Flooring.net Logo

Consumer Reviews of Home Legend wood floors

Popularity:
#15  of 19 brands of wood floors

22% of customers recommend
2 of 5 stars 31 reviews
  • Very Satisfied
    7
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    0
  • Neutral
    0
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    2
  • Very Unsatisfied
    22

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to Flooring.net. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of Flooring.net.

Read reviews of other Wood Floor brands
Write a review

1234Next >>

Date created: 2014-10-08 Name: E. Scott

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Bouncing of floor Do Not Buy"
So I installed the floor several months ago and I noticed a slight bounce in it. I got up under the house did some shimming on my subfloor which helped some. Next I took up the floor to try to see if I installed it correctly and then I realized most pieces have a huge bow in them. I am in contact with Home Legend now and I am getting the run around. I have also contacted Home Depot to try to convince them to stop carrying this floor. Oh yeah and it scratches super easy.


Date created: 2014-09-12 Name: A. Kim
Location: Feasterville, pa

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Do not buy. The wood will shrink and crack!"
I purchased home legends bamboo flooring from Home Depot. After installing, about 6 mos later the wood started to shrink, crack, and discolor in different locations around the flooring. I called them and of course they send out a surveyor (could be someone they regularly employ) to tell me the humidity levels in my house are the cause. Its total B.S.! Also, home legends discontinued this type of flooring after I bought it from Home Depot. Home Depot did not disclose to me that this manufacturer was discontinuing this flooring, because I would never have purchased it. I had no knowledge of it being discontinued as the flooring cost regular price at almost $5/sq ft. Home Depot does not want to take responsibility. I would not buy flooring from Home Depot. Their business practices are shady. I would go shop around to other flooring companies as you can get the same if not better financing.


Date created: 2014-07-21 Name: PC Simpkins
Location: Danville VA

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Crying Out Loud!"
Purchased the Tiger Wood floating floor from Home Depot to be installed throughout our house. We were remodeling our kitchen & den. We did everything according to instructions. The floor looked beautiful especially in my kitchen which had been totally gutted! After several months I decided to damp mop. After finishing I noticed the floor looked streaked and like the finish was coming off. I decided to use Murphys hardwood floor cleaner which made it worse. I filed a claim which of course was denied. Our first mistake was putting it in our kitchen. If we had have been told by the salesperson that this type of flooring should not be used in a kitchen we would never have purchased it. We now have to take it up and will be looking for something else. Trying to clean it with distilled water/alcohol is unbelievable. I have hardwood floors in my other rooms and they are easy to maintain. Before buying anything else I will read the reviews. Home Legend should have the maintenance instructions on the outside of the packaging.


Date created: 2014-05-12 Name: Denise Lang
Location: Paramus, NJ

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Very disatisfied"
Floor was installed by professionals. Looked great for the first two month and then I began noticing shrinkage. Just one or two. As the month progressed, now 8 months later, the floor has over 25 boards that have separated. The manufacture sent someone out to evaluate and of course, it's not a defect, it was the installers error. I don't believe it. I had 4 other floors installed (not Home Legend) and they are all fine. The floor is now discontinued. I spent a few thousand dollars on the floor and install to now have to fight to rectify this problem. Someone is fixing this, and it's not going to be me. I read so many unsatisfied reviews on this product. I may start a civil suite if not fixed.


Date created: 2014-04-07 Name: Blake O.
Location: Cedar Rapids, IA

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Do Not Buy!"
This is absolutely the worst flooring you could imagine. After having it installed for 2 months our floor has scratches everywhere. The company is not any better to work with. They make you jump through hoops to file a claim. They sent out an inspector (who they hired). He didn't take pictures of everything which I requested, and Home Legend refunded me 2 planks. What a joke!



Date created: 2014-03-05 Name: P SMITH
Location: Flint mi

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Dark walnut prefinished"
My husband and I saved up for two years and thought we were getting a high quality product when we paid a ton for this prefinished walnut from home legend. We went to a local small business and had it installed professionally by them, the first day I thought it was beautiful but now it has been 8 months and with just one medium size dog, and a two year old the floor is completely junk. It breaks my heart to see all of our hard earned money wasted. No doubt this floor will have to be replaced within the next year. Do not spend your money on this product. If you drop a cup on it it dents, if my daughter plays with a toy on it it scratches. Now we have filed a claim with our retailer and their rep for home legend but the out look is glum. Also after reading the warranty it back peddles and basically says that it does not cover scratches and finish defects. When I have followed their floor care instructions meticulously.


Date created: 2014-01-09 Name: DCR
Location: Iowa

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"I do not recommend this hardwood"
I do not recommend this product. Professionally installed. Finish was flaking immediately. Product shrinkage is incredible, 1/4 gaps after a month or so. Finish is not durable. Chips and scratches very easily.


Date created: 2013-12-30 Name: Dennis
Location: Northern AZ

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Major gapping"
My wife and I went with the distressed hickory solid hardwoods and it is absolutely beautiful, for the 1st month, that is! After that, it kept shrinking and shrinking. We acclimated it for 7 days before professionally installed and now we have 1/4" gaps where the tongue is coming out in some places. We'll be opening a claim with Home Legend, but I'm not holding my breath. If I did my research first, I would've bought a hardwood out of Brazil or the U.S.


Date created: 2013-09-30 Name: Andrea
Location: Medina , OH

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"This floor is garbage"
In purchased Home Legend Maple Salinas flooring through Home Depot. I purchased as it has a 50 year residential warranty. I had flooring professionally installed in my kitchen in approx November of 2012. The floor never appeared to be clean. After contacting the manufacturer I was given ridiculous cleaning instructions which included using rubbing alcohol and water, denatured alcohol with water. Neither worked. Floor has a constant film on it and looks terrible. On top of it, the edges are raised in numerous areas and chipping is present in areas with little to no foot traffic. It looks terrible. The flooring in my living room is 8 years old and it looks far better than my Home Legend flooring which is less than a year old. I have contacted Home legend who after much complaining by me sent an inspector to look at it. Once again Home Legend accepts no responsibility for a sub par product. I will be removing this poor quality floor and never purchase another Home Legend Product. They may as well have a no warranty policy because their warranty covers nothing. Do not purchase this poorly made flooring.


Date created: 2013-09-27 Name: Kay Peters
Location: Solway, Mn.

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Disappointed"
We are extremely disappointed with this hard wood. We were told that it's one of the toughest floors you can buy. It came with some defects on it's own, but if something moves on it there are scratches. I'm satisfied with the color but not how easy it scratches. We had two rooms done with this flooring and were thinking of doing our living room with it. But I think I will go in another direction. The price was very good but the floor is not. Thank You, Kay Peters.

1234Next >>

Find Flooring Installers

My zip code is: