Flooring.net Logo

Consumer Reviews of Bruce wood floors

Popularity:
#10  of 23 brands of wood floors

38% of customers recommend
2.5 of 5 stars 55 reviews
  • Very Satisfied
    18
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    3
  • Neutral
    0
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    2
  • Very Unsatisfied
    32

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to Flooring.net. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of Flooring.net.

Read more about Bruce wood floors

Read reviews of other Wood Floor brands
Write a review

123456Next >>

Date created: 2015-07-01 Name: Bob Larkins
Location: Dayton, OH

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Lock and Fold installation problems."
I tried to install lock and fold Bruce flooring and it was a nightmare! Tongue and groove not perfect, but at least I was able to make it work.


Date created: 2015-06-25 Name: C. Luciano
Location: Rochester, NY

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"What a nightmare!"
I ordered hardwood floors from Home Depot in May. The wood came in and the installer declared it defective. This wood was not aligning properly. We sent the wood back and reordered it. In the meantime, we didn't have a toilet on our main level of our home since we had to pull it out to install the floor. We've been walking on plywood which is dirty and full of slivers. I watch my three small grandchildren and its utterly dangerous on their little feet. My garage is also full of stuff so I can't park my car there. New wood came in and again a new installer said it was defective. Off 1/16 inch making big gaps. Don't ever buy a Bruce floor. I guess I'm luckier than these other peoples reviews. Mine never got installed.


Date created: 2015-06-21 Name: D. Rowley
Location: Western South Dakota

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Worst floor durability Iíve ever seen"
I bought this highly recommended Bruce 3-in wide Prefinished Oak Locking Hardwood Flooring from Lowe's to install in my entire 5000 sq ft home. (I obviously looked in the wrong places for recommendations!) This floor installed well but has the poorest finish durability I've ever seen. The office chair with rubber wheels dents the finish dramatically and after 6 months it looks like it's been in a commercial high traffic area instead of in a lightly used home office. We also have trouble with the click lock opening is several areas. Due to the expanse of floor covered it is almost impossible to get the affected area to squeeze back tight or to replace. After my initial displeasure, I closely read the warranty and discovered that basically anything that touches the floor needs to have felt pads or other protection on the feet to make a warranty request even possible. Lowe's has failed to stand behind this in any way and Bruce's warranty is just a joke. I don't know what I'm going to do but my brand new dream home has a substandard looking floor that I paid a premium for. I would not buy this again and recommend you don't either.


Date created: 2015-06-15 Name: P Riedel
Location: Lincoln, CA

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Beware! Bruce Flooring fraudulently failed to disclose coloring distortion"
Purchased new Bruce engineered flooring for ground floor rooms. Have normal living room, dining room, family room furniture and area rugs. Six months later, we replaced the family room rug with a smaller rug. We immediately discovered that the floor areas not covered by rugs or furniture had significantly darkened, not made lighter by light. The areas under all area rugs as well as the furniture showed significant lighter color than the open floor areas. Bruce/Lowes and Lowes independent floor specialist's responses are that Bruce's warranty disclaims responsibility for this defect. They direct consumers to their warranty in which they recommend that "Area rugs should be moved occasionally as they block sunlight and may give the appearance of discoloration under the rug." First, Bruce knows that light apparently darkens, not lightens, certain wood products they manufacture. It is not a question of "occasionally moving area rugs." Everything covering their floor will remain the original color and the uncovered floor area will significantly darken. Second, it is not a matter of "may... give the appearance of discoloration..." It is absolutely certain that covered areas will not change color the way uncovered areas will darken. The difference in colors is profound. Bruce covers up knowledge of the changes in the coloring of its wood floors and downplays the effect by recommending "occasionally" moving area rugs. Since the same discoloration exists under the legs of the furniture and everything else touching the floor directly, does this mean we must occasionally move everything else as well?


Date created: 2015-04-16 Name: John Grimmer
Location: Dolgeville N.Y.

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"20% rejects"
20% of purchased flooring was rejects. Installation costs ran higher. Carpenter had very hard time because of quality issues. Some pieces warped. Some no tongue or groove.



Date created: 2015-02-25 Name: Pfore
Location: Albany, ga

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Fraud and deception"
Have 3 inch engineered Bruce floors in den, dining, hallway. Had nice engineered wood removed in dining so that all would match. What a mistake. Floors are curling and Lowes says it is a moisture problem. Not so! We have a dehumidifier system under this house and all readings are within normal range according to Bruce requirement. This is cheap and faulty material. My complaints will go to the better business bureau. Wasted $5,800.


Date created: 2014-10-21 Name: Diane Ladwig
Location: Lee's Summit, MO

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Horrible Purchase"
Do not - I repeat do not purchase a Bruce product. They are jerks as far as standing behind their product. We purchased their wood flooring & it has scratches all over it. We have no pets or small children and we don't wear shoes in our home. They said it normal wear & tear. Forget the 25 year warranty; they won't honor it.


Date created: 2014-10-12 Name: H. Brown
Location: Rocky Mount, NC

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Bruce engineered hardwood"
This floor is the worst. I purchased $6000 worth of flooring from a reputable carpet/hardwood floor company in Wilson, NC. I was replacing the floors in my den, dining room, kitchen and entry way. The installers were apparently contracted by the Flooring company and apparently they were the low bid on installation. They did not seem to care and I had to ask them to correct several things (ex. A large knot hole in the middle of the floor) before they had even finished. The floor is a floating floor due to my house being built on a concrete slab. The transition molding looks cheap--I do not think they are real wood and the glue that was used to install them lost it's hold long ago. The shoe molding also looks cheap. My husband dropped a can of soup on the floor and we have a permanent dent. I wish I had spent $3000 more for real wood floors. The flooring company did not stand behind the floor and Bruce Hardwood told me to contact the flooring company. They did not seem to care.


Date created: 2014-08-11 Name: Dana D. Bragg
Location: Apex, NC

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Pop & Lock Flooring"
Pop and Lock flooring is awful! Lowes will not stand behind the product and blames the install! I am out $1700 where we bought the wood. The floors make an awful popping sound, I called Lowes. They said we must have installed incorrectly, that the floor must have been uneven. I had the floor re-installed professionally, another $1400. The floors pop even worse! Lowes will not back the product. I will not shop at Lowes or buy Bruces again! The floor also dents and scratches easily. Do not let anyone tell you that it is more durable than real wood. We have real wood in another room and it is awesome.


Date created: 2014-07-24 Name: S. Mcginnis
Location: Darwell, Alberta, Canada

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"I hope this company goes out of business so consumers can install a high grade flooring."
I was an Armstrong satisfied customer until this hardwood was installed in my new home. It has very little finish, poor quality, & the reps don't even tell you the product is good. How could you work for someone when they tell you the quality of workmanship is changed & they know it. This flooring cracks 2 days after you install it! I am now banning this company & will spread the word as bad news travels quick. I have paid to install it & uninstall it & will never buy product from this company ever again!

123456Next >>

Find Flooring Installers

My zip code is: