Flooring.net Logo

Consumer Reviews of Mohawk wood floors

Popularity:
#18  of 25 brands of wood floors

20% of customers recommend
2 of 5 stars 63 reviews
  • Very Satisfied
    12
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    1
  • Neutral
    0
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    3
  • Very Unsatisfied
    47

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to Flooring.net. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of Flooring.net.

Read more about Mohawk wood floors

Read reviews of other Wood Floor brands
Write a review

1234567Next >>

Date created: 2016-04-19 Name: christine huynh
Location: San Jose, CA

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Don't ever buy any Mohawk products!"
I recently had our home installed with Mohawk hardwood in 11/2015 by a reputable and experienced installer. Within 2 weeks of installation, the floor started buckling and cupping badly. In addition, the "floor" layer started peeling up from around the edges of the floor segments. Mohawk sent someone out and 3 months later I received a decline letter saying that they do not observe any manufacturing issues. I purchased Mohawk's hardwood flooring mainly because Mohawk was the brand name and according to their website, they claimed they stand by their products, "We've got you covered" so consumer can rest. What a joke! We did our whole house and now I am at a loss what to do at this point. I will hire an independent inspector at my own cost for second opinion and escalate this matter Don't ever buy any Mohawk product!


Date created: 2016-04-08 Name: D. Picasso
Location: Hillsborough NJ
Model: Engineered Oak

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Divets and cracks in engineered oak flooring"
A true disaster of a product. Every day I see more divets, cracks in the very thin veneer plus the top coat is cracking. The routing bits used to form the end joints must have been very dull for some are actually shredded not allowing a tight joint. The installation from Flemington Dept. Store in NJ was equally as bad.


Date created: 2016-04-06 Name: Emily Ralph
Location: Chicago

Satisfaction Rating:
2 of 5 stars Somewhat Unsatisfied

Review:
"Should have stuck with the old floor"
We had a designer tell us that Mohawk laminate flooring was a good replacement for our current light hardwood floors. She stated they would be lower maintenance, good with cats because they don't scratch easily and are easy to clean. We loved the color and were really excited until after living on the floors for about 2 hours, we dropped the iPad (the first time we ever dropped it) and it shipped about a 1/4-inch divot in the floor. Then the cats knocked metal bed frame off of a shelf that was put there when they were working on the floors, and 2 more divers in the floor. Then we saw a scratch along one of the boards in the main hallway that we have no idea how it got there. We never noticed any scratches on our lighter, hardwood floors. When I asked about this, she said it's because it's darker wood and since it's laminate, the lighter color underneath shows through more. Since we were told it was more durable, we did file a complaint with Mohawk flooring but they said there weren't responsible. We now also have a spot in the middle of the room that has raised up and looks like water somehow collected, but it is nowhere near anywhere any liquid could come into contact with it and have not heard back from them. We were told they would like tell us it was our own water damage somehow. So these floors that were supposed to improve the re-sale value of our home are likely now going to be a bargaining chip for the next owner. Because if it was me, I would demand for them to be replaced/fixed by the owner before buying the condo or ask for a large discount because I would want to rip them all out and replace them myself. Moral of the story is, we were happier with our previous flooring and the $20,000 in our pocket we had before we replaced them.



Date created: 2016-03-13 Name: Jon Deibel
Location: Ohio
Model: Engineered Wood

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Absolute Garbage!"
Be warned! These floors are hands down the absolute worst floors in the industry. Scratch and dent very easily. There are several scratches we have no clue as to how they happened. We are very clean people with no animals. We are heart broken. Complete home remodel and kitchen cabinets are already installed over them. Total cost for material and install was $12k. For another $3k, we could have gone with real hardwood floors. Trust me, spend the money for real wood and do not buy Mohawk wood products. Total crap.


Date created: 2016-03-10 Name: T. Chitren
Location: Thompson's Station, TN
Model: Tagliare Saddle

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Worst product ever"
Just moved into a new construction home 4 days ago. This floor is like paper. Initially blamed the home builder. Thought they had switched floors on us. They proved they used Mohawk Tagliare Eucalyptus Saddle. Seeing now the real fault lies with the Mohawk product. We always thought Mohawk was a quality brand. What a huge disappointment.


Date created: 2016-02-19 Name: Athena
Location: Portsmouth, VA

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Hardwood Flooring"
Bought and moved into house days before XMas last year. Only lived in this house now for about 3 months. I was excited when they said we had hardwood flooring. Had issues with scratches and such due to "professionals" moving to repair and replace the no working and dented stove. Under home buyers warranty, had the same flooring installers in my house replacing planks, of which I find out the "hardwood" is really cheap laminate glued atop layers of beveled wood. They call this "engineered hardwood". The replaced wood planks would not lay down flat, so they came out again and replaced yet again. The third time they came out and said the overlap is "within allowable standards". They are supposed to be coming out yet again with another manager to see what and why it is now doing this. I feel for the cement below, and can only pray they are not doing further serious damage. I have other scratches from whatever misc may have caused them now. I have felt pads on all furniture, etc. I've cleaned my floors on my hands and knees using a spray bottle and approved cleaner/ cloth combo to avoid overexposure to moisture. Easy care and cleaning be my... There is some water damage from the supposedly water resistant flooring near the fridge and ice dispenser. Also, I noticed a floorboard where the TV is (away from any open water sources), in which the laminate is peeling. So, worst and most over priced flooring ever! I'd rather have gotten cheap floating floors and replaced every few years.


Date created: 2016-02-11 Name: D Styles
Location: colorado springs, Colorado
Model: Engineered Hardwood Floor

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Scratches and peels"
Terrible quality product. Scratches and peels easily. Was told by the building inspector that if spilled liquid is not cleaned up within 20 secs that area of the floor is ruined. Do not buy Mohawk products.


Date created: 2016-01-21 Name: B Tiff
Location: Bradenton, Fl
Model: Engineered Maple

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"What a headache"
Built a home with Taylor-Morrison in Florida and the Mohawk engineered maple is a nightmare. Bubbles coming up on a regular basis. Surface is a constant challenge as it smears and is very hard to clean. This builder should not be offering Mohawk. These homes cost far too much to appoint with junk. Do not settle for Mohawk.



Date created: 2016-01-05 Name: Norman

Satisfaction Rating:
5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"10 years old, still looks good"
We've had Mohawk's engineered hardwoods in our family office area for ~10 years and it's still looking great, even with a lot of foot traffic. We're really careful not to spill anything on it or get it wet. I'm glad it's held up and proven to be a good investment, very easy to keep clean too. We're looking into new flooring for some other rooms and I'd like to have these hardwoods throughout.


Date created: 2015-12-18 Name: Alison B
Location: Spring ,TX
Model: Eucalyptus Rachiato

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Never, Ever Again"
We built a new house last year with David Weekley and had our whole downstairs done in Mohawk Eucalyptus Rachiato engineered wood. It is very dark, shows everything and was a mistake, but we couldn't have imagined how much of a nightmare from the beginning. We have kids and dogs and realize they can cause issues with a floor. However, this floor is being destroyed by nothing more than shoes or anything dropped or set on floor. Even walking is creating dents , holes and white marks that can't be removed. You can't clean it because any chemical destroys and dulls it. We were told to use Bona and it is causing an issue now. Sweepers scratch it. The floor is soft and is now chipping on the edges, and bubbling up in the middle. The builder, contractor and now Mohawk rep have come out and Mohawk processed a claim which was denied of course, with no explanation and I had to call weeks later to find out that much from the contractor. I would never consider having a Mohawk product in my home again.

1234567Next >>

Find Flooring Installers

My zip code is: