Consumer Reviews of Armstrong wood floors

Armstrong flooring logo
Popularity:
#7   of 25 brands of wood floors

36% of customers recommend
2.5 of 5 stars 25 reviews
  • Very Satisfied
    5
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    4
  • Neutral
    0
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    1
  • Very Unsatisfied
    15

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to Flooring.net. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of Flooring.net.

Read more about Armstrong wood floors
123Next >>

Date created: 2016-07-13
Name: Donnie
Location: Buffalo, ny
Model: Misty Grey Hardwood

Satisfaction Rating:
4 of 5 stars Somewhat Satisfied

Review:
"Quick replacement approval"
I built a new home and the Armstrong Misty Grey flooring started to splinter from day one. I finally got a sliver piece in my foot and sent pictures and a video to my installer. Without an inspection Armstrong agreed to complete a full tear out and replacement. I am glad it was easy for them to approved however I am sick of the continually post build issues.


Date created: 2016-06-03
Name: Bernard Golbeck
Location: Port Orchard, WA

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Zero Customer Support"
I have been a builder for over 40 years and 7 years ago installed pre finished Armstrong hardwood flooring in my home. After only 5 years I had blotchy fading and discoloration. The warranty process made it impossible to ever get an Armstrong Rep out to look at the defect. I will never use an Armstrong hardwood floor again on any project. The product failed and and the warranty was useless, just like Armstrong itself.


Date created: 2016-02-04
Name: BARBARA REPASKY
Location: KAILUA-KONA, HI. 96740
Model: Turlington

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Terrible flooring"
This is terrible flooring. It cracks chips and urethane finish peels off in sheets if any pressure is applied to it or if anything is dropped that cracks the finish. Turlington lock and fold 5inch oak saddle Bruce hardwood floors with 25 year warranty. No pets no children, no parties. Just two older people who have been ripped off. Do not buy Bruce or Armstrong they do not honor the warranty. Just sell, sell, sell.



Date created: 2015-09-24
Name: Lisa
Location: St. Louis, MO
Model: Hickory

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Is this Consumer Fraud?"
Purchased Bruce engineered hardwood in Hickory - Promotional materials and box clearly labeled "Lifetime Finish Warranty" - "Our most durable hardwood finish". Within the first year while walking across the floor in my stocking feet I had an 8" sliver peel up and run through my foot. Installer replaced but expressed concern that the wood should not have done that. Within another year several areas are cracking, peeling, splitting. Not all areas, in fact the most trafficked area inside our front door actually looks pretty good - but other areas are awful. Installer came and looked and said should file warranty claim because obvious flaws. Armstrong sent their "inspector" - I wish I had video taped the entire time he was there because his written report was near total mis-representation of what he did when he was there. Shame on me for being a trusting consumer! I sincerely tried to show him the places where the problems were - and since they were in proximity to each other very rational a box or two of the product had flaws. But - no, he spent all his time taking pictures of areas where the floor was just fine. The report is virtually an insult - implying such ridiculous accusations that we must always come out of our bath dripping wet because the moisture readings at the door to the bath were excessively high. Fact - I stood with him the whole time I was there and he never put a moisture detector any where near the entrance to the bath. So what is a consumer to do - I feel bad for the installer, who has tried to help make it right, and its not their fault. I feel the product is not quality, it is not durable as labeled, and the company does not stand behind their product. They then throw insult on injury with their fraudulent "inspection" process. Oh, by the way, the "inspector" even told me as he was leaving that Armstrong basically just pays him to reject claims, because they had so many consumer complaints when they would reject them w/o an inspection. So obviously they pre-plan for not standing behind their product.


Date created: 2015-08-30
Name: Rhonda
Model: Engineered Handscraped

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Do not buy"
Do not buy Armstrong Engineered handscraped floor. My floor chipped, cracked, and scratched within one week. I paid a lot of money for this flooring, and when I complained, the only thing they would do is send a repair kit to the flooring store. The kit consists of a filler for the chips, and some stain. I have been told it will look like new when it is fixed. It looks like I will have to have a repair kit handy for as long as I have this floor. Way to go Armstrong. Good to know you stand behind your products. I will never, ever buy any Armstrong product again!


Date created: 2015-08-29
Name: Donna gorshe
Location: Woodstock, GA

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Terrible floor"
We have had this Engineered hardwood floor not even one year, and it is a mess. We've had the Armstrong people out to look at it. They have said the problems are not covered under the warranty. It turns out absolutely nothing is covered under warranty. This is a terrible terrible floor! And Armstrong has the worst customer service. Don't buy an Armstrong floor!


Date created: 2015-05-25
Name: Rob
Location: colorado springs co.
Model: Harvest Time Hand-scraped

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Not a very durable product"
We have had our new Armstrong Harvest Time hand-scraped engineered hardwood installed 2 week ago. It is already scratched when the dogs run around on it. Wow, it should be much more durable with all the coatings of whatever on it. We will be contacting Armstrong. Our laminate held up better than this, and we had that for 8 years. This is not at all durable. Steer clear of this.


Date created: 2015-05-01
Name: Andrew
Location: Grants Pass, OR

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Defective!"
I had 2800 square of this floor pro installed Spring of 2014. I have been very unhappy with how loud and loose every joint in the entire floor is. I have been trying for the entire year to have the floor replaced and keep getting the run around from Armstrong. I now see that they have the exact same product with a new joint design due to the complete failure of the previous joints. Now the 12mm cherry sienna/Bruce or Grand illusions/Armstrong has a new joint and has padding attached. It is even 35 cents cheaper per square! I do not want the failed original product and Armstrong is doing everything in their power to leave me high and dry! I am now going to keep pressing Home Depot so they get another inspection from a truly independent inspector and get me some flooring that is not garbage! The last inspector came out, affiliated with Armstrong, found everything to be great and then denied the claim? I will not let up on Armstrong till they make this right and will never purchase an Armstrong product again. I also will tell everyone in the building trade I run into the experience I have had with Armstrong. If you want a company to stand behind their product do not buy Armstrong/Bruce!



Date created: 2014-02-06
Name: Donna G
Location: Boca Raton, FL
Model: Grand Illusion

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Warranty excludes pet urine. It curls the boards."
Armstrong Grand Illusion Cherry Bronze laminate flooring looks beautiful when you first install it the finish reflects everything (beautiful for Christmas tree but bad for dirt and grime.) Just damp mop to clean doesn't stand up to every day wear & tear. Why would you make a floor pets urine damages? Scratches easily. Drop anything on it causes dents/chips. Liquids on it causes bubbling & edges to curl. To remove damaged boards you have to remove all boards from wall in to reach damaged board. Not happy with customer service I would not buy another Armstrong floor.


Date created: 2013-08-11
Name: B. Campbell

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Armstrong Engineered Flooring"
Our Bruce engineered wood floor began to curl at the edges and crack from the ends in the first year. It continued to deteriorate to the point that, at year six, it was an unsightly mess. This floor has a fifteen year warranty. Ultimately we contacted the company from which it was purchased. Armstrong was resistant at every step of the process. Finally a factory rep came to our home for an inspection. He immediately began to loath the quality of construction and the awful slab foundations that were responsible for the problem. He was quite insistent upon this until shown our basement! There is no slab foundation! He then created an alternative scenario. It is obvious that this company will not stand up for it's products or honor its guarantee and appears to be willing to lie to and cheat its customers in the process. Never, never never buy an Armstrong/Bruce floor!

123Next >>

Find Flooring Installers
My zip code is:
How to Buy
Flooring Reviews
Flooring Materials
Flooring Brands