Flooring.net Logo

Consumer Reviews of Pergo synthetic floors

Popularity:
#15  of 30 brands of synthetic floors

70% of customers recommend
3.5 of 5 stars 34 reviews
  • Very Satisfied
    18
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    6
  • Neutral
    0
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    1
  • Very Unsatisfied
    9

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to Flooring.net. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of Flooring.net.

Read more about Pergo synthetic floors

Read reviews of other Synthetic Floor brands
Write a review

1234Next >>

Date created: 2014-01-17 Name: L. Tritch
Location: Centerville, Oh

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Don't buy"
We purchased this flooring around 3 years ago. It has never looked good. No shine at all. White splotches and marks are everywhere! On it. Can not get it to look clean at all. I am so disappointed. My son purchased real wood flooring with a high gloss. He has 4 kids and their floor is beautiful! I am 62 and we purchased it figuring it would look good and be easy to clean and take care of! Please do research before you buy!


Date created: 2013-04-21 Name: P. Weber
Location: Brodheadsville, PA

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Pergo Advertising Deceptive"
Purchased Pergo laminate flooring because I have dogs and the commercials with 'Pergo' the dog convinced me. Granted, it is scratch proof but keeping it clean is a major problem. I am a 70 yr old widow and had to take out a home loan to purchase the flooring. Within weeks I noticed bubbles and the molding disintegrating. Cleaning the floor is a daily project and it never looks clean, it has no sheen at all. Lowes was very helpful with my claim. Pergo denied the claim and ignored all my correspondence. So, I will be paying off the loan for a long time and having to live with a floor I hate. Please do your homework before purchasing anything from Pergo.


Date created: 2012-12-05 Name: Shirley Bellotte
Location: Cedar Park, Texas

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"DON'T EVEN THINK ABOUT BUYING PERGO FROM LOWE'S"
In September, 2012, I had l600 S.F. of Pergo laminate flooring installed in our home. Of 92 cartons, 32 were sent back immediately due to the vast differences in the boards in the same cartons. These were replaced but both the contractor (from Lowe's) and his assistant said the boards in the same carton were totally different in sheen. As our home was in totally disarray, I agreed, and a representative of Lowe's talked to Pergo to continue with the installation with the outcome being that there would be some compromise for this defect in quality control. My husband spent his $7,000 retirement from a local school district after being a bus driver for special education for this flooring for our home (we are seniors and this will be our last home). After two months of phone calls back and forth between myself and Lowe's, an expert (paid for by pergo) came to our home along with representatives from Lowe's and today I received a phone call telling me that there is no variance in the flooring as per the expert and therefore they are sorry. As people who have always followed the rules and believed that right is right, morally and ethically, we have been ______ by Pergo and Lowe's. As I was told, they followed the course of action warranted, and they may be legal in this action toward us, but morally and ethically - they are no better than someone who robs you with a gun (at least you know what their intentions are).


Date created: 2012-10-14 Name: k miles
Location: thomasville nc.

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"american beech"
Installed pergo flooring in living room and hall within a few days there was separation and it only got worse. Call pergo,they sent out a rep. to do an inspection. After many weeks they said there was no manufacturing defects. This company does not stand by its product nor it warranty I cannot recommend this product to anyone.


Date created: 2012-06-03 Name: Eve Taylor
Location: Rockford, IL

Satisfaction Rating:

2 of 5 stars Somewhat Unsatisfied

Review:
"Smudges and dog paw prints"
We installed these floors a number of years ago. I notice they need more than a vacuuming or mop to keep them up but when I try to use a wet cleaner especially for this type of flooring, I am left with large swaths of mop marks and still much of the tracks remain. If I get down on my hands and knees and wash it by hand and dry it, it looks better but I am 62 years old and that was not what I had in mind for easy care flooring. The worst is the kitchen floor which is designed to look like a tile floor. The sections are wide like large tiles and whenever the dog goes out and comes in, even if only dewy outside there is a permanent reminder of just where he walked, until I once again get down and scrub it up. The other floors are the plank style and while less noticeable, similar smudgy areas accumulate such as where the door has lain his head and left nose marks. Since there is a pronounced preference for wood floors at resale time, I wish we had gone with the more expensive, more care hardwood than the slightly easier care laminate. I would advise against any use of this in the kitchen and definitely warn against the tile design type which leaves me feeling down when I look at the house I had thought I had just cleaned.


Date created: 2012-05-31 Name: Marcia Roth
Location: Pittsboro, NC

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Defective Pergo Floors and Rude Response from Corporate Office"
We Just purchased Moneta Mahogany for our house from Lowes to replace carpet and lay over old parquet. 93 boxes were delivered but after day 1 of installation by certified installers, it was apparent that many boards were pulling up on the end as well as bubbling or chipping at a corner - all evidence of delamination. Our installers and the floor reps at Lowes had never seen a whole house failure like this before with Pergo and we all assumed that the lot was a defective fluck. Fast forward to a replacement shipment from a different lot (but still from the same manufacturing plant in China), only to find that Pergo had once again provided a defective product. Speaking with the Director of Claims and Quality Assurance at their headquarters in Raleigh North Carolina proved futile and frustrating. He accepted no responsibility for an inferior product and apparently had never received training on how to interact with a justifiably dissatisfied customer. We now are awaiting the arrival of Allen & Roth laminate flooring as a substitute, are completely disgusted with Pergo, and will be posting on every review site available in the hope that others will not experience what we did by avoiding Pergo flooring. There is clearly a major problem with their manufacturing process that they will not own. As an aside, Lowes has been terrific in helping us navigate this mess and very responsive all the way through. Thank goodness.


Date created: 2012-03-16 Name: AA
Location: Ocala, FL

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Worthless Warranty"
I had Pergo on my previous house from 2001 - 2005 and it was great! So I decided to install it on my new house in 2005. I did it thru Home Depot. I cost me $4,000 between labor and materials. A month ago I saw some small white spots in my room. I also noticed a few planks were decolorizing. But I also noticed (and this was what scared me the most) there were some waves in the floor and that was in several parts of the house. So I called Home Depot and they sent an inspector to see my floor. He came with his wife and she did some testing on the floor with a small machine and they told me the moisture was high. They said that may be the cause of the problems. I explained I have a concrete slab but they told me sometimes moisture can travel thru it and damage the Pergo. They said they will submit a report to Pergo and I will hear from them. They asked me if the installer did a moisture test before installing it. I told them that I don't remember see him doing it. After I hear that, I went to Home Depot and asked if they have a record of the installation. They said they don't have it at the store and they told me that there is a good chance that my claim will be denied (I was also checking some Pergo reviews online and I can see for myself that they are notorious for denying claims). The manager at Home Depot encouraged me to file a claim with my insurance company. So I called my insurance company and they sent an adjuster. He did the same kind of testing but he did not find any high level of moisture. I got an email from Pergo denying my claim because according to their inspector the floor has a high level of moisture. Which contradict what the insurance adjuster said. They also said that the white spots were because of furniture damage which is false. The chair I have has in fact, rubber protection at the bottom that does contact with the floor. But the waves of the floor were my biggest concern. They may be caused by a manufacturer?s material malfunction or it can also be caused by the installer by not giving proper space between the wall and the Pergo. I just don?t know. But I know that I went to Home Depot and they told me they don?t have records of my installation or the name of the installer. Unbelievable! Pergo also claims the warranty was for 6 months. When I purchased the Pergo at Home Depot I was told it was for 25 years. I was never told it was 6 months! Don't ever believe they will back up this product for 25 years!!


Date created: 2011-12-05 Location: West Hills, California

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"6 kids, 3 dogs and 8 years later Pergo still going strong!"
I was nervous about purchasing a synthetic floor. I was sure that I would not be happy and would miss the feeling of an old fashioned wood floor under my feet. I could not have been more wrong. I love every single thing about my Pergo floor. I have dogs and kids, and Pergo is perfect for my lifestyle. It cleans up easily and eight years later, it still looks gorgeous. My floor still has a sheen that is unreal. I am so happy that I did NOT choose wood. At this point I would have had to strip, sand and refinish, and my Pergo floor doesn't require a single thing to make it look gorgeous again except a wet or dry swifter. Love my Pergo!


Date created: 2011-12-05 Location: Farmington Hills, MI

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"I Love My Synthetic Wood Floor!"
Since installing synthetic wood flooring last summer, I have been extremely pleased and continually impressed with it. First of all, it is inexpensive. When you compare the cost of a synthetic floor to that of real wood flooring, you begin to wonder why the price difference is so large. Is real wood flooring really that much better than synthetic? The answer is no. Synthetic flooring looks and feels like the real thing. It is easy to install and clean. I love everything about it and I am extremely happy that I made the decision to go synthetic. The main thing that I was thrilled about is how easy it is to clean a synthetic floor. With a real wood floor you have to cook up a special mixture of chemicals to treat it, but with synthetic floors you can basically throw whatever you want at it, and it can handle it! If anyone that I knew was getting their floors re-done I would definitely recommend synthetic flooring. Not only do you save money, I would argue that synthetic is a better product than real wood flooring!


Date created: 2011-05-28 Location: West Salem, OH

Satisfaction Rating:

4 of 5 stars Somewhat Satisfied

Review:
"Pergo floors worth the money"
I have owned this flooring for about 2 years. It is in my kitchen and dining room. I love the look of real wood and how easy it was to install. I also like how it does not scratch easily and seems to be very durable. The only complaint I would have is that it's not as "hard" as hard wood would be. We installed it over the original 1978 existing floor and unless you have brand new plywood underneath, you can feel it bowing slightly when walking on it. We have noticed one small chip out of one of the boards but it's not noticeable enough to replace it. I would definitely buy this brand of flooring again because it stands up to my dog's nails and my daughter's toys. It also looks very nice.I would also recommend it to a friend.

1234Next >>

Find Flooring Installers

My zip code is: