Consumer Reviews of Home Legend wood floors

Home Legend flooring logo
Popularity:
#20   of 25 brands of wood floors

14% of customers recommend
1.5 of 5 stars 68 reviews
  • Very Satisfied
    10
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    0
  • Neutral
    0
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    5
  • Very Unsatisfied
    53

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to Flooring.net. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of Flooring.net.

1234567Next >>

Date created: 2017-03-20
Name: TCorral
Location: Minneapolis, MN

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Dont be fooled"
As most everyone has commented, the flooring installed in my home is also garbage. After less than 2 years several areas are bubbling Legendsms are dented. Inspector from Home Legends said it was normal wear and tear and not covered under warranty. What a joke. 75% of the affected areas don't even get walked on. I was approved to have 3 planks replaced. I am so angry and feel taken for my hard earned money. A local tv station is willing to investigate these types of wrong doings to the public ..if nothing else, warn future customers from being duped. I will be reaching out to their investigative team especially with the complaints clearly noted here... Please think twice before installing home depot flooring


Date created: 2017-03-11
Name: Linda urbanski
Location: Mpls, MN
Model: Klik lok engineered wood

Satisfaction Rating:
5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Great flooring"
We installed Hickory engineered Klik lok wood flooring 4 1/2 yrs ago and it is great. We have a cat with claws who slides across floor and does not leave marks. We know hickory is a harder wood but our prior oak floor was dents and scratches everywhere and this is great. The flooring is in kitchen and dining area.


Date created: 2017-03-01
Name: Kevin Nowak
Location: Depew New York (job in Colden NY)
Model: HL272HJ

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Serious movement and bad finish"
We put this in a brand new home. They sent out a "Claims Analyst". The review came back as "site and installation" related. This is at leats the 50th bamboo floor we installed and never seen anything like this. It shrunk so much its pulling out from under the base boards.



Date created: 2017-02-15
Name: S Penn
Location: Buford, Ga
Model: HL324H

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Do not buy Home Legend flooring!! It is sub par!"
On 1/27/17, we purchased 78 cases of Gunstock Oak Engineered wood flooring (hl324h) manufactured by Home Legend to be installed in approx 1200 sq ft of our home. We picked up flooring and supplies from the store 1/28/17. Home Depot associate told us to acclimate flooring for 2-3 days before install which we did. Our contractor, who is experienced, reputable and came highly recommended, began product install 2/2/17, spending 3 days prior on floor prep. He took proper measures to prep and level plywood subfloor. Upon install of some product, we examined floor and it seemed fine. Overnight we walked on the installed portion of the floor. This is a click and lock floating floor system which moves when walked upon. Corners at some seams began to pop up with top ply of planks separating and protruding up. Flaws were very visible and presented issues of catching shoe edges or feet with potential of chipping off or cutting bare feet. Next day, we instructed contractor to stop further install. The following day more corners continued to pop. We contacted Deborah in the claims dept of Home Legend who told us we had to go through Home Depot and adamantly said do not call them. We went to Home Depot and a claim was submitted. Home Legends paid an independent inspector to evaluate the flooring. Their paid (and loyal) inspector found and verified the flaws in the installed product. He then selected a small random sample of uninstalled flooring to inspect. He did not find the same flaws in that small sample but did find chips in the locking profile lips that connect edges. This would indicate to us there were spaces of 'disconnect' between planks esp at the corners where the ply was protruding up. For the record, the inspector did not say the flaws in the installed portion came from improper install. However, Home Legends decided not to honor their warranty and claimed product failure due to improper install procedures. We contend that the flaws came from insufficient weight bearing properties presenting defects after proper install, defects resulting from walking on it. Our installer has stated he refuses to install any more product because it is subpar and he cannot guarantee his labor due to product imperfections. We must now pay the installer to take up installed flooring and to return to the store. We will be out the fees from the installer to remove, return product and re-install a better product from a more reputable company. Please do not purchase anything from Home Legend. They are a fraud and avoid accountability be passing blame to middle man or consumer. They do not honor their advertised warranty. We have placed a complaint with the Better Business Bureau. It seems few have because their rating appears on bbb website as a+. Please place complaints with bbb. Consumers everywhere need to know about this company. We would also like to join a class action suit against this company. They scape-goated us.


Date created: 2016-12-13
Name: Sandy C.
Location: Orlando, FL
Model: Strand Woven Sapelli HDF Bamboo

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Worst experience ever! They don't stand behind their product!"
This flooring is awful! And the company will not stand behind the product. We purchased this floor because it had a 30 year warranty from ProSource - thinking they would stand behind the product. It started cupping and delaminating within the first year! We paid to have an independently evaluated and were told that our slab floor was dry, the bottom layer was dry, the top layer was dry, but some pieces had the middle layer wet. Some pieces were way worse than others. We contacted the manufacturer, and they have denied the claim. ProSource is also not helpful. I looks awful. They should be sued! Looks like we'll be out the money to tear it out and replace it. Don't waste your money on this!


Date created: 2016-12-01
Name: K. P.
Location: Middletown, CT
Model: Hand Scraped Hickory 3/4

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Buyer Beware of This Product"
We purchased this Home Legend product through Home Depot for our living room. After 5 months, some of the boards started to crack and peel. Home Legend sent out an independent inspector who determined it was a manufacturing defect. We had the same flooring reinstalled again, figuring it was a bad batch of wood. About 6 months later, the same cracking and peeling occurred. Home Legend sent out another independent inspector who determined it was once again a manufacturing defect. I refused to have the company's product installed a third time. I went with a completely different manufacturer. I did not receive one word of apology by way of a letter or phone call from Home Legend for having to go through this stress and loss of time from work for all these installations. It's better that everyone out there knows the truth about their product.


Date created: 2016-10-14
Name: Sl
Location: Littleton Co
Model: Sedona Hand-Scraped Hardwood

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Horrible product"
We contracted with Home Depot to install 3 rooms of the Sedona maple hand- scraped Hardwood. As the planks were being taken out of the box by our Home Depot installer the varnish was flaking off on the sides and the corners. When the planks were slid together by the installer the varnish flaked off. The installer suggested not installing all three rooms so they could go back and show their management how poor the quality of the product was. Home Depot came and picked up the boxes of product that we had not already used and agreed to rush order a replacement of the same product. The installers recommended we go with a different product because the flaw was a manufacturing flaw not an anomaly. They had installed the same product with a different finish in other houses and had the exact same problem. We are now working to get a different product through Home Depot and have to have the one room ripped out and reinstalled. We are doing a major renovation of our house and this has thrown off all our subsequent contractors costing us much time and money for which we may not get any compensation by Home Legend or Home Depot.


Date created: 2016-10-07
Name: Kara
Location: Michigan

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Don't waste your money"
We bought these floors and were so excited to install them in our home. They looked beautiful when we first installed them but the very day we installed them they already were starting to scratch. We are now one year in and these floors are completely ruined, it's embarrassing how terrible they look. Home Legend says we are not their customer since we purchased these floors from Home Depot. They say the scratches are not covered by the warranty. We are out thousands of dollars and ultimately have to rip out the floors, purchase new ones and pay someone to install all over again. Do not give this awful company your business! I would suggest Home Depot discontinue their business with them as well.



Date created: 2016-09-06
Name: Rick Jefferies
Location: Tennessee

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Buyer Beware and no help from Artisent yet"
If I could rate it lower I would. Artisent Floors recommended for our application and after about six months, about a 10 foot section started peaking so badly you couldn't walk on it. Best installer in Memphis installed using bamboo adhesive recommended. A few months later it has started again, only worse. Home Legend denied warranty and to date, Artisent hasn't offered any assistance.


Date created: 2016-08-26
Name: EA
Location: Corning, NA
Model: Solid Strand Woven Bamboo

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Buyers Beware!"
With the purchase of my first home I was excited to install multiple levels of my home with the 1" solid strand woven bamboo flooring. We acclimated the flooring per manf. Instructions and ensured a proper humidity levels before out contractor installed the flooring. The floor looked great, but after Summer Fall came, then Winter,and my floors started gapping everywhere! My home owners insurance came out and stated that the board shifting and large gaps was not due to home structural issues, yet flooring issues (product or installation). I can assure you that these floors were installed correctly and were perfect for close to 8-9 months before my nightmare began. I spent the next year researching how I could fix this issue (in the interim, I painted all the large gaps to help conceal the issues, purchased more area rugs, etc.) as Home Depot and Home Legends claims were almost always denied per my research. After $6,000 and three years, I am faced with the fact that I must tear up and relay new flooring. I can promise you that it will never be home legend! Don't let the beauty of this product fool you, it is garbage!

1234567Next >>

Find Flooring Installers
My zip code is:
How to Buy
Flooring Reviews
Flooring Materials
Flooring Brands