Flooring.net Logo

Consumer Reviews of SnapStone tile floors

Popularity:
#22  of 30 brands of tile floors

62% of customers recommend
3.5 of 5 stars 8 reviews
  • Very Satisfied
    5
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    0
  • Neutral
    0
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    0
  • Very Unsatisfied
    3

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to Flooring.net. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of Flooring.net.

Read more about SnapStone tile floors

Read reviews of other Tile Floor brands
Write a review


Date created: 2014-03-20 Name: Lisa
Location: Smithsburg MD

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Snap Stone Is Awesome"
Our family room needed a make-over and we decided to use tile instead of carpet. We looked at many different tiles and installations. We found that our floor has some minor amount of give in it and it was not completely level. So after reading reviews and finding that it works on give and not completely level surfaces...it floats...we thought it would be the floor for us. Omg....i have to say that people who say it is costly...did not do all the math. You do not have to get the floor leveled...you do not have to buy the concrete backer board. We installed ours over the wood underlayment that was on the floor from the orig. Builder after tearing up the carpet. It was so easy to install that just about anyone could do it. My kids helped out. It just snaps together by pulling on tile onto the other. So easy. Cuts were made just like traditional tile with wet saw, but still slid right into place. We had a 15 x 20 room completely tiled in 4 hours. That was one person laying tile and another making the cuts for edges. We grouted the same floor in one day and we were finished in a weekend. It looks amazing. We have had the floor for about 2 months and have had zero problems... This floor will go over anything that is not carpet. So you can lay it right over existing linoleum or whatever. Crazy awesome easy. The only thing is that due to it being a newer product there are not a tone of color choices. But we wanted neutral so we used the Mocha. Love it Love it Love it. Can't say enough good things about it.


Date created: 2012-10-06 Name: Janet B
Location: Wisconsin

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Not happy at all"
We have been dreaming of our remodel of our kitchen for years, finally it happened and in June the project was completed. We choose snap stone tile with quiet warmth floor heat. Tile looks great but it is now the 6th of October and I have 4 broken tiles. I am so disappointed there aren't enough words to describe my dissatisfaction. We spent a lot of money and energy in the floor and my husband is almost ready to have some one come in and redo the floor with a different product. There goes a couple of thousand dollars. My advise think twice.


Date created: 2012-03-23 Name: Steve Faulkner
Location: Eau Claire, WI

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Wonderful Product Fantastic Results"
Absolutely the best home improvement product I have ever used. Wish I would have known about this before putting down laminate in the kitchen. Snapstone is easy to work with and end result looks as good or better than any professional installation. I had a good wet saw and had no issue with pump clogging with the plastic backing. I did change the water every couple hours. What could have been a messy time consuming project was easy and even fun. Would I recommend to friends? I already have and looks like I am helping them do a couple bathrooms. While it seems expensive next to regular tile, add up the time and material costs to put down cement board and all the mortar mess and cure time and even laying time with all the spacers and mess and if your time is worth anything SnapStone is far less. I spoke with a general contractor and asked what bids come in at for tile on a new concrete floor and was told ten to fourteen dollars a foot. My project cost 6.00 a square foot including the tools I purchased to do the grouting. I'm 60 years old and not in that great of physical shape so after five or six hours I quit for the day, If I can do it, If you are reading this, you can too.


Date created: 2012-03-07 Name: P. Sciarpelletti

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"we really like it"
We installed Snapstone under a 420 lb. Wood burning stove. It looks as new today as it did two heating seasons ago. Biggest problem we had installing it, was always replacing the water in the tile saw, as the plastic backing gomps it up after each cut. Saw blade is still in good shape. Installation was a breeze, if you can lay laminate flooring, you can do SnapStone. Also, we had old concrete and brick, on top of a wood sub-floor, for the flooring under the stove. We broke up as much as possible, but since SnapStone is a floating floor, we did not have to put a new sub-floor down. Today, we just picked up another order we placed to do the half bath off our bedroom. I recommend this product to everyone I see around it's display. The grout is a little harder to work with than regular grout, but it is holding up perfectly, and it has a lot of weight on it and gets very warm from the stove, which is a Woodstock Soapstone Stove, which is made with cast iron. Yep, we love this product, wish the price was a little cheaper, but the ease of installation is worth the extra cost. By the way, we are Senior citizens, and if we can do this, anyone can.


Date created: 2012-01-11 Name: L Carr

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"looked great at first"
I would not recommend this product to anyone. It was very easy to install but after a couple years all my tiles are breaking I now have to rip up all these tiles and replace them. Should have known this product sounded to good to be true. Don't waste your money or time installing this product.


Date created: 2011-11-09 Name: DW

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Still happy 2 years later"
We installed snapstone in an 8x9 feet bathroom 2 years ago. It took about 4-5 hours to install. One person laid the tile while another person cut the tiles as needed. Once we got the hang of it the tiles were easy to snap together. The floor still looks great. We have not experienced any chipping or cracking in the grout or tiles. Be careful where you start and end. We ended next to the bathtub and were unable to get enough leverage to snap the last row in without denting the bathtub. We ended up breaking off the plastic pieces that snap together and just grouting the tiles similar to the instructions for replacing a tile. Overall, we are very satisfied and are considering using snapstone on another bathroom.


Date created: 2011-01-06 Name: test1@tst.com
Location: Connecticut

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Looks great, much less mess"
I recently installed Snapstone in a bathroom. However first I had to remove a layer of adhesive floor tile and one of linolium. In order to get the floor flat for the Snapstone I also had dto scrape up all the old adhesive. This was alot of work. Once I started laying the Snapstone things went fairly quickly. One day into the job I broke down and purchased an inexpensive wet saw to manage cut-outs. I was nice to be able to lay the room out and change designs without being rushed as I would have been if I'd done this the traditional way with morter cement. The grout also went down easily. Snapstone doesn't fill the grout bucket entirely which leaves adequate room for mixing without making a mess. The bathroom now looks great.


Date created: 2010-10-21 Location: Macomb, IL

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Snapping it together with SnapStone!"
I have owned my SnapStone tile for approximately eight months. I am very pleased with the product because it was easy to install, looks great, and has held up very well compared to my other ceramic tile. My family and I remodeled my home together and have a lot of experience installing tile. There is a lot of work involved from putting down underlayment to mixing mortar to laying the tile and waiting for the mortar to dry. I bought rather inexpensive tile and regretted that decision when bits of it began to chip and crack. This is why I love the SnapStone product. It is expensive as the cost was around $4.79 a square foot but I did not have to put down underlayment or mortar and the tile was easy to install because all we had to do was snap it together. It is a rather new product on the market as floating ceramic floors are a bit unusual. The grout was specially made for this type of floor and has held up better than grout on my other tile. There is nothing that I dislike about SnapStone as I think I made an excellent decision to install it. I only wish I had done so in other parts of the house. I would buy the same brand again and have recommended it to friends. I have not had to worry at all about replacing it although I kept a few extra tiles just in case!


Find Flooring Installers

My zip code is: