Consumer Reviews of Bruce wood floors

Bruce flooring logo
Popularity:
#14   of 25 brands of wood floors

25% of customers recommend
2 of 5 stars 81 reviews
  • Very Satisfied
    18
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    3
  • Neutral
    0
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    7
  • Very Unsatisfied
    53

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to Flooring.net. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of Flooring.net.

Read more about Bruce wood floors
12345678Next >>

Date created: 2016-11-30
Name: A Boyer
Location: Boston, MA
Model: 3 1/4" Gunstock oak solid hw

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Too many shorts"
I strongly recommend against this product. When I purchased it, I understood the product to be random lengths, but there are far too many short pieces. Specifically, I purchased five boxes of this product. The first two were not great in terms of length, but were usable. The third had over thirty pieces less than two feet long and a few longer pieces, with the shortest piece measuring just 9.5" long. Needless to say, it's pretty hard to lay those in a way that doesn't look awful. I contacted the company, concerned that maybe this was just something that had slipped through, but they saw no problem when I described what I had received. I'll be boxing up and returning what I have, and tearing up and discarding what I can't return.


Date created: 2016-11-05
Name: D. Narigon
Location: Dayton, Ohio

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Maple click and lock"
Flooring is advertised as scratch resistant. It is not, my dog scratches it with her toe nails. Also installed in a kitchen with advice from Home Depot. Not suitable at all, the floor can't handle any water at all even for a sort duration. One of the worst products I've purchased. Looks great but is not holding up after less than a week installed.


Date created: 2016-10-29
Name: douglas graham
Location: niles mo

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Locking hardwood"
I have put in hundreds of floors in the past 40 years. This was expensive by far the worst floor for wear and tear. Looks great but don't walk spill drop nothing on it. It will dent scratch stain easy wheel something across it it will leave ruts. Can't wait to throw this garbage away. Do not buy!



Date created: 2016-08-18
Name: P. Liebschutz
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Model: Cherry Engineered

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Discolorization Review"
Floor discolors (oxidizes) hugely. This has nothing to do with direct sunlight, but if you put any furniture with a solid base or any rug on it--an outline will form. You will then have to move furniture/rug for 3-4 months to get flooring back to all one color. Please check under rugs/furniture before you move/sell, as you will need a significant amount of time to correct problem. Bruce says this is "normal". We have had other brands of engineered lumber flooring and they did not do this.


Date created: 2016-08-05
Name: P Channell
Location: Webster WV

Satisfaction Rating:
2 of 5 stars Somewhat Unsatisfied

Review:
"Damaged"
Bought hardwood for my kitchen,when putting it down most of the pieces were damaged, so didn't have enough to finish the rest of the floors because so much was damaged had to go and purchase another box to finish the rest, very unsatisfied, plus we couldn't get our money returned.


Date created: 2016-07-20
Name: John Thompson
Location: Ladd, Illinois
Model: Gunmetal color

Satisfaction Rating:
2 of 5 stars Somewhat Unsatisfied

Review:
"Hardwood flooring disappointment"
About six (6) years ago, my wife and I decided to build a family room addition onto our existing home. We selected a professional contractor who among other questions of decor, directed us to a flooring supplier. We found a great color that was produced by Bruce Flooring and proceeded with the purchase and installation. Approximately three (3) years after completion, I noticed some deterioration of the hardwood flooring in an area near a doorway. We have verified there is no moisture damage and the flooring is not in a direct southern exposure (the section that is deteriorating is on the north side of the room near an exterior French door. I sent photos and an inquiry to the manufacturer about six (6) months ago and have had no response. My thoughts are they are not going to respond, as they have no explanation. If you are considering this type of flooring, be cautious and do your research well. We are very disappointed in this material.


Date created: 2016-06-22
Name: A. Ton
Location: Atlanta, GA
Model: Hickory - Solid Hardwood - Smoke

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Poor quality finish"
Bought this precise flooring - Bruce Hickory - Smokey Topaz - 4 inch wide planks (Bruce c4778). Finish is extremely poor quality - within less than a month after installation, the finish is cracking (long cracks - talking 2-10 inches long cracks) and it chips by the edges as well. We barely got to walk with bare feet on it. All furniture has felt pads. After doing some reading online, it turns out many Bruce/ Armstrong consumers are facing the same issues. Armstrong became expert at dodging honoring the warranty. Moreover, many planks were warped and also width of the plank was not consistent (one end would have 4 inches while the other would be slightly less than 4). Also, there were a lot of pieces with defects (holes). There was one box from which the installer could only choose 4 decent pieces. When the installation took place, the space was empty (we just bought the property). Now we moved in so any repair / resanding and refinishing would create discomfort to us. When I submitted a review on Armstrong/Bruce website, they did not post the review online. The company is hiding the bad reputation as much as they can. Do yourself a favor and stay away from Armstrong/Bruce products. We bought this wood from Floor and Decor but from what I understand it can be also ordered at Home Depot or Lowe's as well as other stores.


Date created: 2016-06-09
Name: Gary
Location: Florida
Model: Oak Gunstock 5" Solid hardwood

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Quality Control non-extistent"
Purchased 850 sq ft of Gun Stock Solid Oak flooring. The 5 inch board are not uniform in width. Boards measured with a digital caliper range in width from 4.97 to 5.03 inches. This causes gaps between rows. Not all boards are cut square. This causes the butt joints to be tight at the top and a gap at the bottom. Some board have worm holes and knots filled with wood putty. Other boards have nicks in the finish from rough handling during manufacturing or boxing. Now that I am half way through the installation I figured out that I have to measure and sort the wood by width and install a row of the same width. Plus when I encounter a board not cut square I have to go into my wood shop, cut it square and reshape the tonge or groove. When I go shopping for other flooring for this remodel project, I will not consider Armstong/Bruce.



Date created: 2016-05-31
Name: Nat
Location: Canada
Model: American Vintage

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Waste of money!"
Purchased special order 5 " wide 3/4 thick solid wood vintage oak flint 1000 sq ft. Bruce American Vintage Handscraped collection. Installer with 30 yrs of experience advised of poor quality of flooring. Floors have holes from knots, marked by red markers, different stain pieces in box and started cracking and peeling right after installation. Over 50% of planks were deemed as defective by Home depot reps themselves. Waiting to hear from Bruce reps for more than 2 months. Paid top dollars for boxes of defective wood which said proudly manufactured in the States. Can't walk barefoot because of splinters! Promised 50 years of warranty?


Date created: 2016-05-03
Name: D.G
Location: greensboro nc

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Never buy Bruce hardwoods"
To start, I have been a profession flooring installer for about 10 years. All Of Bruce hardwood is junk! I mean its so bad I will walk away for easy jobs if it is a Bruce product... They will not stand by there product at all... It will always be someone elses fault that there stuff has problems...(and trust me it will).. If you read the box it clearly says the installer is the finale inspector so they always try to make the poor guy who was dumb enough to install there crap to pay for it.i have seen a lot of problems with the end seems being uneven (Bruce says as long as its not higher then a credit card its not a problem..),with the planks being different sizes (widths not lengths),and a lot of the finishes crack during the install. Also they have problems with warping .. All in all stay away from all of there floors

12345678Next >>

Find Flooring Installers
My zip code is:
How to Buy
Flooring Reviews
Flooring Materials
Flooring Brands