Flooring.net Logo

Consumer Reviews of Home Depot carpets

Popularity:
#21  of 31 brands of carpets

37% of customers recommend
2.5 of 5 stars 8 reviews
  • Very Satisfied
    3
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    0
  • Neutral
    0
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    0
  • Very Unsatisfied
    5

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to Flooring.net. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of Flooring.net.

Read reviews of other Carpet brands
Write a review


Date created: 2013-11-26 Name: M. Girtz
Location: Grand Rapids, MN

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"I hate this carpet"
I hate this carpet. I was not told that you cannot use just any vacuum cleaner. You cannot even push my nice Dyson on this plush carpet. I have had 5 vacuum cleaners home to try & and I am sick that I spent so much money on so much trouble. You have to be a strong to use any vacuum. The cheap dial high vacuums work, but most of them do not turn of when you click up the handle and you could whirl a hole in the carpet if you do not remember to turn it off. Stay away from the Shaw Softspring platinum plus from home depot! Beware of this big problem!


Date created: 2013-08-02 Name: Emily Luciani
Location: Hopatcong, nj

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Platnium plus and padding"
We purchased platinum plus carpet and had it installed the other day. I do not like it at all. Leaves footprint marks even when the cat walks over it. The carpet padding makes it feel like your walking on memory foam which makes me cringe. Very unhappy and wish I did not purchase it. Will not recommend it to anyone. The installers did a great job, but the carpet is awful. I am stuck with this forever.


Date created: 2013-03-19 Name: kathy ancelet
Location: grants pass, oregon

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"portico"
This carpet was installed twice in my home. First time it was flawed. Second time it looks fine but both carpets have the most horrible smell (like cigarette smoke) It's been 3 1/2 months and its still horrible. Do I file a third claim? It's really bad. I can hardly breathe!


Date created: 2012-04-10 Name: C Hall
Location: Altus, OK

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Platinum Plus II"
It "tracks", walking on carpet leaves footprints that stay as will tracking lines when carpet is vacuumed. In waiting mode to see how Home Depot can resolve our problem - can not live with this expense to see footprints every day.


Date created: 2011-06-02 Location: Grand Rapids, MI

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Plush, comfortable, and absolutely wonderful!"
I purchased my Looptex Mills 12" Frieze Carpet from a local carpeting superstore approximately 6 months ago, after having spent some time shopping around for the perfect fit for my home. I was specifically searching for the Frieze carpet style as I love to walk around barefoot and feel the plushness of the carpet. I love that the carpet is plush and comfortable, but it's also extremely versatile. I have three children who like to run their toys all over the home and floors, and the carpet has withstood all things they've been doing thus far. One drawback I've found is that when vacuuming the carpet, it can be quite the task. Given that the carpet is very thick and "tall" in its strand length, even on the lowest setting my vacuum can struggle moving over the carpet unless you have a large amount of momentum going into the task. All in all, I'm very happy with my carpet. It's soft, comfortable and versatile, whilst remaining extremely stylish and visually appealing to both myself and our guests. I would recommend this to my friends without a seconds hesitation - so long as they have the strength to vacuum it!



Date created: 2011-02-22 Location: Baltimore, MD 21209

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"I love my area rug"
I've had my carpet for ten years. It has a very nice pattern that livens up the room. It's kind of an abstract of flowers but it looks very classic instead of banal like a lot of flower prints. Many prints have either a childlike cartoonlike look or look kind of romanced and unreal but instead it's a depiction of a flower and an abstract pattern based on flowers and leaves. I like the colors they are very vibrant but have subtlety and depth. Its made of wool, which has a nice texture and it is very easy to clean, the colors don't run. What I dislike is it has a few stains that won't come out with our shampooer. We have shampooed it many times and some of the stains from my pet relieving himself on that carpet are still visible. I haven't replaced it during the time I've had this house, which is ten years time. I would buy that same kind again. I got a good price for it considering the quality and materials.


Date created: 2011-01-31 Location: Huntington Beach, Ca

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Platinum Plus Carpet Owner"
I had Platinum plus carpet installed in my house a couple of months ago and love it.. I own two dogs so it is important for me to have a carpet that is dog friendly. I have found in high traffic areas it stays clean. When you own two dogs your carpet can look bad real fast. I found that after I vacuumed the floor it looks as good as the first day I had it installed. I was told the carpet has scotch guard protection which is good for my small child who seems to always spill stuff, so far we have not had an accident. I purchased the color deep canyon twist and would highly recommend this color to anyone who has kids or dogs. It is a good natural color and does not show any signs of dirt in high traffic areas. One of the features I was also sold on is the carpet doesn't leave imprint marks from your furniture. I usually rearrange my living room quite a bit so this is a big plus. So far I have not found anything I dislike about this product.


Date created: 2010-10-21 Location: Cleveland, OH

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Home Depot's Cheap Carpet is Just That: Cheap"
I bought Home Depot's Laredo Sagebrush carpet for an apartment building that I own. This is an in-stock carpet and it only cost $0.59 a square foot. Sounds like a great deal, but it is not. Within a year I have already had a few noticeable problems with the carpet. The first problem was that the carpet contracted over the winter and then expanded in the summer. This caused it to come off of the carpet tacks and create ripples and pockets throughout. The installers had to come back and basically reinstall the carpet. The carpet is also showing signs of wear at the points of highest foot traffic. I know that the carpet was cheap, but wearing out in less than a year is unacceptable. At the end of the day the carpet is going to cost me more money because as soon as my tenant moves out I am going to have to rip it out and put in a new more expensive carpet before I can rent the unit out again. My recommendation is to avoid the cheap carpet because it will cost you more money in the long run.


Find Flooring Installers

My zip code is: