Flooring.net Logo

Consumer Reviews of Bruce wood floors

Popularity:
#7  of 19 brands of wood floors

42% of customers recommend
2.5 of 5 stars 49 reviews
  • Very Satisfied
    18
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    3
  • Neutral
    0
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    2
  • Very Unsatisfied
    26

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to Flooring.net. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of Flooring.net.

Read more about Bruce wood floors

Read reviews of other Wood Floor brands
Write a review

<< Previous12345Next >>

Date created: 2012-04-29 Name: John S.
Location: Nevada

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"It Doesn't Last"
Do not use in a high traffic area, and especially not in a kitchen. The finish will fail and you will have ugly worn areas within 5 years. It is not worth the cost, effort, or mess to sand and refinish. Stick with quality ceramic tile. The manufacturer will not replace the floor.


Date created: 2012-01-24 Name: Jon Cosse
Location: West Windsor, NJ

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Don't buy it!"
My daughter walked on the floor with dress shoes and it is now dented all over. We have a small decorative table with roller legs......this caused long dent lines. Centex used these in a development in West Windsor. What junk! Perhaps a class action suit would help, since there is no possible way to repair the awful floors. Gross & disgusting waste of money.


Date created: 2011-10-19 Name: Troy Hogge
Location: richmond, VA

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Hate my Bruce hardwood floor"
Just bought 550 square feet of Bruce Hardwood floor at Home Depot for $2.98 square foot. I thought $1639 just for the wood would buy you a quality product. Since it has been installed, I see new scratched and chips in the wood each day. I called Armstrong and they said I had the 15 year "wear" warranty. It is not warranted again scratches or dings. They make a 50 year warranty. This has a stronger protector on the wood. Had I known this produce would scratch this easily, I would have spent the extra $1 per square foot for the stronger protector. Hate what I have now. Cannot believe Bruce's makes a product this poor.


Date created: 2011-05-28 Location: Yakima, WA

Satisfaction Rating:
5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Hardwood in the Kitchen"
In my house we had installed a oak hardwood floor when we had moved in. It replaced the tacky 80's laminate that was previously there, and added a depth of color to our dining and kitchen areas. When we first installed the floor, it had a beautiful, almost mirror finish, but it started to wear down within a few months, but still remained very lustrous, until a chair was thrown on it, and it scuffed a little. This seemed to have sparked a small chain reaction, as the whole area around it has faded slightly.. This floor is stain resistant and is very well sealed to the elements. Although over the years it has started to warp and bend from who knows what. It is very minor, but you will get the eventual squeak when walking around on it now, which can get slightly annoying. We have owned this floor for about 8 years and probably for many more to come. I think looking back, I should have spent the extra few dollars to get some bamboo flooring, but overall this was a good, cost effective purchase, and I would recommend to a friend.


Date created: 2011-05-28 Location: Yakima, WA

Satisfaction Rating:
5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Hardwood in the Kitchen"
In my house we had installed a oak hardwood floor when we had moved in. It replaced the tacky 80's laminate that was previously there, and added a depth of color to our dining and kitchen areas. When we first installed the floor, it had a beautiful, almost mirror finish, but it started to wear down within a few months, but still remained very lustrous, until a chair was thrown on it, and it scuffed a little. This seemed to have sparked a small chain reaction, as the whole area around it has faded slightly.. This floor is stain resistant and is very well sealed to the elements. Although over the years it has started to warp and bend from who knows what. It is very minor, but you will get the eventual squeak when walking around on it now, which can get slightly annoying. We have owned this floor for about 8 years and probably for many more to come. I think looking back, I should have spent the extra few dollars to get some bamboo flooring, but overall this was a good, cost effective purchase, and I would recommend to a friend.



Date created: 2011-05-21 Location: Bellevue, NE

Satisfaction Rating:
5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"I love my hardwood floors."
I purchased Bruce Engineered Oak Hardwood Flooring Strip and Plank E146 from lowes a year ago when I started renovating my dining room. I only needed to do my dining room so I only needed one box of hardwood flooring. So I went with this one. I liked all the available patterns. They really had all the colors you could possibly think of. I love this hardwood flooring. It was very simple to install. It doesnt scratch and is super easy to clean. It is also very sturdy and doesnt get dirty easily. Its the perfect color as well; not to dark and not to light. I havent had to do any kind of alterations since I installed it a year ago and I think thats great! It still looks perfect. I would buy this item all over again if I had to do it over. I already have reccomended this to all my friends. I dont dislike anything about my hardwood flooring. Overall this is really a great product in every way.


Date created: 2011-05-18 Location: Las Vegas, Nevada

Satisfaction Rating:
5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Sleek and clean floor"
I have had these floors for about 3 years now. I love it because they are very easy to clean and they give off a shiny look. They are impressive and look expensive. I have not had any problems with repairs or anything yet. This is a very nice product that looks great installed. I took the time and effort to install it myself. I would considerate a moderate installation challenge and for someone who is not familiar with power tools, however; with a litte research and patenice, just about anyone could do it. This product has a durable finish that holds up well with two young kids and a large dog in the house. They claim that this product should hold up for 50 years with proper care, I would think that it might be even longer. Overall an expensive item, but I recommend this product for anyone looking to give their house hardwood floors without the mess of sanding and finishing


Date created: 2011-05-09 Location: whittier, CA

Satisfaction Rating:
5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Bruce Solid Maple Hardwood Flooring"
I have owned the Bruce Solid Maple Hardwood Flooring for about five years. I love the feel of it and how it stays cool. it gives my home a verry nice earthy feeling. The only thing i dislike about it is the fact that it scores a bit easily but we got a wax coat to take care of that, probably should have done that in the first place. we have never had to replace the flooring but I imagine it would be quite the job to do so, given that we applied the wax and what not. I would buy the same brand and id only recomend it to a friend with the same type of house and colors, altho the brand does come in eight diffrent colors.


Date created: 2011-05-09 Location: Martinsburg, WV

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Bruce hardwood floors = Scratch city"
We had Bruce hardwood floor installed on the entire main living area of our house when we had it built 3 1/2 years ago, it was one of the main investments in our home. We have pets and kids so having hard floors made better sense than carpet. I'm happy with how easy it is to clean them after the kids or dogs come running through with dirty feet, but beyond that there's nothing good about them. For the first year they looked great, but it went downhill from there. The reason I'm so unhappy with them is that the finish is not holding up as I would expect and the wood itself is very soft. If you drop anything, a large gauge is expected, but the worst is from the animals nails.... the ENTIRE floor is covered in deep scratches. It's so disappointing. I know other people with wood floors who have dogs and their floors look nothing like this. The finish is another beef, after just this short time I have areas of the flooring where the finish has worn away and the wood is bare. Also most of the planks have lost their finish around the edges. They're nothing to be proud of, that is for sure. I've tried contacting Bruce, but never heard back. I would install wood flooring again, but I'd never buy these floors again. I'd rather invest more and get something more durable.


Date created: 2011-04-29 Location: daytona beach fla

Satisfaction Rating:
2 of 5 stars Somewhat Unsatisfied

Review:
"my feelings on my wood floors"
Well in the first place the quaility of the produce seemed very good they claimed to be the thickest "veneer" top available. Sealed and ready to install. The floor went done pretty much with ease but the joints were very delicate and we had to replace a couple because the locking ridge snapped off. The cuts aroun the door ways are a little tricky and you must use bruce transitions at the doorways and to the tile. We were very pleased with this produce for about a year, then I started noticing that the cracks between the joints were getting bigger. allowing moisture from cleaning to get under the floor and start to buckle the floor. we tried everything under the sun to correct this problem even drying the floor with large heaters and then applying clearcoat over the entire surface (mind you that this floor was put down according to manufactures specs and the floor was sealed prior to the install). We had to try something to try to save the 4000 dollar investment we had . Then we noticed that the veneer started to come off the floor in the high traffic areas. To make a long boring story short we tore the floor out and put tile down and have been happy ever since. If you have pets I do not recomend this floor either. because it scratches very easy and also if you drop something on it it dents. I will never do this agian.

<< Previous12345Next >>

Find Flooring Installers

My zip code is: