Flooring.net Logo

Consumer Reviews of Armstrong wood floors

Popularity:
#8  of 23 brands of wood floors

42% of customers recommend
2.5 of 5 stars 19 reviews
  • Very Satisfied
    5
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    3
  • Neutral
    0
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    1
  • Very Unsatisfied
    10

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to Flooring.net. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of Flooring.net.

Read more about Armstrong wood floors

Read reviews of other Wood Floor brands
Write a review

12Next >>

Date created: 2015-05-25 Name: Rob
Location: colorado springs co.

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Not a very durable product"
We have had our new Armstrong Harvest Time hand-scraped engineered hardwood installed 2 week ago. It is already scratched when the dogs run around on it. Wow, it should be much more durable with all the coatings of whatever on it. We will be contacting Armstrong. Our laminate held up better than this, and we had that for 8 years. This is not at all durable. Steer clear of this.


Date created: 2015-05-01 Name: Andrew
Location: Grants Pass, OR

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Defective!"
I had 2800 square of this floor pro installed Spring of 2014. I have been very unhappy with how loud and loose every joint in the entire floor is. I have been trying for the entire year to have the floor replaced and keep getting the run around from Armstrong. I now see that they have the exact same product with a new joint design due to the complete failure of the previous joints. Now the 12mm cherry sienna/Bruce or Grand illusions/Armstrong has a new joint and has padding attached. It is even 35 cents cheaper per square! I do not want the failed original product and Armstrong is doing everything in their power to leave me high and dry! I am now going to keep pressing Home Depot so they get another inspection from a truly independent inspector and get me some flooring that is not garbage! The last inspector came out, affiliated with Armstrong, found everything to be great and then denied the claim? I will not let up on Armstrong till they make this right and will never purchase an Armstrong product again. I also will tell everyone in the building trade I run into the experience I have had with Armstrong. If you want a company to stand behind their product do not buy Armstrong/Bruce!


Date created: 2014-02-06 Name: Donna G
Location: Boca Raton, FL

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Warranty excludes pet urine. It curls the boards."
Armstrong Grand Illusion Cherry Bronze laminate flooring looks beautiful when you first install it the finish reflects everything (beautiful for Christmas tree but bad for dirt and grime.) Just damp mop to clean doesn't stand up to every day wear & tear. Why would you make a floor pets urine damages? Scratches easily. Drop anything on it causes dents/chips. Liquids on it causes bubbling & edges to curl. To remove damaged boards you have to remove all boards from wall in to reach damaged board. Not happy with customer service I would not buy another Armstrong floor.


Date created: 2013-08-11 Name: B. Campbell

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Armstrong Engineered Flooring"
Our Bruce engineered wood floor began to curl at the edges and crack from the ends in the first year. It continued to deteriorate to the point that, at year six, it was an unsightly mess. This floor has a fifteen year warranty. Ultimately we contacted the company from which it was purchased. Armstrong was resistant at every step of the process. Finally a factory rep came to our home for an inspection. He immediately began to loath the quality of construction and the awful slab foundations that were responsible for the problem. He was quite insistent upon this until shown our basement! There is no slab foundation! He then created an alternative scenario. It is obvious that this company will not stand up for it's products or honor its guarantee and appears to be willing to lie to and cheat its customers in the process. Never, never never buy an Armstrong/Bruce floor!


Date created: 2013-04-30 Name: Vicki Armstrong
Location: Slidell, Louisiana

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Crack and pop flooring"
This is a terrible product. Armstrong blames the installer and the installer has replaced the floor and it still cracks and pops. I bought the flooring because I liked the look (still do) and because of the Armstrong name (thought they would stand behind the product) I will never buy anything from this company again. I can't get it fixed, Armstrong won't replace it and I can't afford to replace it with something else. Perque flooring in Metairie, Louisiana installed the floor and they told me that Armstrong should replace the faulty product. Armstrong, Shame on you.



Date created: 2012-09-29 Name: J. Forsythe
Location: Raymond, NH

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Do not buy Armstrong!"
Bought Armstrong Presidential Oak laminate from Lowes and paid for professional install. First swollen edge occurred before install was done. Had 4 more within 2 days. The smallest drop of water or ice chip will swell the edges. Now 4 weeks later have at least 10 places swollen(kitchen, living room, bedroom) with no idea what moisture might have gotten to them. Looked at remaining product and there is protective coating on some joints and not on others. After inspection by Lowes then by independent inspector for Armstrong, it was agreed to be a manufacturing issue. Armstrong, however, denied the claim saying it's the installers fault! He should have returned defective boards. It is very sporadic and not something you would look for.(we had over 1000 sq ft installed!) We are still working with Lowes and we think they are going to make it right but if not we will go through our credit card co. Could not believe Armstrong won't stand behind an obviously defective product! Will never have another Armstrong product in this house.


Date created: 2012-07-04 Name: pat duhaime
Location: plattsburgh ny

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"100 percent dissatisfied"
Bought laminate for over $4000.00 installed highly recommended when selling it is cheap and they say we have moisture problems from cleaning it?? Why would they recommend that in a kitchen area will never buy armstrong again it also streaks and I am totally unhappy contacted armstrong they replaced some flooring with laminate that was in worse shape than what was removed think it was old material from a wearhouse buyer beware and 30 years sounds good when you buy it first quality carpet really???


Date created: 2011-11-29 Name: ESS
Location: Atlanta, GA

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Armstrong is LOUD!!!!!"
I had Armstrong Grand Illusion installed last week. It looks beautiful... But it sounds really bad. I had it professionally installed after sub-flooring was checked for level. As soon as the first room was laid, crunch crunch crunch..... I was told it will get better in a few weeks. It is now 2 weeks since first area was laid. It is still loud. The rest of the floor was finished last week. More Crunch Crunch Crunch... even louder. The floor now inspected still crunches and now grinds and pops. Inspections show that it was install correctly and the 1 quarter round that was a little tight was removed. Still days later and crunch crunch crunch crackle pop .... I just want to cry. Wood was acclimated in my home for days before installed. Sub-floor was inspected for level and got rave reviews. Quarter rounds only exist on at most 2 of 4 walls in each room and passed inspectors measure..... SO I will say it again..... I have a beautiful Armstrong Grand Illusion floor.... that sounds like a 100 year old barn attic that is ready to fall through and with that I will go find a tissue. Before I forget, I have always had Armstrong floors... have loved them... for beauty, durability, and quality.... and for being American... they are still beautiful......the rest.... well.....


Date created: 2011-07-27 Name: Cassandra
Location: CA

Satisfaction Rating:
4 of 5 stars Somewhat Satisfied

Review:
"RE: Great Floors from Armstrong"
I love my Armstrong Locking Oak Hardwood Flooring Wood Floor. It is easy clean and it is really nice. I love that this brand wears well and that I would buy it again.


Date created: 2011-05-09 Location: Flint, MI

Satisfaction Rating:
5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"By far the easiest option for a wood floor to install yourself."
I'd always wanted a wood floor in our sitting room to add more of an old world charm than the ugly green carpet we'd had for years since moving in, but between the materials and installation, it seemed too expensive. Looking into snap together wood flooring was one of the best decisions I made, because if you can put together a child's puzzle, you can do this floor. I have friends who paid thousands to have hard wood installed, and this stuff actually looks BETTER than theirs, but I did it myself, and it was actually pretty fun. It took maybe 3 hours to do a 500 sq/ft room, and then it was done, and I never had to think about it again. The great part is, I still have left over wood, so should anything happen and the floor is damaged, I can just snap new boards in and it's like it never happened. The stuff is durable too, and after 2 years shows no real wear. Anyone who wants hard wood floors, GET THIS, you won't regret it.

12Next >>

Find Flooring Installers

My zip code is: