Flooring.net Logo

Consumer Reviews of Bruce wood floors

Popularity:
#10  of 23 brands of wood floors

38% of customers recommend
2.5 of 5 stars 55 reviews
  • Very Satisfied
    18
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    3
  • Neutral
    0
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    2
  • Very Unsatisfied
    32

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to Flooring.net. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of Flooring.net.

Read more about Bruce wood floors

Read reviews of other Wood Floor brands
Write a review

<< Previous123456Next >>

Date created: 2012-09-09 Name: Jennifer rogers
Location: Port Charlotte, fl.

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Defective"
It's simply junk. Finish coming off, scratches all over the place and will not honor warranty. They say it's my fault when the rest of the house is fine. Home depot will do nothing about it either and my financial obligation was with them, they should step up. With all that I am reading there should really be a class action law suit over this junk.


Date created: 2012-08-15 Name: Susan J.
Location: New York

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Horrible Quality"
Installed flooring about six months ago. Looks nice but is very poor quality. Anything that is dropped on the floor makes chips and dents. Scratches very easily. I am a single person with no kids or pets and still have a lot of damage. Don't waste your money on this junk. Very disappointed.


Date created: 2012-08-14 Name: Lynn Hill
Location: 1339 County Rd 12, RR#1 Picton, Ontario

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"No intregrity"
11 months ago we put 52 boxes of Bruce enginerred hardwood in our new home. Within two months I was calling the customer Complaints Department noting that the wood was too soft denting and scratching and appears like fine sand paper was used on the high traffic areas. The refused to honor their warranty finally after many calls from myself and the provider they agreed to have a independent third party inspect the floor. Even though the results clearly stated this was a manufacturer related problem they are still refusing to do anything to rectify the problem. This flooring represents a huge cost to us as it was laid by a professional contractor and at the end of the day detracts from the beauty of our home. We had thought that Bruce was a "tried and true" manufacturer of hardwood floors but, in fact supplies a sub-standard product at a huge price. They have perfected the dodge the warranty to a fine art. Stay away from this company they provide a poor product and have no code of ethics.


Date created: 2012-08-07 Name: j gonza
Location: buffalo, ny

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Warped out of the box"
Steer clear of this product, bought 80 cases to go through 100 cases where over 90% of the wood was warped to where you can bounce on the board and warped on the edges creating massive gaps. They had to replace the first batch of my order as over 50% were warped and the second batch is even worse out of the box and nearly a week of acclimation. This product makes Chinese stuff look great and gives American made a bad name. I will be returning the whole lot to home depot and find a different product. Don't buy Bruce it's a synonym for crap product.


Date created: 2012-07-11 Name: a. taylor
Location: henderson nc

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Amstrong solid hardwood gunstock"
Installed floor in three separate times starting in 2008, 2009, and the last 2010. The floor I put down in 2010 I have about a dozen pieces where the finish is coming off. They sent a representative out to inspect floor and just got there response not covered under our WARRANTIES. They claim because I used 1oz of vinegar to a gal of water this is the cause of problem, its only a damp micro fiber mop and if this is the problem why do I not have a problem with the floor I put down in 08 and 09 also why only 12 pieces of the floor all were clean the same way, over$5,000 of their floor ,when you get ready to buy some new flooring I would suggest not to buy Armstrong. Their warrant sucks.



Date created: 2012-06-24 Name: pamela hiatt
Location: dubuque, IA

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Do not buy Bruce engineered wood flooring!"
I purchased a Bruce engineered floor 3 years ago in the Turlington Cherry Wood. From day one I have had nothing but problems! I asked what to clean it with and was told "anything" just don't let water stand on it but have come to learn that was not the right information. However, I could not have harmed it so fast that it looked awful from the start. I went back a few times and got no help at all, was told once to wipe it down with mineral spirits, which I did to no avail. It also scratched easily from anything from a chair (with leg caps) to couch legs to just general wear and tear. I have been nothing but disgusted and frustrated with this awful product!


Date created: 2012-04-29 Name: John S.
Location: Nevada

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"It Doesn't Last"
Do not use in a high traffic area, and especially not in a kitchen. The finish will fail and you will have ugly worn areas within 5 years. It is not worth the cost, effort, or mess to sand and refinish. Stick with quality ceramic tile. The manufacturer will not replace the floor.


Date created: 2012-01-24 Name: Jon Cosse
Location: West Windsor, NJ

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Don't buy it!"
My daughter walked on the floor with dress shoes and it is now dented all over. We have a small decorative table with roller legs......this caused long dent lines. Centex used these in a development in West Windsor. What junk! Perhaps a class action suit would help, since there is no possible way to repair the awful floors. Gross & disgusting waste of money.


Date created: 2011-10-19 Name: Troy Hogge
Location: richmond, VA

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Hate my Bruce hardwood floor"
Just bought 550 square feet of Bruce Hardwood floor at Home Depot for $2.98 square foot. I thought $1639 just for the wood would buy you a quality product. Since it has been installed, I see new scratched and chips in the wood each day. I called Armstrong and they said I had the 15 year "wear" warranty. It is not warranted again scratches or dings. They make a 50 year warranty. This has a stronger protector on the wood. Had I known this produce would scratch this easily, I would have spent the extra $1 per square foot for the stronger protector. Hate what I have now. Cannot believe Bruce's makes a product this poor.


Date created: 2011-05-28 Location: Yakima, WA

Satisfaction Rating:
5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Hardwood in the Kitchen"
In my house we had installed a oak hardwood floor when we had moved in. It replaced the tacky 80's laminate that was previously there, and added a depth of color to our dining and kitchen areas. When we first installed the floor, it had a beautiful, almost mirror finish, but it started to wear down within a few months, but still remained very lustrous, until a chair was thrown on it, and it scuffed a little. This seemed to have sparked a small chain reaction, as the whole area around it has faded slightly.. This floor is stain resistant and is very well sealed to the elements. Although over the years it has started to warp and bend from who knows what. It is very minor, but you will get the eventual squeak when walking around on it now, which can get slightly annoying. We have owned this floor for about 8 years and probably for many more to come. I think looking back, I should have spent the extra few dollars to get some bamboo flooring, but overall this was a good, cost effective purchase, and I would recommend to a friend.

<< Previous123456Next >>

Find Flooring Installers

My zip code is: