scratches way too easy. I think it would be awesome product if not for the high risk potential of placing nics or easily being able to scratch the thin layer of wood used on top of the particle like board beneath. As much as it is aesthetically pleasing, I can not recommend this product due to durability issues.


Date created: 2013-01-24 Name: J. Rowley
Location: Phoenix, AZ

Satisfaction Rating:

4 of 5 stars Somewhat Satisfied

Review:
"Schon quick clic wood floor"
Schon flooring comes with no instructions. There are five different sized boards in each package. We did get the floor down in part of the house. We have an awful lot of the short boards left and may have to buy more flooring to complete the project. We expected to have flooring all one length that we would have to cut. Somewhat disappointed that you are not advised of this when you purchase this product.


Date created: 2012-07-10 Name: b. John
Location: Pittsburgh, PA

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Red Oak Floating"
Just put down 265 square feet of this flooring. Thought twice after purchasing when I read all of these reviews. I couldn't be happier!! Installed using a Craftsman Laser Trac 10 inch table saw. It looks so good that we plan on replacing more carpet with this. After figuring out I had to put down 2 rows first to get started, it went down in 1 day. I used the Bellawood blue moisture barrier and stapled at the beginning and used the tape seal provided. To help with the staggering of the joints, cut your first board about 6 inches short, and all will cover a joint. I only had to do that 3 times. This went down and together so much easier than my Shaw Laminate. I had great service from Lumber Liquidators, Also get the Bellawood mop and cleaning kit. It cleans the laminate and the wood with no streaks. No problems for us.

123Next >>

Find Flooring Installers

My zip code is: