Flooring.net Logo

Consumer Reviews of Bruce wood floors

Popularity:
#29  of 44 brands of wood floors

48% of customers recommend
3 of 5 stars 43 reviews
  • Very Satisfied
    18
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    3
  • Neutral
    0
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    2
  • Very Unsatisfied
    20

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to Flooring.net. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of Flooring.net.

Read more about Bruce wood floors

Read reviews of other Wood Floor brands
Write a review

<< Previous12345Next >>

Date created: 2011-05-18 Location: Las Vegas, Nevada

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Sleek and clean floor"
I have had these floors for about 3 years now. I love it because they are very easy to clean and they give off a shiny look. They are impressive and look expensive. I have not had any problems with repairs or anything yet. This is a very nice product that looks great installed. I took the time and effort to install it myself. I would considerate a moderate installation challenge and for someone who is not familiar with power tools, however; with a litte research and patenice, just about anyone could do it. This product has a durable finish that holds up well with two young kids and a large dog in the house. They claim that this product should hold up for 50 years with proper care, I would think that it might be even longer. Overall an expensive item, but I recommend this product for anyone looking to give their house hardwood floors without the mess of sanding and finishing


Date created: 2011-05-09 Location: whittier, CA

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Bruce Solid Maple Hardwood Flooring"
I have owned the Bruce Solid Maple Hardwood Flooring for about five years. I love the feel of it and how it stays cool. it gives my home a verry nice earthy feeling. The only thing i dislike about it is the fact that it scores a bit easily but we got a wax coat to take care of that, probably should have done that in the first place. we have never had to replace the flooring but I imagine it would be quite the job to do so, given that we applied the wax and what not. I would buy the same brand and id only recomend it to a friend with the same type of house and colors, altho the brand does come in eight diffrent colors.


Date created: 2011-05-09 Location: Martinsburg, WV

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Bruce hardwood floors = Scratch city"
We had Bruce hardwood floor installed on the entire main living area of our house when we had it built 3 1/2 years ago, it was one of the main investments in our home. We have pets and kids so having hard floors made better sense than carpet. I'm happy with how easy it is to clean them after the kids or dogs come running through with dirty feet, but beyond that there's nothing good about them. For the first year they looked great, but it went downhill from there. The reason I'm so unhappy with them is that the finish is not holding up as I would expect and the wood itself is very soft. If you drop anything, a large gauge is expected, but the worst is from the animals nails.... the ENTIRE floor is covered in deep scratches. It's so disappointing. I know other people with wood floors who have dogs and their floors look nothing like this. The finish is another beef, after just this short time I have areas of the flooring where the finish has worn away and the wood is bare. Also most of the planks have lost their finish around the edges. They're nothing to be proud of, that is for sure. I've tried contacting Bruce, but never heard back. I would install wood flooring again, but I'd never buy these floors again. I'd rather invest more and get something more durable.


Date created: 2011-04-29 Location: daytona beach fla

Satisfaction Rating:

2 of 5 stars Somewhat Unsatisfied

Review:
"my feelings on my wood floors"
Well in the first place the quaility of the produce seemed very good they claimed to be the thickest "veneer" top available. Sealed and ready to install. The floor went done pretty much with ease but the joints were very delicate and we had to replace a couple because the locking ridge snapped off. The cuts aroun the door ways are a little tricky and you must use bruce transitions at the doorways and to the tile. We were very pleased with this produce for about a year, then I started noticing that the cracks between the joints were getting bigger. allowing moisture from cleaning to get under the floor and start to buckle the floor. we tried everything under the sun to correct this problem even drying the floor with large heaters and then applying clearcoat over the entire surface (mind you that this floor was put down according to manufactures specs and the floor was sealed prior to the install). We had to try something to try to save the 4000 dollar investment we had . Then we noticed that the veneer started to come off the floor in the high traffic areas. To make a long boring story short we tore the floor out and put tile down and have been happy ever since. If you have pets I do not recomend this floor either. because it scratches very easy and also if you drop something on it it dents. I will never do this agian.


Date created: 2011-03-28 Location: Davenport, IA

Satisfaction Rating:

4 of 5 stars Somewhat Satisfied

Review:
"Bruce flooring improved the looks of hallway and dining room"
I purchased Bruce lock and fold flooring on a whim. While at the local hardware store, at the urging of my wife, I went for it. I loved how easy it appeared to be able to install it. That was the key selling point. No tapping and pounding with a hammer. Just snap in and fold down and it is locked. Perfect. That was the installation. Of course we used the under-layment. Which was quite easy to install as well. The only annoying part of installing the floor was all of the cuts for corners. Also getting close enough on the finish / last piece to the wall. Making sure it would be covered by the wood border. This was the main low, the cutting. In the end it was without a doubt worth the work. The look is great and adds a kind of warmth that only wood will provide a room. Now the other real advantage is the stain resistance. Carpet cannot not hold a candle to this stuff. In the mid-west winters, all of the snow, in the spring, all of the mud, the wood flooring is a damn great dream to have. Carpet gets ruined the first year. Not this stuff though. Just a quick mopping and it looks brand new. Fading has not been noticed in the color. I would not hesitate to purchase this product again. I am considering it for other rooms at the moment.


Date created: 2011-03-28 Location: Olean, NY

Satisfaction Rating:

2 of 5 stars Somewhat Unsatisfied

Review:
"You Get What You Pay For"
I purchased my home approximately 2 years ago. I bought it as a "fix-er-upper" and looked forward to the process because I could make it my own. The first place I started was my kitchen. It had a tile floor, but I always liked the thought of hard wood for easy cleanup. I found a good deal at a local home improvement store so I purchased enough to lay the floor and hired a team to install it for me. The reason I chose this product was because it was very nice looking in the box and very inexpensive for a wood floor. It took an incredibly long period of time for the installation to be completed because many of the joints on the floor were not cut properly from the manufacturer. The installation team which I hired had nothing but bad things to say about this product. After it was installed, it looked alright, but due to the defects in manufacturing, there were some areas of the floor which seemed lifted and others that seemed sunk in. The floor was not flush as you would expect. After approximately 6 months, the floor started lifting. I am not sure if this was due to poor installation of the product, or just a poor product, but I couldn't expect much more based on the condition of the product from the store. I ended up calling the company which makes the flooring and they sent in a team to replace the product for no charge. Ever since then, I have been happy with the outcome, however, I would have a hard time buying anything from this company again. The only upside to the deal was having a professional installation team come in to fix it. It took them approximately 2 weeks to get out to my home and replace the flooring. I would not recommend any flooring from this company, however they did provide excellent customer service, so I would potentially recommend another product of theirs.


Date created: 2011-03-22 Location: Detroit, Michigan

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Bruce Hardwood Floors are a Great Choice"
My husband and I chose a Bruce Hardwood floor from our local Home Depot store. We decided to install it ourselves saving around $1,000 in what labor would have cost. The installation turned out to be a relatively simple process. We installed in our kitchen, dining area and family room. Every box of the 1/4" oak flooring we received was consistently in great shape. The floor is pre-finished so no sanding was required. We finished the project about five years ago, and are as thrilled today with the completed floor as we were then. It looks spectacular and really warmed up our smaller ranch home. We have five children and a dog and it shows very little wear. We like to use a broom, vacuum, and occasionally mop the floor with a small amount of Orange Glow or the Bruce Hardwood Floor Cleaner. Both of these products bring a beautiful shine to the floor. Although we've had major spills, this flooring has never required repair. We always recommend Bruce hardwood to anyone thinking about changing their flooring. We also recommend attempting to install it yourself. The results for us have been amazing.


Date created: 2011-03-22 Location: Ithaca, NY

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"totally satisfied with my wood flooring"
I have had my wood floor for about two and a half years. When I purchased my home, it came with wall-to-wall carpeting that was awful and orange. I pulled it up myself, and put in the wood floors myself as well. This brand was affordable (I purchased it through Lowe's) and easy to put in, even though I don't have a lot of carpentry or flooring experience. It has held up great under my furniture, but more importantly it has held up great under the feet of my three dogs! I love the color, it's super easy to clean, and while there are a few dings in it the flooring basically looks brand new. If I had to do it again, I would probably get the same brand of flooring but maybe go a few shades darker; I purchased the maple variety in a very light color, and dirt shows up pretty easily on it. Otherwise, I am completely satisfied and would definitely recommend this brand to a friend.


Date created: 2011-03-18 Name: Vince Fickling
Location: Grand Bay AL.

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"You will never regret installing Bruce hardwood flooring"
I purchased and installed the Bruce Gunstock 3/4" red oak flooring in my home over 12 years ago and have always been satisfied with it. I have had numerous compliments over the years. This is the toughest wood flooring that I have ever seen.It is not cheap or simple to install but most things worth having are not cheap or easy.I guarantee that you will not be disappointed.


Date created: 2011-02-22 Location: Kent, WA

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Easy to Keep Dust Free"
I have had my Bruce Hardwood for a floor in my house for 2 years now and I could not be happier. I have covered every floor other than the kitchen and bathroom with their hardwood flooring and it has turned out great. While a wooden floor is less durable than some other options, I think the floor more than makes up for it in other areas. Unlike a carpeted floor where you can vacuum over and over again and the floor will still remain dirty underneath the rug. A wooden floor is very easy to clean, just a few passes with a push vacuum and the floor is dust free. The floor does require some polish and finishing every once in a while, but it is no worse than having to shampoo a rug every year. I would recommend a hardwood floor to anyone who wants a nice clean house without a lot of fuss.

<< Previous12345Next >>

Find Flooring Installers

My zip code is: