Flooring.net Logo

Consumer Reviews of Bruce wood floors

Bruce flooring logo
Popularity:
#13  of 25 brands of wood floors

29% of customers recommend
2 of 5 stars 71 reviews
  • Very Satisfied
    18
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    3
  • Neutral
    0
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    5
  • Very Unsatisfied
    45

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to Flooring.net. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of Flooring.net.

Read more about Bruce wood floors

Read reviews of other Wood Floor brands
Write a review

1234567Next >>

Date created: 2016-05-03 Name: D.G
Location: greensboro nc

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Never buy Bruce hardwoods"
To start, I have been a profession flooring installer for about 10 years. All Of Bruce hardwood is junk! I mean its so bad I will walk away for easy jobs if it is a Bruce product... They will not stand by there product at all... It will always be someone elses fault that there stuff has problems...(and trust me it will).. If you read the box it clearly says the installer is the finale inspector so they always try to make the poor guy who was dumb enough to install there crap to pay for it.i have seen a lot of problems with the end seems being uneven (Bruce says as long as its not higher then a credit card its not a problem..),with the planks being different sizes (widths not lengths),and a lot of the finishes crack during the install. Also they have problems with warping .. All in all stay away from all of there floors


Date created: 2016-04-29 Name: Dulcie Chatwood
Location: Springfield, OR
Model: Wentworth Estate Hickory

Satisfaction Rating:
2 of 5 stars Somewhat Unsatisfied

Review:
"If I had to do it over, I wouldn't!"
While I have to give the Bruce 5" engineered Hickory planks high marks for hardness (resisting the kind of punishment our 90-lb. Retriever dishes out), after only 5 years, I can honestly say I wish I had invested more wisely. In the traffic areas, dirt has seeped into the grain of the wood and looks terrible. We live in a rainy environment, but we have always wiped up damp footprints quickly. Yet the 25-year warranty of the floor finish apparently doesn't apply, because they say I have a "maintenance problem". The fact is, people do walk on floors! I expect the product to resist staining.The finish is worthless in this regard. Just as an aesthetic comment, after I installed the floor, I was dismayed to notice that the "hand scraping" is decidedly regular, so that it looks more like corrugated cardboard than wood. I will not be purchasing this product again.


Date created: 2016-04-05 Name: Joe Baldwin
Location: Martin,Mi
Model: Marsh Oak

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Does this company believe in quality control?"
Purchased 13 cases of 3/4" marsh oak. 4 cases are absolute junk! Worm holes, bark edges, open knots, cracks, broken or totally missing tongue due to bark edge Or over milling. Another American company that has put profits ahead of quality. This junk is not fit for a campfire and I will never recommend or use this company's products again!



Date created: 2016-03-30 Name: Knot what I expected
Model: Natural Oak

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Knots"
We decided to replace carpet in our family room with oak flooring to match a nearby dining room. The contractor proposed Bruce natural oak which sample appeared to be almost identical in look to the existing Mirage brand floor. When installed the color and finish were indeed similar. But the Bruce floor was extremely heavy in knots. The Mirage floor had no knots at all. The Bruce floor looks like cheap junk. I realize that culling bad pieces is expensive but somehow Mirage can do it. Fair warning if you are shopping for wood flooring.


Date created: 2016-03-28 Name: James Burd
Location: Anchorage, AK
Model: Gunstock Oak

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Bruce engineered flooring is junk"
Bought the Gunstock oak engineered flooring. This product is junk it scratches and dings very easily. The floor is junk do not buy it you will be very dissatisfied.


Date created: 2016-03-19 Name: d. custer
Location: chesapeake va
Model: Timberland cherry

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Do not buy"
Bought Timberland cherry flooring from Home Emporium. Big mistake! This is the worst quality product I have ever seen. Planks were bowed, planks were crowned, they had different thicknesses, different widths, the stain was off from board to board, the type of wood was different from board yo board, you look at it wrong and the stain would chip... Garbage! Do not buy!


Date created: 2016-03-17 Name: D. Laurie

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Worst flooring ever."
30% of boards were warped. If warp ran along edge then you could not attach another row. They used to be excellent but since they have wood milled in China, then sprayed an packaged in the U.S. their quality has disappeared. I wonder if the warpage happens during their ocean voyage. Had to rip out 3 rows that were installed. At least Home Depot refunded our money, but Armstrong has not replied to our concerns. Do not buy this product ever.


Date created: 2016-02-24 Name: Judith Skinner
Location: Rhinelander, WI 54501

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Very disappointed in wood flooring"
When we installed this flooring (my husband and son did the installation) it was beautiful. I was so happy with it. But, wow, that changed in a hurry. The floor looks terrible. I called them and the only way they would guarantee it is if they installed it. We were not told that up front and are very very disappointed. We don't wear our shoes on it at all. Will never buy their product again! Have tried the 'repair kits' and was disappointed in them also. Takes forever to fix the 'chips'.



Date created: 2015-12-13 Name: Diane Chamberlain
Location: Raleigh, NC

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Worthless Warranty (and product)"
We had Bruce engineered hardwood floors professionally installed in most of our house 3 years ago. Now the floors look like they're 20 years old. It's just my husband and I and we wear nothing but tennis shoes in the house. We do have two 17 pound Shelties whose nails are filed down every 5 weeks. We've never used water or vacuums on the floor, but there are many areas where the finish has completely worn away and many other areas where the edges of the boards are chipping. Once the finish in an area starts to deteriorate, the problem spreads as though it's a virus. Some of the damage isn't even in traffic areas. A Bruce inspector came out and said something must be 'gouging' the finish and the warranty won't cover it. I don't think so! As a matter of fact, our kitchen also has hardwood dating back to 1985 and it is in perfect shape even though it's in the busiest room of the house. So we are stuck. We've ordered a repair kit, but it's not going to repair thousands of sq feet of damage. I wish I'd read all these reviews before starting down this path.


Date created: 2015-12-11 Name: Jeannie Brown
Location: Dahlonega, GA

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Pissed off customer"
When my flooring was delivered to home depot for me to pick up it was suppose to be first quality but when I opened the boxes all of it was not even cabin quality let alone first quality and neither Bruce flooring or Home depot will let you return it. I will not buy from either again. Customer service was no help at all. I am trying to stop payment on my credit card for the purchase at this time.

1234567Next >>

Find Flooring Installers

My zip code is: