Flooring.net Logo

Consumer Reviews of Bellawood wood floors

Popularity:
#6  of 23 brands of wood floors

42% of customers recommend
3 of 5 stars 28 reviews
  • Very Satisfied
    9
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    3
  • Neutral
    1
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    2
  • Very Unsatisfied
    13

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to Flooring.net. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of Flooring.net.

Read more about Bellawood wood floors

Read reviews of other Wood Floor brands
Write a review

<< Previous123Next >>

Date created: 2012-09-15 Name: Terri Weedeman
Location: Stafford, VA

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"NEVER AGAIN!!!"
If only I had read some of these reviews before I installed our Bellawood Brazillian Cherry floor!!! I hate it!!! Although the floor is beautiful when you don't walk on it!!! The minute someone steps on our foyer floor with or without shoes I have smudgey foot marks on them!!! When we bought the floor we bought the Bellawood floor cleaner that was recommended but to no avail!!!!! I just use a damp mop and mop it every time I see footprints!!! If we could afford to, I would replace it and never look back!!!!!


Date created: 2012-05-01 Name: John Larsen
Location: Las Vegas, NV

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"This floor stinks"
We spent a lot of time shopping around at various home stores and finally went with Bellawood Brazillian Cherry from Lumber Liquidators. One of our biggest concerns was scratches since we have two dogs. The salesman said absolutely no problem due to the 8 coats of finish. Installation was a pain. It took four weeks to install 800 sq ft. We could only lay down 12" of flooring at one time since the concrete glue would not keep the boards in place until it set for 12 hours. We started to see scratches almost immediately so we put some throw rugs on the floor. Salesman didn't tell us the floor would darken and after four week, we had darkening around the throw rugs. So now we don't wear shoes in the house and the dogs are banned from the rooms with Bellawood. We've worked with other wood floors in the past, refinishing with polyurethane, and never had a problem with scratches. Even Minwas polyurethand, which is not made for floors, is more scratch resistant than Bellawood. I can hardly wait for the next 12 months to start having some of the other problems others have had. Worst product I've bought to date and recommend staying away from Bellawood.


Date created: 2012-03-24 Name: J. Bonner
Location: PA

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"bellawood floor mop"
The Bellawood floor cleaner works good, but the mop that comes with the kit is horrible. You have to constantly try to lock it into place every 10 seconds to avoid bending over. We have two mops, same issue. Piece of junk. Thanks


Date created: 2012-03-10 Name: Mike Frye
Location: Fort Worth, TX

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Does not honor warranty"
In 2008 we made an addition to our house. We had seen the adds for Lumber Liquidators on your network and chose the Bellawood Brazilian mesquite. The installer did a superb job and the floor looked beautiful until we began moving in. Every piece of furniture we placed on the floor scratched the surface and the scratches could not be polished out. Dents and scratches began showing up in places where there was no traffic. After two years the beautiful cherry wood red stain began turning honey gold every where the sun hit the floor. Now we have a two tone floor. When I contacted Lumber Liquidators they forwarded to Bellawood. The Bellawood representative informed me that I had to send in pictures. Apparently they do not do on site inspections. They denied any and all claims for warranty resolution. They said they were not responsible for fading or scratches. What good is a 100 year warranty if it does not cover anything? I tell all my friends to stay away from Lumber Liquidators and Bellawood products. Since our problems I have researched other reviews and found that our experience is not exceptional. Rather it seems to be rather normal. In addition when the flooring was installed we had better than 15% waste. That added significantly to the cost.


Date created: 2011-11-07 Name: Jeanette
Location: Lake Forest CA

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Bellawood, Never again"
Bellawood has such a tight warranty that it covers practically nothing. They don't have any installers so any errors are pointed at the installer. There is unending finger pointing if you have any problems with flaws in the wood as we did. Everything in sight scratches this floor very visibly. We had oak parquet previously and no scratches ever showed. Prefinished floors - no way.



Date created: 2011-07-27 Name: M. Seaman
Location: El Paso, TX

Satisfaction Rating:
2 of 5 stars Somewhat Unsatisfied

Review:
"My first warp"
My husband and I purchased Brazilian Koa Bellawood flooring last November after about two weeks of comparing prices and styles. This was our first hardwood floor purchase and I wish we had done more research before going ahead with the decision. We were told that it was pretty easy to install and as we are handy individuals we decided to do the install ourselves on top of the concrete slab. We did everything that the website said to do for prep and climate acclimation and then began to lay the floors. That is when the problems began. We began by inspecting the flooring and found two whole boxes that we couldn't utilize at all because of the cracks, warps and just shoddy work from the quality control department at Bellawood. I understand that this is natural wood and that it is going to have imperfections....I know this but at a certain point the QC people should be able to look into a box and see that the entire thing is cracked and broken. We didn't realize that is what the 10% was for when we bought the wood. The salesman had said that it was for end cuts and waste and that any damaged merchandise could be returned for a swap. When we tried to do that, the same salesman looked at me like I had lost my mind and said that because we had opened the box, he couldn't resell it and we had to identify the damage before the box was opened. So basically, if the cardboard around the wood is damaged then they replace it but if the actual wood is not checked by the factory it's on the consumer to absorb the cost. The glue that you use is the stickiest stuff known to man and incredibly hard to work with. Imagine spreading the stickiest taffy over 700 square foot of concrete. It took us over 45 man hours of work to get the floor in. By the time we finished the floor we already had scratches on them from where our two dogs had been running around. The gloss coat is extremely weak and even the sliding of a plastic chair can cause scratches and rubs to appear. Now I come to today's discovery.... I live in El Paso and it is officially the "rainy season" right now. This means we have maybe 35% humidity in the air and it has stormed about five days so far since February. I was sweeping the floor and stepped down in a section that has suddenly sprung both a buckle and a separation of wood to glue that is about 1.5 ft wide and 5 ft long. It wasn't there last night and I know that water hasn't gotten in because I am meticulous about the material I use to clean this floor and we haven't had a flood. When I went back over the warranty I found that this is mother nature and we are out of luck. So, although the floors look spectacular at night with soft can lighting and shine brightly when cleaned in sunlight...and though I get plenty of compliments on them when we entertain.....I Will never purchase this product or any other Bellawood product again. Honestly, I will never give Lumber Liquidators another dollar for the service and shady way they handle their sales. My best piece of advice....Read their warranty thoroughly. You will see that it covers damage to the cardboard box the wood comes in and that is about it.


Date created: 2011-05-28 Location: Asheboro, NC

Satisfaction Rating:
4 of 5 stars Somewhat Satisfied

Review:
"My Beautiful Hard Wood Floor"
I have owned my lovely wood floor for about one year now. I absolutely love it. First of all, it is very durable. I also like the beautiful color of my wood floor. It is really classy, and I get a lot of compliments on it from my friends. I also like the fact that it is really easy for me to clean. I just run a mop over it, and it is very shiny. The only complaint that I have is that it seems like it gets a lot of scratches on it. I have a young child and two dogs, so they tend to run across the floor a lot. It does have a few scratches, but nobody can really tell that they are there. I have never needed to repair or replace this floor since I got it. I would definitely recommend this brand of wood floor to any of my friends.


Date created: 2011-03-16 Name: Amy Lamb
Location: lawton, ok

Satisfaction Rating:
4 of 5 stars Somewhat Satisfied

Review:
"Bella Bellawood"
Beautiful, durable hardwood flooring


Date created: 2011-02-22 Location: Sacramento, CA

Satisfaction Rating:
5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Our house has been greatly improved"
We went with Bellawood prefinished hardwood floors because we wanted the real deal, and also because we had heard good things about their installation process. The thing I like best about our floors, besides all of the technical aspects like durability and lifespan, is simply the color scheme we ended up choosing. The color we picked is called American Cherry, and it has a richness that I haven't seen with other hardwood floors. The prefinished hardwood we picked already had gloss and the protectants it needed, so from the second it was laid down it already had this great sheen to it. Basically, it really breathed life and sophistication into our home. We originally had carpet, and you wouldn't believe how these hardwood floors changed our home, and our feelings about our home. We are much more proud of where we live, and we have hosted more events and parties at our home since the change. I would definitely recommend that friends and family use Bellawood. This company has great options, and they were really helpful and informative with all of the steps in the process.


Date created: 2011-02-21 Location: Okemos, MI

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Bellawood Brand Is Bad News"
I have had ugly green carpet installed in my home for many years since I did not have it removed when I bought the house but I have always wanted to get rid of it. So about a year and a half ago I decided to go out and search for some hardwood flooring. The reason I wanted hardwood floors is because I like the clean, elegant look of it and I know that they are durable and easy to clean. After a few weeks of searching I decided to go with Belladonna because of the good prices they had for their flooring options. I had the floors installed by professionals and at first they held up pretty well. But about six months ago I began to see changes. The floors are beginning to lose their shape and they are deforming, especially at the corners where the floor boards meet. The boards have begun to bend and disfigure underneath table legs, chair legs, and underneath other appliances. I thought that I had gotten a good deal but now I see they are worth the money you pay for them: not much. I am very disappointed in the product and I would like to warn anyone thinking about buying Belladonna to rethink their decision. There are better options out there and I am now starting to believe it when they say you get what you pay for.

<< Previous123Next >>

Find Flooring Installers

My zip code is: