Consumer Reviews of Virginia Mill Works wood floors

Popularity:
#18   of 25 brands of wood floors

18% of customers recommend
1.5 of 5 stars 11 reviews
  • Very Satisfied
    2
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    0
  • Neutral
    0
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    0
  • Very Unsatisfied
    9

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to Flooring.net. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of Flooring.net.

12Next >>

Date created: 2016-04-25
Name: J.R.
Location: Arizona
Model: Tobacco Road Acacia

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Horrible product!"
I also installed the Tobacco road acacia engineered hardwood from Lumber Liquidators (Virginia Millworks). It was beautiful when I first installed it two years ago, but now it's cracking and separating all over the place. Being that's it's glued down, it would be a nightmare to replace. Time for a class action lawsuit!


Date created: 2016-04-03
Name: John
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Model: Hand Scraped Tobacco Road Teak

Satisfaction Rating:
5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Great flooring at reasonable price"
We purchased this flooring to replace carpeting in our upstairs bedrooms and hallway, as well as the master bedroom and office downstairs. We installed the entire upstairs last year with great results (downstairs flooring is still in boxes waiting for a few free days!) I am only writing this review because I saw all the negative reviews and we have had just the opposite experience. Ours is 3/4" solid wood, which is all I would ever recommend for long term durability and not dealing with the possibility of nasty glues (do your research). I must say that this wood is beautiful and handles scratches as well as any oaks I have put down in the past. The fact that it varies quite a bit in colors helps with hiding scratches as well. I should note that we have two 50 lb dogs inside and it holds up to them fine. If there is anything I could complain about it would be that the teak is a bit more brittle than oak, so you can split it at times if you set your floor nailer air pressure too high, but that goes away if you adjust the air pressure. The longer boards will tend to have some warp at times, but you can work around that by "shoe horning" them in with a few tools, not a big deal. Not sure if the folks seeing buckling are using solid hardwood floors, but I have not found that to be a problem, but you do need to leave about 1/2" around the outside because wood will expand and contract. Overall, I am much more satisfied with the look of these floors than the Bruce Oak we got from Home Depot for another house. Can be pricy, but if you look for deals at lumber liquidators they can be found. Would purchase again in a heartbeat.


Date created: 2016-01-22
Name: Trish Smink
Location: Dallas texas

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Nothing but problems"
This flooring is very poor quality and only few weeks after installation we have buckling and cracking. The buckling is so severe it can't be walked on and is hazardous. Lumber Liquidators is non responsive and has been stalling and even after jumping through the many hoops they require, they won't honor the warranty. It was also discontinued which was not disclosed when purchased, so we can't eve replace the numerous problem areas. Calls to customer care are pointless and met with stonewalling; they will not even put you on hold to speak with supervisors who are always "unavailable". Legal action is my only other option.



Date created: 2015-11-17
Name: Kathy Viger
Location: Prescott, AZ

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Do not buy this product!"
I have the same problem as the previous review: "Buckling, separating, cracks, and defects. The warranty is not accepted by manufacturer and the product is the worst I have ever seen.


Date created: 2015-02-23
Name: Dylan Rubadeaux
Location: clarence, ny
Model: Tobacco Road Engineered

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Buckling, separating, cracks, and defects."
Installed per manufacturer recommendations. Within the first six months after install, corners are buckling and separating from plywood base. Also many of the boards are developing cracks. 2 years in and the majority of boards have significant defects. By far the single worst product I have ever purchased. Avoid at all cost.


Date created: 2014-04-06
Name: shanty Irish
Location: Franklin, WI

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Virginia Mills Handscraped Windsor Oak"
I was so excited when I had my floor laid. Ll had recommended a company who installed them. The boards sat in my house for at least 10 days to acclimate (it was in June - so temperature and humidity were starting to climb). Maybe two to three months after it was installed there was a huge gap that appeared, at least 1/4". I contacted my installer and he said let's see what happens when the humidity increases. It did get better - but as time goes on it is there most of the time and now there are more areas that are doing the same thing, where there are wide enough gaps to see the plywood below. In Wisconsin this past winter was very dry and I have heard many comments made that my house is too dry. I had contacted my installer several times and here I am hurrying up and waiting. I don't feel I have any recourse and am thoroughly disappointed and angry. Now what do I do?


Date created: 2013-08-20
Name: sharon cox
Location: oazrk, alabama
Model: Hickory Wood

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Hickory flooring uneven and hard to install"
My husband is at this time trying to install hickory wood flooring from Virginia mill works. This stuff ain't worth the money we paid for it. It's crooked and uneven. Hard as hell to install! I would not ever recommend this to any one!


Date created: 2011-11-02
Name: C. Baker
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Model: VMGT5

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Never again"
Stay away from Lumber Liquidators and Virginia Mill Works. We had the golden teak installed and it has been a nightmare trying to get the problems resolved. Huge gaps, three cracked boards, bubble on a board and uneven board widths. Very dissatisfied!!!!



Date created: 2011-05-31
Name: Mike Hickman
Location: Altadena, CA

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Loss of Quality"
A few years ago I installed one of Virginia Millwork's hand scraped floors in my family room. It was one of the darker varieties (I don't remember the exact name) of engineered wood. I liked it because of the rustic distressed quality of the hand finishing. It looks truly old and handmade. I have been very satisfied with the floor for years. Because of this I recently purchased and installed their Coventry Oak hand scraped hardwood flooring in my kitchen. Upon comparing the surface of the "hand scraped" distressing, I notice the original dark floor has a great rustic look to it while the oak floor looks phony as if it were somehow done by a machine. I believe the original floor was made in the USA, but the new oak floor was made in China. Some of the planks were slightly wider or narrower at the ends so they did not fit together perfectly at the ends and left slight gaps between successive runs. My feeling is that this is because, like everything else that has been outsourced to China, quality control is inadequate and manufacturing techniques are substandard. Unfortunately, I cannot recommend this product as satisfactory because of loss in quality both in appearance and uniformity of the planks. In my opinion, this is just more Chinese junk.


Date created: 2010-12-03
Location: Hamilton, OH.

Satisfaction Rating:
5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"High Quality natural wood flooring at a reasonable price."
A few years ago, my husband and I purchased a fixer-upper home in need of some major cosmetic repairs. The home had good bones and an authentic cottage feel throughout, and we knew we wanted to stick with that design theme when making our new updates. We decided that the flooring would be the area where we would probably want to spend the most money due to the fact that we have lots of pets (two large breed dogs), and we wanted a material and finish that would be both durable and easy to maintain/clean. After much research and consideration, we went with a company known as Virginia Mill Works. Our final selection came down to two types of flooring: hand-scraped or engineered. It was a tough choice because hand-scraped flooring is a little more expensive, but engineered flooring obviously doesn't have near the rustic, worn appearance that we were looking for. Ultimately, we decided to go with a beautiful hand-scraped hickory because the materials were all recycled and 100% natural too. In addition, the different variations and textures in the grain of the wood added just the right touch to make our large family room area seem more cozy and captured that traditional feeling that we were after in the space. We have had the floors for nearly two years and absolutely love them!! We do a lot of entertaining and have received numerous compliments on the flooring; people always say "Wow, those look like floors that you would see in a home built hundreds of years ago." Which is exactly why we liked the hickory species of wood so much. The only negative property to the flooring we chose was the color because it's very light and does tend to show scuffs more easily than a darker species of wood. However, they are very easy to clean and the integrity of the wood is unparalleled. I would definitely recommend both this company and this species of wood to those who are interested in hardwood flooring for their next project!

12Next >>

Find Flooring Installers
My zip code is:
How to Buy
Flooring Reviews
Flooring Materials
Flooring Brands