Consumer Reviews of Shaw tile floors

Shaw flooring logo
Popularity:
#6   of 10 brands of tile floors

50% of customers recommend
3 of 5 stars 8 reviews
  • Very Satisfied
    4
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    0
  • Neutral
    1
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    0
  • Very Unsatisfied
    3

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to Flooring.net. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of Flooring.net.

Read more about Shaw tile floors

Date created: 2016-09-25
Name: Tina K.
Location: Northern Wisconsin

Satisfaction Rating:
3 of 5 stars Neutral

Review:
"Chips easily"
One box is almost unsalable. Every single tile has a chipped corner from what looks to be from a dropped box. I carefully selected boxes that looked to be in the best condition. Looks like not very much pressure will break a corner. Not sure I can returned them. Now I'll be short materials for the job. Also, the first row goes down easily. The second row sucked. I finally pulled up a video on youtube to see how it's done. I recommend doing that before starting the job. When cutting out a notch to go around a corner or jamb be extra careful to score more than usual and to slowly "snap" at each edge a little at a time. The product is very stiff and breaks easily. On the plus side it does look nice and finished in a relatively quick time frame. I don't think I'd buy it again.


Date created: 2016-07-05
Name: Mary C.
Location: Minnesota
Model: Resilient

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Don't buy this! Scratches very easily!"
I was so excited about this product and it looks great after installed. Water proof and other good features but after just a few months we have terrible scratches and we have no pets or children living in the house. My fairly new Dyson vacuum cleaner somehow scratched it (using the floor setting, not carpet setting) and my Mother's walker also scratched it badly. No excuse for flooring being this easily scratched.


Date created: 2016-04-28
Name: Aletha Dollison
Location: Afton, OK

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Disaster"
I purchased around $2000.00 worth of the Shaw vinyl planks from Lowes, to install in two of the main rooms in my home. This flooring was recommended to me by Lowes because I live by the lake and the planks are waterproof, durable, and doesn't expand or contract because of variations in temperature. One of the rooms I installed it in has a lot of sunlight and the other very little. Two weeks after install I noticed the floor starting to look wavy in front of the windows where my plant sits. It seems to somewhat flatten out later in the evening when the sun is not coming thru the window. I contacted Lowes about the issue and they stated that they have other customers having the same problem. Apparently, this particular type of vinyl flooring cannot be exposed to heat of any kind over 80 degrees. This product information was not told to me by anyone when I purchased it! I was informed that it states this precaution on the little piece of paper inside the box of planks. Shaw flooring is not going to fix this issue because of it being stated on this sliver of paper. I recommend to anyone wanting to purchase Shaw flooring to thoroughly investigate and research the product before purchasing. As a hard lesson learned, read the fine print!!



Date created: 2014-08-06
Name: C. Ross
Location: Darlington, SC
Model: Shaw Resilient Plank Flooring

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Not DIY Friendly"
I just finished the installation of Resilient vinyl planks that are "floating". It took much longer than peel and stick. The installation was very difficult and I was unable to make most of my end joints flush. The planks are rigid so complex cuts are challenging. I was pleased with the first row but after that I struggled to get the "click" in place to work. It looks okay not great. I will not be purchasing any more flooring designed this way. I think the concept is great but Shaw needs to go back to the drawing board on this one. Perhaps professional installation should be advised.


Date created: 2010-12-19
Location: Wonder Lake, IL

Satisfaction Rating:
5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Very Happy"
I have had these floors for about 1 year now. When I first installed them I fell in love. Not much has changed and I still adore my floors. I love the color of them. They are speckled with different shades of white and brown. The floors are very natural looking and flow wonderfully. They have maintained a very pristine look. Spills are very easy to clean up. They wipe right off. I have unfortunately broken some dishes on the floor. However, this was all my fault and my trusty floors with stood it and did not crack. My kids constantly are playing on it. I also have dogs who run around and have fun on the floors. The only thing bad about my floors was that customers service. They were hard to work with, but the floors themselves are great. I have never had to repair them and would recommend them to my friends.


Date created: 2010-11-18
Location: Austin, TX

Satisfaction Rating:
5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Fantastic tiles, I can't see myself going back"
I had these tiles installed about 4 weeks ago and definitely recommend them. They have a great, natural color that's hard to beat. The way light refracts off them and fills the room with a very warm and earthy feel is incredible. The tiles seem very sturdy, EXTREMELY sturdy in fact. I dropped one face down from about 5 feet and it didn't even break, incredible! So far I haven't had to find replacement tiles and I doubt I ever will, they are just too fantastic. However, if for some reason I did have to look for replacements I shouldn't have any trouble. These baby's are an industry standard these days, any seller that doesn't stock these would be out of business in literally seconds. For my next tile project I am definitely choosing them again, the customer service, quality, and overall look of the tiles is astounding. Reccomended to anyone serious about having a good looking house.


Date created: 2010-10-19
Location: Glendale Heights, IL

Satisfaction Rating:
5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Flood means new Flooring, Time for Tiles"
We recently flooded and had carpeting installed that got ruined. Besides the carpet, the stick on tiles that were underneath it also were ruined. All the furniture had to be trashed and we had mold. The insurance company gave us a 10000 dollar settlement. We decided to get tile flooring. We fell in love with the Shaw tiles we now have. They were easy to install and look fantastic in our basement. We love the design and the quality of the tiles. The colors are beautiful and they were really easy to install. The only problem we have found with the tiles were an unlucky few that were broken when we opened the box. Nothing to worry about. Since the are brand new, we haven't been able to find anymore problems with them, I'm sure there are more to come. I would 100% recommend these tiles to a friend. If they didn't like the color, a different color from the same brand. I'm really satisfied with these tiles.


Date created: 2010-10-12
Location: Oklahoma City OK

Satisfaction Rating:
5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Wood Plank Look Ceramic Tile"
I had installed wood plank look ceramic flooring in my home and am thoroughly pleased with it. This flooring is amazing. It not only looks like real wood, but is easy to clean and keep up. I have received many comments on my wood floor and when I explain to them it is tile they immediately stoop down to touch the floor. There is nothing I dislike about these floors. I would definitely recommend to a friend and have to many. I have not had a need to replace any tile as yet. I had installed this wood look tile floor in several of my rooms and cannot say enough about how beautiful, easy to maintain and upkeep it is. If any one wants the look of wood floor but not the upkeep, I would highly recommend the installation of this wood look plank ceramic or porcelin flooring. It is great


Find Flooring Installers
My zip code is:
How to Buy
Flooring Reviews
Flooring Materials
Flooring Brands