Flooring.net Logo

Consumer Reviews of Mullican wood floors

Popularity:
#32  of 44 brands of wood floors

33% of customers recommend
2.5 of 5 stars 18 reviews
  • Very Satisfied
    6
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    0
  • Neutral
    0
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    1
  • Very Unsatisfied
    11

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to Flooring.net. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of Flooring.net.

Read more about Mullican wood floors

Read reviews of other Wood Floor brands
Write a review

12Next >>

Date created: 2014-07-11 Name: Deb Scallon
Location: Ackley, Iowa

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Very Poor Customer Service"
We purchased and had installed 880 square feet of 3/4" Hickory Saddle hardwood flooring from Mullican in our new home. A problem was noticed right after installation by the professional installers. On April 4, 2014 a rep came out and inspected the floor. There were many, many popping and creaking noises. We were to hear in 3 to 4 weeks from the manufacturer how they were going to handle the issues. Twelve weeks later, we sent a letter saying we were giving them 1 week to settle it or seek an attorney. Apparently that is what it takes because 5 days later a rep from the manufacturer flew from North Carolina to examine our floors. Of course, he wasn't the decision maker. They decided to give us just enough flooring to repair the major pops and creaks. The installer gets a small token for his labor. I would not recommend buying any hardwood flooring from this company. They do stand behind their product. It is not a installation problem -- installer thinks it is a milling problem. They do not do enough research to figure out the problem.


Date created: 2014-05-21 Name: DFW
Location: VA

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Horrible Quality"
We purchased 1500 sq. Ft. Of Mullican 4" Maple in Autumn as a mid-range product to replace our 15 year old builder grade oak floors which were in very bad shape. After ripping out the old floors, the installers began to install the Mullican floor but after about 4 rows, they contacted the Mullican rep and let me know that the head joints on all of the planks in all of the boxes we received were incorrectly milled. You can see the wide gaps in the head joints and when you walk on the 4 rows they installed, the floor cracks and pops. The Mullican rep said all they could do was give us a smaller plank from a different milling or more 4" planks from the same milling as the original. Neither of those "resolutions" was acceptable since we were paying $16k for a new floor (we didn't think we should spend that much on a floor we didn't want and did not want to waste time getting new product from the same milling which was bound to also be incorrectly milled). In any event, we ended up going with a 4 1/4" Mirage Classic floor in Umbria (still waiting for installation). But, I have noticed that the 4 rows of the Mullican that were installed are already full of scratches from the dogs' paws (which never happened with our builder's grade floor which we had for 15 years) and have splintered in some areas for no reason. The Mullican floors look worse after 2 weeks than our builder's grade floor looked at 15 years! I cannot believe how poor the quality of this floor is! I am so thankful that we got a poorly milled product because I would otherwise be having to have the entire floor removed again due to the poor quality of the product! While I was originally annoyed at having to wait for the new Mirage floor, I am happy to wait another 3 weeks b/c I couldn't live with this Mullican floor. Absolutely horrible and I will never purchase a Mullican product in the future. I'll also note that the installers told me they have had the same milling problems with the Mullican floors with numerous other clients. In fact, they were working on another project where they had to rip up 500 sq. Ft. That had already been installed because the quality of the flooring was so poor!


Date created: 2014-05-20 Name: sara
Location: ohio

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Beautiful after 7 years"
Our floors were beautiful after 7 years of hard use until we had a water leak. Now they all have to be replaced and we will be installing Mullican brand floors again!


Date created: 2014-01-01 Name: J. Johns
Location: Mississippi

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Beech VS Maple"
I found that Mullican is using Beech and calling it Maple in some of their products.


Date created: 2013-09-05 Name: D. Tanona
Location: west pittston pa

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Worst of the worst"
I have bin installing floors now for 14 years and I can honestly say Mullican is one of the worst if not the worst wood flooring out there.the waste factor is around 35%.I never seen so many split boards or bowed boards come out of a box and then the milling is even worse. When installing Mullican flooring take a notice after its installed you see small gapping right from the go and then take you hand or foot and rub it across the boards,its like every board is a different thickness, enough to feel its not right. I would not recommend Mullican to any customer period.


Date created: 2013-04-08 Name: C. K
Location: NJ

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Mullican Hardwood Poor Quality Even Worse Customer Service!"
Cracking, cupping and now loose flooring in newly laid Mullican Muirfield Hickory Flooring, this is what we have been dealing with for almost two years.Our installer has asked both the distributor (Derr)and Mullican for 4-5 boxes of material to fix our floors. Neither has been courteous or professional- they have not returned phone calls or emails from the installer or us. I would not recommend nor purchase another Mullican product knowing that they do not stand behind what they produce and sell. Additionally, we are saddened that we have essentially wasted $10,000 of our hard earned money. When you are looking for flooring do not purchase any Mullican Brand you will be disappointed with the product quality and should you need help - even more disheartened with the lack of customer service Mullican feels their customers are entitled to.


Date created: 2012-07-30 Name: D. Holden
Location: Charlotte, NC

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Mullican 'Muirfield Flooring'"
We recently completed a 'whole house restoration' installing 3000+ sf of Mullican Muirfield Hickory Saddle 5 inch flooring, which replaced wall to wall carpeting. We ordered the flooring from a large dealer/distributor in N. Georgia and the flooring was shipped to us in 160 boxes. During the installation, we found some problematic flooring in 2 or 3 boxes. A call to the dealer quickly resolved the issue. We were shipped 3 replacement boxes, from the same manufacturer's lot number, freight prepaid, via FedEx Ground, with a prepaid shipping container for the return of the defective flooring. All of the costs were handled by Mullican. The process could not have been more simple. Both the dealer and the Mullican Rep went out of the way to quickly solve our problem to our satisfaction. It has only been 6 months since the installation, but the flooring still looks as if it were installed yesterday. Housekeeping maintenance and cleanup is quick and easy and much cleaner than the old carpeting. (We have used 'finished in the home' hardwood flooring before, however, the dust and mess during the process is unbelieveable). Given the ease of installation and the lack of 'mess and cleanup', I would recommend a Mullican 'prefinished floor' to anyone considering a floor covering replacement. With any construction project, site preparation is the main factor to consider. We had a great flooring man who took great pride in his work and the final product demonstrates the extra effort put forth. I am sure we could have purchased a lower price point flooring as well as getting a lower installation cost, but I believe that 'one gets what you pay for'.


Date created: 2012-06-20 Name: JD
Location: NJ

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Mullican Engineered Meadowbrooke Floor"
I just had the Mullican Engineered Meadowbrooke Ipe Engineered Floor installed in my house and overall I am very pleased with the product. I had it professionally installed and the floor looks great. I do notice that the MicroBevel edges do collect some of the dust but a quick vacuum and they look much better. Overall very pleased so far...but will wait to see how it holds up over time.


Date created: 2012-06-03 Name: Kevin
Location: Omaha, NE

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Noisy"
Installed the Austin springs but it is not "just like regular hardwood floor" as advertised. It is brand new but squeaks in every place like a hundred year old floor. So much noise and movement, obviously the company knows it but they plant positive reviews to cover the fact it is not a very good product.


Date created: 2012-06-01 Name: Nick
Location: Chicago, IL

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Austings Springs by Mullican Floating"
Installed Austin Springs floating (click lock) a month ago. Horrible product, don't believe the sales people or the installer when they tell you it is just like other hardwood floors, it is not. We refer to it as our soft wood floor, it bounces and shakes and squeaks and creaks with every step. There is a terrible and annoying snap crackle pop with every step. Never mind telling me it was installed incorrectly, it was not, the floor was well flattened to speck with plenty of self leveling compound, doesn't matter how flat the floor is, the wood planks are bent and bowed as well, put them on a granite counter and nearly every board is bent of bowed in both directions. So warning, we are out big money and neither company or installer will do anything, but there is nothing that can be done really, it's just a plain lousy product. There will be extreme noise and movement with your Mullican Austin Springs floor, nothing can be done about it and nothing will be done about it, so I recommend any other approach. We can only avoid having company until I can afford to get a good product installed, I am too embarrassed to have anyone over walking on this terrible floor. In the meantime the money spent on the Mullican Austin Springs floor was just wasted.

12Next >>

Find Flooring Installers

My zip code is: