Flooring.net Logo

Consumer Reviews of Bellawood wood floors

Popularity:
#6  of 23 brands of wood floors

42% of customers recommend
3 of 5 stars 28 reviews
  • Very Satisfied
    9
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    3
  • Neutral
    1
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    2
  • Very Unsatisfied
    13

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to Flooring.net. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of Flooring.net.

Read more about Bellawood wood floors

Read reviews of other Wood Floor brands
Write a review

123Next >>

Date created: 2015-06-30 Name: Glen Pettit
Location: Eaton Rapis, MI

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Shrinking and squeaks"
We had 900 sq ft ($5,000) of Bella Wood Birch 3/4" professionally installed in August 2014. This Spring 2015 we are very unhappy because of the shrinking and in turn the squeaking of the staples. Floor looked great when installed (by 20 yr exp flooring team), flawless & beautiful. Our house has temp & humidity control all year, high and dry in Spring. Flooring was in house 3-4 weeks prior install. The gaps today are often 1/8 on width and up to 3/8" on ends, entire 1st floor was covered, no transitions. Just two adults in house, no wear on floor, just "gaps from shrinking'. Our local L.L. store people in Lansing is nice & understanding, but claims must go via Lumber Liquidators Corporate office. Very slow responses, lots of photos and info were sent, names & phones #'s to send (they did not call any), in 8 weeks received a form letter saying "no basis for claim". Floor does look very bad, very noticeable gaps & squeaks all over, we are very unhappy. Our Installer refuses to do any more jobs with L.L. products and has heard this "no bases" claim excuse from other local installers. He strongly feels the wood was not properly treated, aged, and dried at the Bella Wood factory, and that they do not honor their factory 'guarantee'. Bella Wood will only work with L.L., not us final customers.


Date created: 2015-05-07 Name: ANGELA MANNING
Location: Clearwater Florida

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Scratches all over, difficult to clean"
I was told by the Sales Lady at Lumber Liquidators in St. Pete Florida that Bellawood Brazilian Koa was extremely durable and would withstand heavy traffic - Lies... There is just one dog, one cat and myself in the house. Scratches all over the floor, and it is exceptionally difficult to keep clean - looks atrocious. Stay away from this product. So much for the 100 yr. warranty!


Date created: 2015-02-27 Name: Paula
Location: Oconomowoc Wisconsin

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Don't do it"
Don't be tempted. Beautiful in the box on a wall display. Don't put it on your floors. Within a years time with two adults no shoes on in the house a paved drive way and walkways. We ended up with excess of a hundred marks scratches and dents. Ridiculous within a year and a half time it looks like it needs to be refinished the top clear coat has chipped off in many places. I dropped a key ring with one key on it and it left a dent and chipped the surface finish. When I contacted Lumber Liquidators they ignored my claims and sent me instruction sheets on how to care for my wood floors. I did and have been doing everything recommended in nose wonderful document. With no avail. Steer clear and get another brand you will be unhappy.


Date created: 2015-02-15 Name: Ryan Williams
Location: Austin, Tx

Satisfaction Rating:
5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Please be more intelligent"
These reviews are ridiculous. People saying that a natural maple changed colors, and when they removed their rug it was a different color... That will happen with any unstained floor where the natural characteristics of the wood are to change. Please do your research before posting. Dragging anything on any finished floor will scratch if you don't have pads on it. I've had a Bellawood red oak for 5 years now and I couldn't be happier.


Date created: 2015-02-12 Name: T. Sumrell
Location: Amelia, VA

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Engineered wood flooring is horrible!"
I bought engineered flooring for the entire house 5 years ago. I did the happy dance when I ripped it up a week ago! It was horrible! It did not "snap" together easily. Walking on it felt like you were walking on a piece of plastic that was just sitting on the floor. The entire room just floated up when I removed the molding. The edges quickly (within months) began to pucker up, leaving warped edges, in various areas in every room. It can not be cleaned as it leaves a white look to it with any sort of cleaning I tried. And it remained "gritty" feeling. On the great side, I was able to remove the entire room's worth within minutes! It was a total waste of about 5 grand. Don't bother with "engineered" wood. It's not really wood. It is actually particle board with a very thin layer of fake wood. Just trying to save you some trouble and dollars. Going with real wood this time.



Date created: 2015-02-09 Name: Spanky
Location: MI

Satisfaction Rating:
3 of 5 stars Neutral

Review:
"Ineteresting Reviews"
I see a bunch of people complaining about "scratches" from furniture. Remember, anything harder than your floor will physically scratch (metal tips on furniture feet) it and anything softer will "mar" or impart material on your floor (nylon furniture feet or painted wood). These are the laws of physics and are inescapable. Its not the floor, it the owners ability to take care of it that's the issue. You need to put dense felt pads on the feet of your furniture to protect the floor! They are super cheap and last forever. You should have read the care instructions! Color changes will always occur. Order some samples from them for cheap and place them in direct sunlight and find out what the change will be... Simple stuff people, plan ahead!


Date created: 2014-12-03 Name: Patrick Fox
Location: Channahon Il.

Satisfaction Rating:
2 of 5 stars Somewhat Unsatisfied

Review:
"Quality control needs improvement"
The Bellawood is beautiful but their quality control department need a lot to be desired. Very poor fitting pieces. Bellawood is not a cheap floor and the tongue and groove flooring should fit better than it does. I could have put a engineered 3/4 floor in cheaper, fit better, and have a good appearance. I have put many floors in before along with Bellawood floors. I am just disappointed for the price that you pay, you should have top quality flooring.


Date created: 2013-12-24 Name: J. Olson
Location: Iowa

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"UV discoloring"
Our floor was installed this spring. We chose select maple which is a very light wood. A month or two after install, I pulled up a rug near the front door and was surprised by the noticeable color difference between areas under the rug and those outside the rug. A few more months passed and things got worse. Our blonde flooring was now approaching honey oak where exposed to UV light. I understand that UV impacts wood color, but with the Bellawood website bragging about their UV coating to protect the wood, I expected minimal color shift. I contacted Bellawood (which is just Lumber Liquidators) customer service department. After a couple weeks of trading emails, signing disclosure documents and sending photos of damage, I received a phone call saying they had reviewed the photos and it was just patina. Oddly enough, the 'patina' seemed to be exponentially worse new the areas with windows. It is obvious color shift from UV damage. LL offered no help, claimed it was normal and dismissed our complaint. I would not recommend this brand unless you are ok with significant color shift for light colored woods. Their 100 warranty is a joke if you read it since it covers nothing and they will get out of any claim.


Date created: 2013-03-14 Name: Jo
Location: Smithtown, NY

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Disappointed"
I usually do a lot of research when I buy something, I wish I did it this time. I didn't because my neighbor highly recommended Lumber Liquidators (LL) and his floor looked good. I purchased the Natural Red Oak because we have a dog and cat, I didn't want any scratches to show and was told this flooring would be great. I priced a few home improvement stores and went with LL they came in cheaper unfortunately it ended up costly us more. Lumber Liquidators has the worst sales people, they didn't order what the installer needed and it cost us more. I wanted the best floor with no knots and thought that was what I ordered well lo and behold I didn't get it. The floor looked great when it was done after a week down I noticed the floor had a few dents on the panels, there are pits coming through and cracks. The installer was at fault because he did not look at the pieces as he was putting them down mind you he was highly recommended by ll. I could go but its all bad just read these reviews. Do a lot of research, read reviews. Floors are expensive and they should last a life time.


Date created: 2012-11-24 Name: W Taylor
Location: Challis, Idaho

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Australian Cypruss"
In our house the Bellawood was beautiful when installed. That's were it ended. It scratches so easily it's really not made to walk on socks only. Children toys area no no on the floor. If a piece of furniture moves it leaves a mark. I'm looking for a company that can sand the whole floor and take out scratches and possible seal the floor like a basketball court. If not I'll be forced to put carpet over it.

123Next >>

Find Flooring Installers

My zip code is: