Flooring.net Logo

Consumer Reviews of Mohawk wood floors

Popularity:
#18  of 25 brands of wood floors

19% of customers recommend
2 of 5 stars 68 reviews
  • Very Satisfied
    12
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    1
  • Neutral
    0
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    3
  • Very Unsatisfied
    52

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to Flooring.net. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of Flooring.net.

Read more about Mohawk wood floors

Read reviews of other Wood Floor brands
Write a review

1234567Next >>

Date created: 2016-07-05 Name: J.Smith
Location: Ohio
Model: Proclaim Plank

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Doesn't click into place."
My husband and I bought our second home recently and the first thing I wanted to change was the master bedrooms flooring. It was a very outdated carpet so I purchased the Mohawk Proclaim plank collection in a very cool looking grey. 3 days! My husband and I have been trying to get this flooring to lock in for 3 days. We are not professional installers by any means, but we did manage to put down the same type (different name brand) flooring throughout our first house without any issues. Did I say this flooring sucks well in case I didn't, it sucks! I've finally given up and have decided to buy another name brand without this Uniclik crap that doesn't click into place unless you hold it upside down and bend it the only way that you can't possibly bend it to hear the "click". Never ever ever will I buy any Mohawk product again! I don't know about how the wear and tear is... since I can't even get it to go into place to begin with. Poor product in my upfront and honest opinion.


Date created: 2016-06-21 Name: Deborah G,
Location: Nebraska
Model: ArmorMax

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Useless 50 Yr Warranty"
I had this floor installed 2 years ago and have been disappointed with it's quality from the beginning. Even more disappointing is Mohawk's refusal to honor their warranty. The floor dents and scratches easily. I do not have a busy household and the floor looks like the PGA tour came in with their golf cleats.


Date created: 2016-06-16 Name: Linda
Location: Catle Rock, CO

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Mohawk engineered wood flooring"
This is by far the worst big ticket purchase we have ever made! We spent almost $13,000 upgrading our new home 5 years ago with Mohawk engineered wood. It looked beautiful when we moved in, but immediately started to chip, scratch & peel. It is horrible in any area that gets any kind of traffic. Nothing you do to try & repair it works. Years ago I sold flooring & Mohawk carpet was an excellent product so picking their flooring, I felt confident we were making a good decision. Sadly, this purchase was a big mistake. I will not recommend or purchase another Mohawk product because obviously, their quality control is sorely lacking.



Date created: 2016-06-13 Name: Marianne
Location: Charleston, SC

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Horrible Quality"
Our builder installed Mohawk engineered hardwood in our home. This is by far the least durable floor we have ever had. We had to have boards replaced even before we moved in and now there are scratches, dents and gouges all over the floor. We are extremely careful, clean the floor at least daily, do not wear shoes in the house, have bottoms of furniture covered with felt pads...even with all of that, the damage is horrible. A cardboard box, rubber wheels on a toy truck, a sippy cup will dent and scratch this floor. We were going to get a dog and now we can't because they would be completely ruined immediately. Additionally, the putty and scratch fixers do now work on these floors. This has caused a ton of tension and aggravation in our family to the point where we cannot even enjoy our home because the floor are so easily damaged. I would never recommend this floor to anyone and there is simply no durability at all.


Date created: 2016-05-17 Name: Donald Samhat
Location: Northville, MI
Model: Hickory

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Token offer until sued"
Purchased Mohawk Hickory in December 2013 for my daughter's condo. Immediately after installed noticed cracking and poor finish, which worsened with time. Mohawk inspector agreed but Mohawk claimed inspector was stating it was for only 15 boards which they offered to replace. I pointed out the areas he tested were the sample areas and the whole floor was defective. Hired my own expert who confirmed 80% was face checking or "drying defect". Mohawk then offered to send replacement floor of equal value and pay for reinstall but would not refund the cost of the Mohawk floor and install cost. After I filed a lawsuit they immediately settled for full amount of floor, install, tear out and trim work that had to be redone with new floor.


Date created: 2016-04-19 Name: christine huynh
Location: San Jose, CA

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Don't ever buy any Mohawk products!"
I recently had our home installed with Mohawk hardwood in 11/2015 by a reputable and experienced installer. Within 2 weeks of installation, the floor started buckling and cupping badly. In addition, the "floor" layer started peeling up from around the edges of the floor segments. Mohawk sent someone out and 3 months later I received a decline letter saying that they do not observe any manufacturing issues. I purchased Mohawk's hardwood flooring mainly because Mohawk was the brand name and according to their website, they claimed they stand by their products, "We've got you covered" so consumer can rest. What a joke! We did our whole house and now I am at a loss what to do at this point. I will hire an independent inspector at my own cost for second opinion and escalate this matter Don't ever buy any Mohawk product!


Date created: 2016-04-08 Name: D. Picasso
Location: Hillsborough NJ
Model: Engineered Oak

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Divets and cracks in engineered oak flooring"
A true disaster of a product. Every day I see more divets, cracks in the very thin veneer plus the top coat is cracking. The routing bits used to form the end joints must have been very dull for some are actually shredded not allowing a tight joint. The installation from Flemington Dept. Store in NJ was equally as bad.


Date created: 2016-04-06 Name: Emily Ralph
Location: Chicago

Satisfaction Rating:
2 of 5 stars Somewhat Unsatisfied

Review:
"Should have stuck with the old floor"
We had a designer tell us that Mohawk laminate flooring was a good replacement for our current light hardwood floors. She stated they would be lower maintenance, good with cats because they don't scratch easily and are easy to clean. We loved the color and were really excited until after living on the floors for about 2 hours, we dropped the iPad (the first time we ever dropped it) and it shipped about a 1/4-inch divot in the floor. Then the cats knocked metal bed frame off of a shelf that was put there when they were working on the floors, and 2 more divers in the floor. Then we saw a scratch along one of the boards in the main hallway that we have no idea how it got there. We never noticed any scratches on our lighter, hardwood floors. When I asked about this, she said it's because it's darker wood and since it's laminate, the lighter color underneath shows through more. Since we were told it was more durable, we did file a complaint with Mohawk flooring but they said there weren't responsible. We now also have a spot in the middle of the room that has raised up and looks like water somehow collected, but it is nowhere near anywhere any liquid could come into contact with it and have not heard back from them. We were told they would like tell us it was our own water damage somehow. So these floors that were supposed to improve the re-sale value of our home are likely now going to be a bargaining chip for the next owner. Because if it was me, I would demand for them to be replaced/fixed by the owner before buying the condo or ask for a large discount because I would want to rip them all out and replace them myself. Moral of the story is, we were happier with our previous flooring and the $20,000 in our pocket we had before we replaced them.



Date created: 2016-03-13 Name: Jon Deibel
Location: Ohio
Model: Engineered Wood

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Absolute Garbage!"
Be warned! These floors are hands down the absolute worst floors in the industry. Scratch and dent very easily. There are several scratches we have no clue as to how they happened. We are very clean people with no animals. We are heart broken. Complete home remodel and kitchen cabinets are already installed over them. Total cost for material and install was $12k. For another $3k, we could have gone with real hardwood floors. Trust me, spend the money for real wood and do not buy Mohawk wood products. Total crap.


Date created: 2016-03-10 Name: T. Chitren
Location: Thompson's Station, TN
Model: Tagliare Saddle

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Worst product ever"
Just moved into a new construction home 4 days ago. This floor is like paper. Initially blamed the home builder. Thought they had switched floors on us. They proved they used Mohawk Tagliare Eucalyptus Saddle. Seeing now the real fault lies with the Mohawk product. We always thought Mohawk was a quality brand. What a huge disappointment.

1234567Next >>

Find Flooring Installers

My zip code is: