Consumer Reviews of Home Legend wood floors

Home Legend flooring logo
Popularity:
#21   of 25 brands of wood floors

13% of customers recommend
1.5 of 5 stars 65 reviews
  • Very Satisfied
    9
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    0
  • Neutral
    0
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    5
  • Very Unsatisfied
    51

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to Flooring.net. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of Flooring.net.

1234567Next >>

Date created: 2017-02-15
Name: S Penn
Location: Buford, Ga
Model: HL324H

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Do not buy Home Legend flooring!! It is sub par!"
On 1/27/17, we purchased 78 cases of Gunstock Oak Engineered wood flooring (hl324h) manufactured by Home Legend to be installed in approx 1200 sq ft of our home. We picked up flooring and supplies from the store 1/28/17. Home Depot associate told us to acclimate flooring for 2-3 days before install which we did. Our contractor, who is experienced, reputable and came highly recommended, began product install 2/2/17, spending 3 days prior on floor prep. He took proper measures to prep and level plywood subfloor. Upon install of some product, we examined floor and it seemed fine. Overnight we walked on the installed portion of the floor. This is a click and lock floating floor system which moves when walked upon. Corners at some seams began to pop up with top ply of planks separating and protruding up. Flaws were very visible and presented issues of catching shoe edges or feet with potential of chipping off or cutting bare feet. Next day, we instructed contractor to stop further install. The following day more corners continued to pop. We contacted Deborah in the claims dept of Home Legend who told us we had to go through Home Depot and adamantly said do not call them. We went to Home Depot and a claim was submitted. Home Legends paid an independent inspector to evaluate the flooring. Their paid (and loyal) inspector found and verified the flaws in the installed product. He then selected a small random sample of uninstalled flooring to inspect. He did not find the same flaws in that small sample but did find chips in the locking profile lips that connect edges. This would indicate to us there were spaces of 'disconnect' between planks esp at the corners where the ply was protruding up. For the record, the inspector did not say the flaws in the installed portion came from improper install. However, Home Legends decided not to honor their warranty and claimed product failure due to improper install procedures. We contend that the flaws came from insufficient weight bearing properties presenting defects after proper install, defects resulting from walking on it. Our installer has stated he refuses to install any more product because it is subpar and he cannot guarantee his labor due to product imperfections. We must now pay the installer to take up installed flooring and to return to the store. We will be out the fees from the installer to remove, return product and re-install a better product from a more reputable company. Please do not purchase anything from Home Legend. They are a fraud and avoid accountability be passing blame to middle man or consumer. They do not honor their advertised warranty. We have placed a complaint with the Better Business Bureau. It seems few have because their rating appears on bbb website as a+. Please place complaints with bbb. Consumers everywhere need to know about this company. We would also like to join a class action suit against this company. They scape-goated us.


Date created: 2016-12-13
Name: Sandy C.
Location: Orlando, FL
Model: Strand Woven Sapelli HDF Bamboo

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Worst experience ever! They don't stand behind their product!"
This flooring is awful! And the company will not stand behind the product. We purchased this floor because it had a 30 year warranty from ProSource - thinking they would stand behind the product. It started cupping and delaminating within the first year! We paid to have an independently evaluated and were told that our slab floor was dry, the bottom layer was dry, the top layer was dry, but some pieces had the middle layer wet. Some pieces were way worse than others. We contacted the manufacturer, and they have denied the claim. ProSource is also not helpful. I looks awful. They should be sued! Looks like we'll be out the money to tear it out and replace it. Don't waste your money on this!


Date created: 2016-12-01
Name: K. P.
Location: Middletown, CT
Model: Hand Scraped Hickory 3/4

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Buyer Beware of This Product"
We purchased this Home Legend product through Home Depot for our living room. After 5 months, some of the boards started to crack and peel. Home Legend sent out an independent inspector who determined it was a manufacturing defect. We had the same flooring reinstalled again, figuring it was a bad batch of wood. About 6 months later, the same cracking and peeling occurred. Home Legend sent out another independent inspector who determined it was once again a manufacturing defect. I refused to have the company's product installed a third time. I went with a completely different manufacturer. I did not receive one word of apology by way of a letter or phone call from Home Legend for having to go through this stress and loss of time from work for all these installations. It's better that everyone out there knows the truth about their product.



Date created: 2016-10-14
Name: Sl
Location: Littleton Co
Model: Sedona Hand-Scraped Hardwood

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Horrible product"
We contracted with Home Depot to install 3 rooms of the Sedona maple hand- scraped Hardwood. As the planks were being taken out of the box by our Home Depot installer the varnish was flaking off on the sides and the corners. When the planks were slid together by the installer the varnish flaked off. The installer suggested not installing all three rooms so they could go back and show their management how poor the quality of the product was. Home Depot came and picked up the boxes of product that we had not already used and agreed to rush order a replacement of the same product. The installers recommended we go with a different product because the flaw was a manufacturing flaw not an anomaly. They had installed the same product with a different finish in other houses and had the exact same problem. We are now working to get a different product through Home Depot and have to have the one room ripped out and reinstalled. We are doing a major renovation of our house and this has thrown off all our subsequent contractors costing us much time and money for which we may not get any compensation by Home Legend or Home Depot.


Date created: 2016-10-07
Name: Kara
Location: Michigan

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Don't waste your money"
We bought these floors and were so excited to install them in our home. They looked beautiful when we first installed them but the very day we installed them they already were starting to scratch. We are now one year in and these floors are completely ruined, it's embarrassing how terrible they look. Home Legend says we are not their customer since we purchased these floors from Home Depot. They say the scratches are not covered by the warranty. We are out thousands of dollars and ultimately have to rip out the floors, purchase new ones and pay someone to install all over again. Do not give this awful company your business! I would suggest Home Depot discontinue their business with them as well.


Date created: 2016-09-06
Name: Rick Jefferies
Location: Tennessee

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Buyer Beware and no help from Artisent yet"
If I could rate it lower I would. Artisent Floors recommended for our application and after about six months, about a 10 foot section started peaking so badly you couldn't walk on it. Best installer in Memphis installed using bamboo adhesive recommended. A few months later it has started again, only worse. Home Legend denied warranty and to date, Artisent hasn't offered any assistance.


Date created: 2016-08-26
Name: EA
Location: Corning, NA
Model: Solid Strand Woven Bamboo

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Buyers Beware!"
With the purchase of my first home I was excited to install multiple levels of my home with the 1" solid strand woven bamboo flooring. We acclimated the flooring per manf. Instructions and ensured a proper humidity levels before out contractor installed the flooring. The floor looked great, but after Summer Fall came, then Winter,and my floors started gapping everywhere! My home owners insurance came out and stated that the board shifting and large gaps was not due to home structural issues, yet flooring issues (product or installation). I can assure you that these floors were installed correctly and were perfect for close to 8-9 months before my nightmare began. I spent the next year researching how I could fix this issue (in the interim, I painted all the large gaps to help conceal the issues, purchased more area rugs, etc.) as Home Depot and Home Legends claims were almost always denied per my research. After $6,000 and three years, I am faced with the fact that I must tear up and relay new flooring. I can promise you that it will never be home legend! Don't let the beauty of this product fool you, it is garbage!


Date created: 2016-07-12
Name: Christine Antoccia
Location: Salt Lake City

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Absolute Junk!"
I purchased this floor in September of 2015. It acclimated to my home and environment as instructed. It was installed in my living room, hallway and front entryway. Within 60-90 days the planks were splintering all over the place. I filed a claim with Home Depot in February 2016. It is now July 2016 and I am still in battle with them. Here is there settlement. They wiped out my cc charges; sent me a check for 1900$ and offered to remove the old floor and dispose of it. The only way they will pay for a new floor is if I 1) use there installers and 2) use their junky products. Homelegend sent out a so called independent inspector to my home (who gets his check from them). The Warranty was negated due to environment and installation just like all of the other reviews I have read. There needs to be a class action lawsuit against Home legends. Home Depot is trying to make it right but its really the manufacturing company that needs to be sued. Lets put our heads together and file. Buyers Beware. Do not buy from this company. I purchased the hand scraped Tuscany Hicory 3/4 " hardwood floor.



Date created: 2016-07-10
Name: Donald Hall
Location: Arizona

Satisfaction Rating:
2 of 5 stars Somewhat Unsatisfied

Review:
"Boring beetles"
We installed this product in our new home in 2008 and 5 years later we notice several individual planks became very light in color and sounded hollow when you walked on them. Eventually the planks collapsed and the entire plank was eaten up from the inside out by some kind of insect. We had the individual planks replaced only to discover more two years later. We were told it was a boring insect that was in the planks and apparently hatched at ate up the board. Not sure if others have experienced this problem or not but would not buy this product again, made in China with who knows what kind of quality control.


Date created: 2016-05-14
Name: Martha Newton
Location: Atlanta, GA

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Heartsick and ripped off"
Just had this floor installed and the color variation is unbelievable. Purchased the pre-engineered due to concrete slab floor - Matte Walnut Zoe. Some of the planks are very, very light others very dark. The result is that some of the planks even appear to be "floating". We have contacted HD and hope for a resolution. Sadly from what we have read here HD does not care and continues to sell a product that is defective, poorly manufactured and ugly. Yes - it's ugly when your floor looks like a patchwork quilt. Thanks for the forum to vent.

1234567Next >>

Find Flooring Installers
My zip code is:
How to Buy
Flooring Reviews
Flooring Materials
Flooring Brands