Flooring.net Logo

Consumer Reviews of SnapStone tile floors

Popularity:
#7  of 9 brands of tile floors

53% of customers recommend
3 of 5 stars 13 reviews
  • Very Satisfied
    7
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    0
  • Neutral
    0
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    0
  • Very Unsatisfied
    6

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to Flooring.net. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of Flooring.net.

Read more about SnapStone tile floors

Read reviews of other Tile Floor brands
Write a review

12Next >>

Date created: 2014-09-29 Name: Stephen Sickel
Location: Willard, OH

Satisfaction Rating:
5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Fantastic product"
I installed Snapstone tile in the kitchen and 3 bathrooms of my home 5 years ago. The installation fast and could not have been easier, the flexible grout is wonderful, and I have had absolutely no problems. Everybody who sees it asks me where I got it and who was my installer. I just smile and then get requests to do their homes. Sorry, I have another job.


Date created: 2014-07-17 Name: Dan
Location: Shelby Township Mi.

Satisfaction Rating:
5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Great product"
This product is very easy to install once your sub-floor is flat. I will say that again, once your sub-floor is flat. You have to take the extra time to ensure the surface you are tiling with snapstone is sound and flat or you will get cracked tiles. These tiles are inter- connected and will rise and fall with the dips in a floor as you step on them if the floor is not flat. The installation went smooth with only a small issue trying to cut holes. You will need to use a diamond drill or diamond rotary tool as the tile is extremely hard. I installed this product in a bathroom but would probably not install this in a kitchen because of the fact of moving a refrigerator back and forth to clean under. I am very pleased with this product and would use it again. Once more take the time to prep your floor properly and you should have no problems.


Date created: 2014-06-25 Name: Ken K
Location: Westmont, IL

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Buyer Beware"
This is a great product for DIY'ers. As long as you like to do it over and over again and have a whole lot of extra time on your hands. The tiles crack easily for seemingly no reason at all. I believe the reason is that the tile itself is set in a plastic tray. Any point contact will cause the tile to bend in the plastic trey and crack. It is also easy to accidentally crack the tiles during installation and not notice for a couple months. Cutting the grout out and replacing tile is difficult,time consuming, and messy. And don't ever clean under your fridge after you lay this tile. You are sure to crack a couple pieces every time you move the fridge. I am going to try to put larger feet on my fridge to distribute the load more and hopefully not crack more tile. And very disappointing, when I removed one tile, I found that the grout was not water proof and the wood under the grout was wet. That means the subfloor is probably wet in many places under the floor. Eventually that will mold and the entire subfloor will need to be cut out and replaced. The tile will need to be replaced, but that will be a small job compared to the subfloor that the tile caused damage to. I do not recommend this for anyone anywhere. Bad product.


Date created: 2014-03-20 Name: Lisa
Location: Smithsburg MD

Satisfaction Rating:
5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Snap Stone Is Awesome"
Our family room needed a make-over and we decided to use tile instead of carpet. We looked at many different tiles and installations. We found that our floor has some minor amount of give in it and it was not completely level. So after reading reviews and finding that it works on give and not completely level surfaces...it floats...we thought it would be the floor for us. Omg....i have to say that people who say it is costly...did not do all the math. You do not have to get the floor leveled...you do not have to buy the concrete backer board. We installed ours over the wood underlayment that was on the floor from the orig. Builder after tearing up the carpet. It was so easy to install that just about anyone could do it. My kids helped out. It just snaps together by pulling on tile onto the other. So easy. Cuts were made just like traditional tile with wet saw, but still slid right into place. We had a 15 x 20 room completely tiled in 4 hours. That was one person laying tile and another making the cuts for edges. We grouted the same floor in one day and we were finished in a weekend. It looks amazing. We have had the floor for about 2 months and have had zero problems... This floor will go over anything that is not carpet. So you can lay it right over existing linoleum or whatever. Crazy awesome easy. The only thing is that due to it being a newer product there are not a tone of color choices. But we wanted neutral so we used the Mocha. Love it Love it Love it. Can't say enough good things about it.


Date created: 2013-09-18 Name: T Gibson
Location: Alliance, Ne

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Not what we expected"
I have always loved the look of tile and have wanted it in my kitchen for years. My husband and I decided on SnapStone with help from the employee at the local home improvement store. He promised ease of installation and that it was very durable with the "flexibility" from the flex grout and floating tile system. We have had this floor a little over a year and every time I mop I find another tile that is cracked! There are several that have cracked so bad that they are now chipping along the cracks. The company said that all tile cracks when something drops on it. As far as the line cracks they said that is caused by our floor underneath moving! Isn't that what the flex grout and floating tile is suppose to eliminate? We feel that the ease of installation isn't worth going back and replacing cracked tiles all of the time. (Which we haven't done yet but doesn't sound like it is going to be a very easy task!) Maybe this tile holds up better in a bathroom than in a kitchen as reading the other reviews from people who have liked it seems to be mostly in bathrooms. We do not recommend SnapStone flooring systems!



Date created: 2013-08-04 Name: P. Curran
Location: Ames, Iowa

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Dissatisfied with Snapstone Tile"
In reading the reviews, I am finding that those who were satisfied wrote primarily about the ease of the installation process. While I like the color and my friend installed it fairly easily, he found the tile fragile. Two tiles broke during the installation when the corners bumped up against each other. The floor was installed in my kitchen four months ago and two tiles have since cracked, through normal wear and tear. It is also difficult to keep clean as it attracts dirt. I would not recommend this product.


Date created: 2012-10-06 Name: Janet B
Location: Wisconsin

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Not happy at all"
We have been dreaming of our remodel of our kitchen for years, finally it happened and in June the project was completed. We choose snap stone tile with quiet warmth floor heat. Tile looks great but it is now the 6th of October and I have 4 broken tiles. I am so disappointed there aren't enough words to describe my dissatisfaction. We spent a lot of money and energy in the floor and my husband is almost ready to have some one come in and redo the floor with a different product. There goes a couple of thousand dollars. My advise think twice.


Date created: 2012-03-23 Name: Steve Faulkner
Location: Eau Claire, WI

Satisfaction Rating:
5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Wonderful Product Fantastic Results"
Absolutely the best home improvement product I have ever used. Wish I would have known about this before putting down laminate in the kitchen. Snapstone is easy to work with and end result looks as good or better than any professional installation. I had a good wet saw and had no issue with pump clogging with the plastic backing. I did change the water every couple hours. What could have been a messy time consuming project was easy and even fun. Would I recommend to friends? I already have and looks like I am helping them do a couple bathrooms. While it seems expensive next to regular tile, add up the time and material costs to put down cement board and all the mortar mess and cure time and even laying time with all the spacers and mess and if your time is worth anything SnapStone is far less. I spoke with a general contractor and asked what bids come in at for tile on a new concrete floor and was told ten to fourteen dollars a foot. My project cost 6.00 a square foot including the tools I purchased to do the grouting. I'm 60 years old and not in that great of physical shape so after five or six hours I quit for the day, If I can do it, If you are reading this, you can too.


Date created: 2012-03-07 Name: P. Sciarpelletti

Satisfaction Rating:
5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"we really like it"
We installed Snapstone under a 420 lb. Wood burning stove. It looks as new today as it did two heating seasons ago. Biggest problem we had installing it, was always replacing the water in the tile saw, as the plastic backing gomps it up after each cut. Saw blade is still in good shape. Installation was a breeze, if you can lay laminate flooring, you can do SnapStone. Also, we had old concrete and brick, on top of a wood sub-floor, for the flooring under the stove. We broke up as much as possible, but since SnapStone is a floating floor, we did not have to put a new sub-floor down. Today, we just picked up another order we placed to do the half bath off our bedroom. I recommend this product to everyone I see around it's display. The grout is a little harder to work with than regular grout, but it is holding up perfectly, and it has a lot of weight on it and gets very warm from the stove, which is a Woodstock Soapstone Stove, which is made with cast iron. Yep, we love this product, wish the price was a little cheaper, but the ease of installation is worth the extra cost. By the way, we are Senior citizens, and if we can do this, anyone can.


Date created: 2012-01-11 Name: L Carr

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"looked great at first"
I would not recommend this product to anyone. It was very easy to install but after a couple years all my tiles are breaking I now have to rip up all these tiles and replace them. Should have known this product sounded to good to be true. Don't waste your money or time installing this product.

12Next >>

Find Flooring Installers

My zip code is: