Flooring.net Logo

Consumer Reviews of Armstrong wood floors

Popularity:
#25  of 44 brands of wood floors

53% of customers recommend
3 of 5 stars 15 reviews
  • Very Satisfied
    5
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    3
  • Neutral
    0
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    1
  • Very Unsatisfied
    6

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to Flooring.net. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of Flooring.net.

Read more about Armstrong wood floors

Read reviews of other Wood Floor brands
Write a review

12Next >>

Date created: 2013-04-30 Name: Vicki Armstrong
Location: Slidell, Louisiana

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Crack and pop flooring"
This is a terrible product. Armstrong blames the installer and the installer has replaced the floor and it still cracks and pops. I bought the flooring because I liked the look (still do) and because of the Armstrong name (thought they would stand behind the product) I will never buy anything from this company again. I can't get it fixed, Armstrong won't replace it and I can't afford to replace it with something else. Perque flooring in Metairie, Louisiana installed the floor and they told me that Armstrong should replace the faulty product. Armstrong, Shame on you.


Date created: 2012-09-29 Name: J. Forsythe
Location: Raymond, NH

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Do not buy Armstrong!"
Bought Armstrong Presidential Oak laminate from Lowes and paid for professional install. First swollen edge occurred before install was done. Had 4 more within 2 days. The smallest drop of water or ice chip will swell the edges. Now 4 weeks later have at least 10 places swollen(kitchen, living room, bedroom) with no idea what moisture might have gotten to them. Looked at remaining product and there is protective coating on some joints and not on others. After inspection by Lowes then by independent inspector for Armstrong, it was agreed to be a manufacturing issue. Armstrong, however, denied the claim saying it's the installers fault! He should have returned defective boards. It is very sporadic and not something you would look for.(we had over 1000 sq ft installed!) We are still working with Lowes and we think they are going to make it right but if not we will go through our credit card co. Could not believe Armstrong won't stand behind an obviously defective product! Will never have another Armstrong product in this house.


Date created: 2012-07-04 Name: pat duhaime
Location: plattsburgh ny

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"100 percent dissatisfied"
Bought laminate for over $4000.00 installed highly recommended when selling it is cheap and they say we have moisture problems from cleaning it?? Why would they recommend that in a kitchen area will never buy armstrong again it also streaks and I am totally unhappy contacted armstrong they replaced some flooring with laminate that was in worse shape than what was removed think it was old material from a wearhouse buyer beware and 30 years sounds good when you buy it first quality carpet really???


Date created: 2011-11-29 Name: ESS
Location: Atlanta, GA

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Armstrong is LOUD!!!!!"
I had Armstrong Grand Illusion installed last week. It looks beautiful... But it sounds really bad. I had it professionally installed after sub-flooring was checked for level. As soon as the first room was laid, crunch crunch crunch..... I was told it will get better in a few weeks. It is now 2 weeks since first area was laid. It is still loud. The rest of the floor was finished last week. More Crunch Crunch Crunch... even louder. The floor now inspected still crunches and now grinds and pops. Inspections show that it was install correctly and the 1 quarter round that was a little tight was removed. Still days later and crunch crunch crunch crackle pop .... I just want to cry. Wood was acclimated in my home for days before installed. Sub-floor was inspected for level and got rave reviews. Quarter rounds only exist on at most 2 of 4 walls in each room and passed inspectors measure..... SO I will say it again..... I have a beautiful Armstrong Grand Illusion floor.... that sounds like a 100 year old barn attic that is ready to fall through and with that I will go find a tissue. Before I forget, I have always had Armstrong floors... have loved them... for beauty, durability, and quality.... and for being American... they are still beautiful......the rest.... well.....


Date created: 2011-07-27 Name: Cassandra
Location: CA

Satisfaction Rating:

4 of 5 stars Somewhat Satisfied

Review:
"RE: Great Floors from Armstrong"
I love my Armstrong Locking Oak Hardwood Flooring Wood Floor. It is easy clean and it is really nice. I love that this brand wears well and that I would buy it again.


Date created: 2011-05-09 Location: Flint, MI

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"By far the easiest option for a wood floor to install yourself."
I'd always wanted a wood floor in our sitting room to add more of an old world charm than the ugly green carpet we'd had for years since moving in, but between the materials and installation, it seemed too expensive. Looking into snap together wood flooring was one of the best decisions I made, because if you can put together a child's puzzle, you can do this floor. I have friends who paid thousands to have hard wood installed, and this stuff actually looks BETTER than theirs, but I did it myself, and it was actually pretty fun. It took maybe 3 hours to do a 500 sq/ft room, and then it was done, and I never had to think about it again. The great part is, I still have left over wood, so should anything happen and the floor is damaged, I can just snap new boards in and it's like it never happened. The stuff is durable too, and after 2 years shows no real wear. Anyone who wants hard wood floors, GET THIS, you won't regret it.


Date created: 2011-05-09 Location: Plano, TX

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Armstrong, The Way To Go For Wood Flooring"
I'm very pleased with my wood flooring, and I would like to tell you why. The Armstrong brand is a very reliable brand, and it always gets positive feedback, ranking among the best brand names in its field. Another big plus is its long lasting durability and quality service. I've owned this wood flooring for about 5 and a half years now, and in all of that time, I've only had to run very minor maintenance on it, just to make sure everything is still in working order. These minor repairs have taken a few minutes, and it's been more like 'making sure the floor hasn't been ripped out' as opposed to ‘fixing the whole thing'. I can't think of a single thing I dislike about my wood flooring, and as such, I would recommend it to a friend, or anyone really, in a flash, and if need be, I would definitely go with the Armstrong brand of wood flooring once again.


Date created: 2011-03-18 Name: D. Smith
Location: Utah

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Fantastic Wood Flooring!"
We purchased Armstrongs wood flooring and it was great! The kids and dog slid across it and no scratches. It doesn't feel like real wood when you walk on it with bare feet but it looks great and looks like real wood. Very easy for the installers to put in. Just one day.


Date created: 2010-12-09 Location: dallas, texas

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"I love my wood floors"
I have had my Armstrong wood flooring for three years now. I love the look and feel of natural wood floors. The only small drawback is that the floors can be kind of hard to clean as dirt falls between the cracks but it is worth if to have wood flooring. If properly installed this type of flooring will last a lifetime. The initial cost can be higher but since you will not have to replace them the cost is offset. I choice to go with recycled wood but many different options are available. I did have had to repair one piece that came up, however that is probably due to the installer. Once I reported the issue to customer service someone was sent out immediately to correct the problem. I would definitely recommend this type of flooring to anyone who is considering getting a new floor. I love mine!


Date created: 2010-12-03 Location: Stillwater, OK

Satisfaction Rating:

2 of 5 stars Somewhat Unsatisfied

Review:
"What a Disappointment!"
We've had Armstrong composite wood flooring for 9 years - it was aleady installed (new) when we bought the house. I've never liked it, and since then my opinion has not changed. The first problem is that it looks very artificial. There is a pattern in the flooring that is supposed to make it look like a real wooden floor, but this is overshadowed by the rectangular shape of the panels. What you see are all the individual rectangles of the flooring and the joints where they connect, not the pattern in the wood. The second issue is that it makes a kind of hollow sound when you walk on it. It just doesn't give the feeling of a wooden floor and feels very artificial. The last issue is that it is not very durable. The area around our guest toilet started to de-laminate after about 2 years and looks really bad. There are also a couple of areas where chips were knocked out of the flooring, showing the composite board underneath. All in all, I would not recommend this product. We are going to replace it soon, and will be getting solid wood flooring instead.

12Next >>

Find Flooring Installers

My zip code is: