Consumer Reviews of Morning Star wood floors

Popularity:
#4   of 25 brands of wood floors

28% of customers recommend
2.5 of 5 stars 7 reviews
  • Very Satisfied
    2
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    0
  • Neutral
    1
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    1
  • Very Unsatisfied
    3

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to Flooring.net. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of Flooring.net.


Date created: 2016-02-15
Name: marilyn
Location: chicago, illinois

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Lumber Liquidators doesn't honor warranty"
I have had bamboo flooring made by Morningstar and it is cracking, splitting, warping and shrinking – all within one year (30 yr. Warranty). The Lumber Liquidators claims that these problems are due to faulty installation and refuses to compensate the affected. I've had independent contractors say it is a faulty product that was installed correctly. There are law firms that believe many customers may be entitled to collect compensation from Lumber Liquidators since they apparently say this to everyone!


Date created: 2016-01-03
Name: Mary Monk
Location: Louisiana
Model: Bamboo

Satisfaction Rating:
2 of 5 stars Somewhat Unsatisfied

Review:
"Be aware!"
I bought the dark Morning Star bamboo flooring from Lumber Liquidators. I got a sample and checked on scratching etc. It does ok with that but if it does scratch, it is super obvious. My problem however is with the quality of product itself right out of the box. We did not realize when we bought it that it would be all the same length. It was difficult to lay it randomly. It required a lot of cuts and waste. Another problem was it has a lot of flaws coming right out of the box. There are lots of clumps and bubbles. We had quite a few pieces that had peeling on the side and we were afraid to lay them fearing that in time they would catch on something and peel off. We had a couple of boards with cracks and some that were warped. We literally had three entire boxes of flawed wood. We bought 15 boxes in total so 3 out of 15 were unusable and nonreturnable because they were opened. This floor was literally half the price of most of the floors in the store. I thought it was because it was unable to be re-varnished. However I did not expect to have so much trouble with the actual quality of what we got. I spent a huge amount of time going over every board once I realized how many were flawed. This added to the extra time making sure that there was a random pattern since all boards were the same. What should have been a one day installation turned into a three day nightmare. Not happy.


Date created: 2015-02-25
Name: Christine Jenkins
Location: Douglassville, PA l9518
Model: Bamboo

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Shows scratches, smudges and water marks. Horrible."
I would never buy it again and wouldn't recommend it. We were told it could be used in the kitchen and it can't. It shows every scratch (which cannot be removed), every smudge and water mark. It's a floor for show and not to be used! Very disappointed and upset that we are stuck with it!



Date created: 2014-04-28
Name: Peggy McManus
Location: Eaton Rapids Michigan

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Fuyang"
Our floor looked beautiful until it started to shrink. It was acclimated to the house for three weeks before laid it was installed by licensed contractors and Lumber Liquidators warranty is not worth the paper it is printed on.


Date created: 2011-05-21
Location: Eagle Mountain, UT
Model: Golden Zebra Bamboo

Satisfaction Rating:
5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Beautiful Floor"
I've had this flooring in my family room for about a month now and I love it. We installed it ourselves and it went in pretty easily. Just make sure that you rent a good floor stapler. We rented ours from Home Depot for about $60 a day. I really love the dark, rich color and that it doesn't really even look like bamboo. I like how it is almost three times harder than oak because it's strand bamboo. I like having the environmental friendliness of bamboo without the bamboo look. It stands up to the abuse that my kids and 2 large dogs inflict upon it. It's easy to clean though dust shows extremely easily so it requires dust mopping every day. I would definitely recommend this brand to my friends and family and I actually plan on installing the same flooring in my living room also.


Date created: 2011-05-09
Location: North Brunswick, NJ

Satisfaction Rating:
3 of 5 stars Neutral

Review:
"Wood Flooring Review"
I bought my wood floor from Lumber Liquidators about 2 years ago at a great price when I bought my house. This floor occupies the living room where most of the entertainment takes place. I like the faded/washed look to the floor and think it gives a nice clean finish to it. The floor matches the furniture very well and complements the room in style. Two of the things that have turned me off about this flooring are the accentuated dark spots when you spill something and the cuts that form in the wood for minor instances. If you spill any dark liquid on the floor it will leave a mark that does not come out for a long time. Also, areas of the wood that have had a lot of wear and tear seem noticeable. I would recommend this to a relative or friend for the short term but do not think this is a lifetime flooring despite any guarantees you may receive. Good luck on your search and I hope you select the best floor for you!


Date created: 2010-11-18
Location: Derry, NH

Satisfaction Rating:
5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Morning star Bamboo Floors awesome"
We have had our morning star bamboo floors for atleast a year now and we LOVE them. They class up the living room, and are very durable. the one bad thing is our vaccume did put a few scratches on the floor, but thats about it. We have never had to repair them so far, extremely good. I would definitly recommend this brand to a friend. I would buy this brand again because like i said we absolutely love the brand and it classes everything up and helps with the market value to have nice floors in your house.


Find Flooring Installers
My zip code is:
How to Buy
Flooring Reviews
Flooring Materials
Flooring Brands