Consumer Reviews of Bruce wood floors

Bruce flooring logo
Popularity:
#14   of 25 brands of wood floors

25% of customers recommend
2 of 5 stars 81 reviews
  • Very Satisfied
    18
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    3
  • Neutral
    0
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    7
  • Very Unsatisfied
    53

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to Flooring.net. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of Flooring.net.

Read more about Bruce wood floors
<< Previous12345678Next >>

Date created: 2015-11-16
Name: Derek
Location: Ontario Canada
Model: Bruce Oak

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Try another product"
Absolutely terrible - wrong sized boards - bad staining - underneath was useless as knots had torn up the wood - missing chunks on top of the wood itself 4 boxes defective for 400 sq ft recommend another product.


Date created: 2015-11-15
Name: Cheryl Davis
Location: Valparaiso, IN
Model: C5011LG

Satisfaction Rating:
2 of 5 stars Somewhat Unsatisfied

Review:
"5/16 in finished hardwood - Poor quality don't recommend"
We wanted 3/4" hardwood and was told it could not be installed over our old tongue and groove sub-flooring. They then sold us the 5/16" finished Bruce flooring. They said it will be the same look and feel as the 3/4" hardwood. Not! It has only been finished for 1 week. We have snagged socks and there are little chips along the edges of the boards. It does not lock together evenly. It looks good from a distance but don't look close. There are chatter marks from the planer machines and pits from imperfections in the wood.


Date created: 2015-09-24
Name: Bob Whitling
Location: Seneca, Pa

Satisfaction Rating:
2 of 5 stars Somewhat Unsatisfied

Review:
"Very unsatisfied"
We are installing 900 feet of 3/4 solid hardwood. Did all the prep and watched moisture. Opening the boxes was a shock. Many way to many small foot long pieces. Many boards had no tongue could not use some were not even the correct color of stain. What's wrong with quality inspection department. Boxes of defective boards are going back. Never again for Bruce. I've had the product down in one room for 20 years with no problem but quality was much better with that floor. Floor almost done, should have never put it down after seeing what was in boxes. We will see?



Date created: 2015-09-03
Name: D. Marie
Location: Ponte Vedra FL
Model: Natural Floor

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"3/8" stranded bamboo floor/pergo underlayment"
This click lock flooring was purchased from a big box store and professionally installed by very reputable installers who did an excellent job in our brand new home. I researched bamboo flooring at several stores before choosing the material and on must have missed the message when I was told that "we no longer have that particular product". My $9000 floor is merely plywood with a thin sheet of brown paper (bamboo) over it. It scratches easily and can't be touched up; has white fibers coming out of some of the boards, looks dull after cleaning with the recommended cleaner plus it crunches when you walk on it. No kids or pets. We have been here only 6 weeks! This product does not live up to the hype! Do not even consider buying it.


Date created: 2015-07-10
Name: Bob Larkins
Location: Dayton, OH

Satisfaction Rating:
5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Lowes made things right"
I told Lowes about the problems I had with the lock and fold engineered flooring and they are replacing the materials with tongue and groove flooring and providing additional credit for my trouble. Bad experience, but gotta give kudos to the manager at Lowes for going out of here s way to do the right thing.


Date created: 2015-07-01
Name: Bob Larkins
Location: Dayton, OH
Model: Lock and Fold

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Lock and Fold installation problems."
I tried to install lock and fold Bruce flooring and it was a nightmare! Tongue and groove not perfect, but at least I was able to make it work.


Date created: 2015-06-25
Name: C. Luciano
Location: Rochester, NY
Model: Blond Maple

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"What a nightmare!"
I ordered hardwood floors from Home Depot in May. The wood came in and the installer declared it defective. This wood was not aligning properly. We sent the wood back and reordered it. In the meantime, we didn't have a toilet on our main level of our home since we had to pull it out to install the floor. We've been walking on plywood which is dirty and full of slivers. I watch my three small grandchildren and its utterly dangerous on their little feet. My garage is also full of stuff so I can't park my car there. New wood came in and again a new installer said it was defective. Off 1/16 inch making big gaps. Don't ever buy a Bruce floor. I guess I'm luckier than these other peoples reviews. Mine never got installed.


Date created: 2015-06-21
Name: D. Rowley
Location: Western South Dakota
Model: Lock and Fold Engineered

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Worst floor durability I’ve ever seen"
I bought this highly recommended Bruce 3-in wide Prefinished Oak Locking Hardwood Flooring from Lowe's to install in my entire 5000 sq ft home. (I obviously looked in the wrong places for recommendations!) This floor installed well but has the poorest finish durability I've ever seen. The office chair with rubber wheels dents the finish dramatically and after 6 months it looks like it's been in a commercial high traffic area instead of in a lightly used home office. We also have trouble with the click lock opening is several areas. Due to the expanse of floor covered it is almost impossible to get the affected area to squeeze back tight or to replace. After my initial displeasure, I closely read the warranty and discovered that basically anything that touches the floor needs to have felt pads or other protection on the feet to make a warranty request even possible. Lowe's has failed to stand behind this in any way and Bruce's warranty is just a joke. I don't know what I'm going to do but my brand new dream home has a substandard looking floor that I paid a premium for. I would not buy this again and recommend you don't either.



Date created: 2015-06-15
Name: P Riedel
Location: Lincoln, CA

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Beware! Bruce Flooring fraudulently failed to disclose coloring distortion"
Purchased new Bruce engineered flooring for ground floor rooms. Have normal living room, dining room, family room furniture and area rugs. Six months later, we replaced the family room rug with a smaller rug. We immediately discovered that the floor areas not covered by rugs or furniture had significantly darkened, not made lighter by light. The areas under all area rugs as well as the furniture showed significant lighter color than the open floor areas. Bruce/Lowes and Lowes independent floor specialist's responses are that Bruce's warranty disclaims responsibility for this defect. They direct consumers to their warranty in which they recommend that "Area rugs should be moved occasionally as they block sunlight and may give the appearance of discoloration under the rug." First, Bruce knows that light apparently darkens, not lightens, certain wood products they manufacture. It is not a question of "occasionally moving area rugs." Everything covering their floor will remain the original color and the uncovered floor area will significantly darken. Second, it is not a matter of "may... give the appearance of discoloration..." It is absolutely certain that covered areas will not change color the way uncovered areas will darken. The difference in colors is profound. Bruce covers up knowledge of the changes in the coloring of its wood floors and downplays the effect by recommending "occasionally" moving area rugs. Since the same discoloration exists under the legs of the furniture and everything else touching the floor directly, does this mean we must occasionally move everything else as well?


Date created: 2015-04-16
Name: John Grimmer
Location: Dolgeville N.Y.

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"20% rejects"
20% of purchased flooring was rejects. Installation costs ran higher. Carpenter had very hard time because of quality issues. Some pieces warped. Some no tongue or groove.

<< Previous12345678Next >>

Find Flooring Installers
My zip code is:
How to Buy
Flooring Reviews
Flooring Materials
Flooring Brands