Flooring.net Logo

Consumer Reviews of Home Legend wood floors

Popularity:
#37  of 44 brands of wood floors

25% of customers recommend
2 of 5 stars 27 reviews
  • Very Satisfied
    7
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    0
  • Neutral
    0
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    2
  • Very Unsatisfied
    18

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to Flooring.net. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of Flooring.net.

Read reviews of other Wood Floor brands
Write a review

123Next >>

Date created: 2014-07-21 Name: PC Simpkins
Location: Danville VA

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Crying Out Loud!"
Purchased the Tiger Wood floating floor from Home Depot to be installed throughout our house. We were remodeling our kitchen & den. We did everything according to instructions. The floor looked beautiful especially in my kitchen which had been totally gutted! After several months I decided to damp mop. After finishing I noticed the floor looked streaked and like the finish was coming off. I decided to use Murphys hardwood floor cleaner which made it worse. I filed a claim which of course was denied. Our first mistake was putting it in our kitchen. If we had have been told by the salesperson that this type of flooring should not be used in a kitchen we would never have purchased it. We now have to take it up and will be looking for something else. Trying to clean it with distilled water/alcohol is unbelievable. I have hardwood floors in my other rooms and they are easy to maintain. Before buying anything else I will read the reviews. Home Legend should have the maintenance instructions on the outside of the packaging.


Date created: 2014-05-12 Name: Denise Lang
Location: Paramus, NJ

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Very disatisfied"
Floor was installed by professionals. Looked great for the first two month and then I began noticing shrinkage. Just one or two. As the month progressed, now 8 months later, the floor has over 25 boards that have separated. The manufacture sent someone out to evaluate and of course, it's not a defect, it was the installers error. I don't believe it. I had 4 other floors installed (not Home Legend) and they are all fine. The floor is now discontinued. I spent a few thousand dollars on the floor and install to now have to fight to rectify this problem. Someone is fixing this, and it's not going to be me. I read so many unsatisfied reviews on this product. I may start a civil suite if not fixed.


Date created: 2014-04-07 Name: Blake O.
Location: Cedar Rapids, IA

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Do Not Buy!"
This is absolutely the worst flooring you could imagine. After having it installed for 2 months our floor has scratches everywhere. The company is not any better to work with. They make you jump through hoops to file a claim. They sent out an inspector (who they hired). He didn't take pictures of everything which I requested, and Home Legend refunded me 2 planks. What a joke!


Date created: 2014-03-05 Name: P SMITH
Location: Flint mi

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Dark walnut prefinished"
My husband and I saved up for two years and thought we were getting a high quality product when we paid a ton for this prefinished walnut from home legend. We went to a local small business and had it installed professionally by them, the first day I thought it was beautiful but now it has been 8 months and with just one medium size dog, and a two year old the floor is completely junk. It breaks my heart to see all of our hard earned money wasted. No doubt this floor will have to be replaced within the next year. Do not spend your money on this product. If you drop a cup on it it dents, if my daughter plays with a toy on it it scratches. Now we have filed a claim with our retailer and their rep for home legend but the out look is glum. Also after reading the warranty it back peddles and basically says that it does not cover scratches and finish defects. When I have followed their floor care instructions meticulously.


Date created: 2014-01-09 Name: DCR
Location: Iowa

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"I do not recommend this hardwood"
I do not recommend this product. Professionally installed. Finish was flaking immediately. Product shrinkage is incredible, 1/4 gaps after a month or so. Finish is not durable. Chips and scratches very easily.


Date created: 2013-12-30 Name: Dennis
Location: Northern AZ

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Major gapping"
My wife and I went with the distressed hickory solid hardwoods and it is absolutely beautiful, for the 1st month, that is! After that, it kept shrinking and shrinking. We acclimated it for 7 days before professionally installed and now we have 1/4" gaps where the tongue is coming out in some places. We'll be opening a claim with Home Legend, but I'm not holding my breath. If I did my research first, I would've bought a hardwood out of Brazil or the U.S.


Date created: 2013-06-13 Name: F. Daly
Location: St. Charles, Mo.

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"3-1/2"clk-hs gunstock oak 20.71sf"
Had engineered wood floor installed by a lic. 30 yr. Exp. Prof. Flooring expert in 2010. Sent a letter to your office explaining problem with floor with no response from Home Legend. Then talked with Home Depot where I bought flooring, who advised me that you would probably would deny claim under the heading of "installed wrong". Sure enough, that what you did and without even addressing part of the claim concerning wood fading {installation?} This being a floating floor that a junior high school kid could install by the way. After 3 prof. People look at this floor, they all say that in no way would sliding wood together cause edges to curl. This company is one of the worse I've ever come in contact with in over 40 yrs-very bad pr. Home Depot ought to kick you people out totally.


Date created: 2013-05-16 Name: Donna Richards
Location: Miami, Fl

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Bamboo interlocking"
My husband and I purchased home legend from Home Depot for our entire home. 1 month after installation there is chipping in 2 rooms and various scratches to the finish. Mind you, we do not have pets or heavy traffic. I warn any one considering this product due to its warranty (50 year residential). Reconsider it! We are left with $ 7,800 destroyed wood floors. The floor literally scratches from passing a vacuum over it. I certainly believe anything else would have been better. Unfortunately there is no area to post pictures here. They are pretty impressive.


Date created: 2013-04-12 Name: J & D Ralston
Location: Port Angeles, WA

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Poor quality finish"
The finish on the strand woven sapelli bamboo flooring is awful. We bought the dark finish; being told by the salesperson that it had a very hard finish. It scratches so easy and the stain/coating is so thin that the natural color underneath shows everywhere. Dealing with Stacie @ "customer service" was unpleasant and based on that conversation we feel will be unsuccessful in coming to a resolution.


Date created: 2013-03-08 Name: Verydissatisfied
Location: Chantilly, VA

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"DO NOT PURCHASE!!!"
High Gloss Oak Gunstock 3/8 in. Thick x 4-3/4 in. Wide x Random Length Click Lock Hardwood Flooring (24.94 sq.ft./case)Apparently, the manufacturer Home Legend, does back up their 55 year warranty for defective products. Actually, I?ve had this product for less than a year and noticed little dents throughout it where I have walked. The only thing I can figure is my heals have caused this. I am 105 pounds. No wood floor should do this. I've had three contractors look at it and agree this should never have happened and should absolutely be covered under warranty! What hardwood floor does this? Apparently Home Legend?s. I was told by Home Depot I have to contact Home Legend. Home Legend sent me back to Home Depot to open a claim since they do not deal with the public. That?s fine. I explain to the second Home Depot representative and he opens a claim and lets me know a representative will be calling me to come review my claim to submit pictures to Home Legend. This takes place and I follow up with Home Depot to see what the next steps are. To my shock, I am told the claim was declined. I then get a story well I have to wait for Home Legend to send me a letter with the details as to why it was declined. I have no contact with them why aren?t they sending it to both Home Depot as well since I am required to go through you Home Depot. After two hours of being shuffled around. I get to another person that asks me what I want. I want my floor to be repaired, replaced or refunded for the products purchased and installation cost. I hear from Home Depot ?well Home Legend denied the claim.? I?ve had 3 contractors look at this floor and verify this should never happened it has to be defective. They are now making a claim with their insurance company Secgwick and can?t tell me anything but we have nothing to do with it now you have to deal with Secgwick and we can?t tell you one thing about how it will work at all. Really I spend over $3,000 on a new floor that is defective and this is the customer service I receive Home Depot. This is outrageous!!! You are selling a defective product and providing customer service at all. I will never purchase a thing at Home Depot and certainly not purchase a Home Legend product. Lowe?s, I look forward to being a frequent/loyal customer!

123Next >>

Find Flooring Installers

My zip code is: