Flooring.net Logo

Consumer Reviews of Bruce wood floors

Popularity:
#9  of 25 brands of wood floors

34% of customers recommend
2.5 of 5 stars 63 reviews
  • Very Satisfied
    19
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    3
  • Neutral
    0
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    4
  • Very Unsatisfied
    37

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to Flooring.net. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of Flooring.net.

Read more about Bruce wood floors

Read reviews of other Wood Floor brands
Write a review

1234567Next >>

Date created: 2015-12-13 Name: Diane Chamberlain
Location: Raleigh, NC

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Worthless Warranty (and product)"
We had Bruce engineered hardwood floors professionally installed in most of our house 3 years ago. Now the floors look like they're 20 years old. It's just my husband and I and we wear nothing but tennis shoes in the house. We do have two 17 pound Shelties whose nails are filed down every 5 weeks. We've never used water or vacuums on the floor, but there are many areas where the finish has completely worn away and many other areas where the edges of the boards are chipping. Once the finish in an area starts to deteriorate, the problem spreads as though it's a virus. Some of the damage isn't even in traffic areas. A Bruce inspector came out and said something must be 'gouging' the finish and the warranty won't cover it. I don't think so! As a matter of fact, our kitchen also has hardwood dating back to 1985 and it is in perfect shape even though it's in the busiest room of the house. So we are stuck. We've ordered a repair kit, but it's not going to repair thousands of sq feet of damage. I wish I'd read all these reviews before starting down this path.


Date created: 2015-12-11 Name: Jeannie Brown
Location: Dahlonega, GA

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Pissed off customer"
When my flooring was delivered to home depot for me to pick up it was suppose to be first quality but when I opened the boxes all of it was not even cabin quality let alone first quality and neither Bruce flooring or Home depot will let you return it. I will not buy from either again. Customer service was no help at all. I am trying to stop payment on my credit card for the purchase at this time.


Date created: 2015-11-18 Name: J. Bergers
Location: Kokomo, IN

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Quality is awful."
Flooring quality is terrible. Had to return 4 boxes out of 10. Worm holes. Pieces with no polyurethane. How does this junk get out of their plant. Btw: Bruce and Armstrong are the same company. Never buying Bruce / Armstrong flooring again.



Date created: 2015-11-16 Name: Derek
Location: Ontario Canada

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Try another product"
Absolutely terrible - wrong sized boards - bad staining - underneath was useless as knots had torn up the wood - missing chunks on top of the wood itself 4 boxes defective for 400 sq ft recommend another product.


Date created: 2015-11-15 Name: Cheryl Davis
Location: Valparaiso, IN

Satisfaction Rating:
2 of 5 stars Somewhat Unsatisfied

Review:
"5/16 in finished hardwood - Poor quality don't recommend"
We wanted 3/4" hardwood and was told it could not be installed over our old tongue and groove sub-flooring. They then sold us the 5/16" finished Bruce flooring. They said it will be the same look and feel as the 3/4" hardwood. Not! It has only been finished for 1 week. We have snagged socks and there are little chips along the edges of the boards. It does not lock together evenly. It looks good from a distance but don't look close. There are chatter marks from the planer machines and pits from imperfections in the wood.


Date created: 2015-09-24 Name: Bob Whitling
Location: Seneca, Pa

Satisfaction Rating:
2 of 5 stars Somewhat Unsatisfied

Review:
"Very unsatisfied"
We are installing 900 feet of 3/4 solid hardwood. Did all the prep and watched moisture. Opening the boxes was a shock. Many way to many small foot long pieces. Many boards had no tongue could not use some were not even the correct color of stain. What's wrong with quality inspection department. Boxes of defective boards are going back. Never again for Bruce. I've had the product down in one room for 20 years with no problem but quality was much better with that floor. Floor almost done, should have never put it down after seeing what was in boxes. We will see?


Date created: 2015-09-03 Name: D. Marie
Location: Ponte Vedra FL

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"3/8" stranded bamboo floor/pergo underlayment"
This click lock flooring was purchased from a big box store and professionally installed by very reputable installers who did an excellent job in our brand new home. I researched bamboo flooring at several stores before choosing the material and on must have missed the message when I was told that "we no longer have that particular product". My $9000 floor is merely plywood with a thin sheet of brown paper (bamboo) over it. It scratches easily and can't be touched up; has white fibers coming out of some of the boards, looks dull after cleaning with the recommended cleaner plus it crunches when you walk on it. No kids or pets. We have been here only 6 weeks! This product does not live up to the hype! Do not even consider buying it.


Date created: 2015-07-10 Name: Bob Larkins
Location: Dayton, OH

Satisfaction Rating:
5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Lowes made things right"
I told Lowes about the problems I had with the lock and fold engineered flooring and they are replacing the materials with tongue and groove flooring and providing additional credit for my trouble. Bad experience, but gotta give kudos to the manager at Lowes for going out of here s way to do the right thing.



Date created: 2015-07-01 Name: Bob Larkins
Location: Dayton, OH

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Lock and Fold installation problems."
I tried to install lock and fold Bruce flooring and it was a nightmare! Tongue and groove not perfect, but at least I was able to make it work.


Date created: 2015-06-25 Name: C. Luciano
Location: Rochester, NY

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"What a nightmare!"
I ordered hardwood floors from Home Depot in May. The wood came in and the installer declared it defective. This wood was not aligning properly. We sent the wood back and reordered it. In the meantime, we didn't have a toilet on our main level of our home since we had to pull it out to install the floor. We've been walking on plywood which is dirty and full of slivers. I watch my three small grandchildren and its utterly dangerous on their little feet. My garage is also full of stuff so I can't park my car there. New wood came in and again a new installer said it was defective. Off 1/16 inch making big gaps. Don't ever buy a Bruce floor. I guess I'm luckier than these other peoples reviews. Mine never got installed.

1234567Next >>

Find Flooring Installers

My zip code is: