Flooring.net Logo

Consumer Reviews of American Olean tile floors

Popularity:
#19  of 30 brands of tile floors

77% of customers recommend
4 of 5 stars 9 reviews
  • Very Satisfied
    6
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    1
  • Neutral
    0
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    0
  • Very Unsatisfied
    2

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to Flooring.net. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of Flooring.net.

Read more about American Olean tile floors

Read reviews of other Tile Floor brands
Write a review


Date created: 2012-08-22 Name: D. Davis
Location: Chesterfield va.

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"My defective American Olean tiles"
The American Olean Thur body porcelain tiles we purchased were detective.The tiles are called White Thistle. Which when purchased were a light beige with white. Within the space of 4 years over 50% of those so called Thur body glazed porcelain tiles have developed ugly gray areas due to color lost. I Am disguised because we spend thousands of dollars having our floor done and it now looks terrible. The tiles in my bathrooms and Florida room are over 20 years old and look great compared to the junk we purchased made by American Olean. I am disgusted with the company and their product. What consumer after spending thousands of dollars having a floor done expect it to look like crap after a few years?


Date created: 2012-04-10 Name: Brion B
Location: Chicago,Il

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"My 6x6 tiles are not the same size"
The tile was affordable and had a good look to them so I bought 7 unopened factory sealed boxes of 6x6 tiles and did not start the project for about 6 months. Now that I am opening the boxes some tiles are not square. When looking at the back side of the out of square tiles I see they are cast as 6x12 and cut in half to make 6x6 tiles. And cut very sloppy and some are cut very crooked. Leaving one unfinished edge that in some cases is an 1/8 inch out of square. When looking at the back side of the square tiles I see they are cast as 6x6 tiles. Never cut, perfectly square, and with four finished edges. I went back to the store I purchased the tiles and called American oleans, they no longer make this tile and cannot replace the bad ones. Unfortunately I have already started tiling. I will never use American Oleans again.


Date created: 2011-03-10 Location: Atlanta, Georgia

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Tile Flooring is a Great Choice"
When I purchased my rural home 15 years ago, the first thing I did was replace the lineoleum floor in the kitchen with quarry tile, and I haven't looked back. For kitchen and bath, entry ways and even family rooms, my first choice will always be tile. My tile is durable and adds a warmth the rustic feeling to my kitchen I was looking for. Living outside an urban area, I wanted the feeling of a French or Tuscan country cottage. The quarry tile gave the exact look and feel I wanted. Over the the last 15 years it has shown no wear, I have never had to replace or repair any aspect of it. It is the quintessential low maintenance floor, and after mopping looks just as sharp as the day it was installed. Be aware, though, tile is a hard surface. If a glass drops on the floor, it is probably a goner. Also, if standing for long periods of time, the hard tile can cause fatigue. Overall, I am thrilled with my choice of tile. I would recommend it, and have done so many times to friends and co-workers. Tile is my number one choice for kitchen flooring because it is low maintenance, looks great for years, and adds quality and style to my home.


Date created: 2011-02-03 Location: Henderson, Nv.

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Tiling is a great home improvement you wont regret!"
When I purchased my new track home 4 years ago, it also came along with many decisions that I had to make. Many options to spend some extra money on where possible upgrades. One of the upgrades I was able to chose was the tiled flooring in the bathroom versus the standard vinyl flooring. I certainly remember that vinyl floor in my parents home growing up and I knew how I hated the look. This is money being well spent. Since this was for the bathroom area, I just went with the smaller 6x6 tiles and they have a bowling green color. It has a nice marble look with greens and greys and just gives a richer look to the room. And, as far as cleaning, I just use an inexpensive steam mop and they shine as they where new. When reselling my home, im sure this will be apprecciated by the new buyers. Friends that visit love the tiles and have even got rid of there vinyl in there homes too. The best thing about my tile is its not as expensive at it looks, the worst thing is now everybody wants to use my bathroom.


Date created: 2011-01-24 Location: Pittsburgh, PA

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Our Bathroom Tiles"
I have now owned my tile in my bathroom for 5 years. I love how it looks, and especially how it fits into my home. The tiles still look like the day we got them, and they still look amazing. I have no complaints about them except for one. The tiles don't really fit around my bathtub, so everytime you use it water escapes onto the floor. I realize that cualking it more would work, however I feel the tiles would still not really fit against it. After five years, I have never had to replace or repair the tiles and I am grateful for that fact. After five years, and never having a horrible complaint or having to replace/repair said tiles, I would definetly buy the brand again, and recommend them to a friend. I should think people should have these in their homes and they would be very grateful as well.


Date created: 2011-01-21 Location: Leicester, MA

Satisfaction Rating:

4 of 5 stars Somewhat Satisfied

Review:
"Tile Floor Summary"
I more recently installed the tile flooring in my kitchen and bathroom. After shopping around, I ended up choosing American Olean Tile for my brand. At the time, there was no specific reason behind the purchase of that specific brand, it was more or less a decision based on the style/color and the decorative scheme I was going for in my home. Since installing the tile, there have not been any distinguishing advantages to having tile over other types of flooring besides the look and decoration (I used tile to replace laminate flooring.) However, there has been one disadvantage since installing the tile. Living in New England we have cold winters. I have found that the tile is extremely cold on our feet, which on a cold morning before work, can be quite uncomfortable. As I mentioned previously, the choice to install tile was more for decoration, and it has definitely satisfied my expectation in that function.


Date created: 2010-12-01 Location: Hartford, CT

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Beautiful Product Affordable Price"
I am a housepainter by trade, and I also do a good deal of tile work, so I am experienced in various brands and qualities. When it came to my personal home, I decided to go with American Olean Tile Lines, and I installed the material myself. The company provides over 50 lines available, with a wide range of prices, porcelain and ceramic. I really enjoy the price of the product first and foremost, but the craftmanship of the tiles themselves keep everyone who walks in commenting on the beautiful tile. I haven't had any problems with broken tiles and I've had them for over two years. I would reccomend this product to anyone who wants a durable, beautiful product at an affordable price.


Date created: 2010-11-19 Location: Minneapolis, MN

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"A tile that can handle anything you bring to it."
I have had this tile for about 1 year not, and let me tell you that this can handle anything you bring it. We have this tile in our kitchen and dining room and with my toddler thing get thrown on it like toys, plates, cups and so on and nothing has ever happened to it. It is very durable, doesn't get to cold so when you walk on it barefoot you are not freezing and it was very easy to install. The price was expensive, but you get what you pay for! When looking for replacements it is pretty easy to find, but you cannot just buy one, so if you screw up on one tile, you do need to buy a whole box. Some of the cons would be that it is a little hard to clean, when food gets in the grout you really do need to scrub it and they were a little hard to cut to fit, but over all this is a great tile, and for how much we spent on it, it was still cheaper than going through flooring company and paying for their installation and prices. I would highly recommend this flooring to someone, all you need is some patients when installing it.


Date created: 2010-11-18 Location: Ormond Beach, FL

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Beautiful, Durable and Easy to Maintain!"
We installed American Olean tile about 4 years ago in our foyer and kitchen. We chose a matte finish tile in a warm golden brown color. I love this tile, and if I had it to do over again, I would install tile instead of the wood flooring we used in other rooms. The color is very warm and really gives the kitchen a homey look. It is great at not showing alot of dirt. A daily damp mopping keeps it looking great. The only thing I would do differently is that I would have used a heavy duty sealer on the white grout. I didn't because it would have been hard to keep my pets off it. The grout does get dirty and the mop doesn't totally clean it. However, we bought a small steam spray cleaner and that restores it to white in a very short time. When it comes time to redo the floors in all my other rooms, I am definitely going with tile - in fact, probably this exact tile.


Find Flooring Installers

My zip code is: