Consumer Reviews of Bruce wood floors

Bruce flooring logo
Popularity:
#14   of 25 brands of wood floors

24% of customers recommend
2 of 5 stars 85 reviews
  • Very Satisfied
    18
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    3
  • Neutral
    0
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    7
  • Very Unsatisfied
    57

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to Flooring.net. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of Flooring.net.

Read more about Bruce wood floors
123456789Next >>

Date created: 2017-02-16
Name: CLS
Location: Toronto, CA

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Worst product ever"
Bought over 50 boxes of 5" Red Oak 3/4 hardwood floor from Bruce; almost 35% of the content was unusable: - curved boards - most pieces are short; in a box more then half will be below 48" and -maybe- a long one, but guess what; will be curved / crooked so you cant't use it - irregular borders some with splinters and the most annoying one, uneven width; so a plank/board maybe 5 1/16" wide in one side and 4 15/16 in the other so this leads to gaps during installation !! worst product ever!


Date created: 2016-12-30
Name: John
Location: Kansas
Model: 5" prefinished oak

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Worst flooring ever"
I installed about 1400 square feet. This is the worst floor ever. Many pieces were under 12 inches long. Pieces were split, warped, or cut un- square. Do not buy.


Date created: 2016-12-28
Name: Kathryn P
Location: Denton, TX
Model: Turlington Gunstock 3"

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Mistake"
I had Bruce Turlington engineered wood installed in a few rooms in my house. I had hardwood in other rooms for many years, and loved it. I was sold this Bruce product as "essentially" the same thing I had already. What a lie. While my old floors look great and are easy to maintain, my new floors, less than one year old, look horrible. They discolored in places, dent and chip easily, and look/feel like they are coated in plastic. I've never been more disappointed in a home product than I am with these floors. I had them professionally installed to specifications, so it is not an installation problem. It is just a really inferior product, and I would not recommend it to anyone for any purpose. I wish I had not purchased it.



Date created: 2016-12-12
Name: Sara
Location: Canonsburg, PA

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"1 year old and already destroyed"
We spent $18,000 on all of our flooring, including our entire downstairs with maple hardwood which I was guaranteed was very strong. We have a pomeranian...again a pomeranian, and our floors are completely destroyed by his nails. Every single inch is has a nail scratch on it. I called Bruce to come over and look and they said their hardwood warranty is not covered by pets. Awesome Thanks for a terrible, pricey product that is cheap. A pomeranian should not do that type of damage on hardwood floors.


Date created: 2016-11-30
Name: A Boyer
Location: Boston, MA
Model: 3 1/4" Gunstock oak solid hw

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Too many shorts"
I strongly recommend against this product. When I purchased it, I understood the product to be random lengths, but there are far too many short pieces. Specifically, I purchased five boxes of this product. The first two were not great in terms of length, but were usable. The third had over thirty pieces less than two feet long and a few longer pieces, with the shortest piece measuring just 9.5" long. Needless to say, it's pretty hard to lay those in a way that doesn't look awful. I contacted the company, concerned that maybe this was just something that had slipped through, but they saw no problem when I described what I had received. I'll be boxing up and returning what I have, and tearing up and discarding what I can't return.


Date created: 2016-11-05
Name: D. Narigon
Location: Dayton, Ohio

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Maple click and lock"
Flooring is advertised as scratch resistant. It is not, my dog scratches it with her toe nails. Also installed in a kitchen with advice from Home Depot. Not suitable at all, the floor can't handle any water at all even for a sort duration. One of the worst products I've purchased. Looks great but is not holding up after less than a week installed.


Date created: 2016-10-29
Name: douglas graham
Location: niles mo

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Locking hardwood"
I have put in hundreds of floors in the past 40 years. This was expensive by far the worst floor for wear and tear. Looks great but don't walk spill drop nothing on it. It will dent scratch stain easy wheel something across it it will leave ruts. Can't wait to throw this garbage away. Do not buy!


Date created: 2016-08-18
Name: P. Liebschutz
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Model: Cherry Engineered

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Discolorization Review"
Floor discolors (oxidizes) hugely. This has nothing to do with direct sunlight, but if you put any furniture with a solid base or any rug on it--an outline will form. You will then have to move furniture/rug for 3-4 months to get flooring back to all one color. Please check under rugs/furniture before you move/sell, as you will need a significant amount of time to correct problem. Bruce says this is "normal". We have had other brands of engineered lumber flooring and they did not do this.



Date created: 2016-08-05
Name: P Channell
Location: Webster WV

Satisfaction Rating:
2 of 5 stars Somewhat Unsatisfied

Review:
"Damaged"
Bought hardwood for my kitchen,when putting it down most of the pieces were damaged, so didn't have enough to finish the rest of the floors because so much was damaged had to go and purchase another box to finish the rest, very unsatisfied, plus we couldn't get our money returned.


Date created: 2016-07-20
Name: John Thompson
Location: Ladd, Illinois
Model: Gunmetal color

Satisfaction Rating:
2 of 5 stars Somewhat Unsatisfied

Review:
"Hardwood flooring disappointment"
About six (6) years ago, my wife and I decided to build a family room addition onto our existing home. We selected a professional contractor who among other questions of decor, directed us to a flooring supplier. We found a great color that was produced by Bruce Flooring and proceeded with the purchase and installation. Approximately three (3) years after completion, I noticed some deterioration of the hardwood flooring in an area near a doorway. We have verified there is no moisture damage and the flooring is not in a direct southern exposure (the section that is deteriorating is on the north side of the room near an exterior French door. I sent photos and an inquiry to the manufacturer about six (6) months ago and have had no response. My thoughts are they are not going to respond, as they have no explanation. If you are considering this type of flooring, be cautious and do your research well. We are very disappointed in this material.

123456789Next >>

Find Flooring Installers
My zip code is:
How to Buy
Flooring Reviews
Flooring Materials
Flooring Brands