Flooring.net Logo

Consumer Reviews of Bruce wood floors

Bruce flooring logo
Popularity:
#13  of 25 brands of wood floors

28% of customers recommend
2 of 5 stars 73 reviews
  • Very Satisfied
    18
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    3
  • Neutral
    0
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    5
  • Very Unsatisfied
    47

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to Flooring.net. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of Flooring.net.

Read more about Bruce wood floors

Read reviews of other Wood Floor brands
Write a review

12345678Next >>

Date created: 2016-06-09 Name: Gary
Location: Florida
Model: Oak Gunstock 5" Solid hardwood

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Quality Control non-extistent"
Purchased 850 sq ft of Gun Stock Solid Oak flooring. The 5 inch board are not uniform in width. Boards measured with a digital caliper range in width from 4.97 to 5.03 inches. This causes gaps between rows. Not all boards are cut square. This causes the butt joints to be tight at the top and a gap at the bottom. Some board have worm holes and knots filled with wood putty. Other boards have nicks in the finish from rough handling during manufacturing or boxing. Now that I am half way through the installation I figured out that I have to measure and sort the wood by width and install a row of the same width. Plus when I encounter a board not cut square I have to go into my wood shop, cut it square and reshape the tonge or groove. When I go shopping for other flooring for this remodel project, I will not consider Armstong/Bruce.


Date created: 2016-05-31 Name: Nat
Location: Canada
Model: American Vintage

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Waste of money!"
Purchased special order 5 " wide 3/4 thick solid wood vintage oak flint 1000 sq ft. Bruce American Vintage Handscraped collection. Installer with 30 yrs of experience advised of poor quality of flooring. Floors have holes from knots, marked by red markers, different stain pieces in box and started cracking and peeling right after installation. Over 50% of planks were deemed as defective by Home depot reps themselves. Waiting to hear from Bruce reps for more than 2 months. Paid top dollars for boxes of defective wood which said proudly manufactured in the States. Can't walk barefoot because of splinters! Promised 50 years of warranty?


Date created: 2016-05-03 Name: D.G
Location: greensboro nc

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Never buy Bruce hardwoods"
To start, I have been a profession flooring installer for about 10 years. All Of Bruce hardwood is junk! I mean its so bad I will walk away for easy jobs if it is a Bruce product... They will not stand by there product at all... It will always be someone elses fault that there stuff has problems...(and trust me it will).. If you read the box it clearly says the installer is the finale inspector so they always try to make the poor guy who was dumb enough to install there crap to pay for it.i have seen a lot of problems with the end seems being uneven (Bruce says as long as its not higher then a credit card its not a problem..),with the planks being different sizes (widths not lengths),and a lot of the finishes crack during the install. Also they have problems with warping .. All in all stay away from all of there floors



Date created: 2016-04-29 Name: Dulcie Chatwood
Location: Springfield, OR
Model: Wentworth Estate Hickory

Satisfaction Rating:
2 of 5 stars Somewhat Unsatisfied

Review:
"If I had to do it over, I wouldn't!"
While I have to give the Bruce 5" engineered Hickory planks high marks for hardness (resisting the kind of punishment our 90-lb. Retriever dishes out), after only 5 years, I can honestly say I wish I had invested more wisely. In the traffic areas, dirt has seeped into the grain of the wood and looks terrible. We live in a rainy environment, but we have always wiped up damp footprints quickly. Yet the 25-year warranty of the floor finish apparently doesn't apply, because they say I have a "maintenance problem". The fact is, people do walk on floors! I expect the product to resist staining.The finish is worthless in this regard. Just as an aesthetic comment, after I installed the floor, I was dismayed to notice that the "hand scraping" is decidedly regular, so that it looks more like corrugated cardboard than wood. I will not be purchasing this product again.


Date created: 2016-04-05 Name: Joe Baldwin
Location: Martin,Mi
Model: Marsh Oak

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Does this company believe in quality control?"
Purchased 13 cases of 3/4" marsh oak. 4 cases are absolute junk! Worm holes, bark edges, open knots, cracks, broken or totally missing tongue due to bark edge Or over milling. Another American company that has put profits ahead of quality. This junk is not fit for a campfire and I will never recommend or use this company's products again!


Date created: 2016-03-30 Name: Knot what I expected
Model: Natural Oak

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Knots"
We decided to replace carpet in our family room with oak flooring to match a nearby dining room. The contractor proposed Bruce natural oak which sample appeared to be almost identical in look to the existing Mirage brand floor. When installed the color and finish were indeed similar. But the Bruce floor was extremely heavy in knots. The Mirage floor had no knots at all. The Bruce floor looks like cheap junk. I realize that culling bad pieces is expensive but somehow Mirage can do it. Fair warning if you are shopping for wood flooring.


Date created: 2016-03-28 Name: James Burd
Location: Anchorage, AK
Model: Gunstock Oak

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Bruce engineered flooring is junk"
Bought the Gunstock oak engineered flooring. This product is junk it scratches and dings very easily. The floor is junk do not buy it you will be very dissatisfied.


Date created: 2016-03-19 Name: d. custer
Location: chesapeake va
Model: Timberland cherry

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Do not buy"
Bought Timberland cherry flooring from Home Emporium. Big mistake! This is the worst quality product I have ever seen. Planks were bowed, planks were crowned, they had different thicknesses, different widths, the stain was off from board to board, the type of wood was different from board yo board, you look at it wrong and the stain would chip... Garbage! Do not buy!



Date created: 2016-03-17 Name: D. Laurie

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Worst flooring ever."
30% of boards were warped. If warp ran along edge then you could not attach another row. They used to be excellent but since they have wood milled in China, then sprayed an packaged in the U.S. their quality has disappeared. I wonder if the warpage happens during their ocean voyage. Had to rip out 3 rows that were installed. At least Home Depot refunded our money, but Armstrong has not replied to our concerns. Do not buy this product ever.


Date created: 2016-02-24 Name: Judith Skinner
Location: Rhinelander, WI 54501

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Very disappointed in wood flooring"
When we installed this flooring (my husband and son did the installation) it was beautiful. I was so happy with it. But, wow, that changed in a hurry. The floor looks terrible. I called them and the only way they would guarantee it is if they installed it. We were not told that up front and are very very disappointed. We don't wear our shoes on it at all. Will never buy their product again! Have tried the 'repair kits' and was disappointed in them also. Takes forever to fix the 'chips'.

12345678Next >>

Find Flooring Installers

My zip code is: