Flooring.net Logo

Consumer Reviews of Bellawood wood floors

Popularity:
#24  of 44 brands of wood floors

52% of customers recommend
3 of 5 stars 21 reviews
  • Very Satisfied
    8
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    3
  • Neutral
    0
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    1
  • Very Unsatisfied
    9

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to Flooring.net. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of Flooring.net.

Read more about Bellawood wood floors

Read reviews of other Wood Floor brands
Write a review

123Next >>

Date created: 2013-12-24 Name: J. Olson
Location: Iowa

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"UV discoloring"
Our floor was installed this spring. We chose select maple which is a very light wood. A month or two after install, I pulled up a rug near the front door and was surprised by the noticeable color difference between areas under the rug and those outside the rug. A few more months passed and things got worse. Our blonde flooring was now approaching honey oak where exposed to UV light. I understand that UV impacts wood color, but with the Bellawood website bragging about their UV coating to protect the wood, I expected minimal color shift. I contacted Bellawood (which is just Lumber Liquidators) customer service department. After a couple weeks of trading emails, signing disclosure documents and sending photos of damage, I received a phone call saying they had reviewed the photos and it was just patina. Oddly enough, the 'patina' seemed to be exponentially worse new the areas with windows. It is obvious color shift from UV damage. LL offered no help, claimed it was normal and dismissed our complaint. I would not recommend this brand unless you are ok with significant color shift for light colored woods. Their 100 warranty is a joke if you read it since it covers nothing and they will get out of any claim.


Date created: 2013-03-14 Name: Jo
Location: Smithtown, NY

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Disappointed"
I usually do a lot of research when I buy something, I wish I did it this time. I didn't because my neighbor highly recommended Lumber Liquidators (LL) and his floor looked good. I purchased the Natural Red Oak because we have a dog and cat, I didn't want any scratches to show and was told this flooring would be great. I priced a few home improvement stores and went with LL they came in cheaper unfortunately it ended up costly us more. Lumber Liquidators has the worst sales people, they didn't order what the installer needed and it cost us more. I wanted the best floor with no knots and thought that was what I ordered well lo and behold I didn't get it. The floor looked great when it was done after a week down I noticed the floor had a few dents on the panels, there are pits coming through and cracks. The installer was at fault because he did not look at the pieces as he was putting them down mind you he was highly recommended by ll. I could go but its all bad just read these reviews. Do a lot of research, read reviews. Floors are expensive and they should last a life time.


Date created: 2012-11-24 Name: W Taylor
Location: Challis, Idaho

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Australian Cypruss"
In our house the Bellawood was beautiful when installed. That's were it ended. It scratches so easily it's really not made to walk on socks only. Children toys area no no on the floor. If a piece of furniture moves it leaves a mark. I'm looking for a company that can sand the whole floor and take out scratches and possible seal the floor like a basketball court. If not I'll be forced to put carpet over it.


Date created: 2012-09-15 Name: Terri Weedeman
Location: Stafford, VA

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"NEVER AGAIN!!!"
If only I had read some of these reviews before I installed our Bellawood Brazillian Cherry floor!!! I hate it!!! Although the floor is beautiful when you don't walk on it!!! The minute someone steps on our foyer floor with or without shoes I have smudgey foot marks on them!!! When we bought the floor we bought the Bellawood floor cleaner that was recommended but to no avail!!!!! I just use a damp mop and mop it every time I see footprints!!! If we could afford to, I would replace it and never look back!!!!!


Date created: 2012-05-01 Name: John Larsen
Location: Las Vegas, NV

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"This floor stinks"
We spent a lot of time shopping around at various home stores and finally went with Bellawood Brazillian Cherry from Lumber Liquidators. One of our biggest concerns was scratches since we have two dogs. The salesman said absolutely no problem due to the 8 coats of finish. Installation was a pain. It took four weeks to install 800 sq ft. We could only lay down 12" of flooring at one time since the concrete glue would not keep the boards in place until it set for 12 hours. We started to see scratches almost immediately so we put some throw rugs on the floor. Salesman didn't tell us the floor would darken and after four week, we had darkening around the throw rugs. So now we don't wear shoes in the house and the dogs are banned from the rooms with Bellawood. We've worked with other wood floors in the past, refinishing with polyurethane, and never had a problem with scratches. Even Minwas polyurethand, which is not made for floors, is more scratch resistant than Bellawood. I can hardly wait for the next 12 months to start having some of the other problems others have had. Worst product I've bought to date and recommend staying away from Bellawood.



Date created: 2012-03-24 Name: J. Bonner
Location: PA

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"bellawood floor mop"
The Bellawood floor cleaner works good, but the mop that comes with the kit is horrible. You have to constantly try to lock it into place every 10 seconds to avoid bending over. We have two mops, same issue. Piece of junk. Thanks


Date created: 2012-03-10 Name: Mike Frye
Location: Fort Worth, TX

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Does not honor warranty"
In 2008 we made an addition to our house. We had seen the adds for Lumber Liquidators on your network and chose the Bellawood Brazilian mesquite. The installer did a superb job and the floor looked beautiful until we began moving in. Every piece of furniture we placed on the floor scratched the surface and the scratches could not be polished out. Dents and scratches began showing up in places where there was no traffic. After two years the beautiful cherry wood red stain began turning honey gold every where the sun hit the floor. Now we have a two tone floor. When I contacted Lumber Liquidators they forwarded to Bellawood. The Bellawood representative informed me that I had to send in pictures. Apparently they do not do on site inspections. They denied any and all claims for warranty resolution. They said they were not responsible for fading or scratches. What good is a 100 year warranty if it does not cover anything? I tell all my friends to stay away from Lumber Liquidators and Bellawood products. Since our problems I have researched other reviews and found that our experience is not exceptional. Rather it seems to be rather normal. In addition when the flooring was installed we had better than 15% waste. That added significantly to the cost.


Date created: 2011-11-07 Name: Jeanette
Location: Lake Forest CA

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Bellawood, Never again"
Bellawood has such a tight warranty that it covers practically nothing. They don't have any installers so any errors are pointed at the installer. There is unending finger pointing if you have any problems with flaws in the wood as we did. Everything in sight scratches this floor very visibly. We had oak parquet previously and no scratches ever showed. Prefinished floors - no way.


Date created: 2011-07-27 Name: M. Seaman
Location: El Paso, TX

Satisfaction Rating:

2 of 5 stars Somewhat Unsatisfied

Review:
"My first warp"
My husband and I purchased Brazilian Koa Bellawood flooring last November after about two weeks of comparing prices and styles. This was our first hardwood floor purchase and I wish we had done more research before going ahead with the decision. We were told that it was pretty easy to install and as we are handy individuals we decided to do the install ourselves on top of the concrete slab. We did everything that the website said to do for prep and climate acclimation and then began to lay the floors. That is when the problems began. We began by inspecting the flooring and found two whole boxes that we couldn't utilize at all because of the cracks, warps and just shoddy work from the quality control department at Bellawood. I understand that this is natural wood and that it is going to have imperfections....I know this but at a certain point the QC people should be able to look into a box and see that the entire thing is cracked and broken. We didn't realize that is what the 10% was for when we bought the wood. The salesman had said that it was for end cuts and waste and that any damaged merchandise could be returned for a swap. When we tried to do that, the same salesman looked at me like I had lost my mind and said that because we had opened the box, he couldn't resell it and we had to identify the damage before the box was opened. So basically, if the cardboard around the wood is damaged then they replace it but if the actual wood is not checked by the factory it's on the consumer to absorb the cost. The glue that you use is the stickiest stuff known to man and incredibly hard to work with. Imagine spreading the stickiest taffy over 700 square foot of concrete. It took us over 45 man hours of work to get the floor in. By the time we finished the floor we already had scratches on them from where our two dogs had been running around. The gloss coat is extremely weak and even the sliding of a plastic chair can cause scratches and rubs to appear. Now I come to today's discovery.... I live in El Paso and it is officially the "rainy season" right now. This means we have maybe 35% humidity in the air and it has stormed about five days so far since February. I was sweeping the floor and stepped down in a section that has suddenly sprung both a buckle and a separation of wood to glue that is about 1.5 ft wide and 5 ft long. It wasn't there last night and I know that water hasn't gotten in because I am meticulous about the material I use to clean this floor and we haven't had a flood. When I went back over the warranty I found that this is mother nature and we are out of luck. So, although the floors look spectacular at night with soft can lighting and shine brightly when cleaned in sunlight...and though I get plenty of compliments on them when we entertain.....I Will never purchase this product or any other Bellawood product again. Honestly, I will never give Lumber Liquidators another dollar for the service and shady way they handle their sales. My best piece of advice....Read their warranty thoroughly. You will see that it covers damage to the cardboard box the wood comes in and that is about it.


Date created: 2011-05-28 Location: Asheboro, NC

Satisfaction Rating:

4 of 5 stars Somewhat Satisfied

Review:
"My Beautiful Hard Wood Floor"
I have owned my lovely wood floor for about one year now. I absolutely love it. First of all, it is very durable. I also like the beautiful color of my wood floor. It is really classy, and I get a lot of compliments on it from my friends. I also like the fact that it is really easy for me to clean. I just run a mop over it, and it is very shiny. The only complaint that I have is that it seems like it gets a lot of scratches on it. I have a young child and two dogs, so they tend to run across the floor a lot. It does have a few scratches, but nobody can really tell that they are there. I have never needed to repair or replace this floor since I got it. I would definitely recommend this brand of wood floor to any of my friends.

123Next >>

Find Flooring Installers

My zip code is: