Consumer Reviews of Mohawk wood floors

Mohawk flooring logo
Popularity:
#17   of 25 brands of wood floors

18% of customers recommend
2 of 5 stars 72 reviews
  • Very Satisfied
    12
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    1
  • Neutral
    0
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    3
  • Very Unsatisfied
    56

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to Flooring.net. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of Flooring.net.

Read more about Mohawk wood floors
12345678Next >>

Date created: 2016-11-05
Name: S. Olness
Location: MN

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Worst investment"
We have had this floor in our kitchen, dining and living area for under two years and from day one we have been disappointed. Everything dropped, chairs with pads and normal use causes scratches. I tired of tip toeing around my house to protect it and now the finish is peeling away in several areas! We two had a cheap laminate before this remodel and it was way more durable! Extremely disappointed!


Date created: 2016-10-20
Name: K. Becker
Location: Wheaton, IL

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Mohawk defective flooring"
My dad picked Mowhawk Solid Oak Flooring for my parent's new home build. The entire house is installed with it. The floor is defective. Over half of the floor has split and has huge cracks and splinters in it. It took a month for the Mohawk sales rep to call us back and now waiting again after he came out to send an inspector. They just try to give the run around and hope you give up. They will claim it is installation or humidity or something else, which it is not. They are making a defective product which they should pay to replace, including labor. My parents put over $20,000 into that floor and it is not usable. Do not buy Mohawk industries Flooring!


Date created: 2016-10-02
Name: W Stewart
Location: Simpsonville%2C SC

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Worst Floor ever"
Mohawk vinyl floor has been down 3 years now. Separates at seams and peels. Started separating instantly. Now separating more. Filed a claim with Mohawk 3 years ago and they refused to do anything. They have no warranty. Please read other reviews.



Date created: 2016-08-20
Name: Julie Nordstrom
Location: Lakeway, TX
Model: Burlap Birch engineered flooring

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Mohawk engineered wood flooring horrible!"
My husband and I recently moved into a newly built home in Austin and were told by the builder how solid and highly durable the Mohawk engineered flooring is. Well... lets put it this way... I would prefer to have the cheapest Pergo over this soft non durable scratch/dent/gouge susceptible floor! We have no kids or pets that would increase the risk of damaging the floors. A feather could drop and would cause a dent or scratch! We now spend our time tiptoeing around our house as means to limit any damage. This is no way of life! Anything we drop renders a 100% chance of denting, scratching or gouging! I cannot imagine how much more this will cost us to demo and replace this floor!


Date created: 2016-07-05
Name: J.Smith
Location: Ohio
Model: Proclaim Plank

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Doesn't click into place."
My husband and I bought our second home recently and the first thing I wanted to change was the master bedrooms flooring. It was a very outdated carpet so I purchased the Mohawk Proclaim plank collection in a very cool looking grey. 3 days! My husband and I have been trying to get this flooring to lock in for 3 days. We are not professional installers by any means, but we did manage to put down the same type (different name brand) flooring throughout our first house without any issues. Did I say this flooring sucks well in case I didn't, it sucks! I've finally given up and have decided to buy another name brand without this Uniclik crap that doesn't click into place unless you hold it upside down and bend it the only way that you can't possibly bend it to hear the "click". Never ever ever will I buy any Mohawk product again! I don't know about how the wear and tear is... since I can't even get it to go into place to begin with. Poor product in my upfront and honest opinion.


Date created: 2016-06-21
Name: Deborah G,
Location: Nebraska
Model: ArmorMax

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Useless 50 Yr Warranty"
I had this floor installed 2 years ago and have been disappointed with it's quality from the beginning. Even more disappointing is Mohawk's refusal to honor their warranty. The floor dents and scratches easily. I do not have a busy household and the floor looks like the PGA tour came in with their golf cleats.


Date created: 2016-06-16
Name: Linda
Location: Catle Rock, CO

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Mohawk engineered wood flooring"
This is by far the worst big ticket purchase we have ever made! We spent almost $13,000 upgrading our new home 5 years ago with Mohawk engineered wood. It looked beautiful when we moved in, but immediately started to chip, scratch & peel. It is horrible in any area that gets any kind of traffic. Nothing you do to try & repair it works. Years ago I sold flooring & Mohawk carpet was an excellent product so picking their flooring, I felt confident we were making a good decision. Sadly, this purchase was a big mistake. I will not recommend or purchase another Mohawk product because obviously, their quality control is sorely lacking.


Date created: 2016-06-13
Name: Marianne
Location: Charleston, SC

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Horrible Quality"
Our builder installed Mohawk engineered hardwood in our home. This is by far the least durable floor we have ever had. We had to have boards replaced even before we moved in and now there are scratches, dents and gouges all over the floor. We are extremely careful, clean the floor at least daily, do not wear shoes in the house, have bottoms of furniture covered with felt pads...even with all of that, the damage is horrible. A cardboard box, rubber wheels on a toy truck, a sippy cup will dent and scratch this floor. We were going to get a dog and now we can't because they would be completely ruined immediately. Additionally, the putty and scratch fixers do now work on these floors. This has caused a ton of tension and aggravation in our family to the point where we cannot even enjoy our home because the floor are so easily damaged. I would never recommend this floor to anyone and there is simply no durability at all.



Date created: 2016-05-17
Name: Donald Samhat
Location: Northville, MI
Model: Hickory

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Token offer until sued"
Purchased Mohawk Hickory in December 2013 for my daughter's condo. Immediately after installed noticed cracking and poor finish, which worsened with time. Mohawk inspector agreed but Mohawk claimed inspector was stating it was for only 15 boards which they offered to replace. I pointed out the areas he tested were the sample areas and the whole floor was defective. Hired my own expert who confirmed 80% was face checking or "drying defect". Mohawk then offered to send replacement floor of equal value and pay for reinstall but would not refund the cost of the Mohawk floor and install cost. After I filed a lawsuit they immediately settled for full amount of floor, install, tear out and trim work that had to be redone with new floor.


Date created: 2016-04-19
Name: christine huynh
Location: San Jose, CA

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Don't ever buy any Mohawk products!"
I recently had our home installed with Mohawk hardwood in 11/2015 by a reputable and experienced installer. Within 2 weeks of installation, the floor started buckling and cupping badly. In addition, the "floor" layer started peeling up from around the edges of the floor segments. Mohawk sent someone out and 3 months later I received a decline letter saying that they do not observe any manufacturing issues. I purchased Mohawk's hardwood flooring mainly because Mohawk was the brand name and according to their website, they claimed they stand by their products, "We've got you covered" so consumer can rest. What a joke! We did our whole house and now I am at a loss what to do at this point. I will hire an independent inspector at my own cost for second opinion and escalate this matter Don't ever buy any Mohawk product!

12345678Next >>

Find Flooring Installers
My zip code is:
How to Buy
Flooring Reviews
Flooring Materials
Flooring Brands