Flooring.net Logo

Consumer Reviews of Home Legend wood floors

Popularity:
#20  of 25 brands of wood floors

17% of customers recommend
2 of 5 stars 51 reviews
  • Very Satisfied
    9
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    0
  • Neutral
    0
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    3
  • Very Unsatisfied
    39

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to Flooring.net. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of Flooring.net.

Read reviews of other Wood Floor brands
Write a review

123456Next >>

Date created: 2016-01-26 Name: S Stetson
Location: Vancouver, WA

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"I feel for anyone who wants to toss their money away"
We bought this garbage with the intent to never have to do our floors for as long as we live. Boy Oh Boy were we ever wrong! Within five months of the instillation not only did we have to attempt to re-stain areas that scratched by merely walking on it with our stocking feet. It began to bubble in the middle and crack. Now I give you the benefit of the good wished of Home Legend, thank you for your money, now don't bother us, just pick it up and reinstall it after you replace the bad planks. If you have purchased the garbage are you like us getting ready to just get real Hardwood, and those of you who are thinking of buying this garbage, and We will be waiting to hear from you soon, a little sadder and a whole lot poorer.


Date created: 2016-01-10 Name: B. Smith
Location: Winter Park, FL

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Worse than awful"
Do not waste your money! A month after moving in - the floor is trashed. We have two dogs and I expected some scratches, but it is ridiculous! Went to ProSource - and of course Home Legend responded with no warranty coverage.


Date created: 2015-09-13 Name: Laurey M.
Location: Vermilion, OH

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Thank You for your reviews!"
If we hadn't read your reviews on this floor, we would have been stuck with 70 cartons of this garbage floor product. Home Depot got our order delivered to their store, but before we accepted the delivery, we decided to go to the store to inspect a carton because of these reviews. Everything that was mentioned on these reviews is exactly what we saw. Thankfully, Home Depot was gracious enough to give us full refund. They saw the same "junk" that we did.



Date created: 2015-08-09 Name: marc
Location: mo

Satisfaction Rating:
5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Flooring installer"
I am a flooring installer with 14 years experience. I have been working with home legend product for over 4 years. This is in my top favorite products. It is a beautiful floor all the different colors of the laminate. It does not scratch real easy compared to hard wood. It is high gloss products so if something spills and sits on it for a while it can show up more than a duller finish. It depends your taste. All you have to do is take of it. The manufacturer requests all furniture have felt under the legs. In my opinion I like this product and I will be putting this product in my dining room.


Date created: 2015-08-08 Name: L Urbanski
Location: Brooklyn Park,MN

Satisfaction Rating:
5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Hickory floor is great"
We installed hand scraped hickory engineered flooring 2 years ago and it is great. Our cat has claws and slides on the floor, not a scratch. We seem to be lucky compared to other reviews. I would do this floor again in a heartbeat.


Date created: 2015-07-30 Name: M. L. Nichols
Location: Jacksonville, Fl

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Please do not buy this flooring"
Do not fall for this flooring scam! Installed supposedly solid bamboo flooring 1/2015 and within 3 months it was chipping and exposing a whitish substance that looked as if it had been sprayed or rolled on as a finish. These scars could not be repaired with flooring crayons or even stain. I am interested in exploring the possibility of a Class Action Suit against the manufacturer and even Home Depot.


Date created: 2015-07-13 Name: Steven Harrold
Location: Colorado Springs CO

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Horrible Product"
Do not purchase this product! Home Legends flooring is garbage. Home Depot needs to stop carrying this product. We purchased 1500 sq/ft of their Hand Scraped Mahogany Engineered Flooring and installed about 200 sq/ft as a test. Within 30 days the floor was so scratched and dented we returned the remaining flooring that we did not use and filed a claim for the flooring we installed. Home Depot was great about accepting the returned product without a restocking fee. However, Home Legends will do nothing to cover the scratching and denting. You can scratch this flooring with your fingernail it is so soft.


Date created: 2015-06-11 Name: Alexis Caffrey
Location: Gainesville, FL

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Unethical company that denies valid claims"
We bought strand woven bamboo from Home Depot (the Home Legends line). The person at Home Depot told us it was extremely durable and could also be refinished so we could get a second life out of the product in the future, both of which ended up being untrue. After only three month of installation, the bamboo flooring is delaminating and coming apart. It was installed according to manufacturers instructions and great care has been giving to protecting these floors. I claim was placed to replace the three most damaged boards using extra boards I had previously purchased. Their hired inspector came out and I feel wrote a biased report. He incorrectly stated "It is unknown if moisture tests were taken. The bamboo is installed as a floating floor over an unknown moisture barrier over the concrete slab on-grade." In fact, he never asked those questions as I would have answered that an acceptable moisture reading was taken before installation and the floor were not floating but had been glued down. The glue itself was the first moisture barrier and then underneath the plywood in which it was glued was another moisture barrier. The conclusion of the report "This type of damage is consistent with topical moisture contamination occurring on- site after installation. No manufacturing related concerns are indicated." When I contacted home legends to point this out, the claim analyst (Stacy Norris) still wouldn't any further examination. She stated that their inspector was unbiased and said the damage and that the moisture reading indicated they were at an unacceptable level. I asked what that level was, I wasn't a flooring expert and my report said the relative humidity was 42% and the moisture contact in the floors varied from 9% to 13.6%. Was that high? She said she didn't have those acceptable ranges on hand. As she was looking for them, I found of the manufacturers instructions that "care should be taken to control humidity to control levels within the 35-55% range, so our humidity was in fact in an acceptable range. She was never able to tell me as acceptable moisture content of the flooring itself. She finally said that the moisture level might be acceptable at the time in which the report was conducted but because the rooms are not kept at a contact temperature, we did not follow the manufacturers instructions, the warrant was voided and that was what caused the damage. I pointed out that the floors had only been in for three months during a very cool spring and that the temperature has been constant, no a/c was needed at night because it was very cool, around 75 degrees at night, the same as what we kept the a/c during the day. None of this mattered. It is obvious that the reason why this product is failing is that it is an inferior product and a manufacturers' defect.



Date created: 2015-06-01 Name: Sharon Gockley
Location: Myerstown,Pa

Satisfaction Rating:
2 of 5 stars Somewhat Unsatisfied

Review:
"Flooring is Separating"
I seem to have the same problem as some of the other complaints that I read. We bought our Home Legends Pecan Piano finish from Home Depot in 2011. Talking to the store manager & getting no where I decided to contact corporate where I was in touch with a girl named Tasha. She is wonderful & so on the ball. They sent out a 3rd party person to check the floor & I just heard from her today that another person will come out to see how much of the flooring needs replaced & they will do it all with no charge for installation or labor. She was wonderful to deal with.


Date created: 2015-05-30 Name: M. Clark
Location: Powers Lake, ND

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Wish I'd done my homework!"
We purchased Home Legend hand scraped acacia flooring for most of the main floor in our home. When brand new, it was beautiful. However, after just a few weeks of living with it I was regretting it. The edge of the area rug scratched it, toys left their mark and there are even a few "mystery marks" that can't be explained. Nothing covers it or even comes close to camouflaging it. I wrote to the company and didn't even receive a response. Oh how I wish I'd done better research and not relied on looks alone. I guess we'll have to live with it, $15,000 for product and labor isn't something easily replaced. An expensive lesson learned.

123456Next >>

Find Flooring Installers

My zip code is: